intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

Bonchi
post Apr 8 2021, 09:50 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(keenie @ Apr 8 2021, 09:19 PM)
Okay, I’ll look into it.

As per Icehart shared his R12 11400/3080, it’s Z490 motherboard.

Also, I’ll Google more info about the RAM oc capability.

Thanks man.
Mobo may be z490... but you know la, alienware... you wont know what they'll do to the bios.

You actually can get more tips from ctskl haha, as ive not touched a rocketlake yet. Plus he'll be more experienced with better ram kits. I am more on a budget build side, and overclocking is more like the good old days of trying to get extra performance from cheaper hardware.
Bonchi
post Apr 8 2021, 09:55 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Apr 8 2021, 09:12 PM)
Need suggestion on budget to mid range cooler for 11700. Something that is better than stock cooler, lower noise and can support turbo boost with no throttling. Any option in the rm200-250 range? Thank you sifu!
RM250 ish also can get some cheap 240 aio that will also get the job done.

https://shopee.com.my/product/65736936/7238...13-1617890083.9
yimingwuzere
post Apr 8 2021, 10:22 PM

990 posts

https://www.techpowerup.com/280720/gear-1-c...-gen-processors

Gear 1 causes the IMC to consume more power than Gear 2, and can lead to less CPU performance in TDP limited scenarios on 65W Rocket Lake CPUs.
targon
post Apr 8 2021, 11:17 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 8 2021, 07:43 PM)
cstkl1 also mentioned it too, the stability is way different.
that's the problem with review sites. they don't touch on stability . so everybody thinks it's a "waste of sand"

Bonchi
post Apr 8 2021, 11:29 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 8 2021, 10:22 PM)
https://www.techpowerup.com/280720/gear-1-c...-gen-processors

Gear 1 causes the IMC to consume more power than Gear 2, and can lead to less CPU performance in TDP limited scenarios on 65W Rocket Lake CPUs.
Thus gear2 is the method going forward. However will need some pretty good ram kits else will be running 1.6v+ to hit 4500mhz in order to turnover the latency penalty.

But personally, not much point cuz afterall it's for chasing numbers. If you turn on Gsync or limit the frame rate to 144hz to prevent tearing, all the extra frame is for shyok sendiri jer. Altho in high gpu demand games, it does help at the 1% lows for a smoother gaming experience.
yimingwuzere
post Apr 9 2021, 12:05 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 8 2021, 11:29 PM)
Thus gear2 is the method going forward. However will need some pretty good ram kits else will be running 1.6v+ to hit 4500mhz in order to turnover the latency penalty.

But personally, not much point cuz afterall it's for chasing numbers. If you turn on Gsync or limit the frame rate to 144hz to prevent tearing, all the extra frame is for shyok sendiri jer. Altho in high gpu demand games, it does help at the 1% lows for a smoother gaming experience.
I don't think it's going to be a big penalty for you as you can compensate by manually increasing the max power draw of the CPU, allowing Gear 1 to not impact clocks from the higher IMC power draw. This issue also isn't readily apparent on the higher wattage CPUs either. Might be worse on the T CPUs though, but how many people here buy those chips anyway vs the stock ones, K and F? tongue.gif
edmund_yung
post Apr 9 2021, 12:25 AM

1,198 posts

Bonchi
post Apr 9 2021, 12:25 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 9 2021, 12:05 AM)
I don't think it's going to be a big penalty for you as you can compensate by manually increasing the max power draw of the CPU, allowing Gear 1 to not impact clocks from the higher IMC power draw. This issue also isn't readily apparent on the higher wattage CPUs either. Might be worse on the T CPUs though, but how many people here buy those chips anyway vs the stock ones, K and F? tongue.gif
With so many reviewers hyping the 11400F, i think pretty soon it'll vanish. Luckily im going after the waste of sand 11700KF or 10700KF laugh.gif

But yeah. Most mobo allows high PL. even the mpg B560i seems to allow unlimited, so the cpu will just draw as much as it needs. However looking at the way how these rocketlake imc performs, gear2 and godlike ram speed is the way to go.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 9 2021, 12:29 AM
Fjive
post Apr 9 2021, 10:38 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 8 2021, 09:18 PM)
Scythe Mugen 5 will get the job done. On par with Noctua NH-U14S. Anything more will need you to increase budget.
Sifu, how bout Bequiet Pure rock 2? Saw this for rm180+, if no oc for 11700 is it good enough?
TristanX
post Apr 9 2021, 10:50 AM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Apr 9 2021, 10:38 AM)
Sifu, how bout Bequiet Pure rock 2? Saw this for rm180+, if no oc for 11700 is it good enough?
A bit overpriced.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/be-quiet...u-cooler/6.html

