47 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

All New Honda HRV 2022, All. Eyes. On. You.

ZeneticX
post Sep 3 2022, 12:25 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 2 2022, 11:39 PM)
im not sure whether I'm just getting used to it by now or that its really due to break-in of the suspension.

So basically when I got the car, odo at 30km+- I felt like the suspension is a bit stiffer than my expectation whenever going through speed bump or pot holes. Now that it has reaching 400km mark, I think its smoother than initially is and felt more comfortable than before

Am I the only felt this?
Could be your tyre pressure?

New car tends to be over inflated out of the showroom
CheaTeRz
post Sep 3 2022, 01:08 AM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 3 2022, 12:25 AM)
Could be your tyre pressure?

New car tends to be over inflated out of the showroom
Yeah thats what I thought initially after 2 hour drive on the first day. So straight away check the tyre pressure and it was normal within recommended pressure.
X77
post Sep 3 2022, 01:26 AM

19 posts

Yes the new HRV suspension is stiffer to my liking, but I think it is the reason it make the better handling for compact SUV? but somehow I felt I started get used to it after many days driving, it has the feel of solidity, just bumpy a bit when go over the bumps.
TSArea51SE
post Sep 3 2022, 09:39 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 2 2022, 03:02 PM)
Sorry if this question has been ask before... but you guys go for V or RS version?
Ask yourself whether you want a hybrid or a turbo engine. Go to few showrooms to test drive both. Read thru the reviews given by owners here and decide.

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 2 2022, 10:28 PM)
Ok it’s been a really busy past few weeks but yesterday I finally took delivery of my M gray RS.

Earlier in August I asked my SA about my allocation, she asked me to check back in Sept at the time. But a few days later she suddenly told me my car is allocated. I think the car was originally allocated (and actually transported) to another dealer, but because that dealer and the dealer I booked mine at are owned by the same boss, they just “transferred” that allocation to me. Can’t confirm if this is the case, just my thoughts.

Coming from a 2012 Jazz Hybrid (CBU Japan), here’s my first review. Disclaimer: I booked and purchased the car without prior viewing and test driving. Yesterday was my actual first time coming up close and personal with the actual car. Pretty YOLO but it paid off.

1. I’m 190cm tall and thankfully I still have about 2cm of headroom left after adjusting my driving position. It was also a good call to instruct my SA to not include the 7 inch tint sun visor. I’m able to see through the entire length of the hood, which makes front facing parking a lot easier.

2. Also thankfully, the side mirrors have a wide angle adjustment range (unlike the Proton X70 where the side mirrors couldn’t go beyond a certain angle, unable to eliminate far out blind spots).

3. I’m not a fast driving kind of guy so…. Even on ECON mode the HRV RS has decent acceleration to me.

4. Drove 55+km home after taking delivery, set ACC at 80kph (because…. I don’t know, let the engine break-in lol) and the meter says I got 25km/L FC

5. NVH is pretty good, except that tire roar is quite loud… I think it’s even louder than my CBU Jazz.

Sekian. More to come.
Wow bro. Congrats on getting your ride earlier. Glad you are enjoying the ride biggrin.gif

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Sep 2 2022, 11:39 PM)
im not sure whether I'm just getting used to it by now or that its really due to break-in of the suspension.

So basically when I got the car, odo at 30km+- I felt like the suspension is a bit stiffer than my expectation whenever going through speed bump or pot holes. Now that it has reaching 400km mark, I think its smoother than initially is and felt more comfortable than before

Am I the only felt this?
Btw yeah, I couldn't agree more. Moving from Persona to HR-V I felt a whole lot of difference in term of acceleration even on ECO mode. I don't find a situation where I need sport mode yet, I occasionally switch to normal mode when going out of roundabout or climbing elevated parking lot. but other than that I felt ECO mode is enough already. haha
No idea. Since getting the car till now, I've always felt the ride as being comfortable than stiff.
monkedz
post Sep 3 2022, 01:20 PM

47 posts

Question, if use Apple CarPlay the call button on the steering can’t be use?
isr25
post Sep 3 2022, 02:22 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Sep 3 2022, 01:20 PM)
Question, if use Apple CarPlay the call button on the steering can’t be use?
Use the Siri/Voice button to make call (ask Siri to call etc). Use the make/end call button to pickup & end call.
jimmychangas
post Sep 3 2022, 09:27 PM

