intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

TristanX
post Apr 10 2021, 11:13 AM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Apr 10 2021, 11:12 AM)
Anyone know whats the issue im facing?

Proc i7 11700 stock cooler

idle temp : 46-50C
gaming 65-71C

If i try to run cinebench or other benchmark application my cpu can hit up to 95-100C for like 5 sec then it will throttle down speed. After throttle it will steady around 70-72C max at 3.1ghz won't go higher than that. Currently score about 9.8k cinebench r23 score. Won't go higher than that.

Already tried reapplying the thermal paste and resit the stock cooler so its not about the cooler not properly fixed. Still trying to figure out whats the issue.
Intel stock cooler is crap these days. You have to upgrade it if you want better temps.

1024kbps
post Apr 10 2021, 11:17 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

yeah OC and stock cooler dont really work well, stock cooler cant efficiently dissipate heat fast due to it's just a chunk of aluminium, rather than after market cooler with heatpipes.

Do you see high performance cooler use chunk of alu? no right?
targon
post Apr 10 2021, 11:23 AM

291 posts

gaming 65-71C

If i try to run cinebench or other benchmark application my cpu can hit up to 95-100C for like 5 sec then it will throttle down speed. After throttle it will steady around 70-72C max at 3.1ghz won't go higher than that. Currently score about 9.8k cinebench r23 score. Won't go higher than that.

Already tried reapplying the thermal paste and resit the stock cooler so its not about the cooler not properly fixed. Still trying to figure out whats the issue.
just slap an A.I.O on it. nothing difficult unless u skimp on the cooling by using "stock cooler"
terradrive
post Apr 10 2021, 11:38 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

gaming 65-71C

stock cooler are meant for running the processor at intel's power spec. That's why it ran at all core 3.1Ghz to conform to the 65w TDP. Have to change to aftermarket cooler and unlock power limit on bios. If it was prebuilt system with motherboard by dell etc, good luck on the motherboard's bios for power limit haha.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Apr 10 2021, 11:39 AM
versey
post Apr 10 2021, 11:40 AM

I Love Huawei ^_^
948 posts

gaming 65-71C

U really think intel is cooler than Ryzen other than it’s cheaper.

Vincent6596
post Apr 10 2021, 11:43 AM

472 posts

gaming 65-71C

i using i7 10700F with id cooling zoomflow x 360 aio cooler

idle temp : around 40-42c
gaming temp: 65-72c

but my proc speed is always stay at 4.6ghz no matter idel or gaming.
kevinboey86
post Apr 10 2021, 11:59 AM

463 posts

Thanks for the feedback.

Not really trying to skimp on the cooling. I was thinking since i am not doing any overclocking and just running on its stock speed and also this is the Non K version.

Didn't know that the stock cooler unable to handle even the default boost speeds at reasonable temps.

Just worry if any issue with the processor or the motherboard in handling the voltage. So i guess its the stock cooler problem and i will look into it.

Any suggestion for air cooler?
TristanX
post Apr 10 2021, 12:04 PM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Apr 10 2021, 11:59 AM)
Thanks for the feedback.

Not really trying to skimp on the cooling. I was thinking since i am not doing any overclocking and just running on its stock speed and also this is the Non K version.

Didn't know that the stock cooler unable to handle even the default boost speeds at reasonable temps.

Just worry if any issue with the processor or the motherboard in handling the voltage. So i guess its the stock cooler problem and i will look into it.

Any suggestion for air cooler?
Scythe Mugen 5 Rev.B will get the job done easily.

https://shopee.com.my/SCYTHE-MUGEN-5-ARGB-P...1466.3163092464
Bonchi
post Apr 10 2021, 12:41 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

gaming 65-71C

It's stock cooler issue. At least get a hyper212, but a 240aio will be recommended.

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Apr 10 2021, 11:43 AM)
i using i7 10700F with id cooling zoomflow x 360 aio cooler

idle temp : around 40-42c
gaming temp: 65-72c

4.6ghz is the max all core for 11700 non K so it's working properly. 4.8ghz is single core boost. Anyways I feel that the ID cooling aio is rather weak.. my asetek 120 loads at 72C but the IDcooling 120 gets up to 80... it is what you can expect with a budget aio anyways.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 10 2021, 01:00 PM
Bonchi
post Apr 10 2021, 12:44 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(versey @ Apr 10 2021, 11:40 AM)
U really think intel is cooler than Ryzen other than it’s cheaper.
It is somewhat the same. You cannot look the temps on ryzen master which is the average, must look at the tdie temps in hwinfo and it's pretty often in the 90s with 360aio(average will show 70s). Meanwhile intel always report the hottest core temp as the current temp.

