Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

TOMEI-R
post Mar 29 2020, 04:37 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

I think I will avoid Japan at least for a year for now. Luckily I managed to visit Hokkaido and Tokyo during recent CNY before the pandemic got worse.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 31 2020, 11:54 AM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

Happening now. Sakura + snow. Once in 50 years. Damn I miss Japan.
TOMEI-R
post Mar 31 2020, 06:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Mar 31 2020, 09:25 AM)
Anyone knows the usual closing period for Usuzan Ropeway at Lake Toya in January/February next year?

The closing period for maintenance seems unpredictable from year to year.

Or is there a specific timing that I do not know of?
They could close it anytime for maintanence or volcanic reaction. I was there last June and it was closed for the whole month due to volcanic reaction.
TOMEI-R
post Apr 2 2020, 03:22 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(eaststidaz @ Apr 2 2020, 03:03 PM)
Thank you for sharing. very beautiful!
Glad you enjoyed it. Here is another short one.

Apparently this is a rare occurrence. Snow in end of March / early April in Tokyo and Gumma areas.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Apr 2 2020, 03:25 PM
TOMEI-R
post Apr 15 2020, 04:20 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 14 2020, 09:25 PM)
Japan cases rising rapidly and people still working, no one care about the sh!t. People still line up for FF7 Remake & Animal Crossing.
Game more important than Covid-19.

You can watch Shibuya crossing Live at here. Now 10pm still alot people on street.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQFo1bVV81c

Feb 2021. ... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Cool..... thumbup.gif

But much much less people on the streets compares to usual. I wonder there would be no queue to take a picture with Hachiko's statue. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Apr 15 2020, 04:21 PM

TOMEI-R
post Apr 16 2020, 03:47 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 16 2020, 02:48 PM)
it's already doable before we even began our MCO
like during late january, japan already has a drop in tourist
like in kyoto bamboo forest, u can actually take photos without anyone already
I was in Hokkaido for during this year CNY and according to the staff manning the counters at tourists attractions, there were lesser crowds, . But still the tourist attractions were still pretty much crowded as it was the Snow Festival around the whole Island and it was the peak of Winter. The slopes were still crowded, hotels fully booked around famous tourists areas like Niseko, the onsens at Hakodate was crowded. To me. it was the place was still very much crowded but according to the Japs, tourist arrivals were very much lower this year compared to yesteryears. Odari Park where Sapporo Snow festival was filled with people, making it hard to move around. People just weren't taking the virus too seriously then.
When I arrived at Tokyo, the streets, shopping areas and subways as well as tourists attractions are still packed as usual with no signs of people getting worried about covid 19. The usual areas of Kabukicho were still bursting with people as usual as well as Shibuya.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Apr 16 2020, 03:50 PM
TOMEI-R
post Apr 17 2020, 12:21 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2020/04/1...narita-airport/

Free ‘accommodation’ for all travelers to Tokyo... anybody interested ? laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Apr 26 2020, 11:31 AM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Apr 26 2020, 02:21 AM)

Great way of catching covid 19..... sweat.gif
TOMEI-R
post May 11 2020, 05:53 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 10 2020, 08:42 PM)
A good drone video about Tokyo under Emergency State.
Shooting by China 8k Raw Team. This team are one of rare foreigners had license to fly drone inside Japan. Even Japan big local news such as NHK also don't had drone license to fly inside Tokyo. Alot Japan news had to rent Helicopter to do news coverage from sky. Helicopter Company (My working company  tongue.gif )

https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1sa4y1i7Tf

Enjoy~~
Nice video. thumbsup.gif

Sad though to see the quiet streets of Tokyo and the deserted tourist attractions. I can almost say that it would never be the same again, even after the pandemic dies down. Weird enough though after watching this video, I sorta miss the crowds we always despise last time.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: May 11 2020, 05:53 PM
TOMEI-R
post May 21 2020, 12:41 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ May 20 2020, 04:00 PM)
The world is heading towards recession. Everyone is going towards gold, properties or safe-haven currencies like Yen. This may not be a good thing for Japan tho.
Especially for tourism since the Yen would be spiking. I have Yen has been on the steady rise even with lockdowns.
TOMEI-R
post May 21 2020, 01:02 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 21 2020, 12:55 PM)
Abe will lower the Yen down if its spike. Since Jan 2020, Yen to MYR always at 0.40 - 0.41
Hopefully. Its really bad for tourism if the yen keeps spiking. Its comfortable around 0.37-0.38 range. sweat.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jun 12 2020, 05:15 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 12 2020, 02:26 PM)
USJ will be reopening after 3 months of closure
reopening on monday for local annual pass holder
and will reopen to general annual pass holder from 19th june

Wow nice.. Hopefully everything will be back to normal after this pandemic is over. Though it is expected new norms will take over and many things will be different and many businesses will be closed by then.