149 posts

Updates after driving 300km:

1. After about some semi mixed driving (70% highway, 30% urban) my FC stands at 4.1L/100km

2. Tire roar is definitely on the louder side, this is even after I readjusted the tire pressure.

3. Suspension is on the stiff side, but not too intruding for me la

4. The front left USB port stops charging after plugging in for awhile. I have no idea why, will check owners manual to see if anything can be done.
constant_weight
post Sep 3 2022, 10:51 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 3 2022, 09:27 PM)
Updates after driving 300km:

2. Tire roar is definitely on the louder side, this is even after I readjusted the tire pressure.

3. Suspension is on the stiff side, but not too intruding for me la

2) My car came with Premium Contact 6. The noise baffled me at first, those are rather premium touring/UHP blend tires. The tipping point was 2000km, they become nice and comfy after some rather long break-in period. HR-V come with what tires? Give it some time and continue to observe.

3) Suspension for road use, there are 2 important distinct signatures it needs to handle for regular drive. High speed low amplitude and low speed high amplitude.
The speed here is not the vehicle speed, but rather the speed of the shock absorber movements.

Low speed high amplitude is like during cornering, the vehicle has gradual weight transfer that compress the outer wheels suspension and extend the inner wheels suspension.
High speed low amplitude is like gravel road, bad pavement, brick roads that give constant fast vibration but relatively small movement to suspensions.

To me, a good and balance suspension for road use is stiff on low speed, which provide good support during cornering, and yet soft on the high speed movement to absorb the vibration.
Such that the car is still pleasant on the bad pavement, but the driver can clearly feel the road reflector etc, and over road undulation change the car settle in just 1 swing.
I'm not a fans of magic carpet ride, so if you think it absorb the rapid vibration well, then it is good in my world.

Of course if driven fast over a pothole fast, that become high speed high amplitude, no road car suspension can handle that.

I'm a little bit tempted to upgrade to Ohlins DFV. The kit for my car is 80% stiffer then stock, but it has separate bypass valve for high speed movement that allow the shock to behave like "soft" in rapid vibration. It is a hefty cost for sure.
monkedz
post Sep 4 2022, 10:22 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Sep 3 2022, 02:22 PM)
Use the Siri/Voice button to make call (ask Siri to call etc). Use the make/end call button to pickup & end call.
Thanks man. Siri is the least used function for my phone. Guess I gonna start using.

Gotten my v spec yesterday. So far things has been positive. Just the passages side sunshade thingy fell down when I open it. The SC just fix it back for me

jimmychangas
post Sep 4 2022, 01:03 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 3 2022, 09:27 PM)
4. The front left USB port stops charging after plugging in for awhile. I have no idea why, will check owners manual to see if anything can be done.
This turned out to be due to the USB cable. I was using one of those Huawei quick charge cables where it’s thicker than normal cables. When plugged in it charged normally but after a few minutes it just stopped. After restarting the car and changing to a normal cable, it charges the phone just fine.

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 3 2022, 10:51 PM)
2) My car came with Premium Contact 6. The noise baffled me at first, those are rather premium touring/UHP blend tires. The tipping point was 2000km, they become nice and comfy after some rather long break-in period. HR-V come with what tires? Give it some time and continue to observe.

3) Suspension for road use, there are 2 important distinct signatures it needs to handle for regular drive. High speed low amplitude and low speed high amplitude.
The speed here is not the vehicle speed, but rather the speed of the shock absorber movements.

Low speed high amplitude is like during cornering, the vehicle has gradual weight transfer that compress the outer wheels suspension and extend the inner wheels suspension.
High speed low amplitude is like gravel road, bad pavement, brick roads that give constant fast vibration but relatively small movement to suspensions.

To me, a good and balance suspension for road use is stiff on low speed, which provide good support during cornering, and yet soft on the high speed movement to absorb the vibration.
Such that the car is still pleasant on the bad pavement, but the driver can clearly feel the road reflector etc, and over road undulation change the car settle in just 1 swing.
I'm not a fans of magic carpet ride, so if you think it absorb the rapid vibration well, then it is good in my world.

