post Jun 14 2020, 09:44 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

at least we are at 32 now smile.gif

horns
post Jun 16 2020, 09:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 16 2020, 06:57 AM)
back in v1, i was still wondering why the rave reviews about rubber dome keyboards when mkbs existed. just surprisingly not well known at least in the lowyat forum when i looked at the time  hmm.gif

and those prices for so called gaming keyboards (rubber dome)  doh.gif  I also bought into this, i had a logitech G15. it was ok, but then i later found out about mkb, and after making that switch (no pun intended)...... i felt silly spending that money on a logitech rubberdome gaming keyboard  sweat.gif  the typing experience was shockingly night and day difference.
these days, it's probably a harder sell for rubber dome (so called) premium gaming keyboards, when there are lots of mkb options out there (especially the linear switches like reds etc, that are ideal for gamers. or if you are casual like myself, then something like mx browns or similar tactile switches are more your thing  nod.gif )

there is still a place for rubberdomes, for the cheapest possible keyboards (maybe you want to prioritize your budget for a better cpu, graphics card or monitor, because you are on a tight budget, that's fine). but when asking for premium prices, they SHOULD NOT be rubberdome keyboard  puke.gif

Now V32 , mkb is very popular and well known. and even brands like logitech is selling mkbs these days. mission accomplished thumbup.gif
i still keep those rubber dome gaming boards (steelseries; got rgb some more lol)

it's quite a journey to me. found out a lot of things, yet still discover stuff every now and then hehe

QUOTE(Chyan @ Jun 16 2020, 08:59 PM)
I see. If for example, assuming nothing else is changed, and I wanted more resistance out of the keys, would 205g0 be better?
yes. if coupled with lighter springs, you will feel that resistance if you applied sufficient amount of 205g0. it will feel like your switches are having 'relatively heavier' springs.
horns
post Jun 18 2020, 11:38 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(doomvein @ Jun 18 2020, 10:48 AM)
hi banana here..

budget rm500-rm600..

gaming(dota) and typing.(blogger)

( brown chery switch ? any better switch for me?)

aim for ducky one 2 tkl rgb for now..

any mech better than this at my budget?
there is a multi-part crowdsourcing done at mymkb gb page recently, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MalaysiaMec...75307712705452/

you should check it out.
horns
post Jun 18 2020, 01:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(doomvein @ Jun 18 2020, 12:21 PM)
prefer physical shop because just want to cash and carry . anyway thank smile.gif
ok

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 12:29 PM)
I'm a Facebook noob. Don't know how to vote.

Just scrolled down to the TX films group buy. Some people have received theirs! And my order was placed a few days before the post.

Took only 10 days for it to get from TX in Cali, to LA, to Taiwan, and then to KL.

Then yesterday only cleared Kastam. Took Kastam 7 days to clear it!!!
bangwall.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  ranting.gif
that's not the voting post. you can look the actual vote page with group search. keywords should be 'crowdsourcing vote' i think.

i guess it's better to just get stuff from local gbs or whatever shops that are at aliexpress/taobao/tmall possible. quovadis123 might have extras also for tx switch films and springs.

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 12:45 PM)
Not even 5 minutes after I posted this, I heard the postman. Was it my films??? No...but this.
[attachmentid=10518680]
A box of connectors. Tested them and the 5 pin is the correct size for my IKBC. Stay tuned for a custom coiled cable for my non-removable-cable prebuilt sometime in the near future.

It's this one btw:
#Aliexpress MYR 7.50  10%OFF | 230pcs PH2.0 2p 3p 4p 5 pin 2.0mm Pitch Terminal Kit / Housing / Pin Header JST Connector Wire Connectors Adaptor PH Kits
https://a.aliexpress.com/_dURxoda

Ordered 5 May already arrived.
Switch stickers ordered 19 April still MIA. Sigh....
oh you're doing a detachable cable mod? this is very nice!

horns
post Jun 18 2020, 03:14 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 18 2020, 01:24 PM)
Yeah...I'm stubborn. lol

I don't know if it's going to be detachable. But definitely coiled. Maybe aviator or lemo connector in between to make it detachable. Aviator is big and chunky to me, but lemo is expensive.
haha

right it's just an individual preference. i prefer boards with detachable cables so i can cabut and jalan