TOMEI-R
post Jun 12 2020, 06:27 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 12 2020, 05:55 PM)
for us yes since the gov isn't taking any initiative to protect these businesses

but for japan, remember they intro that massive stimulus for domestic tourism?...it's protect these business by stimulate domestic spending
so when tourist came back, at least what they expect is still there
almost all recovered countries are encouraging domestic tourism, not malaysia laugh.gif
Well... that I wouldn't want to bring that into discussion here la. But you know I know la. One good example would be Thailand and how good the economy and Thai baht was doing previously, part of it due to their tourism sector.

Anyway, hopefully everything will still be in place in a year or so. Also hoping the Jap Yen would not appreciate so much as this will hurt tourism too.
TOMEI-R
post Jun 12 2020, 09:07 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 12 2020, 06:47 PM)
every country rely on tourism as income source
just a matter of how heavy a country rely on tourism
japan and thailand really rely heavily on tourism...go to bangkok's Big C u can already tell the difference
u won't see such scene in malaysia

japan rely heavily on tourism as well when most tourist attraction are just packed all the time
and japan yen already appreciate back to it's "original" price already
which is RM40 = 1000 yen
now it's a little under only..it appreciate due to "olympic"
so expect the rate to maintain till next year
Fingers crossed, Olympic will be held next year. Not a good time to go Japan during summer then...
TOMEI-R
post Nov 9 2020, 05:28 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

Enjoy guys..... thumbup.gif

Thought I'd be too selfish not to share this with you guys.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 9 2020, 05:30 PM
TOMEI-R
post Jul 30 2021, 11:08 AM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 21 2021, 09:47 AM)
the sad state of osaka right now

Empty state of dotonbori

Empty kuromon ichiba market

New look of train to universal studio/nintendo world

Without the massive crowds and lightning at night at Dotonbori, it would never be the same again. I'm pretty sure many of the shops and businesses would have closed down for good.
TOMEI-R
post Aug 24 2021, 01:06 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 23 2021, 11:52 AM)
I think those seriously depend on foreign tourist will be really hard hit while those have large local (hidden from typical tourist) following will still be around.

Heck even the Robot Restaurant (I'm not a fan of it) also closed down. I remember it was promoted heavy toward tourist (Omotenashi travel guide for example) & locals are not really into it.
I guess it will be the same in most tourists destinations. No massive crowds, no long open queues and ultimately less attractions opened, less night markets etc.. It will never be the same again. We will see.

Robot Restaurant in Shinjuku? No I didn't go in when I saw the entry fees was like 7000 to 8000 yen which to me is like a tourist trap. sweat.gif
TOMEI-R
post Aug 24 2021, 03:03 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 24 2021, 02:42 PM)
Not sure if their local tourism will keep those business to stay afloat (not making money but cukup makan) or not.

And i think they would love to open up their market to PRC tourists since they are like contributed biggest chunk of arrivals.

Yes that one in Shinjuku, keep seeing the ads & tour guide book mentioning it.

Its like they spend chuck of marketing budget onto foreigner tourists.

For me i rather spend my money on museums that are scattered around the town (eg that few museum around Ueno park)
That's where part of the 8000 yen goes to. laugh.gif Even though the PRC economy is fully opened up, I'm not sure if the they are allowed to easily leave their countries for holidays abroad.

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Aug 24 2021, 02:58 PM)
Any chance for Autumn 2022 travel?
I highly doubt so. Looking at the infection rates, we should be looking forward to 2023 instead.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 22 2022, 01:28 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

Japan is opening up soon…

TOMEI-R
post Oct 5 2022, 09:31 PM

Extraordinaire
24,218 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Oct 5 2022, 09:22 PM)
Japan are not friendly to Malaysian wallet. Ringgit are too low. A 3 days Tokyo wide pass ( https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_06.html ) will worth it if u plan to travel far to Mt. Fuji, sking at Gala Yuzawa and Samurai town "Nikko". The pass are Jpy10,180 with unlimited travel on shinkansen and JR trains for 3 consecutive days

There are plenty of nice food around Tokyo but famous food will not be cheap.

Wagyu are really worth it in Tokyo compared to Malaysia. (highly recommend Seiyuxan restaurant near Shimbashi Station)

Things must try when in Japan:
1) Tempura shop (quality a lot better than the best u had in Malaysia)
2) Grill Unagi
3) A5 Wagyu beef + beef tongue BBQ
4) Sashimi n grill fish roe (Tarako Yaki)
5) Ichiran Ramen
For budget meal:
Yoshinoya, Sukiya and Song wu. All 3 have good value set meal (they have english menu for ordering)

When the sun sets, temperature drops very fast. Be prepared and bring extra clothing if u plan to stay out until late
Yes. But Yen to MYR exchange rates are way lower nowadays. Previously before the pandemic is was 1000 Yen = RM39. Now only Rm32. So yeah...

0.0238sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:32 AM