Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140/E2160/E2180 Thread, Discussion & Compilation

wodenus
post Nov 7 2007, 02:31 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 7 2007, 01:30 PM)
yup, mine is mo e2140 too...  smile.gif what's ya highest clock with stock voltage (1.325v)? i'm currently burnin d chip, not doin so well (2.8GHz) but just a fore play as i'm still nuts in intel oc...  tongue.gif

Currently at 3120 MHz (390x8) at 1.376v. Am using a CM silence on it (Rm45 ! smile.gif ) but I have fans everywhere on the board. Idle is 37c. OCCT/Orthos load pushes it up to about 67c. The nice thing about M0 is that the max Tcase is 73c, so you can push it up a bit higher before the protection kicks in and lowers everything.

I have two fans blowing on the RAM (just removed them from old processor HSFs), one fan on the processor MOSFETs, and one 8cm case fan above the NB. Also I have EIST, C1E and TM2 on so the divider drops when I'm not gaming.

ic, thanks bro. one thing i notice bout this 2140 is regardless voltage, be it stock or way up to 1.375, d load temp is alot diff then idle temp (usin coretemp 0.95.4). on load it can go as high as 60'C, while on idle d temp read is just only 30 (+-3)'C. is this normal?  sweat.gif

btw, i'm runnin d chip on old skool 965p ds3 (rev 3.3) board with a pair of d9dcl, d chip cooled by katana2 used on my old rig b4, kinda outdated...  doh.gif
Load is 67c here... but then max Tcase on the M0 stepping is 73c, so I still have room. Can't do much higher w/o pushing voltage though.

kucingfight
post Nov 7 2007, 05:54 PM

5,784 posts

yup, mine is mo e2140 too...  smile.gif what's ya highest clock with stock voltage (1.325v)? i'm currently burnin d chip, not doin so well (2.8GHz) but just a fore play as i'm still nuts in intel oc...  tongue.gif
ic, thanks bro. one thing i notice bout this 2140 is regardless voltage, be it stock or way up to 1.375, d load temp is alot diff then idle temp (usin coretemp 0.95.4). on load it can go as high as 60'C, while on idle d temp read is just only 30 (+-3)'C. is this normal?  sweat.gif

btw, i'm runnin d chip on old skool 965p ds3 (rev 3.3) board with a pair of d9dcl, d chip cooled by katana2 used on my old rig b4, kinda outdated...  doh.gif
yeah the load temps differs by a relatively huge margin over idle. feels great changing camp to intel rite? lol

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 7 2007, 02:31 PM)
Currently at 3120 MHz (390x8) at 1.376v. Am using a CM silence on it (Rm45 ! smile.gif ) but I have fans everywhere on the board. Idle is 37c. OCCT/Orthos load pushes it up to about 67c. The nice thing about M0 is that the max Tcase is 73c, so you can push it up a bit higher before the protection kicks in and lowers everything.

I have two fans blowing on the RAM (just removed them from old processor HSFs), one fan on the processor MOSFETs, and one 8cm case fan above the NB. Also I have EIST, C1E and TM2 on so the divider drops when I'm not gaming.
Load is 67c here... but then max Tcase on the M0 stepping is 73c, so I still have room. Can't do much higher w/o pushing voltage though.
ya ur M0 is way better than my 1st batch L2. sweet spot @ 3ghz @ 1.3875v, 3.1ghz @ 1.45v. more than tat no b00t doh.gif
ah_khoo
post Nov 7 2007, 06:48 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Nov 7 2007, 05:54 PM)
yeah the load temps differs by a relatively huge margin over idle. feels great changing camp to intel rite? lol
ya ur M0 is way better than my 1st batch L2. sweet spot @ 3ghz @ 1.3875v, 3.1ghz @ 1.45v. more than tat no b00t  doh.gif
yeah d feelin is nice when figures are involved, but still i wun swear myself to intel... laugh.gif

gigabyte 965p ds3 undervolt alot ar? sweat.gif

wodenus
post Nov 7 2007, 07:28 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 7 2007, 06:48 PM)
yeah d feelin is nice when figures are involved, but still i wun swear myself to intel...  laugh.gif

gigabyte 965p ds3 undervolt alot ar?  sweat.gif

Gigabyte does seem to undervolt quite a bit.
bryanyeo87
post Nov 8 2007, 12:02 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

@ah_khoo

Wuts the voltage and is that temp stock cooler?

and i have come across some M0 e2140 chips with 1.325v and 1.3125v as stock volts as reported in bios

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Nov 8 2007, 12:03 AM
ah_khoo
post Nov 8 2007, 12:58 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 8 2007, 12:02 AM)
@ah_khoo

Wuts the voltage and is that temp stock cooler?

