TShorns
post Dec 19 2020, 02:26 AM, updated 6 months ago

\m/
3,038 posts

Official SSD Discussion Thread V7

Previous Threads

Introduction
A solid-state drive (SSD, sometimes improperly referred to as a "solid-state disk", or "electronic disk") is a data storage device that uses integrated circuit assemblies as memory to store data persistently. SSD technology uses electronic interfaces compatible with traditional block input/output (I/O) hard disk drives. SSDs do not employ any moving mechanical components, which distinguishes them from traditional magnetic disks, such as hard disk drives (HDDs), or floppy disks, which are electromechanical devices containing spinning disks and movable read/write heads. Compared to electromechanical disks, SSDs are typically less susceptible to physical shock, are silent, and have lower access time and latency, but are relatively more expensive per unit of storage. The prices have continued to decline since 2012.

In general, SSDs share the I/O interface technology developed for hard disk drives, thus permitting simple replacement for most applications. New technology that is designed specifically for SSDs, NVME, has also become common in recent years. They make use of PCI-e to deliver even higher performance and throughputs.

Most SSDs use NAND-based flash memory, which retains data without power. For applications requiring fast access, but not necessarily data persistence after power loss, SSDs may be constructed from random-access memory (RAM). Such devices may employ separate power sources, such as batteries, to maintain data after power loss. Between the two, 3D XPoint is a viable potential technology.

Hybrid drives combine the features of SSDs and HDDs in the same unit, containing a large hard disk drive and an SSD cache to improve performance of frequently accessed data. These devices may offer near-SSD performance for many applications.

The SSD Optimization Guide
https://www.thessdreview.com/wp-content/cac...de-2/index.html
2018 version, https://www.thessdreview.com/ssd-guides/opt...imization-2018/

SSD related Tools and Ultilities
AS SSD Benchmark, https://www.alex-is.de/PHP/fusion/downloads...4&download_id=9
CrystalDiskMark, https://crystalmark.info/en/software/crystaldiskmark/
ATTO Disk Brench, https://www.atto.com/disk-benchmark/
SSDlife, https://ssd-life.com/eng/download-ssdlife.html
HDDTune, http://www.hdtune.com/download.html

Reference and Sources
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid-state_drive

Common SSD Firmware and Updates

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 19 2020, 01:50 PM
TShorns
post Dec 19 2020, 02:27 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

Tutorials & FAQs about SSD (Solid State Drive)

Updated on 23 August 2017
Some corrections on the answers provided from websites

So what is it that makes an SSD so much faster than an HDD?

I have read that SSDs have very limited write cycles, and they don't last long. Is this true?

I have read that SSDs slow down after prolonged use. Is this true?

How does Internal Secure Erase work on an SSD?

Over-provisioning. What is it, and how does it work?

Why do smaller capacity SSDs tend to be slower than higher capacity drives?

What about services or programs in my operating system such as indexing, pre-fetching, write-caching, defrag etc?

What is TRIM?

What settings do I need to adjust in my system BIOS for optimal SSD performance?

Are SSDs compatible with SATA I & II ?

What is the difference between SLC and MLC flash memory chips?

If I'm using an older OS such as Vista or XP, will I still get the performance benefits of SSDs?

What is the life expectancy of my SSD?

How can I move my data onto my new SSD?

How long will my SSD last?

Does benchmarking my SSD decrease lifespan?

Will my SSD get hot?

Do I need to format my SSD? Why doesn't the drive appear in "My Computer" (Windows) or in "Finder" (Mac)?

How do I find out the firmware version on my SSD?

TShorns
post Dec 19 2020, 02:28 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

Updated on 07 November 2017

The FAQs continue on here with YouTube videos.
I do realize sometimes it is hard to understand by just read all of the sources through websites/articles. So some short videos are provided below, and hope that they can help to save you some time by just watching tongue.gif .

What is Intel Optane?

SSD Flash Memory - MLC, TLC, and SLC

3D NAND as Fast As Possible

The Intel SSD Advantage

SSD vs Hard Drive Performance

Windows 7 install and SSD upgrade

How to properly configure the SSD as boot drive and HDD as storage drive

How to Transfer your Boot Drive to your New Intel SSD - Data Migration

What is TRIM and Why Does Your SSD Need It?

