[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Dec 15 2021, 10:23 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Dec 14 2021, 08:39 AM)
Bought a pack of KBDfans switch pad & stabs foam sticker.

Not sure if the switch pad will make my keyboard sound more thocky.  brows.gif

BTW... can I use WD 40 Specialist Contact Cleaner to wipe of the excessive lube on PCB?

edit*
Not gonna use WD 40 Specialist Contact Cleaner as it is bad on polycarbonate.

IPA 70% or 99% is better for PCB cleaning?
for pcb cleanups, i use IPA 99% mainly.
youngy
post Dec 15 2021, 11:30 AM

389 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 15 2021, 11:23 AM)
for pcb cleanups, i use IPA 99% mainly.
Thanks for the info. Already made my purchased.
Can't wait to mod the sticky padding on GMMK Pro.

This post has been edited by youngy: Dec 15 2021, 11:41 AM
horns
post Dec 15 2021, 01:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Dec 15 2021, 11:30 AM)
Thanks for the info. Already made my purchased.
Can't wait to mod the sticky padding on GMMK Pro.
yes it's relatively safer with IPA.

for switch pads, it's better to try them out and do comparisons with those without. the effects on key sound by this mod (and tape mod, corrected) was somewhat explained in this video:

yeah, mixed results.

note that the video was based on the original mod, i.e., pe foam for packaging (less densed pe). there was no obvious highlight in the explanation about effects based on different materials, and density. (currently we have switch pads made of at least eva, ixpe, and poron)
youngy
post Dec 15 2021, 02:12 PM

389 posts

Yeap definitely gonna apply few switch pads and test it out.

And I just received my custom coil cable from cable mode. Sadly, I'm still waiting for my keycaps to arrive.

This post has been edited by youngy: Dec 15 2021, 02:23 PM
horns
post Dec 15 2021, 10:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(youngy @ Dec 15 2021, 02:12 PM)
Yeap definitely gonna apply few switch pads and test it out.

And I just received my custom coil cable from cable mode. Sadly, I'm still waiting for my keycaps to arrive.
i use switch pads for a non-acoustic reason: they help reduce vibrations. in this case, all of them serve the same purpose for me

--

the first set of mcr profile key cap set from melgeek is available now.

edit: as of now, melgeek has three own keycap profile designs: mg (hi-pro; tallest); mda (medium height); and the latest mcr (cherry-profile like)

in terms of printing, mg is double-shot abs; mda is dye sub pbt; and mcr is double-shot abs.

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 16 2021, 12:55 PM
andrewtho
post Dec 18 2021, 02:31 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Sharing some updates of my latest build - my very first DIY mechanical board journey.

Board: Keychron Q1 Silver
Switches: AKKO Matcha Greens
Caps: GMK Pulse Mitolet
Stabs: Stock (Re-lubbed)
Mods: Tape Mods
Lube: Krytox 205g2

Basically been reading / watching reviews on how the Q1 perform in it's stock form and was pleased that the board exceeded my expectations. As a Mac user, I am only limited to boards that supports MacOS and Keychron was originally made Mac-compatible hence the reason to go for the Q1 - previously owned the K2 and K8 but these boards did not meet my expectations. The board is heavy, really heavy - to the expend that it left a mark on my leather desk pad sweat.gif

Was a little disappointed that the board did not provide and keycaps or switch pullers - I don't have any on hand thus had to resort to using plastic tools to remove them, took longer than expected. The board was different from the ones I saw on YouTube and review units. The PCB change a bit, especially the cables from the daughter board (USB C ports) is no longer a ribbon cable and this version came with 2 foam paddings instead of one, which is a good thing.

The board was still a ping-monster out of the box, its inevitable due to the materials used (CNC Aluminium). Added some tape around the edges of the board to reduce the vibrations, re-lubbed the stabs to make it rattle less and added another 2 layers of masking tape (3M Painters Tape) at the back of the PCB to give it a more fuller sound.

Overall pretty happy with the sound of the keys, feels 'thocky' and fuller - the GMK caps are expensive as hell but they do sound better than the default cheapo-ABS caps that came with the board. I don't plan to stop here, perhaps next week will be trying out the holey-mod on the stabs, not very happy with the outcome of the sound yet - the addiction is real.

horns
post Dec 18 2021, 09:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Dec 18 2021, 02:31 PM)
Sharing some updates of my latest build - my very first DIY mechanical board journey.

