[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

TSquovadis123
post Jun 14 2020, 02:06 PM, updated 2y ago

Keys
2,882 posts

Mechanical Keyboard Club Trackbacks

Top Posters of MKB Club (sort by post counts)

About Switches

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Jun 14 2020, 02:10 PM
TSquovadis123
post Jun 14 2020, 02:06 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

ABS vs PBT vs POM key caps (Ultra simple explanation)

Key caps profile explained

Before anything, let's know what are the MX Switch colors.. smile.gif

Full Chinese-English Cherry MX translations

Facebook Page for MKB brands in Malaysia

Check where to buy your mechanical keyboard now!

More extra information about mechanical keyboards, parts, switches, key caps.. etc

Justin's guide on how to purchase from Taobao via agent (For Non-Chinese/Banana User)

niakulah
post Jun 14 2020, 02:38 PM

Senior Artisan
1,264 posts

Thirty-twoooo
noobandroid
post Jun 14 2020, 02:44 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

its been so long not in here haha
horns
post Jun 14 2020, 06:13 PM

\m/
3,036 posts

yay!
irsyadfy
post Jun 14 2020, 07:41 PM

219 posts

i survived v31. woo hoo !
TSquovadis123
post Jun 14 2020, 09:34 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

Waiting 2 years to happen
horns
post Jun 14 2020, 09:44 PM

\m/
3,036 posts

at least we are at 32 now smile.gif

ntw
post Jun 15 2020, 11:53 AM

One Each At A Time
1,382 posts

nice
taf89
post Jun 15 2020, 07:39 PM

391 posts

congratulations on v32 biggrin.gif
tiba2 teringat my first ever post in LYN mechanical keyboard thread was in V7. LOL
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2020, 06:57 AM

4,009 posts

back in v1, i was still wondering why the rave reviews about rubber dome keyboards when mkbs existed. just surprisingly not well known at least in the lowyat forum when i looked at the time hmm.gif

and those prices for so called gaming keyboards (rubber dome) doh.gif I also bought into this, i had a logitech G15. it was ok, but then i later found out about mkb, and after making that switch (no pun intended)...... i felt silly spending that money on a logitech rubberdome gaming keyboard sweat.gif the typing experience was shockingly night and day difference.

these days, it's probably a harder sell for rubber dome (so called) premium gaming keyboards, when there are lots of mkb options out there (especially the linear switches like reds etc, that are ideal for gamers. or if you are casual like myself, then something like mx browns or similar tactile switches are more your thing nod.gif )

there is still a place for rubberdomes, for the cheapest possible keyboards (maybe you want to prioritize your budget for a better cpu, graphics card or monitor, because you are on a tight budget, that's fine). but when asking for premium prices, they SHOULD NOT be rubberdome keyboard puke.gif

Now V32 , mkb is very popular and well known. and even brands like logitech is selling mkbs these days. mission accomplished thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 16 2020, 07:08 AM
irsyadfy
post Jun 16 2020, 11:36 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 16 2020, 06:57 AM)
back in v1, i was still wondering why the rave reviews about rubber dome keyboards when mkbs existed. just surprisingly not well known at least in the lowyat forum when i looked at the time  hmm.gif

and those prices for so called gaming keyboards (rubber dome)  doh.gif  I also bought into this, i had a logitech G15. it was ok, but then i later found out about mkb, and after making that switch (no pun intended)...... i felt silly spending that money on a logitech rubberdome gaming keyboard  sweat.gif  the typing experience was shockingly night and day difference.
these days, it's probably a harder sell for rubber dome (so called) premium gaming keyboards, when there are lots of mkb options out there (especially the linear switches like reds etc, that are ideal for gamers. or if you are casual like myself, then something like mx browns or similar tactile switches are more your thing  nod.gif )

there is still a place for rubberdomes, for the cheapest possible keyboards (maybe you want to prioritize your budget for a better cpu, graphics card or monitor, because you are on a tight budget, that's fine). but when asking for premium prices, they SHOULD NOT be rubberdome keyboard  puke.gif

Now V32 , mkb is very popular and well known. and even brands like logitech is selling mkbs these days. mission accomplished thumbup.gif
+1
Chyan
post Jun 16 2020, 08:59 PM

4,192 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 14 2020, 12:17 AM)
in general, 104/204 has lower viscosity than 105/205. for switches with lighter springs, 104/204 should be good. however, the suitability part is really based on your own preferences.
I see. If for example, assuming nothing else is changed, and I wanted more resistance out of the keys, would 205g0 be better?
horns
post Jun 16 2020, 09:06 PM

