Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

sadukarzz
post Oct 6 2022, 12:45 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 6 2022, 09:34 AM)
From KL to SG by Scoot also? 
If you going SG by Scoot / SIA then you no need recheck in again because all under one umbrella / code sharing. Your luggage tag will destination airport which is Tokyo Narita. Once you reach Singapore Changi, just follow the Transit sign !! Not the Arrival Sign!!  Transit Sign will guide you to Transit hall

From KL to SG by AirAsia / MAS / Firefly...etc etc......then you need pickup luggage ...go through Singapore Kastam then go Departure Hall and check in at Scoot counter...then go thru kastam again.....
what if i book with philippines airlines and need to transit in manila but layover duration 22h? flight to NRT is with philippine airlines too

need to go through transit gate too if i plan to go out of airport?

or still can re-check in after i bring my luggage out?
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 12:55 PM

779 posts

i found airasia X has the route direct to haneda intl

but there's a note indicating pending government approval

i wonder whats the status/outcome if anyone has any ideas?

cuz its significantly cheaper than PAL
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 01:11 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 7 2022, 01:09 PM)
Haneda are not clear AirAsia X to land on it.
If you look back few post I post, Haneda currently just opened for Premium Airlines under Star Alliance & One World & Skyteam only.
My guessing was, All low cost airlines will be push to Narita since Narita Terminal 3 are low cost terminal.
thats interesting, for AA still promote the route

and all they did to warn is to just place a small exclamation mark on the route selected, if no hover over cant see

means that they can reroute to NRT instead ranting.gif

** but since philippines airlines also not part of any alliance like the one u mentioned

yet they also offered HND as their route on top of NRT (verified via their FB post as well)

does that mean that they might reroute too?

This post has been edited by sadukarzz: Oct 7 2022, 01:15 PM
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 01:25 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 7 2022, 01:21 PM)
Philippines airlines allow to landed at Haneda because ANA are partners with Philippine airlines. When ANA aircraft landed at Manila or any cities of Philippines, ANA allow to used any ground equipment & staff of Philippine airlines same goes at Philippine airlines in Japan.
thats some good insights!

thanks for clearing the air a little, at least now i am more certain that the rm100+ diff per pax may not worth the hassle of rerouting / cancellations
sadukarzz
post Oct 7 2022, 01:56 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(sheushen @ Oct 7 2022, 01:42 PM)
The uncertainty with AA now is not sure if those flights will be rerouted with similar schedule or cancel totally. Too much risk to take with scammer AA. If you want affordable price can try Scoot. Short transit at SG and land in Narita.
yeah i would have to agree thats too much of a risk to go with AA

but i think i would go with PAL instead so i can stop in MNL for a day, go visit their mall/casinos which is not too far away

almost same price as scoot too but with added luggage and snacks

-------

that said, anyone had experiences with PAL?

tripadvisor reviews seem like its worst than AA lmao

sadukarzz
post Oct 8 2022, 12:09 AM

779 posts

Alright. Booked the following:

Travel Date: 30/11/22 (reach 2pm noon) > 11/12/22 (Flight at 12am, on 11th), all local times
Duration: 11 nights

PAL - 30NOV22 KUL>MNL>HND
MH - 11DEC22 HND>KUL

I'm thinking of dividing the days as per follows:

1 night in Tokyo
3 nights in Osaka
1/2 night in Kyoto
1/2 nights in Nagoya
1 nights in Fuji
3 nights in Tokyo

First timer to Japan, would like to seek for suggestions on the time allocated suitable for basics for the cities?

I'm looking for mainly sightseeing / food with perhaps consideration for visiting major attractions i.e. Theme parks / etc

Just started to plan my schedule

Travelling in pair.

Am considering the JRPass 1 week, then final few days maybe more localized passes.

This post has been edited by sadukarzz: Oct 8 2022, 12:09 AM
sadukarzz
post Oct 10 2022, 11:23 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Oct 10 2022, 08:44 PM)
strongly suggest you focus on Tokyo only and 3 days to mt. fuji
Yeah, I gave some thought about it and decided to forgo Nagoya / Osaka for now. I'll return again for these 2 especially after the expansion of the theme parks.

Kyoto though, I think I'd really want to spend some time there to just soak in the environment before the tourism returns.

Based on what I can find, Kyoto on pre-covid season, was a nightmare in terms of foot traffic.

So I have revised my plans as per below:

Considerations -
1. Pre-winter, so timing is not too cold yet (hopefully, climate change is a little more merciful).
2. I will be travelling mostly with train (I plan to take the 7 day JR Pass).
3. I will also be flying to/from Haneda.
4. I would like to go for hotsprings / theme parks (major ones, of course).
5. Food. I think I will be spending alot on those.
6. Shopping for clothes if applicable, I plan to travel with adequate clothing so I can buy some.