Noctua NH-U12A = U14S = Scythe Mugen 5 Rev.B (or whatever variant)
1024kbps
post Apr 9 2021, 11:03 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 9 2021, 12:25 AM)

11400F is 299 and 11400 is 339 SGD here.
3600x priced same as 11400, buuutt without IGP, with the GPU shortage and scalper price the choice is pretty obvious.

whoever bought the AMD gonna stuck with overpriced nvidia gpu and nope, 2000 dollar 6800, Radeon GPU are all sold out except 6800 and higher model loll
terradrive
post Apr 9 2021, 11:36 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 9 2021, 11:03 AM)
3600x priced same as 11400, buuutt without IGP, with the GPU shortage and scalper price the choice is pretty obvious.

whoever bought the AMD gonna stuck with overpriced nvidia gpu and nope, 2000 dollar 6800, Radeon GPU are all sold out except 6800 and higher model  loll
for the current pc climate way safer to get the igpu version
Bonchi
post Apr 9 2021, 12:00 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 9 2021, 11:03 AM)

whoever bought the AMD gonna stuck with overpriced nvidia gpu and nope, 2000 dollar 6800, Radeon GPU are all sold out except 6800 and higher model  loll
Sgd prices are crazy as always sweat.gif i feel like i shouldve just buy in msia first before going over in a few week's time... but i dont see any 11700KF in stock anywhere... seems like it's not out yet.

1024kbps
post Apr 9 2021, 01:52 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 9 2021, 12:00 PM)
Sgd prices are crazy as always sweat.gif i feel like i shouldve just buy in msia first before going over in a few week's time... but i dont see any 11700KF in stock anywhere... seems like it's not out yet.
Price from lazada mark up too much, almost + 50/60 dollar, there are cheaper price on Carousell https://www.carousell.sg/search/11400?

11700 https://www.carousell.sg/p/intel-core-i7-11...sort_by=popular
targon
post Apr 9 2021, 01:57 PM

291 posts

guys, if u re after RKL, better to buy now. Prices have started to move upwards.
Bonchi
post Apr 9 2021, 02:01 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 9 2021, 01:57 PM)
guys, if u re after RKL, better to buy now. Prices have started to move upwards.
Only the 11400, 11600K and 11900K actually. The waste of sand price dropped by RM100 brows.gif
Bonchi
post Apr 9 2021, 02:03 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 9 2021, 01:52 PM)
Price from lazada mark up too much, almost + 50/60 dollar, there are cheaper price on Carousell https://www.carousell.sg/search/11400?

11700 https://www.carousell.sg/p/intel-core-i7-11...sort_by=popular
11700 is still ok haha guess those reviewers really made an impact on the 11400.
1024kbps
post Apr 9 2021, 02:18 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Apr 9 2021, 11:36 AM)
for the current pc climate way safer to get the igpu version
yeah, if gpu suddenly kaput ppl gonna fork out at lot more just to play games.
also for the 6800xt. carousell only selling at 1.3K, Lazada selling at cut thorat 2k plus, how to close shop fast 101 notworthy.gif
sai86
post Apr 9 2021, 09:21 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 9 2021, 12:00 PM)
really crazy for GPU pricing here. and most of it need bundle especially for nvidia.
im glad i gotten mine before it even get worse now.
kevinboey86
post Apr 10 2021, 11:12 AM

463 posts

Anyone know whats the issue im facing?

Proc i7 11700 stock cooler

idle temp : 46-50C
gaming 65-71C

If i try to run cinebench or other benchmark application my cpu can hit up to 95-100C for like 5 sec then it will throttle down speed. After throttle it will steady around 70-72C max at 3.1ghz won't go higher than that. Currently score about 9.8k cinebench r23 score. Won't go higher than that.

Already tried reapplying the thermal paste and resit the stock cooler so its not about the cooler not properly fixed. Still trying to figure out whats the issue.

149 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:34 AM