203 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

lauwy
post Oct 6 2022, 01:40 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Oct 5 2022, 09:22 PM)
Japan are not friendly to Malaysian wallet. Ringgit are too low. A 3 days Tokyo wide pass ( https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_06.html ) will worth it if u plan to travel far to Mt. Fuji, sking at Gala Yuzawa and Samurai town "Nikko". The pass are Jpy10,180 with unlimited travel on shinkansen and JR trains for 3 consecutive days

There are plenty of nice food around Tokyo but famous food will not be cheap.

Wagyu are really worth it in Tokyo compared to Malaysia. (highly recommend Seiyuxan restaurant near Shimbashi Station)

Things must try when in Japan:
1) Tempura shop (quality a lot better than the best u had in Malaysia)
2) Grill Unagi
3) A5 Wagyu beef + beef tongue BBQ
4) Sashimi n grill fish roe (Tarako Yaki)
5) Ichiran Ramen
For budget meal:
Yoshinoya, Sukiya and Song wu. All 3 have good value set meal (they have english menu for ordering)

When the sun sets, temperature drops very fast. Be prepared and bring extra clothing if u plan to stay out until late
Can I also recommend tonkatsu and gyukatsu ?

Tonkatsu is fried pork cutlet
Gyukatsu is fried beef cutlet but the way you eat this is slightly different.. you put the meat on the stone grill so the doneness is to your liking ..

gyukatsu motomura used to be very good before they opened many branches across Tokyo.. i think the quality dropped slightly
my friend preferred Asakusa Gyukatsu.

Conveyor belt sushi is worth trying also. Please try their tuna (Akemi, Toro or Otoro) . Malaysians like to order Salmon when eating in japanese restaurant i think.

If you have extra money, try their omakase. Totally different level compare to the ones offered here and similar pricing. Try Kyubey in Ginza. Just go at opening 11 or 11:30am to put your name down and they will tell you when to go back. Try to get counter seats. There's like 3 different menu .. 6k , 8k, and 14k not including 10% tax
lauwy
post Oct 6 2022, 01:45 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 6 2022, 01:31 PM)
yep thats why opted Narita, HND one would arrive at 9.30, then need rush luggage collection then last train/bus at 11pm+

but man narita.. is far from tokyo
I think I arrived around the same time when i flew with Singapore Airlines. It wasn't that rush tbh. I was traveling alone and i walked quickly to try and bypass as many ppl as possible. When I reach the luggage collection place, the luggage was arranged nicely, in colour and size, ready for you to pick up already. From the moment I get out from my seat to the luggage place, probably around 30 - 40 minutes. They are quite efficient i think pre-Covid to handle high amount of inbound travellers. Now i'm not sure though.
marfccy
post Oct 6 2022, 02:00 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(lauwy @ Oct 6 2022, 01:45 PM)
I think I arrived around the same time when i flew with Singapore Airlines. It wasn't that rush tbh. I was traveling alone and i walked quickly to try and bypass as many ppl as possible. When I reach the luggage collection place, the luggage was arranged nicely, in colour and size, ready for you to pick up already. From the moment I get out from my seat to the luggage place, probably around 30 - 40 minutes. They are quite efficient i think pre-Covid to handle high amount of inbound travellers. Now i'm not sure though.
i sked the pandemic SOPs still in place, read comments about foreigners who went during the first time opening.

they said alot of them didnt do the pre-registration and ended up hauled to another place to do Q or finish up the registration or PCR test which delayed them further. then by 1-2hr only immigration let them pass

now im doing the pre-registration so i can pass ASAP
michaelchang
post Oct 6 2022, 02:23 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(lauwy @ Oct 6 2022, 01:40 PM)
Can I also recommend tonkatsu and gyukatsu ?

Tonkatsu is fried pork cutlet
Gyukatsu is fried beef cutlet but the way you eat this is slightly different.. you put the meat on the stone grill so the doneness is to your liking ..

gyukatsu motomura used to be very good before they opened many branches across Tokyo.. i think the quality dropped slightly
my friend preferred Asakusa Gyukatsu.