\m/
3,036 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 16 2020, 06:57 AM)
back in v1, i was still wondering why the rave reviews about rubber dome keyboards when mkbs existed. just surprisingly not well known at least in the lowyat forum when i looked at the time  hmm.gif

and those prices for so called gaming keyboards (rubber dome)  doh.gif  I also bought into this, i had a logitech G15. it was ok, but then i later found out about mkb, and after making that switch (no pun intended)...... i felt silly spending that money on a logitech rubberdome gaming keyboard  sweat.gif  the typing experience was shockingly night and day difference.
these days, it's probably a harder sell for rubber dome (so called) premium gaming keyboards, when there are lots of mkb options out there (especially the linear switches like reds etc, that are ideal for gamers. or if you are casual like myself, then something like mx browns or similar tactile switches are more your thing  nod.gif )

there is still a place for rubberdomes, for the cheapest possible keyboards (maybe you want to prioritize your budget for a better cpu, graphics card or monitor, because you are on a tight budget, that's fine). but when asking for premium prices, they SHOULD NOT be rubberdome keyboard  puke.gif

i still keep those rubber dome gaming boards (steelseries; got rgb some more lol)

it's quite a journey to me. found out a lot of things, yet still discover stuff every now and then hehe

QUOTE(Chyan @ Jun 16 2020, 08:59 PM)
I see. If for example, assuming nothing else is changed, and I wanted more resistance out of the keys, would 205g0 be better?
yes. if coupled with lighter springs, you will feel that resistance if you applied sufficient amount of 205g0. it will feel like your switches are having 'relatively heavier' springs.
doomvein
post Jun 18 2020, 10:48 AM

50 posts

hi banana here..

budget rm500-rm600.. ( prefer physical shop )

gaming(dota) and typing.(blogger)

( brown chery switch ? any better switch for me?)

aim for ducky one 2 tkl rgb for now..

any mech better than this at my budget?

This post has been edited by doomvein: Jun 18 2020, 12:22 PM
horns
post Jun 18 2020, 11:38 AM

\m/
3,036 posts

QUOTE(doomvein @ Jun 18 2020, 10:48 AM)
hi banana here..

budget rm500-rm600..

gaming(dota) and typing.(blogger)

( brown chery switch ? any better switch for me?)

aim for ducky one 2 tkl rgb for now..

any mech better than this at my budget?
there is a multi-part crowdsourcing done at mymkb gb page recently, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MalaysiaMec...75307712705452/

you should check it out.
doomvein
post Jun 18 2020, 12:21 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 18 2020, 10:38 AM)
there is a multi-part crowdsourcing done at mymkb gb page recently, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MalaysiaMec...75307712705452/

you should check it out.
prefer physical shop because just want to cash and carry . anyway thank smile.gif
niakulah
post Jun 18 2020, 12:29 PM

Senior Artisan
1,264 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 18 2020, 11:38 AM)

you should check it out.
I'm a Facebook noob. Don't know how to vote.

Just scrolled down to the TX films group buy. Some people have received theirs! And my order was placed a few days before the post.

Took only 10 days for it to get from TX in Cali, to LA, to Taiwan, and then to KL.

Then yesterday only cleared Kastam. Took Kastam 7 days to clear it!!!
bangwall.gif mad.gif vmad.gif ranting.gif
niakulah
post Jun 18 2020, 12:45 PM

Senior Artisan
1,264 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 12:29 PM)

Just scrolled down to the TX films group buy. Some people have received theirs! And my order was placed a few days before the post.

Took only 10 days for it to get from TX in Cali, to LA, to Taiwan, and then to KL.

bangwall.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  ranting.gif
Not even 5 minutes after I posted this, I heard the postman. Was it my films??? No...but this.
A box of connectors. Tested them and the 5 pin is the correct size for my IKBC. Stay tuned for a custom coiled cable for my non-removable-cable prebuilt sometime in the near future.

It's this one btw:
#Aliexpress MYR 7.50 10%OFF | 230pcs PH2.0 2p 3p 4p 5 pin 2.0mm Pitch Terminal Kit / Housing / Pin Header JST Connector Wire Connectors Adaptor PH Kits
https://a.aliexpress.com/_dURxoda

Ordered 5 May already arrived.
Switch stickers ordered 19 April still MIA. Sigh....
irsyadfy
post Jun 18 2020, 12:57 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(doomvein @ Jun 18 2020, 12:21 PM)
prefer physical shop because just want to cash and carry . anyway thank smile.gif
try ask here, i think the admins there own a shop. not sure what shop anyway.
with ur budget, i think u can get a leopold. a very recommended prebuilt kibod.

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 12:29 PM)

bangwall.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  ranting.gif
reading regarding ur films, i pity u. if i were u, i also kinda angry oledy. knnccb ranting.gif
bcoz yes, i bought from garage sales, and the gb, both are with me safely oledy.

inb4,
console.gif

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:20 AM