Travel To Japan V13, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

Chaud
post May 23 2022, 08:37 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sben525 @ May 17 2022, 02:48 PM)
open small tour group from US, Australia, Thailand, SG

Malaysia is not in the list.
maybe can go to these country and join their tour group? biggrin.gif

Chaud
post Jul 29 2022, 09:58 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jul 22 2022, 02:12 PM)
hi all, plan tovisit hokaido next year Feb.

the flight ticket is around 3-4k

issit normal for the airticket to be in this range?

or any month or tricks I can buy ticket at a cheaper rate ?

Thanks all sifus.
3-4k flight to japan/korea is actually a new normal rate now biggrin.gif
Chaud
post Aug 23 2022, 01:39 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 14 2022, 05:08 PM)
hopefully they open same time with Taiwan so the demand will be diluted tongue.gif

but even if they open in the near future, doubt they will scrape PCR testing.

their second covid dose is not even 99%. so tourists are very likely to get infected.
i can slowly wait...there are countries that you can visit without the need to do PCR test anyway biggrin.gif
Chaud
post Sep 23 2022, 12:13 PM

1,119 posts

japan open but sinovac not recognise right?
Chaud
post Sep 29 2022, 08:31 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(mdshaman @ Sep 28 2022, 06:44 AM)
ehh? I didn't receive any booklet/card..  cry.gif
booklet/card for 3rd dose

if dont have, just use your mysejahtera and print the vaccine cert
Chaud
post Oct 3 2022, 08:57 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 2 2022, 10:36 PM)
anyone booked tickets yet to Japan? biggrin.gif

planning to book by end of Oct for 2 weeks to Tokyo via SG Air. rates are quite tiok, but we are prepared to pay for it
nope...air fare still kinda pricey for me sweat.gif
Chaud
post Oct 6 2022, 08:58 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Oct 5 2022, 05:37 PM)
I heard that transit ease also....
somehow someone said we need to bring out and bring in from flight to flight....lets hope that is not the case for Scoot transit...

hm....ya..didnt think about that for AA on the come back trip....but is buatan msia...support a bit?
that depends on your flight segment destination

if your segment indicate the ending destination is not the place you're transiting then there's no need to come out and check-in again
Chaud
post Oct 7 2022, 11:12 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 6 2022, 12:37 PM)
i my flight transit at Changi before heading to Narita, quite a long transit

ill get to explore Jewel Changi right hehe
yes. they recommend to only go if your transit is >5hrs. but that depends on where you wanna go and what you wanna do there

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 6 2022, 12:45 PM)
what if i book with philippines airlines and need to transit in manila but layover duration 22h? flight to NRT is with philippine airlines too

need to go through transit gate too if i plan to go out of airport?

or still can re-check in after i bring my luggage out?
no need, can just go arrival and clear immigration. since you have the 2nd segment flight ticket on hand you can just straight go to the departure hall when you return
Chaud
post Oct 10 2022, 08:44 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 8 2022, 12:09 AM)
Alright. Booked the following:

Travel Date: 30/11/22 (reach 2pm noon) > 11/12/22 (Flight at 12am, on 11th), all local times
Duration: 11 nights

PAL - 30NOV22 KUL>MNL>HND
MH - 11DEC22 HND>KUL

I'm thinking of dividing the days as per follows:

1 night in Tokyo
3 nights in Osaka
1/2 night in Kyoto
1/2 nights in Nagoya
1 nights in Fuji
3 nights in Tokyo

First timer to Japan, would like to seek for suggestions on the time allocated suitable for basics for the cities?

I'm looking for mainly sightseeing / food with perhaps consideration for visiting major attractions i.e. Theme parks / etc

Just started to plan my schedule

Travelling in pair.

Am considering the JRPass 1 week, then final few days maybe more localized passes.
strongly suggest you focus on Tokyo only and 3 days to mt. fuji
Chaud
post Oct 12 2022, 12:16 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Oct 10 2022, 11:23 PM)
Yeah, I gave some thought about it and decided to forgo Nagoya / Osaka for now. I'll return again for these 2 especially after the expansion of the theme parks.

Kyoto though, I think I'd really want to spend some time there to just soak in the environment before the tourism returns.

Based on what I can find, Kyoto on pre-covid season, was a nightmare in terms of foot traffic.

