413 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V39, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

taqu
post Mar 23 2021, 03:43 PM

864 posts

My D-Link DIR-850L can reach 500 Mbps. I still keep it as spare router.
alucard89
post Mar 23 2021, 04:54 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Mar 22 2021, 10:17 PM)
I think you can access the tmadmin section instead of the tmuser

Edited: the way to access tmadmin is the same as tmuser
id: tmadmin pass: Adm@****
Thanks, that worked for my unit
Not sure which option i need to change for repeater mode (if available)

win44
post Mar 23 2021, 05:20 PM

391 posts

Hey guys,

I have 30 mbps highrise unifi now. Contract finished.
I want to get 100 mbps.

Should i apply a new account (to get 30 days free promo), or should i upgrade?

I see the current promo ends on 31 March, perhaps next month will have a better promo?

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by win44: Mar 23 2021, 05:21 PM
kopitiam
post Mar 23 2021, 05:21 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(ranger79 @ Mar 23 2021, 08:03 AM)
1) What router are you using?

2) Is IPV6 enabled?
archer c7 on account 1

archer c1200 on account 2

both ipv6 enabled

This post has been edited by kopitiam: Mar 23 2021, 05:21 PM

aa123aa
post Mar 23 2021, 05:30 PM

180 posts

how to get 800mbps? any setting ?
only manged to get 700max using asus ax3000 router and cat 6 cable. mostly 650 like that.

This post has been edited by aa123aa: Mar 23 2021, 05:31 PM
aniq8676
post Mar 23 2021, 05:38 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(win44 @ Mar 23 2021, 05:20 PM)
Hey guys,

I have 30 mbps highrise unifi now. Contract finished.
I want to get 100 mbps.

Should i apply a new account (to get 30 days free promo), or should i upgrade?

I see the current promo ends on 31 March, perhaps next month will have a better promo?

Thanks in advance
can we know, what kind of technology is used in your premises? Fiber or VDSL?

to subscribe to 100mbps and above, the High-rise must have fiber optics
kopitiam
post Mar 23 2021, 06:31 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(aa123aa @ Mar 23 2021, 05:30 PM)
only manged to get 700max using asus ax3000 router and cat 6 cable. mostly 650 like that.
i wish i can get 700mbps, both of my 800mbps can only get 3xx max bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 09:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Mar 23 2021, 05:21 PM)
archer c7
archer c1200
That's why. Crappy routers
Also what is the specs of the computer that you use to do the speedtest?
Computers with very slow processor & very slow storage such as HDD won't get you full 800Mb/s

This is my speed on ASUS GT-AC5300 on CAT 7 cable

Below is my speed on Wi-Fi. 15 meter away & behind 2 walls

alucard89
post Mar 23 2021, 09:38 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 23 2021, 09:19 PM)
That's why. Crappy routers
Also what is the specs of the computer that you use to do the speedtest?
Computers with very slow processor & very slow storage such as HDD won't get you full 800Mb/s

This is my speed on ASUS GT-AC5300 on CAT 7 cable

Below is my speed on Wi-Fi. 15 meter away & behind 2 walls

That’s impressive indeed
How much did you get for that one? Saw different listed prices in shopee (500 - 1k)
soonwai
post Mar 23 2021, 09:59 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(aa123aa @ Mar 23 2021, 05:30 PM)
Check your router settings. Make sure you don't have anything turned on that's disabling NAT Acceleration aka CTF aka Fasttrack, etc...

This is what I get when I have Fasttrack turned off. My router is a Mikrotik hAP AC2. Tested from a Mac mini M1. Cables are Cat5e.

vs

with Fasttrack turned on.

and wifi to my 7-yr old AirPort Extreme Time Capsule. Sorry, forgot which one I had upstairs.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 23 2021, 10:26 PM
alucard89
post Mar 23 2021, 10:01 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Mar 23 2021, 01:25 PM)
Sounds like you are using infamous trashcan router (aka DIR-850L), it ran into same limit while I was testing WAN to LAN side on it before (but it was in AP mode, I haven't test on actual Unifi yet)

Mostly consistent here otherwise, also not using stock router. Linksys EA8100.
Was using DIR-850L that bad ke?
I mean should be sufficient for 100-300mbps if using for repeater
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 10:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 23 2021, 09:38 PM)
How much did you get for that one? Saw different listed prices in shopee (500 - 1k)
Don't buy the GT-AC5300, it's an older model
Buy the RT-AX86U instead. Or if you're low on budget, get the RT-AX56U