and i have come across some M0 e2140 chips with 1.325v and 1.3125v as stock volts as reported in bios
stock voltage is reported as 1.325v. d stock cooler is still untouched, infact, i never use any stock cooler for my own rig... tongue.gif

any 965p ds3 user here? wat bios should i load in order to adjust ram timings manually? i'm on f12 currently & there's no such feature at all... sad.gif

one more thing, when u guys mentioned certain clock at certain voltage, is d voltage referring to d load voltage shown by cpu-z, or d one set in bios? there's a big diff in my case... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Nov 9 2007, 09:45 AM
wodenus
post Nov 9 2007, 01:49 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 8 2007, 12:58 PM)
stock voltage is reported as 1.325v. d stock cooler is still untouched, infact, i never use any stock cooler for my own rig...  tongue.gif

any 965p ds3 user here? wat bios should i load in order to adjust ram timings manually? i'm on f12 currently & there's no such feature at all...  sad.gif

one more thing, when u guys mentioned certain clock at certain voltage, is d voltage referring to d load voltage shown by cpu-z, or d one set in bios? there's a big diff in my case...  sweat.gif
Gigabyte hides the RAM timings for some reason. If you press Ctrl-F1 at the main BIOS menu you will see the options after you select the MIT smile.gif
ah_khoo
post Nov 9 2007, 02:42 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Nov 9 2007, 01:49 PM)
Gigabyte hides the RAM timings for some reason. If you press Ctrl-F1 at the main BIOS menu you will see the options after you select the MIT smile.gif
thx for d tips bro, can't wait to tweak d ram as i think i almost hit d limit of d chip ledi... notworthy.gif
gsan
post Nov 11 2007, 12:15 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 9 2007, 02:42 PM)
thx for d tips bro, can't wait to tweak d ram as i think i almost hit d limit of d chip ledi...  notworthy.gif
finally you join the intel fan club laugh.gif

btw, how does its performance compare to X2 s939?
ah_khoo
post Nov 11 2007, 05:13 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Nov 11 2007, 12:15 PM)
finally you join the intel fan club  laugh.gif

btw, how does its performance compare to X2 s939?
dunno yet bro, but 2140 @ 2.8GHz w plain os VS x2 @ 2.6GHz w make up os, i can feel d difference... smile.gif

i have kept my 0614, waitin for a nice x-fire board / sli board... brows.gif
shady
post Nov 12 2007, 06:53 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

My E2140 M0 cant pass fsb400 regardless what voltage i throw in. Many Allendale and Conroe-L have fsb wall at around 400 i guess. My chip is no very good. At stock voltage I can only do 2.8Ghz. M0 runs cooler than L2 but overclockability depends on the chip so luck is important.
plankton
post Nov 12 2007, 07:11 PM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

anyone experience the cold boot issue with gigabyte p35 mobos??
volodstov
post Nov 15 2007, 02:39 PM

52 posts

im using E2160 with XFX nforce 650i mobo and 2GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM. Planning to overclock tat sucker but need advise on wat to adjust on the bios and also how high it can get using this mobo. am using stock cooling.
bryanyeo87
post Nov 17 2007, 01:12 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Nov 12 2007, 07:11 PM)
anyone experience the cold boot issue with gigabyte p35 mobos??
yeap smile.gif

QUOTE(volodstov @ Nov 15 2007, 02:39 PM)
im using E2160 with XFX nforce 650i mobo and 2GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM. Planning to overclock tat sucker but need advise on wat to adjust on the bios and also how high it can get using this mobo. am using stock cooling.
well, for intel, just pump the fsb up and thats it lor...but make sure ram divider is at 1:1 first
SlayerXT
post Nov 20 2007, 09:03 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Usually stock cooling may only cool till 3Ghz. Depends on luck. Above that usually needs aftermarket HSF.
Snyy
post Nov 21 2007, 12:39 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

hi, what BIOS version is on you guys P35 DS3 motherboard? I faced a problem, I can only push my E2140 to 350*8. cant boot up with anything more than 360*8 even with 1.4vCore. I'm using Crucial value ram (D9) and I did set the ram timing to 5-5-5-15. what is the problem? would updating the BIOS would solve my problem? currently F5 BIOS with my motherboard.
rainingzero
post Nov 21 2007, 12:49 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Nov 21 2007, 12:39 PM)
hi, what BIOS version is on you guys P35 DS3 motherboard? I faced a problem, I can only push my E2140 to 350*8. cant boot up with anything more than 360*8 even with 1.4vCore. I'm using Crucial value ram (D9) and I did set the ram timing to 5-5-5-15.  what is the problem? would updating the BIOS would solve my problem? currently F5 BIOS with my motherboard.
2800mhz also considered niec..nod.gif

This post has been edited by rainingzero: Nov 21 2007, 12:51 PM
kucingfight
post Nov 21 2007, 12:53 PM

5,784 posts

hi, what BIOS version is on you guys P35 DS3 motherboard? I faced a problem, I can only push my E2140 to 350*8. cant boot up with anything more than 360*8 even with 1.4vCore. I'm using Crucial value ram (D9) and I did set the ram timing to 5-5-5-15.  what is the problem? would updating the BIOS would solve my problem? currently F5 BIOS with my motherboard.
Which HSF are you on? Tested with at least 1:1 divider? if u've done tat, & no changes, probably u've got a walled CPU

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Nov 21 2007, 12:53 PM
Are_keem
post Nov 21 2007, 01:18 PM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

same like mine, but mine can't pass through 390 x 8 although had loosen the timing and pump 1.5V vcore.
confirm not caused by temperature though. the RAM divider had been set to 1:1 but still cant pass 390FSB.
maybe got fsb-walled processor.. sad.gif
kucingfight
post Nov 21 2007, 01:36 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Nov 21 2007, 01:18 PM)
same like mine, but mine can't pass through 390 x 8 although had loosen the timing and pump 1.5V vcore.
confirm not caused by temperature though. the RAM divider had been set to 1:1 but still cant pass 390FSB.
maybe got fsb-walled processor.. sad.gif
wow tat's not a so good news indeed, i thought the later batches of e2140 shouldnt be walled to at least 3ghz

138 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:16 AM