intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

1024kbps
post Mar 6 2021, 06:10 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 6 2021, 05:43 PM)
Only during constant high synthetic powerload. Average and gaming usage ryzens generally will expel more heat especially during light loads and idle.

And even for max load, the 5800x will also fly to 90C while intel 10900K will fly to 93C. So even if the intel cpu is draining 100w more, it’s only dispelling about 3C more... and i would also reiterate intel’s more effecient clock stepping that allows the cpu to run 60C at long continuous loads while AMD goes full power even for youtube.

so i would say intel is like a car with 8speed gearbox and an inefficient engine while amd is like a 3 speed gearbox with a high effecient engine. But thanks to the wider rev range, in the long term, the intel car will be using fewer fuel and running cooler.
Youtube video will not go to full power on AMD, not sure what's wrong with your browser... unless you're talking about 8K.
4K Costa Rica on VP9 software decoding mode not really that cpu intensive, even my old r3 1300x can play it, just not smoothly due to slow cpu.
1024kbps
post Mar 6 2021, 06:52 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 6 2021, 06:17 PM)
this is zen2 onward’s issue. newer agesa has solved the aggresive boosting specifically on chrome but still very dependent on what is running at the background. However for certain B450/x470 boards that dont often get support then too bad. For example my foobar playing FLAC is ok.. but when play APE or some ALAC, the cpu will go hulkmode and go full throttle 1.4v 3.9ghz all core.

If you early adopter of the zen2 and used their first few bios revisions...even dragging a folder or resizing a window will cause the cpu to fly up to 80C for 1 sec and then fall back down.

This feedback has been an ongoing complain till this day. Many users chose to ignore already and just accepted it, because this aggressive boosting behavior as quoted by AMD, is what made the cpu responsive.

If you ask me, apart from difficulty hitting 3200mhz ram, the 1000 series and 2000 series ryzens are actually way more stable as compared to 3000 series.
Sounds like a bad software optimization, and many of the windows visual effects are running off Desktop Widow Manager that utilize GPU power, and even webpage rendering also fully utilize your GPU.
it's either cause by bad OS code, GPU driver.

Im on 3700x now, never encounter such issue, my cpu never go to full throttle unless i run ychruncer, prime95 or 7zip benchmark.

If you open task manager and check the Desktop Window Manager, it use your GPU engine actually, since Windows 7 era.
1024kbps
post Mar 6 2021, 07:26 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 6 2021, 07:03 PM)
but when switched to intel, all this issue is gone. So it’s definitely AMD is the one having incompatibility with the software because regardless, the software is written in x86 so there’s no excuse from AMD.
Based on afterburner, my gpu is running nice and cool too so it’s totally fine. Just the cpu is boosting aggressively... only after i turn off all running processes including steam and logitech tools then i will see the cpu go to sleep state.

Anyways i have switched to intel and no more problems.
because when you switch, you reinstalled Windows, reinstall windows is one of the way and the most simplest way to solve the problem. sweat.gif
it also removed the old buggy software that's been secretly running on background that ruining the user experience.
1024kbps
post Mar 6 2021, 11:14 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 6 2021, 07:51 PM)
but i reinstalled windows on the ryzen more than 10 times. changed from B450 to B450 to B550 change from 3600 to 3700x and back to 3600. All having the exact same problem.

PS, im not a first time PC builder sweat.gif ... ive been overclocking and modding since pentium4 lolol. even lived through the pencil mod era.
Im using 3700x too, just not in new mobo, MSI b350 mortar arctic, thanks to my lazyness and AMD AM4 socket upgradability ,my AIO is gigantic and is blocking a lot of things, i cound not find time to upgrade it.

I guess it's jsut bad luck then, i have USB disconnection too, just not that frequently.
1024kbps
post Mar 15 2021, 10:22 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Mar 15 2021, 10:15 PM)
damn the layout. EATX size?
size probably does not matter, people who use this board going to put on bench anyway, your finger cant reach the switch even if your casing support EATX sweat.gif tongue.gif
1024kbps
post Mar 17 2021, 12:45 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Mar 17 2021, 10:38 AM)
still 14nm with this Rocket Lake...
R5 5600x is selling 500 dollars here, for a 6c12t CPU, expensive and less cores, retailers are jacking up the price so much it make zero sense to buy it.
1024kbps
post Mar 18 2021, 12:02 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 17 2021, 08:59 PM)
10400F ftw.

Any idea what's the msrp for 11700k in SG?
hopefully intel can pump out enough chip for everyone by the time they hit the shelves.
Aiming to build a backup PC, just in case my Vega suddenly kaput, at least i still use my pc without bleeding my wallet to buy the overpriced gpu or bundle system sweat.gif

Still gaming sometimes, just not in my priority anymore.
1024kbps
post Mar 18 2021, 08:13 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 18 2021, 12:44 AM)
Hopefully everyone become amd fan and all go fight for that limited piece of ryzen cake, so we can easily walk into the shop and ask for a roti intel.

