All New Honda HRV 2022, All. Eyes. On. You.

constant_weight
post Aug 12 2022, 05:25 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 12 2022, 03:40 PM)
But the new HRV HU got RDS wor… our Civic also dun have… their optional accessories also have wireless charger option. Really facepalm this Honda Malaysia, why Civic with Wireless Carplay dun have this official option.
What are the RDS features supported on our local stations?

Nowadays, a lot of car can show the station names. That's like bare minimal implementation of RDS.

More advance one like auto switch the frequency to stronger tower when you cross their effective range, which station support this?
Other like traffic/disaster alert push, I don't think we have that here in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Aug 12 2022, 05:26 PM
constant_weight
post Aug 13 2022, 01:52 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(hus2020 @ Aug 13 2022, 11:19 AM)
Some observation on RS eHEV. Fellow RS owners pls give yr input as well-
1) When Petrol engine kicks in to charge the battery aggressively, its super noisy like a bulldozer.
2) At cruising speed, cabin is very quiet, mostly hear road noise.
3) When apply breaks on a sudden stop, there is a wining noise, I suppose this is for break regen. It is also a bit annoying.

Share yr inputs as well..
This is no surprise. Consider the ICE and electric motor are both 100'ish horsepower + Consider during motor max output, the ICE also need to run max output to just to break even battery power. This impossible in real life, as generator motor horsepower is the limit. Now Honda didn't disclose the generator capacity, it would be very generous if Honda give 30hp+ generator motor.

Prius and Prius C also same problem. When idle in long traffic jam, during charging the engine sounds very loud like reving at least 4000rpm. Anyone want to test the experience just hold 4000rpm with free gear for 1 minute with own car.

That's why a good comfortable hybrid also need a high capacity ICE like PHEV 180hp+ so that engine only need go rev a little go charge the battery and it charge faster, way more comfortable.
constant_weight
post Aug 13 2022, 02:00 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Aug 13 2022, 11:35 AM)
How soon does the engine kick in to recharge the battery / how far can the car go on battery power?
Brake: does the brake feel normal? Or does it feel different due to the brake regen?
Read an US review then eHEV just released couple years back. It is for 2.0L version for CRV hybrid, but you can reference it.

Interview with Honda engineers there stated when driving about 40km/h smoothly 60% of time can be pure EV drive. When increased to 60km/h, the pure EV ratio reduced to 30%.

It been a while and I converted MPH to KPH approximately.

If this numbers remain true with the 1.5L eHEV, it is very efficient. Better than Toyota HSD with 1.2kwh - 1.3kwh battery I experienced in Prius/Prius C.
constant_weight
post Aug 14 2022, 12:55 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(hus2020 @ Aug 13 2022, 10:23 PM)

My major problem is how the cruise control catches for speed. It applies very harsh acceleration. That instant, the noise is unbearable. If I cancel cruise and hit the pedal myself slowly, its smooth.

If you drive enough cars, you will find not all ACC are created equally. Hard acceleration is sadly pretty common. Some also affected by rain, enter/exit tunnel sometimes will auto disengaged. While some are mind blowingly consistent.

You the first one that said Honda ACC harsh. It proven again Wxxcar is bullshit paid review. They praised it better than TSS 1.1/2.0 which I find hard to believe.

I can confirm Mazda ACC is harsh, it is last gen tech and due for refresh amyway. Honda up until FC facelift 2020 and Toyota old TSS 1.0 are also doing hard acceleration and hard braking with strong nose dive as well. Then most others are slightly better at middle pack, eg Nissan Altima 2.5s my favorite rental car when travel to US. Best ACC are Hyundai, Volvo, Tesla by large margin up until 2019-2020 by many credible international reviewers (Straightpaip, Buycartv, Savagegeese etc). I can testify for Hyundai and Volvo, never driven Tesla.

Now many already catch up. TSS 2.0 is huge improvement (I can testify 2022 Harrier is quite good, it seems to be 1.1 with extra patch, sales person explained ACC same, just 2.0 can recognize more object types on the road for AEB), BMW Personal Copilot get good reviews, Ford ACC will do lift off and cruise over long distance like a human (really interested to try this when chance come by) to name a few. They are now at least on par with the 3 traditional ACC leaders if not better.
constant_weight
post Aug 14 2022, 10:11 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 14 2022, 02:12 AM)
Honda sensing ACC is pretty harsh but can be manually assisted to smoothen it (applying acceleration to brake, for example)

Lol wap car
Not everyone can do precise throttle input like you man. This solution is not for everyone.