Of course if driven fast over a pothole fast, that become high speed high amplitude, no road car suspension can handle that.

I'm a little bit tempted to upgrade to Ohlins DFV. The kit for my car is 80% stiffer then stock, but it has separate bypass valve for high speed movement that allow the shock to behave like "soft" in rapid vibration. It is a hefty cost for sure.
Mine came with Conti UC6, but to be honest I don’t know anything else beyond that lol
TSArea51SE
post Sep 4 2022, 02:49 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Sep 4 2022, 10:22 AM)
Thanks man. Siri is the least used function for my phone. Guess I gonna start using.

Gotten my v spec yesterday. So far things has been positive. Just the passages side sunshade thingy fell down when I open it. The SC just fix it back for me

Wow how did that happen? U hard forced it ? blink.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 4 2022, 03:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 3 2022, 10:51 PM)
3) High speed low amplitude and low speed high amplitude.

Not so straight forward if i may add, and reminder again to the masses: this is your actual "Hi-Lo" (and not suspension height!) Which can be high speed compression/low speed compression and/or high speed rebound/low speed rebound.
These are your "way" adjustment. Height was never in the amount of "ways" equation.

Now back to why i mention not so straight forward:
1) low speed could also need "softness" otherwise road undulations (not so sharp speed bumps, those highways that are wavy such at the stretch between Seremban and Melaka) would get very harsh.
2) high speed could also need "stiffness" otherwise hard braking, sharp corners, switchbacks, direction changes would lose steering capability/feedback and worse, need grip in a hurry.
Then there's the distinction of all these scenarios on either compression or rebound.
(No surprise it's a "dark art" in the past when education is much lower to the general masses and information is not readily available before the age of internet such as Google YouTube Wikipedia, and further worsened by car groups and communities ridiculing/insulting people who ask/not willing to share etc)

That's why the complexity of velocity sensitive/digressive dampers, electronic (be it manual or automatic adjustment) dampers

Ohlins DFV having such additional overflow (dual flow marketing) to address few of such scenarios I've mentioned)
Instead of an outright linear stiffness on say, high speed, it has an overflow oil passage to digress damper compression so it'll be compliant during say, pot holes or speed bumps, but still very capable on say, hard brake, direction changes, sharp corners.

One interesting thing with road irregularities to add into the mix, is speed bumps tend to be issue of compression, pot holes rebound.
Ohlins DFV tend to not be able to address rebound tongue.gif (i haven't got the privilege to personally own Ohlins DFV myself though, only passionate enough to understand its technicalities beyond its marketing)

ayamxxx
post Sep 4 2022, 04:21 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 2 2022, 10:28 PM)
Ok it’s been a really busy past few weeks but yesterday I finally took delivery of my M gray RS.

Earlier in August I asked my SA about my allocation, she asked me to check back in Sept at the time. But a few days later she suddenly told me my car is allocated. I think the car was originally allocated (and actually transported) to another dealer, but because that dealer and the dealer I booked mine at are owned by the same boss, they just “transferred” that allocation to me. Can’t confirm if this is the case, just my thoughts.

Coming from a 2012 Jazz Hybrid (CBU Japan), here’s my first review. Disclaimer: I booked and purchased the car without prior viewing and test driving. Yesterday was my actual first time coming up close and personal with the actual car. Pretty YOLO but it paid off.

1. I’m 190cm tall and thankfully I still have about 2cm of headroom left after adjusting my driving position. It was also a good call to instruct my SA to not include the 7 inch tint sun visor. I’m able to see through the entire length of the hood, which makes front facing parking a lot easier.

2. Also thankfully, the side mirrors have a wide angle adjustment range (unlike the Proton X70 where the side mirrors couldn’t go beyond a certain angle, unable to eliminate far out blind spots).

3. I’m not a fast driving kind of guy so…. Even on ECON mode the HRV RS has decent acceleration to me.

4. Drove 55+km home after taking delivery, set ACC at 80kph (because…. I don’t know, let the engine break-in lol) and the meter says I got 25km/L FC

5. NVH is pretty good, except that tire roar is quite loud… I think it’s even louder than my CBU Jazz.

Sekian. More to come.
No 2 - I think u mean to mention the X50? As it have this issue, while X70 is not.

