47 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

All New Honda HRV 2022, All. Eyes. On. You.

jimmychangas
post Sep 4 2022, 09:19 PM

149 posts

After about 500km I have a few small gripes:

1. The small indicator bar to show how efficient your driving is, is gone in the HRV. Now I couldn’t tell if my driving is green, white, or blue. This was the staple of all modern Honda cars. I’m surprised they omitted this feature.

2. The ACC is not smooth. When the car ahead decelerates, the HRV had a split second delay and then applied brakes pretty harshly. I’d say the car behind me would be like “wtf is wrong with this guy” lol
Quazacolt
post Sep 4 2022, 10:27 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 4 2022, 06:18 PM)
There is Polestar tuned Ohlins available, me the type tends to stick with OEM solution if available + don't have patience/place/practical experience to play with compression/rebound for days.

Keep telling myself don't waste the remaing 3 years warranty to stop myself... lol
Polestar Ohlins available from Volvo directly? And doesn't void existing warranty?

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 4 2022, 06:30 PM)
Isn't this a two decades old problem?

Like 1st, 2nd gen Priuses or 1st gen Insight that debut during the 90's
Well, there aren't many Honda Malaysia CBU jazz hybrid around, and i guess i was right (i know cuz it was my wife's ex car, 2 ownership before - hybrid jazz > HRV > Civic FE this year)
Quazacolt
post Sep 4 2022, 10:30 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 4 2022, 09:14 PM)
Errr… basically I after adjusting I still can see quite a lot of the X70 body (door handles and rear door) and I couldn’t set it to go further.
*emotional damage*
Yes. Hahahahaha but I already gotten used to it. With this HRV RS, air cond still runs even in full EV mode, which I fucking adore.
The heck lol... I test driven the X70 personally and i couldn't recall that happening. Not sure if it's the new CKD added issue (or yours still CBU?) Or just your car side mirror lemon?

It already start clipping and looping after adjusting furthest outward?

Hahaha for you, that's the best upgrade on this new HRV RS!
Anything else is added bonus tongue.gif
jimmychangas
post Sep 4 2022, 11:09 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 10:30 PM)
The heck lol...  I test driven the X70 personally and i couldn't recall that happening. Not sure if it's the new CKD added issue (or yours still CBU?) Or just your car side mirror lemon?

It already start clipping and looping after adjusting furthest outward?
Yeah man it started clipping way too early for me. I tested on 2 X70s, CKD and CBU

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 10:30 PM)
Hahaha for you,  that's the best upgrade on this new HRV RS!
Anything else is added bonus tongue.gif
You bet man. It’s been 500km, I’m still on my first tank of fuel and the fc numbers it’s showing is 4.4L/100km which is fantastic given that I’m driving around town with 3 other adults on board.
constant_weight
post Sep 4 2022, 11:26 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 4 2022, 10:27 PM)
Polestar Ohlins available from Volvo directly? And doesn't void existing warranty?

Volvo has Polestar Engineered that have Ohlins from factory. S60/V60 is Brembo 6 pots + Ohlins
XC60 is Akebono 6 pots + Ohlins

Unfortunately not officially available here. Can order and install the kits from official dealer directly but still void warranty.

*still not 100% conversion though as the real PE car still has bigger camber. Unless one change all the suspension arms with PE parts.
isr25
post Sep 5 2022, 07:58 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 4 2022, 09:19 PM)
After about 500km I have a few small gripes:

1. The small indicator bar to show how efficient your driving is, is gone in the HRV. Now I couldn’t tell if my driving is green, white, or blue. This was the staple of all modern Honda cars. I’m surprised they omitted this feature.

2. The ACC is not smooth. When the car ahead decelerates, the HRV had a split second delay and then applied brakes pretty harshly. I’d say the car behind me would be like “wtf is wrong with this guy” lol
For number (1) - I just use the Range & Fuel option at the meter cluster and target the "Instant Fuel Economy" bar to be between 15-20. Beats using the ambient meter.
jimmychangas
post Sep 5 2022, 08:19 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Sep 5 2022, 07:58 AM)
For number (1) - I just use the Range & Fuel option at the meter cluster and target the "Instant Fuel Economy" bar to be between 15-20. Beats using the ambient meter.
That’d work nicely for you, but in the RS I noticed that the engine speed (RPM) is not dependent on how much the gas pedal is depressed (especially during low speeds), as it actually depends on the current charge remaining for the battery.

There have been a few times where I know I only depressed the pedal very minimally but the engine is revving a lot more than that - my guess is around 2k to 3k RPM, because at that time the battery is low on charge. This I think is one of the downsides of the e:HEV system; you’re going less than 30 to 40kph but the engine is pretty loud to recharge the battery.