A lady drove my ES once, few years ago. I wasn't feeling good after lunch. Lol wheel spin out of junction. Counter intuitive solution was put the car in sport mode, let her felt the push early to ease off the input early. It was a little jerky with on/off throttle, at least no more wheel spin.

constant_weight
post Aug 14 2022, 09:28 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 14 2022, 01:42 PM)
U are not encourage to use cruise control if want to get better fc or having fc challenge. It will try put effort to maintain the speed doesn't matter what the situation. When heading a slight climb, the cruise control will try drop gear etc, this make fc worse vs controls smooth by manual.
Which make the Ford implementation of ACC so interesting. From Taiwanese review of Kuga, the ACC have a more relax margin around the set speed. It will lift off and glide like human driver from far when the car in front gradually slowing down.

Didn't see any news from local Ford about this. Very interested go test this out myself.
constant_weight
post Aug 19 2022, 08:48 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Aug 19 2022, 07:48 AM)
thanks for your input, how do we know a toyota is tss 2.0, such as tcch?
We only guess by comparing the tested capability, feel like UMW is not that transparent.
Maybe more confident way is ask the service manager directly.

Otherwise, check if the ACC (DRCC) do self centering. Not lane departure, but actively steer the car maintaining it at the center of the lane. I think Toyota call it LTA.
If it do that it is at least TSS 1.1 with extra patch (learned such thing exist from Taiwanese review), if not TSS 2.0.

But to differentiate 1.1+ with 2.0, that's a bit harder. Most obvious upgrade is able to detect more type of objects and different angle of the object during intersection, but those are not easy to test.

Apparently TSS 2.5, 3.0 also exist. Lol, we are still UMW old tech dumping ground after all.

constant_weight
post Aug 20 2022, 06:25 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 20 2022, 05:53 PM)
Many folks in Melaka ready for their turbo HRV lol
(At least 5-6 HRV readying)

But umm, it's pretty f 'ing obvious that the 1.5 turbo is FORCED into the HRV (as it doesn't have a c / D segment length/wheelbase to properly fit it lol)

Help me understand further. It seems like the exhaust at the side and not through the center tunnel?

The extra rod, like it is mounting for other models, but unused here.

I'm actually very curious why Honda still mount the engine (at least for the 1.5T, didn't check other engine) with exhaust facing the front (after extractor the exhaust has to go through bottom of the engine), intake manifold facing the back.
Most modern engine already flip the engine block to reduce exhaust path.

For crazy engineering first company, they should have good reason other than cost.
** they designed 3 totally different Hybrid system in past 2 decades. In most company that put financial/supply chain/management background people on top, a lot of people will get fired in similar situation.
constant_weight
post Aug 20 2022, 10:55 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Aug 20 2022, 09:21 PM)
Not just on HRV, but the same arrangement can be found on the City and the Jazz.

The reason is simple, their fuel tank is under the front seats (instead of the normal placement of under the rear seats), so the exhaust path has to take a sharp turn to a side to go around the tank.

Why is the fuel tank under the front seats? so that you get the Honda Ultra-seats at the back.
I'm not 100% sure but it probably has to do with heat management. Their engine bay is very cramped; if the exhaust comes out of the rear of the engine, it will be under the windscreen cowling and the heat will be trapped when the car is not moving.

Putting it in front, at least there is a fan blowing at it to move the hot air along.
Thanks, very good explanation about the impact of the ultra seat.

Still curious about the engine direction decision though. So far I know the turbocharger is right in front of the engine, such that there is no visible exhaust manifold. The exhaust manifold path is within the cylinder head similar to EA888. Then the catalytic converter is right below the turbocharger. From exhaust until catalytic converter is super optimized, compact, and efficient until this point. They should be managing exhaust heat with coolant using this "integrated exhaust manifold" design, again similar to EA888.

Anyway, just my own curiosity, maybe one day answer will pops up itself when I'm not thinking/asking.

constant_weight
post Sep 3 2022, 10:51 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 3 2022, 09:27 PM)
Updates after driving 300km:

2. Tire roar is definitely on the louder side, this is even after I readjusted the tire pressure.

3. Suspension is on the stiff side, but not too intruding for me la

2) My car came with Premium Contact 6. The noise baffled me at first, those are rather premium touring/UHP blend tires. The tipping point was 2000km, they become nice and comfy after some rather long break-in period. HR-V come with what tires? Give it some time and continue to observe.

3) Suspension for road use, there are 2 important distinct signatures it needs to handle for regular drive. High speed low amplitude and low speed high amplitude.
The speed here is not the vehicle speed, but rather the speed of the shock absorber movements.