--

got the giant v2 switches made by jwk (the manufacturer who makes durock switches). this switch has two things that i'm interested in:

1. gold-plated progressive springs, 62g;
2. transparent housings (i suspect it's the same for typical durock switches that have become popular these days).

from my brief tests on switches only:

1. switch top wobbles are common. (randomly picked 5 switches to test; 3 of them have it) switch films are required;
2. smooth at stock (pre-lubed at factory with low-viscous lube); it's oily from the outside also; pretty similar to gateron ink

horns
post Jun 19 2020, 08:20 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 19 2020, 05:26 PM)
If I had a choice between stainless steel and brass plates, which one would give me more thock? I'm assuming brass as it is the softer material?
it should be brass, with sa profile key caps.

horns
post Jun 19 2020, 11:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 19 2020, 08:40 PM)
I thought so. Thanks.

I'm still on OEM profile ABS for now. Waiting on a KAT group buy, which I'm told is also very thocky.
oh ok haha

i don't have this kat profile caps yet. maybe some days i will try it out.

QUOTE(nbotsduo @ Jun 19 2020, 10:48 PM)
Sifu, need recomendation.which one is better, phantom tkl or ck530?
I read that gateron brown switch is better than outemu.
you should get phantom elite tkl + gateron switches.

switch hot-swapping might be what you want in case you wanna try out different switches.
horns
post Jun 22 2020, 12:22 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 21 2020, 11:31 PM)
Some of the good stuff has arrived. Pretty underwhelming to look at. How do you guys think I should consume this? Pop some in my mouth? Snort it?
[attachmentid=10520899]

Anyway....I screwed up again. Killed a switch while filming it. I thought I'd learnt my lesson to be patient, but I guess waiting for films to arrive since April really triggered me...

So I got my TX films. Tried it on 3 switches. Nice. Very snug. Totally no housing wobble. Then I noticed that 2 out of 3 were not even clipped in properly. Huh. OK.

So I noted that and proceeded to film all my switches. To compensate I started closing the housings harder, just jamming them down. I was thinking I can do all least half the switches tonight. Then I accidentally jammed down on a housing that was on backwards...and effed up the leaf. Spent almost an hour trying to salvage it. I just couldn't reshape it properly. I could get it to feel right, but the circuit was not closing.

Now I'm 1 switch short...

I do have a bunch of testers. And a bunch of non RGB browns harvested from my previous dead board. Though I kinda like the idea of getting a few box navies to use as Caps/Num/Scroll lock. Yet more waiting if I go down that route and order them....sigh
we all had such experience on effing our switches one way or another smile.gif (another reason to have few extra spare switches)

now i always make sure the orientations of slider and switch top are correct first, then press all 4 corners to ensure they are all secured properly.

for now you can use the non-rgb brown for like space bar.

horns
post Jun 23 2020, 01:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 22 2020, 09:28 AM)
If I had bought the switches, I probably would have gotten extras, but these were desoldered from a prebuilt. Yeah, another lesson learned.

The more I think about it, the more I like the idea of Kailh Box Navies for my 3 'locks'. Have an obvious and loud noise so I know if I have accidentally pressed any. Scroll lock is particularly annoying in Excel. I know you're probably thinking, oh that's a >65% problem. Lol.

I do have in my testers a single cherry blue, green and white. They'd all be clicky and I probably wouldn't "feel" anything off despite them being all different switches. But the fact that I "know" they are different will still bug me. Lol

Another alternative would be using Zealios for the locks. Since I have 4 Zealios in different weights in my tester, spring swap 3 of them to the china 67g springs, and use them for the locks. No clicks, but there will be the super obvious bump of the famously tactile Zealios to tell me I'm hitting/have hit a lock key.
haha yeah all those minor details. you will get used to them in no time smile.gif

as long as they are the same switch type, it should be fine to mix switches in a build. i usually put heavier springs for esc and space bar to have better kick-back feel.
horns
post Jun 23 2020, 11:10 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Imaizumi @ Jun 23 2020, 09:06 AM)
Anyone tried tecware mechanical keyboard? how good is it? Durability?
which model are you talking about? in general, let's just say it can be much better, relatively to stock, after tuned.
horns
post Jun 23 2020, 04:48 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Jun 23 2020, 03:42 PM)
I'm glad I didn't get the 205g0, 204g0 is sufficiently 'heavy' for me. Smooth, though. Lightly brushed on my Gat reds.
205g0 is ok, but yes just choose which ever lube that you think better for yourself. now i use a lot of 203g2 also haha

horns
post Jun 23 2020, 06:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 23 2020, 05:47 PM)
Didn't quite understand this when you posted it.

