Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed
4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V39, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

views
     
sHawTY
post Jan 6 2021, 12:47 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

Anyone else keep having error when accessing GMail / Google Drive FileStream / Google Meet?
Spoke with my G-Suite supplier, it seems the issue is isolated to only UniFi customers
Time customers are not having this issue
sHawTY
post Jan 6 2021, 04:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Jan 6 2021, 03:20 PM)
Yes, trying to upload stuff to Google Drive
the speed is very unstable
dropped from 50mbps to under 1mbps
QUOTE(shahie @ Jan 6 2021, 03:52 PM)
no wonder i received a few notification (connect / disconnect) on my smartphone, send by my mikrotik router on the google dns intermittent around noon time. luckly my primary dns was TM unifi and seconday google dns. one of the advantages using mikrotik router, can alert & triggered us. lol
Should be resolved now. At least from my side
What about you guys?
sHawTY
post Jan 11 2021, 12:24 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(Kelvynlim @ Jan 10 2021, 09:46 PM)
Not sure am I short change by TM, I am on 500 mbps and connected to 2.4 GHz. When I did the Speedtest on wifi and only got 50-55 download speed in the evening. The router was positioned on 1st floor and test was done on ground floor.
Macha, you're connected to the 2.4GHz lah
To get full 500Mb/s on WiFi, there are a few criteria
1. Your device itself must support 2x2 AC/AX
2. You need to be connected to 5GHz, not 2.4GHz
3. You need to set the 5GHz band to 80MHz
4. Don't expect to get 500Mb/s if you're far away from the router. The only way to get full 500Mb/s on WiFi even with all those criteria met, is if you're standing very close to the router. The further you go, the lower the speed will be unless you setup mesh network all around the house using Ethernet backhaul
sHawTY
post Jan 11 2021, 08:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(ray8426 @ Jan 11 2021, 02:26 PM)
From my apply until now already more than 2 month... still pending.....
Eleh, baru 2 bulan
There are those in here who had to wait for years before TM proceeded to install another DP in their road
sHawTY
post Jan 25 2021, 03:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(GonnersKL @ Jan 25 2021, 03:25 PM)
thank, any router can recommend ?
How much are you willing to spend?
sHawTY
post Mar 7 2021, 11:43 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(Sam Leong @ Mar 6 2021, 07:12 PM)
no follow up , apa pun xde
then close case
Did you reopen the ticket? Reopen and not create new ticket
If no, keep reopening the ticket until they actually fix the issue

The longer the ticket is opened, the higher the possibility of the ticket being raised to their higher management and at that point of time where the customer service department will be chewed by their higher management & SKMM

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 7 2021, 11:45 AM
sHawTY
post Mar 19 2021, 11:55 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(Ibrahim@@ @ Mar 19 2021, 11:15 AM)
when to check speed thru wifi this moorning , why can only get 48mbps only and my router is Dir 842 d link . change to 5 GHz also slightly better 50 plus ...
1. Connect a laptop or desktop directly to the router using an Ethernet cable to make sure you are definitely getting 300Mb/s. If yes, then proceed with the next 2 steps
2. When using above 50Mb/s, always use 5GHz, never 2.4GHz
3. Set your 5GHz bandwidth to 80MHz. Not 20, not 40, not auto, not 20/40/80. Not sure if the DIR-842 allows you to set it to 80MHz only or not. If not, then time to dump it and get a better router such as the ASUS RT-AX56U

This is where you can find it, don't ask me how to access your router configuration, I don't have time to spoon-feed you with every detail. Google it yourself
user posted image
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 11:07 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Mar 22 2021, 10:50 PM)
anyone managed to get full 800mbps from unifi?

both of my 800mbps line only can get max 3xx mbps only using cat 6  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Yes, no issue on my side, getting around 820Mb/s

PS: I'm not using TM stock router, I'm using ASUS GT-AC5300
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 09:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Mar 23 2021, 05:21 PM)
archer c7
archer c1200
That's why. Crappy routers
Also what is the specs of the computer that you use to do the speedtest?
Computers with very slow processor & very slow storage such as HDD won't get you full 800Mb/s

This is my speed on ASUS GT-AC5300 on CAT 7 cable

user posted image

Below is my speed on Wi-Fi. 15 meter away & behind 2 walls

user posted image
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 10:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 23 2021, 09:38 PM)
How much did you get for that one? Saw different listed prices in shopee (500 - 1k)
Don't buy the GT-AC5300, it's an older model
Buy the RT-AX86U instead. Or if you're low on budget, get the RT-AX56U

I've tested the RT-AX56U myself & it can still get full 800Mb/s on CAT7 cable and 600Mb/s on Wi-Fi
sHawTY
post Mar 23 2021, 10:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Mar 23 2021, 10:30 PM)
Does your DIR 842 overheating?
I'm not using D-Link DIR-842. That's a crappy router

I'm using ASUS GT-AC5300

I got that screenshot from the DIR-842 manual

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Mar 23 2021, 10:35 PM
sHawTY
post Mar 28 2021, 03:19 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Mar 27 2021, 08:21 PM)
but what if the problem comes from tm?
You didn't answer my 2nd question
sHawTY
post Mar 30 2021, 11:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Mar 30 2021, 10:28 PM)
So how come the TM still can take over my DNS?
Using TM supplied router?
sHawTY
post Apr 3 2021, 11:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(aa123aa @ Apr 3 2021, 06:02 PM)
why asus router are more expensive if compared to tp link? any particular reason?
Frequent firmware update, very long lifetime support, more stable firmware & direct support from ASUS Malaysia

TP-Link & D-Link will only provide firmware update between 1 ~ 2 years. After that, you will be forgotten
sHawTY
post Apr 9 2021, 10:28 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Apr 9 2021, 03:07 AM)
Guys what does it mean when my tp link ac1200 all light are on???

Usually it is only the first 4 lights from left that is on...
Restart the router, if still the same, time to buy your own router
sHawTY
post Apr 19 2021, 09:50 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(klangboy83 @ Apr 19 2021, 09:06 AM)
can the Deco take advantage of the wall ethernet connection?
Yes. And you will get full internet speed with MESH through Ethernet
sHawTY
post Apr 24 2021, 08:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

I miss the days when I can still get 100MB/s (That's megabyte, not megabit) download speed in Steam
Nowadays, no matter what IP range I use, I never get 100MB/s anymore, highest is 70MB/s

Ubisoft, Origin, Blizzard, Epic can still get up to 100MB/s, just Steam sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Apr 24 2021, 09:22 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(go626201 @ Apr 24 2021, 08:56 PM)
Steam download always use compressed files,so the speed is will be slower as the system will be extract and download at the same time.
The problem should not be on TM end. I think choose SG or MY steam region also not help on speed.
I think you missed some part of my previous post
I used to get 100MB/s when I got my UniFi upgraded to turbo 800Mb/s

It's only recently, ever since the first MCO where I can never get above 70MB/s in Steam

Tested SotTR*, I remember exactly in December 2019, I was able get 100MB/s

*Shadow of the Tomb Raider

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 24 2021, 09:23 PM
sHawTY
post Apr 24 2021, 09:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

This is what I'm getting on a certain IP range. I mean TM seriously WTF?

user posted image
sHawTY
post Apr 25 2021, 10:49 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,955 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(go626201 @ Apr 25 2021, 12:31 AM)
The only thing i can say is steam having the local malaysia or singapore cache server
Somehow this morning I manage to get full speed biggrin.gif

user posted image

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top
Topic ClosedOptions
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.2166sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th May 2022 - 03:29 AM