Although i will feel bad for this 10400F hahaha. Getting replaced so soon despite having done nothing wrong... infact it has been serving as a really damn good cpu. Since ive even compromised so much for a shit cpu like ryzen 3600... maybe i should keep this 10400F a little longer.
The ryzen issue really leaves a sour taste in your mouth, old cpu can always use as back up pc.
My primary interest in Intel is the new xe gpu, quicksync, while amd vce always lagging behind in terms of quality, also lacks of good apu makes it less viable for backup pc.
1024kbps
post Apr 1 2021, 06:59 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 1 2021, 04:31 PM)
I think my computer has integrated disabled yet i can pick quick sync on the encoder iinm
Which program? some program still let you choose, but will fallback to software mode silently due to missing integrated GPU.
1024kbps
post Apr 1 2021, 08:38 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 1 2021, 08:19 PM)
What is to worry haha, alot high end dual tower coolers can handle 250w, and mine only costs slightly over rm300, not even as expensive as liquid coolers. If the temp is too high, just adjust your voltage/overclock level or just use the TDP limiter in the BIOS, can set like 230w etc as you like.

Also I remembered someone saying if you buy Noctua coolers, they will provide you with the new clamp for future sockets.
lol what, they use it as storage?
yeah but You'll need to provide them your receipt as proof of purchase, the will send you one for free.
https://noctua.at/en/noctua-offers-upgrade-...-free-of-charge
1024kbps
post Apr 1 2021, 09:59 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 1 2021, 09:15 PM)
Anyways, noctua coolers and fans are expensive AF... but their mounts are super cheap.. bought one at RM35 from shopee because i lost my intel mount lol.
welp, quality stuff due to fluid bearing, plethora of accessories, more resistant to oxidization,
Been using VenomousX for years, the nickel plating oxidized so badly it become white colored lol.

1024kbps
post Apr 2 2021, 06:44 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 2 2021, 06:26 PM)
C-Zone selling 11400F at 689, 11400 at 789. Still not enough B560 in stock. Tak nak ass rock!
Is Asrock really that bad? sweat.gif
always tempted to get their mobo, but my preference is still MSI/Gigabyte, third is Asus.
1024kbps
post Apr 7 2021, 06:45 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 6 2021, 06:57 PM)
Thanks, I suppose the image is good enough proof haha, dont have to remove the heatsink to void the warranty.

Anyways, I just done 3 passes on memtest86 with these settings. I think should be stable enough.
Crank the voltage like mad to get cr to 1 but doesnt seem to improve latency much. So keeping it at 1.47v with this. VCCSA and VCCIO both set to 1.25v. (Im not sure what's the ideal voltage..1.2V cant boot)

now reformatting PC cuz kena virus from trying to crack something sweat.gif
lol warez is never safe, if you really want to try dubious website and warez, try in on a VM first.
at the very least you just delete the VM and create new one if shit happens.
1024kbps
post Apr 9 2021, 11:03 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 9 2021, 12:25 AM)

11400F is 299 and 11400 is 339 SGD here.
3600x priced same as 11400, buuutt without IGP, with the GPU shortage and scalper price the choice is pretty obvious.

whoever bought the AMD gonna stuck with overpriced nvidia gpu and nope, 2000 dollar 6800, Radeon GPU are all sold out except 6800 and higher model loll
1024kbps
post Apr 9 2021, 01:52 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 9 2021, 12:00 PM)
Sgd prices are crazy as always sweat.gif i feel like i shouldve just buy in msia first before going over in a few week's time... but i dont see any 11700KF in stock anywhere... seems like it's not out yet.
Price from lazada mark up too much, almost + 50/60 dollar, there are cheaper price on Carousell https://www.carousell.sg/search/11400?

11700 https://www.carousell.sg/p/intel-core-i7-11...sort_by=popular
1024kbps
post Apr 9 2021, 02:18 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 9 2021, 11:36 AM)
for the current pc climate way safer to get the igpu version
yeah, if gpu suddenly kaput ppl gonna fork out at lot more just to play games.
also for the 6800xt. carousell only selling at 1.3K, Lazada selling at cut thorat 2k plus, how to close shop fast 101 notworthy.gif
1024kbps
post Apr 10 2021, 11:17 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

yeah OC and stock cooler dont really work well, stock cooler cant efficiently dissipate heat fast due to it's just a chunk of aluminium, rather than after market cooler with heatpipes.

Do you see high performance cooler use chunk of alu? no right?
1024kbps
post Apr 10 2021, 08:13 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 10 2021, 07:57 PM)

tests done on dual rank 3200C14 ram, 10400F beats ryzen 3600 in every game in the video  hmm.gif

hahahaha and ppl thrashed 10400F last time.
To be fair, R5 3600 released on July 7th 2019, this is expected. also the video titled "budget gaming", use RTX 2080 Ti and 3090 for benchmark? sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Apr 16 2021, 03:18 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 16 2021, 03:12 PM)
you guys still have faith with (or buying) MSI?

https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/mr..._and_replacing/
4 years on b350 mortar arctic, still going strong.
1024kbps
post Apr 25 2021, 10:39 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 25 2021, 12:12 AM)
wow 16-threads CPU as office PC!
My company issued Dell tabled with i5 10300 i think, 4c8t just to access some web interface for data input... that thing cost 1.6K usd sweat.gif notworthy.gif
but good thing is now my new tablet wont shutdown within 2 hours of usage lol

0.1054sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:49 PM