Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140/E2160/E2180 Thread, Discussion & Compilation

Snyy
post Oct 23 2007, 02:05 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

Hi guys, I going to get an Intel Pentium Dual Core E2140 + P35 DS3 soon. Just want to know is there any stepping of E2140 will give a better OC result? I also going to buy a 2*1GB Value RAM. which RAM (what chipset?) you guys will recommend?
Snyy
post Oct 24 2007, 01:21 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

thx thx. will try looking for it on this coming weekend in lowyat. btw, what cooler you guys using for the CPU?
Snyy
post Nov 3 2007, 01:58 AM

Alyssa
595 posts

hi guys, regarding the core temp. I core temp 0.95.4. it shown me my core temp was 33 while my easy tune5 shown me my core temp is 24. which one is correct? or just -15 degree from what the current temp 0.95.4 shown?
Snyy
post Nov 21 2007, 12:39 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

hi, what BIOS version is on you guys P35 DS3 motherboard? I faced a problem, I can only push my E2140 to 350*8. cant boot up with anything more than 360*8 even with 1.4vCore. I'm using Crucial value ram (D9) and I did set the ram timing to 5-5-5-15. what is the problem? would updating the BIOS would solve my problem? currently F5 BIOS with my motherboard.
Snyy
post Nov 21 2007, 01:45 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 21 2007, 12:49 PM)
2800mhz also considered niec..nod.gif
hehe.. if can sure want to push it to the limit.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Nov 21 2007, 12:53 PM)
Which HSF are you on? Tested with at least 1:1 divider? if u've done tat, & no changes, probably u've got a walled CPU
erm... on stock HSF. but I see some of you guys can push to 3.0Ghz with stock HSF. yaya. I did tried with 1:1 divider. but still no luck.

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Nov 21 2007, 01:18 PM)
same like mine, but mine can't pass through 390 x 8 although had loosen the timing and pump 1.5V vcore.
confirm not caused by temperature though. the RAM divider had been set to 1:1 but still cant pass 390FSB.
maybe got fsb-walled processor.. sad.gif
aiks.. but at least you can push to 390*8. mine only 350*8. cry.gif
Snyy
post Nov 22 2007, 05:27 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 22 2007, 04:17 PM)
Try bios F4, because it seems to have better OCing capabilities, unless of course, you need the bios update to solve some bugs la biggrin.gif

If you set your ram timings to 5-5-5-15, did you set it in bios or via windows using memset?
F4? now latest is F9. or should I try the latest? I set it in BIOS. any different if I set using memset?
Snyy
post Nov 23 2007, 09:51 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 22 2007, 06:06 PM)
What are the other sub timings you set? other then the ram timings
FSB ocing lor...F3 gives higher FSB ocing but has issues with rams  laugh.gif
erm... all other timing I leave it auto. Just now try x6, it same just can push up few FSB only. cry.gif

Anyone tried update BIOS in windows b4?

Snyy
post Nov 26 2007, 11:14 AM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Nov 23 2007, 11:27 PM)

Added on November 23, 2007, 11:28 pmyeap no prob..i always update from windows
hmm.gif wired. I'm having an issue when I was updating the BIOS in windows using @BIOS. An error message pop up after it start updating the BIOS. Is there any setting I need to do 1st b4 I can flash in windows?

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 24 2007, 02:18 AM)
Try this timings in bios, set ram divider 1:1 first

Cas Latency time                      5
Dram Ras to Cas delay              6
Dram ras precahrge                  5
precaharge delay                      15
act to act delay                          3
rank write to read delay            10
write to precharge delay            13
refresh to act delay                  50
TRD                                        auto
TRD precahrge delay                auto
Try this settings
are you suspecting my RAM holding my CPU back? because my RAM can do DDR1100 with 5-5-5-15 with all sub timing leave it to auto. so, was hoping the update of BIOS would help. sad.gif
Snyy
post Nov 26 2007, 09:30 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 26 2007, 07:02 PM)
im not suspecting your ram, but i am suspecting the TRFC as well as the sub timings from the NB tot he rams...

just try out the settings and see biggrin.gif
btw, you can save your old bios settings by pressing F11
okok. I will try it out later. but I still cant update my BIOS. This is the error. Anyone know what is the problem?

Snyy
post Nov 28 2007, 07:39 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Nov 24 2007, 02:18 AM)
Try this timings in bios, set ram divider 1:1 first

Cas Latency time                      5
Dram Ras to Cas delay              6
Dram ras precahrge                  5
precaharge delay                      15
act to act delay                          3
rank write to read delay            10
write to precharge delay            13
refresh to act delay                  50
TRD                                        auto
TRD precahrge delay                auto
Try this settings
aiks. my previous post gone. oh ya, I did try these timing. but still no luck. cant pass 360 FSB.

I faced an issue when I try to update my BIOS using @BIOS in windows. Below are the screenshot. anyone can help?

Snyy
post Jan 30 2008, 11:03 AM

Alyssa
595 posts

I just check the dedicated Super PI thread for us. I saw a lot of you guys bump more than 1.4vCore. can you guys share how was the temp like and what cooler you used?
Snyy
post Jan 31 2008, 12:21 AM

Alyssa
595 posts

hi guys, thanks for the reply. smile.gif Just got my self a E2160 rclxm9.gif after I sold my E2140 yesterday. Tried 333*9 @ stock vCore stable for 30min OCCT. but just now I decided to lower down the multiplier to found out what is the highest FSB can this E2160 do. so I tried 400*8 and I need 1.425vCore to get it stable. how you guys think my E2160 perform? Ok? normal? acceptable? any advice for me? thx.
Snyy
post Jan 31 2008, 04:44 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Jan 31 2008, 03:31 PM)
@ Snyy
May i ask u wht mobo n rams u using? cause i'm doing survey on getting affordable n nice oc stuff to work with.
I'm using P35 DS3 + crucial value ram(D9).
Snyy
post Jan 31 2008, 07:22 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

-a1098113-

yaya. Agree with you my P35 DS3 seem vDrop a lot. cry.gif btw, I just bought E2160 on Tuesday.
Snyy
post Feb 1 2008, 07:35 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jan 31 2008, 08:37 PM)
Not a bad chip when compare to the average poor chip out there,quite nice.How much vcore does it take to stable at 400x9?
Mine can't do 400*9. 400*8 need 1.425v. 410*8 need 1.46v. sweat.gif

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jan 31 2008, 10:20 PM)
@snyy
the e2160 can do 3.6ghz with a little bit of push, so i consider your results ok. For my e2140, i can do 400*8 with 1.38V, so i believe yours should be able to as well. As for stock Vcore, i did 375*8.

Well, its ok but i think you can do better if you try harder smile.gif

Added on February 1, 2008, 7:33 am@all

come on guys, bring forth your procs and OC. Come come. And do some stable super pi. And you, Snyy, do a super pi with a stable clock and post it up the dedicated thread for us.
3.6Ghz.. I think mine can't la. 410*8 already need 1.46v. sweat.gif yaya. Just post my super PI result over there.
Snyy
post Feb 16 2008, 06:52 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

aiks.. my e2160 need 1.475v to do 3.3GHz (413*8) stable. can't imaging the vCore needed for me to do 3.6ghz..
Snyy
post Feb 16 2008, 09:35 PM

Alyssa
595 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 16 2008, 06:56 PM)
@Snyy
your proc is an M0 stepping?
yaya. MO stepping. why?

QUOTE(heizad @ Feb 16 2008, 06:57 PM)
wut's ur mobo bro?
GA P35 DS3