Cities/areas I plan to visit:
1. Tokyo (5 nights)
2. Mt.Fuji / Hakone region (2-3 nights)
3. Kyoto (2-3 nights)

I think this would be more reasonable compared to my previous plans which includes Osaka & Nagoya.

What do you guys think?

=================================================

Details:

Dates - 30Nov22 - 11Dec22
Flight - MH (HND>KUL) points; PAL (KUL>MNL>HND) RM1800, 2 pax
Hotels - Yet to be booked
Pass - JR Pass 7 days + Suica
sadukarzz
post Oct 11 2022, 10:09 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(lauwy @ Oct 11 2022, 07:47 AM)
2 nights in Mt Fuji should be enough. If you have enough budget, you can try search Kukuna or any hotels around Lake Kawaguchiko. Check if the rooms have a Mt Fuji view.

If your hotel doesn't have a Mt Fuji view or onsen. Can try these 2 places. They both have a Mt Fuji view are these 2. I forgot how much but should be around 1000 yen or cheaper.

Fuji Yurari Hot Spring (newer and larger with more pools outdoor, it's abit far, I rented a car and drove around so it was easy for me.)
Yamanakako Onsen Benifuji no Yu hot spring
Awesome! Thank you for the recommendation on the Fuji portion.

Quick question, we drive on the same side, and have driver seats at the same side as Japan correct?

So all that's needed is the international driving permit (Complete the form, surrender domestic license, pay RM150).

How's driving in Japan like? Similar to Mahresia?
sadukarzz
post Oct 11 2022, 12:28 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 11 2022, 11:50 AM)
Expensive & very stressful. Very hard to find parking in cities. Highway are full of speed camera & alot alot alot alot sneaky camouflage police patrol. Mostly are Lexus ES250. Kena once, I was overtaking Express Bus about 118km/h & that police car was behind me cucuk, as Malaysian driving style, I will speed up (123km/h) the overtake process and moved back to left lane for the Lexus to overtake me.........KNN!!!! Then suddenly flashing light came out from Lexus!!

Japan most highway speed limit are 100km/h. Some major one are 120km/h
Hmmmm, true for the possible situation. But I think driving won't be my primary consideration since its the first time for me to visit Japan.

What's your view on my previous post - for revised schedule / day allocations?
sadukarzz
post Oct 12 2022, 05:57 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Oct 12 2022, 12:16 PM)
remove Kyoto also biggrin.gif
But I'd really love to go Kyoto though cry.gif
sadukarzz
post Jan 10 2023, 01:13 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2023, 07:11 PM)
Ryokan with private onsen need 3k ++
i had mine in ueda, to be exact bessho onsen

private onsen in room

ryokan style

1.4k / night no dinner included but got breakfast

This post has been edited by sadukarzz: Jan 10 2023, 01:14 PM
sadukarzz
post Nov 21 2023, 12:46 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Nov 21 2023, 01:25 AM)
how was the experience during the transit at manila airport?

I was contemplating whether to buy ticket from philippines airlines, i watched youtube and reviews online, had mixed thought.

last2 bought SIA instead lol
Personally, I've flown a few times with PAL.

Their in-plane experience from KUL > MNL is older fleet but still alright for me, more or less same like MAS.

But for longer trips such as (MNL > KIX; MNL > SYD; MNL > HND), I would say PAL is way better than MAS (took MAS business class, didn't even felt as wow compared to PAL economy for the price points).

The only thing is transit experience, if you can, go for either transit 1 full day (arrive morning, fly next morning); or as short as possible (< 3 hours). Anything in between 3 - 16 hours would not be recommended as the airport is rather small and nothing much for you to do.

Youtube reviews generally do not paint a full picture of the price point you pay (for full service airlines).

Of course, AirAsia might be slightly cheaper if buy early (about 1.3k return trip, but you still need to add luggage); but PAL includes luggage 30kg + meals + in flight entertainment (I bought mine for 1.5k return).

This post has been edited by sadukarzz: Nov 21 2023, 12:47 PM
sadukarzz
post Nov 21 2023, 04:52 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Nov 21 2023, 02:30 PM)
Mcm not bad eh, maybe next flight going to try PAL. Btw, hows the leg room?
Leg room is plentiful, more if not same as MAS economy.

If you don't mind staying a night in Manila, its actually a very good deal if you manage to get its tickets.

Airport relatively close to Pasay (Mall of Asia, Newport casinos etc).

But do note that the airport terminal is not walkable to newport, need to take grab.

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Nov 21 2023, 03:28 PM)
thank you for the detailed reply. been looking for one. noted on the transit time. probably will make time to browse PAL ticket to tokyo for the tokyo game show this year.

I took MAS last year trip to Bali, taken the business seat for a very good deal and I gotta agree with you. MAS failed to wow me, but the hospitality of the crew as I know it is still there according to my experience.
they arent making profit anyway at the 1st place, plus the dated cabin vs other fledge's refreshed cabin makes them a hard choice when travelling overseas.