I've tested the RT-AX56U myself & it can still get full 800Mb/s on CAT7 cable and 600Mb/s on Wi-Fi
Brotherjoe
post Mar 23 2021, 10:30 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 19 2021, 11:55 AM)
1. Connect a laptop or desktop directly to the router using an Ethernet cable to make sure you are definitely getting 300Mb/s. If yes, then proceed with the next 2 steps
2. When using above 50Mb/s, always use 5GHz, never 2.4GHz
3. Set your 5GHz bandwidth to 80MHz. Not 20, not 40, not auto, not 20/40/80. Not sure if the DIR-842 allows you to set it to 80MHz only or not. If not, then time to dump it and get a better router such as the ASUS RT-AX56U

This is where you can find it, don't ask me how to access your router configuration, I don't have time to spoon-feed you with every detail. Google it yourself
Hi There,

Does your DIR 842 overheating?
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 10:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Mar 23 2021, 10:30 PM)
Does your DIR 842 overheating?
I'm not using D-Link DIR-842. That's a crappy router

I'm using ASUS GT-AC5300

I got that screenshot from the DIR-842 manual

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 23 2021, 10:35 PM
Exeunt
post Mar 23 2021, 11:02 PM

828 posts

Hi, does Ax20 good budget router for unifi 300mb?
aniq8676
post Mar 23 2021, 11:26 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ Mar 23 2021, 11:02 PM)
Hi, does Ax20 good budget router for unifi 300mb?
yes, it also supports Onemesh
MelancholicAnubis
post Mar 25 2021, 01:35 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 23 2021, 10:01 PM)
Was using DIR-850L that bad ke?
I mean should be sufficient for 100-300mbps if using for repeater
I just saw it's not great reputation on here (complain dropouts, bad wifi range) and people nicknaming it trashcan cause it looked like one. Very curious to see how bad it actually was, so I went out and got it, not just one, but two! Also wanted to test bridging between both for future project.

I can't speak on the routing ability of it as I haven't hooked it up to my Unifi yet, but I have been testing it's WiFi capabilities out and it's soso only. It's ideal for apartment but not ideal in house with thick walls, speed drops off compared to C1200 (in same position) which can still deliver decent speed. Might be due to internal vs external antenna, maybe better chipset. Repeater function is fine, but run into AC1200 5Ghz limit.

For the WAN to LAN test in AP mode, might be due to limitation or configuration issue I ran into that limit I mentioned earlier but I noticed if I test LAN to LAN, around usual gigabit speed, so that's good to know. Might test it on Unifi if I can.

All in all, it's fun router to tinker with for project, and still plenty fast for near range AP, or gigabit switch. Just need to readjust expectations
alucard89
post Mar 25 2021, 10:11 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 23 2021, 10:02 PM)
Don't buy the GT-AC5300, it's an older model
Buy the RT-AX86U instead. Or if you're low on budget, get the RT-AX56U

I've tested the RT-AX56U myself & it can still get full 800Mb/s on CAT7 cable and 600Mb/s on Wi-Fi
Thanks for the recommendation, will consider that one once upgrade to higher speed
alucard89
post Mar 25 2021, 10:19 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Mar 25 2021, 01:35 AM)
I just saw it's not great reputation on here (complain dropouts, bad wifi range) and people nicknaming it trashcan cause it looked like one. Very curious to see how bad it actually was, so I went out and got it, not just one, but two! Also wanted to test bridging between both for future project.

I can't speak on the routing ability of it as I haven't hooked it up to my Unifi yet, but I have been testing it's WiFi capabilities out and it's soso only. It's ideal for apartment but not ideal in house with thick walls, speed drops off compared to C1200 (in same position) which can still deliver decent speed. Might be due to internal vs external antenna, maybe better chipset. Repeater function is fine, but run into AC1200 5Ghz limit.

For the WAN to LAN test in AP mode, might be due to limitation or configuration issue I ran into that limit I mentioned earlier but I noticed if I test LAN to LAN, around usual gigabit speed, so that's good to know. Might test it on Unifi if I can.

All in all, it's fun router to tinker with for project, and still plenty fast for near range AP, or gigabit switch. Just need to readjust expectations
Thanks for the detailed review
Just need to extend the 5ghz some more to other rooms
Still on 100mbps now, trying to get that 300mbps promo with mesh if can
Btw, how to know if I’m on public ip to use portforward?

aniq8676
post Mar 25 2021, 10:43 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 25 2021, 10:19 AM)
Thanks for the detailed review
Just need to extend the 5ghz some more to other rooms
Still on 100mbps now, trying to get that 300mbps promo with mesh if can
Btw, how to know if I’m on public ip to use portforward?
u can try 'what is my ip'

413 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:29 PM