5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

michaelchang
post Aug 9 2022, 09:14 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 7 2022, 06:35 PM)
Haneda is closer but normally from KL reaching Haneda always Midnight. Narita is about 1 hour away from City but your flight reaching Narita will be 1-2pm.
I prefer Haneda because I already expert of Haneda airport layout biggrin.gif .

Due to midnight arriving at Haneda, you only had 30 minute from Last train (Monorail or Keihin). If you first time to Haneda basically you will 100% missed it. Your only option left Limousine Bus. Last Limousine Bus also giving you 1 hour from your touch down time. Do your homework, how to get Limousine bus....Familiarize the airport layout and procedure of getting the bus ticket. if you missed the bus, your only option are over night at Airport or taking Rm 800 taxi from airport to Tokyo City.
I always opt for Singapore Airlines as they have Haneda flight that arrive in the morning. Almost all hotels in Tokyo will keep your luggage until u check-in in the afternoon. I will leave bag, go for breakfast and explore temples and back to hotel for check-in after late lunch
michaelchang
post Aug 12 2022, 02:21 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 12 2022, 10:04 AM)
Change some first. smile.gif
If u are holding MYR, better change now because it's more likely MYR will drop further than JPY dropping
michaelchang
post Sep 23 2022, 09:46 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Sep 23 2022, 04:17 PM)
thanks sinovac, you made me paid for PCR test.

let's fucking goooooo

edit: had to spend some time narrowing down the dates, have to rebut seats with singkies  laugh.gif

at least the flight and hotel is booked, now to tweak the itinerary to perfection, Halloween in Tokyo!  rclxm9.gif
Hopefully, further announcement on this opening will see Japan accepting Sinovac like UK, US and some European countries
michaelchang
post Sep 27 2022, 08:14 PM

916 posts

These are the countries that do not recognize Sinovac. 11 of them

https://worldofbuzz.com/list-of-countries-t...accept-sinovac/
michaelchang
post Oct 1 2022, 02:09 PM

916 posts

11th of Oct 2022 onwards, Sinovac will be recognized as approved vaccination. Airlines have received new updates on this
michaelchang
post Oct 3 2022, 11:43 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 3 2022, 11:13 AM)
noice, just in time too!
yeah ikr? compared to what we used to have haiz

i rmb i went Osaka for RM1.7k only via AA.. but to be understandable since the one im planning to book isnt low cost carrier i guess?
AA timing still abit weird tho? 3 day a week, mon wed fri then only starting in nov 7th
Before Covid, I used to pay RM$1900 for Singapore Airlines to Osaka. Now it's double the price
michaelchang
post Oct 5 2022, 09:22 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Oct 5 2022, 04:53 PM)
hi sifus, can you have some suggestions for accomodation in Tokyo. Suburb is ok as long as have train / mrt to central tokyo (within 45 minutes ?);

thinking of youth hostel with room for 4 pax (so on the budget side)

- early Feb 2023. (yes, its gonna be really cold. lol)
- 4 pax
- first time to Tokyo. look see, eat ramen, perhaps ski (if not too expensive).

i had a look at Airbnb. RM280 to RM350 seems to have some choices.

Appreciate all advice

- where else should i start looking for accomodation ?
- which suburb is a good for touristy stay

thank you sir
Japan are not friendly to Malaysian wallet. Ringgit are too low. A 3 days Tokyo wide pass ( https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_06.html ) will worth it if u plan to travel far to Mt. Fuji, sking at Gala Yuzawa and Samurai town "Nikko". The pass are Jpy10,180 with unlimited travel on shinkansen and JR trains for 3 consecutive days

There are plenty of nice food around Tokyo but famous food will not be cheap.

Wagyu are really worth it in Tokyo compared to Malaysia. (highly recommend Seiyuxan restaurant near Shimbashi Station)

Things must try when in Japan:
1) Tempura shop (quality a lot better than the best u had in Malaysia)
2) Grill Unagi
3) A5 Wagyu beef + beef tongue BBQ
4) Sashimi n grill fish roe (Tarako Yaki)
5) Ichiran Ramen

For budget meal:
Yoshinoya, Sukiya and Song wu. All 3 have good value set meal (they have english menu for ordering)

When the sun sets, temperature drops very fast. Be prepared and bring extra clothing if u plan to stay out until late

michaelchang
post Oct 6 2022, 02:23 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(lauwy @ Oct 6 2022, 01:40 PM)
Can I also recommend tonkatsu and gyukatsu ?