Board: Keychron Q1 Silver
Switches: AKKO Matcha Greens
Caps: GMK Pulse Mitolet
Stabs: Stock (Re-lubbed)
Mods: Tape Mods
Lube: Krytox 205g2

Basically been reading / watching reviews on how the Q1 perform in it's stock form and was pleased that the board exceeded my expectations. As a Mac user, I am only limited to boards that supports MacOS and Keychron was originally made Mac-compatible hence the reason to go for the Q1 - previously owned the K2 and K8 but these boards did not meet my expectations. The board is heavy, really heavy - to the expend that it left a mark on my leather desk pad  sweat.gif

Was a little disappointed that the board did not provide and keycaps or switch pullers - I don't have any on hand thus had to resort to using plastic tools to remove them, took longer than expected. The board was different from the ones I saw on YouTube and review units. The PCB change a bit, especially the cables from the daughter board (USB C ports) is no longer a ribbon cable and this version came with 2 foam paddings instead of one, which is a good thing.

The board was still a ping-monster out of the box, its inevitable due to the materials used (CNC Aluminium). Added some tape around the edges of the board to reduce the vibrations, re-lubbed the stabs to make it rattle less and added another 2 layers of masking tape (3M Painters Tape) at the back of the PCB to give it a more fuller sound.

Overall pretty happy with the sound of the keys, feels 'thocky' and fuller - the GMK caps are expensive as hell but they do sound better than the default cheapo-ABS caps that came with the board. I don't plan to stop here, perhaps next week will be trying out the holey-mod on the stabs, not very happy with the outcome of the sound yet - the addiction is real.

nice smile.gif

yeah when you know you can make it better, you will continue to tune it until you're satisfied, or at least, acceptable.
cruzzmz
post Dec 19 2021, 12:49 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

thinking to get this one ... kickstarter mode but still on consider cheap whistling.gif

EC66

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Dec 19 2021, 12:53 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Dec 19 2021, 07:40 PM

4,474 posts

u may think keyboards r a small unimportant things, but think again. it was a huge dillema especially for china with their complex language laugh.gif until they finally cracked it and came up with a solution. which interestingly enuff also helped to innovate the usage of predictive texting from the cloud. but for a country like china where there everything u say and think is heavily monitored/censored, is another dillema of whether such tech when under control of an entity like the cccp is a good thing rolleyes.gif but regardless, it's interesting how complex languages like this one example, manage to cram in their alphabet/word equivalent onto the keyboard, and even leveraged on technologies like predictive text to get around this issue smile.gif

without the keyboard, how on earth are you suppose to get things on the computer to do your work or just any basic thing. maybe you could use a virtual keyboard and solely use a mouse, but that would be hellishly slow and inconvenient. so don't you feel glad you have a working keyboard, and especially if it's mechanical (and assuming you wisely picked an appropriate switch e.g. NOT BLACKS) then you can type comfortably and surely as well nod.gif

this mkb i am using for many years was a good investment. haven't had the need to replace it. this is why it was worth getting dye sublimate/double shot keycaps, and mkb to begin with. even things like the default spacebar has very little shine due to wear (this is why u should get good plastic keycaps to avoid issues down the road). My only gripe is that because it's an earlier model for ducky, some things eventually got ironed out, like the power cable, i hear that the later releases had better cable management. the earlier iterations the usb cable although removable, had 1 flaw that the hole for the cable was too thin, so it was overly a tight fitting. but other than that, it was fine.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Dec 19 2021, 11:46 PM
Dusple
post Dec 19 2021, 07:45 PM

39 posts

thinking to get a 65% keyboard as a gift

im having trouble to decide whether should i choose royal kludge or keychron

what do you guys think about it? any other suggestion?
cruzzmz
post Dec 19 2021, 09:45 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(Dusple @ Dec 19 2021, 07:45 PM)
thinking to get a 65% keyboard as a gift

im having trouble to decide whether should i choose royal kludge or keychron

what do you guys think about it? any other suggestion?
both are good ... just the price point ... as for me i am using RK sweat.gif
cruzzmz
post Dec 19 2021, 10:09 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 19 2021, 07:40 PM)
u may think keyboards r a small unimportant thing, but think again. it was a huge dillema especially for china with their complex language  laugh.gif  until they finally cracked it and came up with a solution

same method in Japan rclxm9.gif
hhc8
post Dec 20 2021, 10:30 AM

82 posts

I have a Razer Blackwidow Tournament Edition Chroma keyboard. The 'K' cap is not responsive anymore. Can it be repaired?
heyamazingpeople
post Dec 20 2021, 03:24 PM

321 posts

Hi Guys,

new here.