Conveyor belt sushi is worth trying also. Please try their tuna (Akemi, Toro or Otoro) . Malaysians like to order Salmon when eating in japanese restaurant i think.

If you have extra money, try their omakase. Totally different level compare to the ones offered here and similar pricing. Try Kyubey in Ginza. Just go at opening 11 or 11:30am to put your name down and they will tell you when to go back. Try to get counter seats. There's like 3 different menu .. 6k , 8k, and 14k not including 10% tax
Oh Yes, forgot about Tonkatsu. google for a few famous shop around Tokyo. Their Japanese lettuce are very fresh and taste different from ours here and they offer unlimited lettuce and rice
tZZ
post Oct 6 2022, 03:00 PM

466 posts

JR seems to have removed their JR EAST PASS Flex 5 days pass (any 5 days in 14 days travel) and replaced it with continuous 5 days.
Value reduced considerably compared to the old pass.
limchee
post Oct 6 2022, 04:44 PM

Sien
1,745 posts

QUOTE(tZZ @ Oct 6 2022, 03:00 PM)
JR seems to have removed their JR EAST PASS Flex 5 days pass (any 5 days in 14 days travel) and replaced it with continuous 5 days.
Value reduced considerably compared to the old pass.
yes too bad sad.gif
i used that pass during my tohoku trip, mix and match with self-driving in between.
RegentCid
post Oct 6 2022, 06:38 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Latest guideline for entering Japan
marfccy
post Oct 6 2022, 07:12 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 6 2022, 06:38 PM)

Latest guideline for entering Japan
im still pending passport approval from the MySOS web sad.gif
Chaud
post Oct 7 2022, 11:12 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 6 2022, 12:37 PM)
i my flight transit at Changi before heading to Narita, quite a long transit

ill get to explore Jewel Changi right hehe
yes. they recommend to only go if your transit is >5hrs. but that depends on where you wanna go and what you wanna do there

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 6 2022, 12:45 PM)
what if i book with philippines airlines and need to transit in manila but layover duration 22h? flight to NRT is with philippine airlines too

need to go through transit gate too if i plan to go out of airport?

or still can re-check in after i bring my luggage out?
no need, can just go arrival and clear immigration. since you have the 2nd segment flight ticket on hand you can just straight go to the departure hall when you return
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 12:55 PM

782 posts

i found airasia X has the route direct to haneda intl

but there's a note indicating pending government approval

i wonder whats the status/outcome if anyone has any ideas?

cuz its significantly cheaper than PAL
RegentCid
post Oct 7 2022, 01:09 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 7 2022, 11:55 AM)
i found airasia X has the route direct to haneda intl

but there's a note indicating pending government approval

i wonder whats the status/outcome if anyone has any ideas?

cuz its significantly cheaper than PAL
AirAsia X currently don't have approval to land on Haneda.
If you look back few post I post, Haneda currently just opened for Premium Airlines under Star Alliance & One World & Skyteam only.
My guessing was, All low cost airlines will be push to Narita since Narita Terminal 3 are low cost terminal.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 7 2022, 01:14 PM
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 01:11 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 7 2022, 01:09 PM)
Haneda are not clear AirAsia X to land on it.
If you look back few post I post, Haneda currently just opened for Premium Airlines under Star Alliance & One World & Skyteam only.
My guessing was, All low cost airlines will be push to Narita since Narita Terminal 3 are low cost terminal.
thats interesting, for AA still promote the route

and all they did to warn is to just place a small exclamation mark on the route selected, if no hover over cant see

means that they can reroute to NRT instead ranting.gif

** but since philippines airlines also not part of any alliance like the one u mentioned

yet they also offered HND as their route on top of NRT (verified via their FB post as well)

does that mean that they might reroute too?