Tonkatsu is fried pork cutlet
Gyukatsu is fried beef cutlet but the way you eat this is slightly different.. you put the meat on the stone grill so the doneness is to your liking ..

gyukatsu motomura used to be very good before they opened many branches across Tokyo.. i think the quality dropped slightly
my friend preferred Asakusa Gyukatsu.

Conveyor belt sushi is worth trying also. Please try their tuna (Akemi, Toro or Otoro) . Malaysians like to order Salmon when eating in japanese restaurant i think.

If you have extra money, try their omakase. Totally different level compare to the ones offered here and similar pricing. Try Kyubey in Ginza. Just go at opening 11 or 11:30am to put your name down and they will tell you when to go back. Try to get counter seats. There's like 3 different menu .. 6k , 8k, and 14k not including 10% tax
Oh Yes, forgot about Tonkatsu. google for a few famous shop around Tokyo. Their Japanese lettuce are very fresh and taste different from ours here and they offer unlimited lettuce and rice
michaelchang
post Oct 7 2022, 08:14 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 7 2022, 02:10 PM)
at today's currency rate it's cheaper to spend in Japan than Singapore.
That I agree 100%. Even hourly hotel for prostitute cost RM$300+/night in Singapore and you could get a 3-4 star hotel in Japan.

Food price are similar but you get better quality food in Japan.

michaelchang
post Oct 7 2022, 10:12 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 7 2022, 09:42 PM)

Going Kawaguchiko using Tokyo Wide Pass means you are not doing homework enough.   doh.gif

Fuji Hakone Pass are the correct pass to used.
tokyo wide pass will be very useful if going several areas as it's valid for 3 days. can use for travel to Ichigo Yuzawa, Nikko and kawaguchiko + local travel around tokyo.

This post has been edited by michaelchang: Oct 7 2022, 10:15 PM
michaelchang
post Oct 7 2022, 10:17 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(windstruck @ Oct 7 2022, 08:06 PM)

P/S: Anyone going after 11 October can give some pointers if Sino+Sino+Pfizer is able to enter without doing PCR test please? Thanks!
Plan to enter Jap in 9th Nov for me.
After 11 OCT all vaccine approved by WHO will be accepted and do not need PCR (Sino are on the approved list)
michaelchang
post Oct 8 2022, 04:40 PM

916 posts

Arrival. 1 day after Japan opening. Submit all required digital documents via MySOS app.

Got blue screen = everything required verified and accepted by Japanese authorities. (3 dose of Sinovac = accepted)

michaelchang
post Oct 10 2022, 08:04 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(tientien @ Oct 9 2022, 11:43 PM)
How you upload the vaccine? I just realised that vaccine cert downloaded from mysejahtera did not include booster.
Mine include booster. did u download correctly?

michaelchang
post Oct 10 2022, 01:00 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(tientien @ Oct 10 2022, 12:42 PM)
Should be correct, downloaded pdf has 2 pages, but the 2nd page for booster just a blank page. I thought it was normal for booster not showing until your reply, checked with my friends, they all have complete pdf cert. I used the help button to complaint, let's see how soon they will respond.
Can call their hotline too. I'm sure it was a glitch somewhere. If u can see your booster in mysejahtera app. The pdf should reflect the same
michaelchang
post Oct 11 2022, 03:55 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(silence94 @ Oct 11 2022, 03:31 PM)
Hi guys, i am looking to travel to Tokyo next month (around November). Wanted to ask, is visa required now, and how do i apply? I am not taking-up tours, as I will be heading there, to join my gf which is on a working trip.

Thanks for advice guys
If holding Malaysian passport, no visa required. Do not need to apply tour, just download MySOS app and filled in all the required fields after u have bought your air tickets and have full address of your hotel.