Saw this today.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvH1gGQgZuc&t=125s
1.08 He shows how to test it on a flat surface
1.22 He shows how you can adjust it with 2 syringes
oh ok lol yeah it's straight forward so i didn't elaborate more.

it's is an important step for stabilizer tuning. most of the times, bent wires or warped caps cause noises. a good and straight wire normally makes no tinkling noise when you tap very lightly anywhere on the modifier keys or space bar. they will just sink a little due to applied force, just like 1u keys.

as long as both tips are touching the flat surface, and the central part of the wire are straight, without a visible gap between it and the surface, it should be good enough.

edit: not sure why, but most of my stabs that have wire issues are plate-mount.

This post has been edited by horns: Jun 23 2020, 08:09 PM
horns
post Jun 24 2020, 01:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 23 2020, 09:16 PM)
dang, me cheapo self only have prebuilts with plate mount stabs  ranting.gif
it's a good thing smile.gif plate-mount stabs has a very good advantage in terms of repair, compared to pcb-mount stabs: you just need to desolder one switch to fix it
horns
post Jun 24 2020, 07:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 24 2020, 03:00 PM)
So I'm down to my last 2 (minus 1 I trashed) switches to film and was about to execute this on the Zealios.

Took them out and just remembered that they have different stem colours based on weight.
[attachmentid=10522300]

On pause while I consider whether or not this will bug me too much. Time to check my stab wires.
decision decision lol

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 24 2020, 03:28 PM)
Any recommendation for dual-mode wireless/wired tkl with linear switches?
no clue. perhaps others can shed light on this hehe
horns
post Jun 24 2020, 08:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 24 2020, 08:11 PM)
haha just saying it bcoz u saying most of ur troubled stabs come from plate mounted.  whistling.gif
saw this on drop(massdrop). looking good.

id buy it if i have the money, but nahhh, wallet empty. hopefully can get it elsewhere later.
right, for some reasons lol

horns
post Jun 26 2020, 09:26 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

finally released by kbdfans. item links at taobao:

maja, https://kbdfans.com/collections/maja (hot-swap, solderable)
kbd8x mkii, https://kbdfans.com/collections/diy-kit/pro...al-keyboard-kit (solderable; tkl, wkl)

both are top-mount. their price points are relatively affordable, compared to other kits.
horns
post Jun 26 2020, 10:42 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 26 2020, 09:38 AM)
Waiting for kbd19x this Sunday....if I dare to spend USD285.  moneyflies.gif  cry.gif
oh ok. you prefer the layout of kbd19x. it's a relatively rare layout, so i think the price is ok. ymdk has a melody96, but not with that layout.
horns
post Jun 26 2020, 01:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 26 2020, 10:49 AM)
Actually I prefer full size. But since there are no custom full size in the market atm, this is a relatively affordable compromise. Austin > 500 USD RIP wallet.
full-size custom kits are really rare. it's no surprise that the price is at the next level. the price for kbd19x is more justifiable.

i will stick to mid-tier kits for a while. (60, 65, 75%) they have almost everything that i want, plus better keyboard constructions are introduced slowly but surely to this range of kits.
horns
post Jun 26 2020, 05:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ihs0y. @ Jun 26 2020, 03:10 PM)
anyone made any orders recently with kprepublic via aliexpress? i ordered a set of stabs from them but i fear they'll take a while to arrive.. haha. i got most of my other components already, just stabs left  sweat.gif
do you have issues tracking it? by air or sea?

patience is key. in general, deliveries from cn are inconsistent since the outbreak of covid-19. it could be up to a month; maybe more.

31 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1015sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:40 AM