The benefits of using a SSD

ahbenggay
post Dec 19 2020, 07:23 PM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

heck , my kingston A400 120GB not even 1year

health already drop till 44% =.=.

Might as well use HDD better. 3 years still 100%.

Which good SSD good for OS drive ?
Clan204
post Dec 20 2020, 12:15 AM

234 posts

hi there, is there anyone here ever encounter with frozen security with ssd? my hynix 128gb oem encounter this problem and cannot use at other pc or use as portable because cannot be format.
pandera999
post Dec 20 2020, 01:50 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Dec 19 2020, 07:23 PM)

how bout crucial brand... are you looking sata ssd or nvme? sata also good.. cheap and decent

anyway...
first page... yay,,, laugh.gif
TShorns
post Dec 20 2020, 03:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

it's a good thing. now it's a good timing to replace it with those at larger capacities (480gb or more).

for os drive, get a larger capacity (480gb or more), with multiple-layer tlc 3d nand and ddr type of dram cache.

QUOTE(Clan204 @ Dec 20 2020, 12:15 AM)
hi there, is there anyone here ever encounter with frozen security with ssd? my hynix 128gb oem encounter this problem and cannot use at other pc or use as portable because cannot be format.
my old sandforce-based fujitsu oem ssd had this issue before, due to my mishandling. i use it with usb-based external enclosure. i did a power recycling with it (meaning, turn a pc off; connect it to power cable only, without sata cable connected. boot the pc; let it run a while. then, turn the pc off again, and unplug the ssd from the pc)

after the power recycling, the oem drive could be accessed properly (data was lost; but i had backups), so i just reformatted it, and gave it a good 15% over-provisioning. that 240gb mlc-based sata ssd is still working fine until today.
TristanX
post Dec 20 2020, 03:22 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

Like I said on many threads on DRAMless SSD. Its crap.

Crucial MX500, Samsung 860 Evo (only up to 500GB) and Kingston KC600 for SATA.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Dec 20 2020, 03:22 PM
TShorns
post Dec 20 2020, 04:05 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 20 2020, 03:22 PM)
Like I said on many threads on DRAMless SSD. Its crap.

Crucial MX500, Samsung 860 Evo (only up to 500GB) and Kingston KC600 for SATA.
yes, warnings have been given repeatedly afaik. i'm not sure why people still don't get it.

in a typical nand-based ssd, dram is an essential component. taking this away from this optimal equation means something has to be used to replace its roles. in dram-less ssds, this means nand itself will be used to do the jobs of dram. of course it will work fine, but the side effects are also obvious.

Clan204
post Dec 20 2020, 05:30 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 20 2020, 03:18 PM)
my old sandforce-based fujitsu oem ssd had this issue before, due to my mishandling. i use it with usb-based external enclosure. i did a power recycling with it (meaning, turn a pc off; connect it to power cable only, without sata cable connected. boot the pc; let it run a while. then, turn the pc off again, and unplug the ssd from the pc)

after the power recycling, the oem drive could be accessed properly (data was lost; but i had backups), so i just reformatted it, and gave it a good 15% over-provisioning. that 240gb mlc-based sata ssd is still working fine until today.
will try this at home tonight. thx for the feedback
TShorns
post Dec 20 2020, 05:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Clan204 @ Dec 20 2020, 05:30 PM)
will try this at home tonight. thx for the feedback
more information regarding these locked ssds are available if you looked up with keywords 'locked ssd power cycle', such as this one, https://dfarq.homeip.net/fix-dead-ssd/

note that it's really a hit or miss. the key for this to work is still to make the disk to be detected and accessed properly by a system first. but this part depends on luck, so good luck.

what i did to mine was to clean it up with diskpart, then perform a quick format. everything is ok since then.
perfect10
post Dec 20 2020, 06:50 PM

416 posts

I have a question, i would like to make my lightroom catalog portable. So i am thinking of getting a Orico 2.5" usb c enclosure + dram-less sata3 ssd.