This post has been edited by sadukarzz: Oct 7 2022, 01:15 PM
RegentCid
post Oct 7 2022, 01:16 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 7 2022, 12:11 PM)

and all they did to warn is to just place a small exclamation mark on the route selected, if no hover over cant see

means that they can reroute to NRT instead  ranting.gif
Even Scoot, Jetstar Singapore & Australia , Tiger Air (Taiwan) are all rejected too
RegentCid
post Oct 7 2022, 01:21 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 7 2022, 12:11 PM)

** but since philippines airlines also not part of any alliance like the one u mentioned

yet they also offered HND as their route on top of NRT (verified via their FB post as well)

Philippines airlines allow to landed at Haneda because ANA are partners with Philippine airlines. When ANA aircraft landed at Manila or any cities of Philippines, ANA allow to used any ground equipment & staff of Philippine airlines same goes at Philippine airlines in Japan.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 7 2022, 01:22 PM
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 01:25 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 7 2022, 01:21 PM)
Philippines airlines allow to landed at Haneda because ANA are partners with Philippine airlines. When ANA aircraft landed at Manila or any cities of Philippines, ANA allow to used any ground equipment & staff of Philippine airlines same goes at Philippine airlines in Japan.
thats some good insights!

thanks for clearing the air a little, at least now i am more certain that the rm100+ diff per pax may not worth the hassle of rerouting / cancellations
sheushen
post Oct 7 2022, 01:42 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 7 2022, 01:11 PM)

The uncertainty with AA now is not sure if those flights will be rerouted with similar schedule or cancel totally. Too much risk to take with scammer AA. If you want affordable price can try Scoot. Short transit at SG and land in Narita.
post Oct 7 2022, 01:44 PM

559 posts

JAL still fly to Narita instead of Haneda..or it is always the same ?
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 01:56 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(sheushen @ Oct 7 2022, 01:42 PM)
The uncertainty with AA now is not sure if those flights will be rerouted with similar schedule or cancel totally. Too much risk to take with scammer AA. If you want affordable price can try Scoot. Short transit at SG and land in Narita.
yeah i would have to agree thats too much of a risk to go with AA

but i think i would go with PAL instead so i can stop in MNL for a day, go visit their mall/casinos which is not too far away

almost same price as scoot too but with added luggage and snacks

-------

that said, anyone had experiences with PAL?

tripadvisor reviews seem like its worst than AA lmao

TOMEI-R
post Oct 7 2022, 02:07 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 6 2022, 12:37 PM)
i my flight transit at Changi before heading to Narita, quite a long transit

ill get to explore Jewel Changi right hehe
You will need to clear immigration first to visit Jewel and vice versa when checking back in. So I think you need at least 3 hours transit time to do that. On the other hand, if you just want to catch a glimpse, you can hope on to the skytrain for a quick view.
zstan
post Oct 7 2022, 02:10 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Oct 5 2022, 09:22 PM)
Japan are not friendly to Malaysian wallet. Ringgit are too low. A 3 days Tokyo wide pass ( https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_06.html ) will worth it if u plan to travel far to Mt. Fuji, sking at Gala Yuzawa and Samurai town "Nikko". The pass are Jpy10,180 with unlimited travel on shinkansen and JR trains for 3 consecutive days

There are plenty of nice food around Tokyo but famous food will not be cheap.

Wagyu are really worth it in Tokyo compared to Malaysia. (highly recommend Seiyuxan restaurant near Shimbashi Station)

Things must try when in Japan:
1) Tempura shop (quality a lot better than the best u had in Malaysia)
2) Grill Unagi
3) A5 Wagyu beef + beef tongue BBQ
4) Sashimi n grill fish roe (Tarako Yaki)
5) Ichiran Ramen
For budget meal:
Yoshinoya, Sukiya and Song wu. All 3 have good value set meal (they have english menu for ordering)

When the sun sets, temperature drops very fast. Be prepared and bring extra clothing if u plan to stay out until late
at today's currency rate it's cheaper to spend in Japan than Singapore.

203 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:24 AM