No 5 - norm for Malacca made Honda. They do cut cost on sound insulation? It just a norm when u ask any sound insulation shop, they agreed that Malacca made model had almost thin/cheap sound insulation from factory
jimmychangas
post Sep 4 2022, 04:55 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 4 2022, 04:21 PM)
No 2 - I think u mean to mention the X50? As it have this issue, while X70 is not.

No 5 - norm for Malacca made Honda. They do cut cost on sound insulation? It just a norm when u ask any sound insulation shop, they agreed that Malacca made model had almost thin/cheap sound insulation from factory
For me it’s the X70 because I have a few family members that have it. I couldn’t get the side mirrors to go to the angle that I want lah.

No 5 - yeah at this point it’s kinda expected already right. My other car (CBU Japan Jazz Hybrid) has some pretty decent NVH for its class.
Quazacolt
post Sep 4 2022, 05:32 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 4 2022, 04:55 PM)
X70
I couldn’t get the side mirrors to go to the angle that I want lah.

CBU Japan Jazz Hybrid) has some pretty decent NVH for its class.
1) which angle? In wards or out wards?
Just in case, when you adjust side mirrors, your own vehicle should not be visible at all (in wards)

2) the one where engine stop Aircon also stop? XD
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 06:18 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 03:01 PM)
Not so straight forward if i may add, and reminder again to the masses: this is your actual "Hi-Lo" (and not suspension height!) Which can be high speed compression/low speed compression and/or high speed rebound/low speed rebound.
These are your "way" adjustment. Height was never in the amount of "ways" equation.

One interesting thing with road irregularities to add into the mix, is speed bumps tend to be issue of compression, pot holes rebound.
Ohlins DFV tend to not be able to address rebound tongue.gif (i haven't got the privilege to personally own Ohlins DFV myself though, only passionate enough to understand its technicalities beyond its marketing)
Thanks for adding the not straight forward part. I was hesitating to add that or not. In the end just include my personal preference tuning.

Port hole rebound is not an issue for the place I live. Usually the road is bad enough people drive super slow anyway.

I experience a less common problem known as bump lift in rally cross world. During continuous high speed low amplitude irregularities, the car will gradually lifted higher and higher. Well provided I tends to drive over those bad road patches quickly, they unsettle the car.

This usually not an issue if only few patchee, the car has all the time it needs to sink back to original ride height. Seems to be overly stiff shocks from OEM, yet on smoother pavements the stiffness is perfectly absorbing the small rattles and keep important road feedback.

I'm hoping Ohlins DFV high speed bypass would help the lift issue. Or 3 ways adjustable setting to stiffer rebound will make the car sink faster, but the flip side is it would worsen the porthole rebound you mentioned.

There is Polestar tuned Ohlins available, me the type tends to stick with OEM solution if available + don't have patience/place/practical experience to play with compression/rebound for days. Ohlins damn expensive, I'm very tempted. Keep telling myself don't waste the remaing 3 years warranty to stop myself... lol

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Sep 4 2022, 06:34 PM
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 06:21 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 4 2022, 01:03 PM)
Mine came with Conti UC6, but to be honest I don’t know anything else beyond that lol
Just hope after 2000km, the NVH improves 😇. Referecing PC6 experience.
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 06:30 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 05:32 PM)

Isn't this a two decades old problem?

Like 1st, 2nd gen Priuses or 1st gen Insight that debut during the 90's
monkedz
post Sep 4 2022, 08:27 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Sep 4 2022, 02:49 PM)
Wow how did that happen? U hard forced it ? blink.gif
Nope, just open then fall out d. It’s not fitted/locked properly
jimmychangas
post Sep 4 2022, 09:14 PM

149 posts

1) which angle? In wards or out wards?
Just in case, when you adjust side mirrors, your own vehicle should not be visible at all (in wards)
Errr… basically I after adjusting I still can see quite a lot of the X70 body (door handles and rear door) and I couldn’t set it to go further.

*emotional damage*
Yes. Hahahahaha but I already gotten used to it. With this HRV RS, air cond still runs even in full EV mode, which I fucking adore.

47 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:45 AM