Low speed high amplitude is like during cornering, the vehicle has gradual weight transfer that compress the outer wheels suspension and extend the inner wheels suspension.
High speed low amplitude is like gravel road, bad pavement, brick roads that give constant fast vibration but relatively small movement to suspensions.

To me, a good and balance suspension for road use is stiff on low speed, which provide good support during cornering, and yet soft on the high speed movement to absorb the vibration.
Such that the car is still pleasant on the bad pavement, but the driver can clearly feel the road reflector etc, and over road undulation change the car settle in just 1 swing.
I'm not a fans of magic carpet ride, so if you think it absorb the rapid vibration well, then it is good in my world.

Of course if driven fast over a pothole fast, that become high speed high amplitude, no road car suspension can handle that.

I'm a little bit tempted to upgrade to Ohlins DFV. The kit for my car is 80% stiffer then stock, but it has separate bypass valve for high speed movement that allow the shock to behave like "soft" in rapid vibration. It is a hefty cost for sure.
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 06:18 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 03:01 PM)
Not so straight forward if i may add, and reminder again to the masses: this is your actual "Hi-Lo" (and not suspension height!) Which can be high speed compression/low speed compression and/or high speed rebound/low speed rebound.
These are your "way" adjustment. Height was never in the amount of "ways" equation.

One interesting thing with road irregularities to add into the mix, is speed bumps tend to be issue of compression, pot holes rebound.
Ohlins DFV tend to not be able to address rebound tongue.gif (i haven't got the privilege to personally own Ohlins DFV myself though, only passionate enough to understand its technicalities beyond its marketing)
Thanks for adding the not straight forward part. I was hesitating to add that or not. In the end just include my personal preference tuning.

Port hole rebound is not an issue for the place I live. Usually the road is bad enough people drive super slow anyway.

I experience a less common problem known as bump lift in rally cross world. During continuous high speed low amplitude irregularities, the car will gradually lifted higher and higher. Well provided I tends to drive over those bad road patches quickly, they unsettle the car.

This usually not an issue if only few patchee, the car has all the time it needs to sink back to original ride height. Seems to be overly stiff shocks from OEM, yet on smoother pavements the stiffness is perfectly absorbing the small rattles and keep important road feedback.

I'm hoping Ohlins DFV high speed bypass would help the lift issue. Or 3 ways adjustable setting to stiffer rebound will make the car sink faster, but the flip side is it would worsen the porthole rebound you mentioned.

There is Polestar tuned Ohlins available, me the type tends to stick with OEM solution if available + don't have patience/place/practical experience to play with compression/rebound for days. Ohlins damn expensive, I'm very tempted. Keep telling myself don't waste the remaing 3 years warranty to stop myself... lol

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Sep 4 2022, 06:34 PM
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 06:21 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 4 2022, 01:03 PM)
Mine came with Conti UC6, but to be honest I don’t know anything else beyond that lol
Just hope after 2000km, the NVH improves 😇. Referecing PC6 experience.
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 06:30 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 05:32 PM)

2) the one where engine stop Aircon also stop? XD

Isn't this a two decades old problem?

Like 1st, 2nd gen Priuses or 1st gen Insight that debut during the 90's
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 11:26 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 10:27 PM)
Polestar Ohlins available from Volvo directly? And doesn't void existing warranty?

Volvo has Polestar Engineered that have Ohlins from factory. S60/V60 is Brembo 6 pots + Ohlins
XC60 is Akebono 6 pots + Ohlins

Unfortunately not officially available here. Can order and install the kits from official dealer directly but still void warranty.

*still not 100% conversion though as the real PE car still has bigger camber. Unless one change all the suspension arms with PE parts.
constant_weight
post Sep 5 2022, 02:35 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 5 2022, 02:12 PM)
Based on hearsay, the Primacy Michelin had good NVH, tyre roar sound.
Well, I can confirm that base on 2 wheels on Primacy 4.

Even their UHP PS4 and PS5, the noise is around the same as most Touring tyre category where Primacy belongs.
Haven't driven the PS5 that much, but quick impression was quieter than Prime2 that it replaced. Again, Prime2 is Touring vs PS5 UHP.

Human's impression on quieter sometimes don't match the machine measurement, it could be the frequency range is that less bothering but still as loud base on measurement.

Michelin's sidewall is soft on general, that could be one of the reason.
*Don't have chance to drive Cup2 yet, so I don't know on that spectrum.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Sep 5 2022, 02:36 PM

0.0270sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:07 AM