I took AA twice to Japan last time, but I just cant be bothered with IFE-less flight. so boring haha
For PAL, I had WiFi free onboard, wasn't fast, but enough to text.

Right now Vietnam Airlines and Philippines Airlines have been selling seats for cheap for full service airlines, but between PAL and VNA, I prefer PAL.

No delays from them so far (small 5 - 10 minutes adjustments few weeks before flight), but VNA has been readjusting time by the hours (1-3 hours adjustments to original flight time).
sadukarzz
post Nov 22 2023, 12:45 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 21 2023, 06:02 PM)
Their ticket prices are cheap if not the cheapest available if you dont mind the transit time in Manila. However, I never dared to try because of the bad reviews all over the internet over cancelled flights, delayed flights etc. But since our friend up here has no such experience then I think it would be a hit and miss I guess.
Yeah, so far it has been hits for me hoping for no misses.

Though I would say with PAL my frequency of visit to MNL almost 10x, so PAL is doing their nation a favor too.
sadukarzz
post Nov 22 2023, 11:49 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Nov 22 2023, 09:30 PM)
Want to ask about the transit, its by the airline or self transit?
my worried is self transit for those <3hours will there a risk that flight from MY to MNL delay and MNL to HND will go ahead without waiting for you?
what do you mean by airline or self transit?

when you arrive the luggage will be auto transit to your next flight, so if your flight is delayed, your luggage will be too; when you are checking in at KLIA, you will be and should be issued 2 boarding passes, one is KUL > MNL; one is MNL > HND, so just head to the designated terminal/gate will do without your luggage when you reach NAIA

IMPORTANT: MAKE SURE THAT YOU ARE ISSUED 2 BOARDING PASS IN KLIA TO ENSURE THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PICK UP YOUR LUGGAGE FROM THE MNL SIDE AND CHECK IN AGAIN FOR YOUR NEXT FLIGHT.

if you are referring to the risk of the airline delay, i dont think there's an answer to this as all airlines run the risk of delays and the next flight departs without you; should this happens you should reach out to the airline and they should be able to put you on the next flight based on availability
sadukarzz
post Nov 22 2023, 11:55 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Nov 22 2023, 11:06 PM)
I took PAL once, all in RM1500. Not too good not too bad, economy class A320 all 4 legs.

Meals were good enough, decently portioned, served pork as well, tasted good enough. Cabin crew service is up to par. Legroom is standard that of A320. Overall decent soft and hard product.

The shit experience will be NAIA T2 itself, more like a budget and big airport stand. Even more "laoya" than our LCCT back then. It's like check in counter in front, back there already boarding gates, and not much shops to offer. If in for long transit, prepare something yourself. And the transit flow is not that good. I got overnight transit from KUL to NRT, it was much more bearable since arrive MNL evening, check in hotel near beside T3. Early morning taxi to T2 to catch NRT flight.

T3 is the premium terminal. but PAL don't land there.
P/S: And on KLIA side, the ground crew that serves PAL counter vs those that serve ANA/JAL huge huge difference in attitude.
agreed in terms of the transit, hence i would recommend if the transit time is < 3 hours or overnight transit

whereas for the attitude wise in KLIA, i would guess it depends, for me it was pleasant, even for NAIA side

when i was taking my first flight to JP i wasnt sure whether the luggage policy / procedures, the staff there were very helpful, although not very welcoming because it was really busy timing, but i got things sorted out relatively quickly

second encounter was my flight to SYD when i was required to do luggage screening (AU/US requirement), they were more than happy to guide me through the process and was friendly

FOR TRANSIT - IF YOU HAVE LOUNGE KEY / DRAGON PASS IT WOULD BE REALLY HELPFUL FOR YOUR EXPERIENCE IN TRANSITING ESP FOR AU FLIGHTS AS YOU CAN KILL TIME THERE
sadukarzz
post Nov 24 2023, 01:42 AM

779 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Nov 23 2023, 07:51 AM)
Apologies let me share in more details,
Usually im seaching thorough Skyscanner there's self transit for some flight.

Yours is direct purchase from PAL am I correct?
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Nov 23 2023, 03:42 PM)
as always, as shared by many here, always ONLY book with the airlines itself. do not go tru 3rd party agencies.
there are some issues especially rescheduling/cancellation/refunds
yes correct, it is direct with them and as per below, always book direct with airlines itself especially if it involves transits

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 23 2023, 05:05 PM)
OT a bit, NAIA absolutely is the worst of the worst airport I've ever experienced, it's already a hair pulling experience for us for a short 4 hours layover
never in my life I would want to transit at NAIA anymore
sorry to hear your experience, perhaps once the new airport is completed then you may reconsider again smile.gif

0.0253sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:47 PM