Is it recommended to pick a dramless for an "external" drive, which purpose to work somehow like a scratch disk?
TShorns
post Dec 20 2020, 08:29 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(perfect10 @ Dec 20 2020, 06:50 PM)
I have a question, i would like to make my lightroom catalog portable. So i am thinking of getting a Orico 2.5" usb c enclosure + dram-less sata3 ssd.

Is it recommended to pick a dramless for an "external" drive, which purpose to work somehow like a scratch disk?
imo the better option would be connecting the ssd to your system via sata connection, because sata has more bandwidth than a usb-c connection.

however, for the sake of portability, yes you can do that. as long as you are aware of and understand weaknesses of dram-less ssds, you know what to expect, since it's intended as a scratch disk.

if you also use it as data storage, just make sure the data has backups.
TristanX
post Dec 20 2020, 11:36 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

WD SN850 1TB promo right now. RM1149. MSRP RM1499.

https://www.lazada.com.my/catalog/?q=WD+SN8....75f82e7esnEW5C
cyclone2
post Dec 21 2020, 12:38 PM

427 posts

I managed figured what happened on the new SSD. The sata port i connected to is not the port provided by x570 chipset, it is provided by asmedia chipset, hence it can't achieve the advertised speed.

After changed to the sata port provided by x570 chipset, the speed can reach advertised speed.

chocobo7779
post Dec 21 2020, 01:17 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

What do you expect from a DRAMless drive with low quality NAND and controller? laugh.gif

Go for a quality one like the Crucial MX500/Samsung 860 EVO tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 21 2020, 01:19 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 20 2020, 04:05 PM)
yes, warnings have been given repeatedly afaik. i'm not sure why people still don't get it.

in a typical nand-based ssd, dram is an essential component. taking this away from this optimal equation means something has to be used to replace its roles. in dram-less ssds, this means nand itself will be used to do the jobs of dram. of course it will work fine, but the side effects are also obvious.
There's also the issue of write amplification, which is very common on DRAMless SSDs icon_idea.gif
Stirmling
post Dec 21 2020, 04:10 PM

291 posts

Hello
Sorry if wrong thread, but anyone got experience buying SSD from taiwan seller? hmm.gif

I found this guy selling at RM400+ for Kingston A2000 1TB instead of local price at RM470.
https://shopee.com.my/Kingston-A-2000-Nvme-...0262.6837393318

Was thinking of buying one. Reviews points to okay (even got someone show benchmark) but I wonder how come some of these from taiwan can sell for cheap? Risks? hmm.gif
december88
post Dec 21 2020, 04:38 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Stirmling @ Dec 21 2020, 04:10 PM)
Hello
Sorry if wrong thread, but anyone got experience buying SSD from taiwan seller? hmm.gif

I found this guy selling at RM400+ for Kingston A2000 1TB instead of local price at RM470.
https://shopee.com.my/Kingston-A-2000-Nvme-...0262.6837393318

Was thinking of buying one. Reviews points to okay (even got someone show benchmark) but I wonder how come some of these from taiwan can sell for cheap? Risks? hmm.gif
I bought one before this year for a different nvme and different Taiwan store also from Shopee, cost RM4xx. No issue, didn't pay custom tax and took about 1 week to arrived. Only issue would be warranty. If product fake or didn't arrived you can always claim Shopee Guarantee.
If you ballpark RM400+ 1tb nvme i suggest you go for Adata SX8200 pro.
Stirmling
post Dec 21 2020, 04:48 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Dec 21 2020, 04:38 PM)
I bought one before this year for a different nvme and different Taiwan store also from Shopee, cost RM4xx. No issue, didn't pay custom tax and took about 1 week to arrived. Only issue would be warranty. If product fake or didn't arrived you can always claim Shopee Guarantee.
If you ballpark RM400+ 1tb nvme i suggest you go for Adata SX8200 pro.
i see..
so the risk is mostly for warranty lah then? hmm.gif
well probably gonna go for this guy's A2000, otherwise shop around for some other guy's adata then hmm.gif

Will check at SX8200 Pro in the meantime.

80 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:07 AM