So I have revised my plans as per below:

Considerations -
1. Pre-winter, so timing is not too cold yet (hopefully, climate change is a little more merciful).
2. I will be travelling mostly with train (I plan to take the 7 day JR Pass).
3. I will also be flying to/from Haneda.
4. I would like to go for hotsprings / theme parks (major ones, of course).
5. Food. I think I will be spending alot on those.
6. Shopping for clothes if applicable, I plan to travel with adequate clothing so I can buy some.

Cities/areas I plan to visit:
1. Tokyo (5 nights)
2. Mt.Fuji / Hakone region (2-3 nights)
3. Kyoto (2-3 nights)

I think this would be more reasonable compared to my previous plans which includes Osaka & Nagoya.

What do you guys think?

=================================================

Details:

Dates - 30Nov22 - 11Dec22
Flight - MH (HND>KUL) points; PAL (KUL>MNL>HND) RM1800, 2 pax
Hotels - Yet to be booked
Pass - JR Pass 7 days + Suica
remove Kyoto also biggrin.gif
Chaud
post Oct 24 2022, 09:47 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(KotoriItsuka @ Oct 21 2022, 09:48 PM)
Hii, this is my first time go to Japan… hence I’m looking for the itinerary (Osaka>Nara>Kyoto>Tokyo) if possible 🙇🏻‍♀️🙇🏻‍♀️Thank you

Currently I’ve roughly list down as below, any recommendation places to go for 6 and 7th day? Should I buy JR pass for 7days?
23/10 Singapore to Osaka(First day)
🛫 TR818 SIN KIX 0625 1410
-Dotonbori(道頓堀) > Shinsaibashi (心斎橋) > Nanba (難波)
-Book hotel at Namba district
-Buy JR Pass for 7 days

*If from Singapore, you can pick up the exchange voucher (JR pass)  from Klook's office.
24/10 Osaka( 2nd day)
-Osaka Jo >  Tsutenkaku > Nara > Kyoto > Nanba

*the closest JR station is Osakajokoen Station on the JR Loop Line

25/10 Osaka (third day)
USJ RM 280.49 (Klook)
-Take the JR Yumaseki line from Nishikujo station to Universal City station.
26/10 Shin Osaka-Tokyo (forth day)
Stay hotel at Tokyo/Shinjuku, dinner at skytree, jalan jalan 水族馆

27/10 Tokyo (fifth day)
-Disney sea (Klook)
28/10 Tokyo (sixth day)
-Hakone TBA

29/10 Tokyo(seventh day)
-TBA

29/10 Tokyo(last day)

🛫 TR805 NRT SIN 0900 0335
-Return back to Changi Airport
I would suggest focus only Osaka, kyoto, nara. Kansai alone 5 days also not enough biggrin.gif

put tokyo on your second trip

Chaud
post Nov 25 2022, 11:28 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Stormflyer @ Nov 25 2022, 12:54 AM)
Since we're on the topic of airlines to Japan, noticed that no one really talk about philippines airlines. Why is that?  confused.gif
PAL actually now cheap. looking at the fleet i don't think its a problem. just the transit time in Manila airport
Chaud
post Nov 29 2022, 10:24 AM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2022, 10:16 AM)
I always tot they drink till 12am, then next day early morning wake up to work again hahaha, the youngsters nowadays I dunno la

what's the best time to get on the public transport then , to avoid the crowds
off peak time biggrin.gif

from 10am-3pm should be fine

Chaud
post Apr 9 2025, 09:53 AM

1,119 posts

if I have a 5-days Tohoku JR East Pass, what do you think of the below itinerary run?

Day 1 Tokyo
Day 2 Tokyo to Aomori (stay 2 nights)
Day 3 Hirosaki (day trip and overnight in Aomori)
Day 4 Sendai (1 night)
In Sendai just mainly going to Aoba Castle, and near downtown area for food
Day 5 Return to Tokyo

This post has been edited by Chaud: Apr 9 2025, 10:06 AM
Chaud
post May 6 2025, 01:08 PM

1,119 posts

QUOTE(Shinka @ May 4 2025, 04:22 AM)
Hi all, just wanna ask all those that has experience bringing kids to Tokyo.

Are baby chairs common in restaurants around Tokyo? I know that family based restaurants do have (e.g conveyor belt restaurants, fast food chains, etc) but the restaurants that we plan to visit seem pretty popular and cramped (e.g.some sushi restaurants in tsukiji, ramen shops) those restaurants also seem to only have counter seats and my kid will be too small to sit on a counter seat by himself.

In Malaysia, baby chairs are common in all restaurants.
try search around disneyland resort area. there seems common even in hotels.

0.0952sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:41 AM