Need recommendation for budget mechanical keyboard..
Requirement:
-full size layout
-Probably looking at brown switch type
-with Bluetooth connection (preferably )

Currently looking at:
tecware 104, (downside is wired keyboard, instead of bluetooth)

Royal kludge rk84
Am i right that RK84 doesnt have a full size keyboard?

Or do share if any other model that i can look at.

krayden
post Dec 20 2021, 05:28 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ Dec 20 2021, 03:24 PM)

Skyloong GK96s
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/skyloong...1583507627.html?
Should be similar quality to the RK.
If you see an Epomaker GK96s, as far as I can tell they're the same thing.
I built one Epomaker GK96 before. Its fine for the price. Plastic all around. But once you lube everything it should be fine. Didn't try the BT though so can't comment.

Akko Mod004
https://shopee.com.my/Akko-Hot-Swappable-Cu...ff-9fc997652216

Full aluminum kit but you still have to buy switches and keycaps. But should be a lot nicer than the GK96s. And no BT.

Keychron K4 v2
https://shopee.com.my/-Keychron-K4-V2-96-La...10-4c9515c9005e
I suppose this beats the GK96s on account that it is full aluminum. I have no experience with this, but plenty of people do.
I'm guessing should be better than the GK or a Tecware.
heyamazingpeople
post Dec 20 2021, 05:53 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Dec 20 2021, 05:28 PM)
Skyloong GK96s
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/skyloong...1583507627.html?
Should be similar quality to the RK.
If you see an Epomaker GK96s, as far as I can tell they're the same thing.
I built one Epomaker GK96 before. Its fine for the price. Plastic all around. But once you lube everything it should be fine. Didn't try the BT though so can't comment.

Akko Mod004
https://shopee.com.my/Akko-Hot-Swappable-Cu...ff-9fc997652216

Full aluminum kit but you still have to buy switches and keycaps. But should be a lot nicer than the GK96s. And no BT.

Keychron K4 v2
https://shopee.com.my/-Keychron-K4-V2-96-La...10-4c9515c9005e
I suppose this beats the GK96s on account that it is full aluminum. I have no experience with this, but plenty of people do.
I'm guessing should be better than the GK or a Tecware.
thanks for the suggestion. But seems to be more expensive. hmm.gif
the full size keyboard is a little compacted, not to my liking.

looks like my best choice now is tecware 104

But still appreciate your reply. smile.gif
niakulah
post Dec 20 2021, 06:48 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ Dec 20 2021, 03:24 PM)
Hi Guys,

new here.

Need recommendation for budget mechanical keyboard..
Requirement:
-full size layout
-Probably looking at brown switch type
-with Bluetooth connection (preferably )

Currently looking at:
tecware 104, (downside is wired keyboard, instead of bluetooth)

Royal kludge rk84
Am i right that RK84 doesnt have a full size keyboard?

IKBC W210
horns
post Dec 24 2021, 03:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is a follow-up note for friction-fit mounting with gummyworm o-rings for 60% tray-mount (1, 2)

after tests for around a week, i think it's safe to say that friction-fit mounting is good as an alternative mounting style for tray-mount builds, especially when barebone units are built accordingly:

- it will bring relatively softer typing feel, with relatively lesser vibrations, to the usually stiff tray-mount builds. as a comparison, in terms of softer typing feel, tray-mount > friction-fit mount > gasket mount (kbd67lite)
- hard spots caused by standoffs will be reduced. on top of standoffs, you can put a thin layer of soft foam also.

for 60%, 165mm outer diameter is the minimal. it works fine. however i think the optimal size of the o-ring is 170mm outer diameter (less stress to switches at four corners). the cross-section/thickness is 3.5mm.

Waliuuu
post Dec 29 2021, 03:01 PM

102 posts

Hi sifus, I'm currently using a hot swappable 3pin outemu box red Wireless Mech KB. But unfortunately the switches are crap. Can't even last.. From time to time the switches get sticky and unresponsive. Kinda tired of this switch and worried even if buy new to replace also same case. Been looking for alternatives like Gateron's, Kailh's but their pins are thick, couldn't fit into the stock socket in my KB.

Anyone knows if there are any other similar switches that has the same connectors as Outemu's?
krayden
post Dec 29 2021, 04:22 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Dec 29 2021, 03:01 PM)
Anyone knows if there are any other similar switches that has the same connectors as Outemu's?
I think Bobagums or boba u4t fits. Also akko switches. Please wait for someone to confirm.

125 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:52 PM