If u have 3 shots of vaccine, do not need to take PCR test before departure

Go to this website to register entry (immigration n customs)

https://www.digital.go.jp/en/services/visit_japan_web-en/

This post has been edited by michaelchang: Oct 12 2022, 06:03 PM
michaelchang
post Oct 11 2022, 06:59 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 11 2022, 06:11 PM)
jr rail website

Sini ada explain but no picture. You measure then you know. Dont need to guess. Mine is backpack, later go home measure. Luggage bag got fix shape and square enough, easier to measure.
Most common bag u see at airport when passengers check-in are accepted in Shinkansen. A+B+C = 160cm

Those big luggage mentioned in the new rule (2020) are extra big bags u see some Americans or European carry as their holidays are usually 3-4 weeks and some even 2 months. These bags are at least 30%-50% bigger than those u see sold in Shopping center in KL.

If still worried, pop over to any Mr. DIY and get a cheap measuring tape and measure
michaelchang
post Oct 15 2022, 09:37 PM

916 posts

From 11 OCT until 14th Nov 2022:

1) Install MySOS to submit health declaration + vaccination
2) Visit Japan Web to submit digital immigration + customs

I just arrived in Japan this morning, there are 2 queue at the airport, one for those that have blue screen on MySOS and one without app or not blue

If no app, they advise you to go to a corner to install and fill up. Those ith blue screen, the officer will ask to show QR on MySOS app n passport. Verified in less than 1 minute, proceed to immigration

At immigration, open Visit Japan Web and show QR code for immigration, he will scan n have all the info on his screen, then place both index finger for scanning + picture taken, he will paste a 60 days tourist sticker on passport. proceed to customs

Customs have special automated area for those that have Japan Web (don't need to queue with others).. just go to machine scan passport and scan QR code for customs at the same time at machine. then walk to automated exit by showing face to camera. door will open and just walk out to arrival hall.

these 2 digital submission makes things a lot easier and u know for sure you have been pre-approved to visit and no last minute panic when insufficient documents.
michaelchang
post Oct 16 2022, 12:34 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Oct 15 2022, 11:27 PM)
Thanks for this info
I was mistaken it as 14 October doh.gif , do you still do PCR test before flying there?
Why PCR? I have 3 dose of Sinovac which are recognized as fully vaccinated
michaelchang
post Oct 19 2022, 04:50 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Kipkip @ Oct 19 2022, 04:35 PM)
I thought we are allowed to stay for 90 days?
Oops! You are right, it's 90 days tourist pass. Must go and get my eyes checked.
michaelchang
post Oct 22 2022, 06:24 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(KotoriItsuka @ Oct 21 2022, 09:48 PM)
Hii, this is my first time go to Japan… hence I’m looking for the itinerary (Osaka>Nara>Kyoto>Tokyo) if possible 🙇🏻‍♀️🙇🏻‍♀️Thank you

Currently I’ve roughly list down as below, any recommendation places to go for 6 and 7th day? Should I buy JR pass for 7days?
23/10 Singapore to Osaka(First day)
🛫 TR818 SIN KIX 0625 1410
-Dotonbori(道頓堀) > Shinsaibashi (心斎橋) > Nanba (難波)
-Book hotel at Namba district
-Buy JR Pass for 7 days

*If from Singapore, you can pick up the exchange voucher (JR pass)  from Klook's office.
24/10 Osaka( 2nd day)
-Osaka Jo >  Tsutenkaku > Nara > Kyoto > Nanba

*the closest JR station is Osakajokoen Station on the JR Loop Line

25/10 Osaka (third day)
USJ RM 280.49 (Klook)
-Take the JR Yumaseki line from Nishikujo station to Universal City station.
26/10 Shin Osaka-Tokyo (forth day)
Stay hotel at Tokyo/Shinjuku, dinner at skytree, jalan jalan 水族馆

27/10 Tokyo (fifth day)
-Disney sea (Klook)
28/10 Tokyo (sixth day)
-Hakone TBA

29/10 Tokyo(seventh day)
-TBA

29/10 Tokyo(last day)

🛫 TR805 NRT SIN 0900 0335
-Return back to Changi Airport
you actually only have 5 full days in Japan and you want to go 4 different places?? what not just stick to either tokyo only or just do Osaka/Nara. Kyoto u will need at least 3 days if u intend to visit all the UNESCO heritage temples/shrine + Arashiyama bamboo forest. I'm in Kyoto for a week and have not finished all the places of interest

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:13 AM