I think this is a new sensor on zen3. With zen2 they dont have this sensor and so with my direct heatpipe cooler, i was cracking my head on why my cpu is throttling even with temps in the low 70 but when i changed to aio, temp is the same but it no longer throttle.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 10 2021, 01:04 PM
TSSkylinestar
post Apr 10 2021, 01:00 PM

Mega Duck
10,474 posts

gaming 65-71C

Intel power management and cooler doing their job.
sai86
post Apr 10 2021, 02:59 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

gaming 65-71C

this. even my 4770k hit 100C insta the moment i load something. no sane person should use higher tier CPU with INTEL STOCK COOLER.
get smth like 212+ if you on budget.
llk
post Apr 10 2021, 05:22 PM

4,157 posts

Seem like 'waste of sand' doesn't really affect the sales of the 11900K laugh.gif

piscesguy
post Apr 10 2021, 05:53 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

The Intel stock cooler is worse than Ryzen. And the speed penalty is heavy compared to Ryzen.

Looks at the R23 AND R20 scores, it's throttling so bad if compared to Ryzen using stock cooler.

At least for Ryzen, the stock cooler is still usable BUT for Intel, the stock cooler is a joke, cannot even manage decent boost for long work load.

CORES=6
THREADS=12
MHZ=2600.000000
MHZ_ESTIMATE=inf
PROCESSOR=11th Gen Intel Core i5-11400
CBTYPE=64 Bit
OSVERSION=Windows 10, 64 Bit, Professional Edition (build 19042)
CBCPU1=0.000000
CBCPU1PEAK=0.000000
CBCPUXPEAK=8562.460490
CBCPU1ARRAY={}
CBCPUXARRAY={}
C4DINFO=
C4DVERSION=23.200
C4DBUILDID=RBBenchmark330542

--------------------------------------------

CORES=6
THREADS=12
MHZ=2600.000000
CBTYPE=64 Bit
CBCPU1=0.000000
CBCPUX=3337.943964
C4DINFO=
C4DVERSION=20.060
C4DBUILDID=RBBenchmark281795

Bonchi
post Apr 10 2021, 06:07 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 10 2021, 05:53 PM)
The Intel stock cooler is worse than Ryzen. And the speed penalty is heavy compared to Ryzen.

Looks at the R23 AND R20 scores, it's throttling so bad if compared to Ryzen using stock cooler.

At least for Ryzen, the stock cooler is still usable BUT for Intel, the stock cooler is a joke, cannot even manage decent boost for long work load.

CORES=6
THREADS=12
MHZ=2600.000000
MHZ_ESTIMATE=inf
CBTYPE=64 Bit
CBCPU1=0.000000
CBCPU1PEAK=0.000000
CBCPUXPEAK=8562.460490
CBCPU1ARRAY={}
CBCPUXARRAY={}
C4DINFO=
C4DVERSION=23.200
C4DBUILDID=RBBenchmark330542

--------------------------------------------

CORES=6
THREADS=12
MHZ=2600.000000
CBTYPE=64 Bit
CBCPU1=0.000000
CBCPUX=3337.943964
C4DINFO=
C4DVERSION=20.060
C4DBUILDID=RBBenchmark281795
But ryzen stock cooler cant fit in most ITX and low profile workstation case. So you gotta consider that too.

Besides the wraith prism will cause even the 3600 to throttle 90+C and insanely high RPM in malaysia's 30C ambient... so it's just another piece of e-waste in the end of the day.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 10 2021, 06:19 PM
Bonchi
post Apr 10 2021, 06:08 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 10 2021, 05:22 PM)
Seem like 'waste of sand' doesn't really affect the sales of the 11900K  laugh.gif

But the waste of sand 11700K is RM100 cheaper rclxms.gif
edmund_yung
post Apr 10 2021, 06:09 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Apr 10 2021, 11:43 AM)
Make sure Windows Power Plan is using Balance, not High Performance. Maybe that will fix the issue?
llk
post Apr 10 2021, 06:13 PM

4,157 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 10 2021, 06:08 PM)
But the waste of sand 11700K is RM100 cheaper rclxms.gif
Ya 11700K tak laku unlike it's big bro 11900K selling like hot cakes, everybody want best of the best rclxms.gif
targon
post Apr 10 2021, 06:20 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 10 2021, 05:22 PM)
Seem like 'waste of sand' doesn't really affect the sales of the 11900K  laugh.gif

Those waste of sand reviews got it wrong. They didn't focus on what's fixed with RKL compared to cml. Prices are going up also in overseas. And intel do hinted that there will b supply constraint in the 2nd half of year.
Do note that the latest agesa didn't actually fix the usb issue for some ppl. That's the trouble with Ryzen platform. Inconsistent.

Hint: forget abt yes it. U can get better deals with ebucket combo.
Bonchi
post Apr 10 2021, 06:22 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 10 2021, 06:09 PM)
Make sure Windows Power Plan is using Balance, not High Performance. Maybe that will fix the issue?
Nah, 11700 non K memang configured to load at 4.6ghz all core load. So it's working as expected.

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 10 2021, 06:13 PM)
Ya 11700K tak laku unlike it's big bro 11900K selling like hot cakes, everybody want best of the best  rclxms.gif
Guess we have many bangsawan OCers because well, 11900K is only super useful for full custom WC/360
Aio OCing with bangsawan motherboard and bangsawan ram.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 10 2021, 06:24 PM

149 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:08 PM