This post has been edited by jimmychangas: Sep 5 2022, 08:20 AM
pikafaded
post Sep 5 2022, 08:22 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 4 2022, 09:19 PM)
This sucks man sad.gif
jimmychangas
post Sep 5 2022, 08:28 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Sep 5 2022, 08:22 AM)
This sucks man sad.gif
I’ll do more tests whenever I can lah. Last night was along the NSE between Seremban to Nilai, north bound. Damn crowded with cars weh.
isr25
post Sep 5 2022, 09:03 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 5 2022, 08:19 AM)
That’d work nicely for you, but in the RS I noticed that the engine speed (RPM) is not dependent on how much the gas pedal is depressed (especially during low speeds), as it actually depends on the current charge remaining for the battery.

There have been a few times where I know I only depressed the pedal very minimally but the engine is revving a lot more than that - my guess is around 2k to 3k RPM, because at that time the battery is low on charge. This I think is one of the downsides of the e:HEV system; you’re going less than 30 to 40kph but the engine is pretty loud to recharge the battery.
For RS I wouldn't even think about it, just drive normally. Your worst fuel consumption would by my best fuel consumption laugh.gif Yes the engine might roar out loud, but your mileage would still be incomparably better.
ayamxxx
post Sep 5 2022, 02:12 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Sep 4 2022, 06:21 PM)
Just hope after 2000km, the NVH improves 😇. Referecing PC6 experience.
Based on hearsay, the Primacy Michelin had good NVH, tyre roar sound.
constant_weight
post Sep 5 2022, 02:35 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 5 2022, 02:12 PM)
Based on hearsay, the Primacy Michelin had good NVH, tyre roar sound.
Well, I can confirm that base on 2 wheels on Primacy 4.

Even their UHP PS4 and PS5, the noise is around the same as most Touring tyre category where Primacy belongs.
Haven't driven the PS5 that much, but quick impression was quieter than Prime2 that it replaced. Again, Prime2 is Touring vs PS5 UHP.

Human's impression on quieter sometimes don't match the machine measurement, it could be the frequency range is that less bothering but still as loud base on measurement.

Michelin's sidewall is soft on general, that could be one of the reason.
*Don't have chance to drive Cup2 yet, so I don't know on that spectrum.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Sep 5 2022, 02:36 PM
monkedz
post Sep 5 2022, 06:28 PM

47 posts

Do you think there will be an option to upgrade the boot to power boot in near future? Does the previous hrv have something similar?
jimmychangas
post Sep 5 2022, 06:37 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(monkedz @ Sep 5 2022, 06:28 PM)
Do you think there will be an option to upgrade the boot to power boot in near future? Does the previous hrv have something similar?
There is already a PnP power boot module for non-RS variants in the market now.
jimmychangas
post Sep 5 2022, 11:33 PM

149 posts

I’ve encountered the first quality issue with my car, after about 500km.

At low speeds a pretty audible rattle can be heard from the passenger side footwell; I managed to identify the source of the rattle to be the plastic piece that forms part of the center tunnel right below the dashboard. After stuffing in some soft plastic, the problem goes away.

Guess I’m gonna have to live with that.
claudetan
post Sep 6 2022, 06:44 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 5 2022, 11:33 PM)
I’ve encountered the first quality issue with my car, after about 500km.

At low speeds a pretty audible rattle can be heard from the passenger side footwell; I managed to identify the source of the rattle to be the plastic piece that forms part of the center tunnel right below the dashboard. After stuffing in some soft plastic, the problem goes away.

Guess I’m gonna have to live with that.
since you identified the source, just send to Honda and tell them to fix it. Should be able to be done within 1 day since you identified the source.
staind
post Sep 6 2022, 06:49 AM

Ain't Stopping Here
1,162 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Sep 6 2022, 06:44 AM)
since you identified the source, just send to Honda and tell them to fix it. Should be able to be done within 1 day since you identified the source.
Usually Honda will also stick some foam to reduce the noise.
This issue is due to part shrinkage. Usually take some time for them to modify their mold.

jimmychangas
post Sep 6 2022, 07:52 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(claudetan @ Sep 6 2022, 06:44 AM)
Ah ok in that case I’ll inform them when I send it in for 1000km service. In the meantime the plastic will do haha
monkedz
post Sep 6 2022, 09:24 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Sep 5 2022, 06:37 PM)
There is already a PnP power boot module for non-RS variants in the market now.
Cool! Any idea how much is it?
ginodave
post Sep 6 2022, 06:25 PM

36 posts

Most of you guys have booked car, some have already received and some are waiting to get it delivered.
1. I am bit late for the party and What is the waiting period if I book now?
2. When do I need to make the downpayment (not the initial booking fee)?
3. Until which stage I can cancel the booking?

I am planning to get the V turbo. Any idea if the waiting periode depends on colour? Which is having high demand and which is having low demand?

47 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:30 AM