> how this kind of ppl live in malaysia?

TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:07 PM, updated 6y ago

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

todei my off day. so todei i layan /k, catching up on animes, play game abit... suddenly theres a knock at my house door. open it, i saw one chinese uncle standing in front of my house. he spoke to me in chinese, i replied 'sorry, can you speak in english, i couldnt understand chinese'

he then say 'ah, english ah' and some other chinese words. so thinking that he couldnt speak english, i ask him 'kalau english tak boleh, malay boleh cakap?'... he replied 'ok malay'

the next part shocked me. he couldnt even string a broken malay sentence, let alone a proper one.

unker:- 'bawah ah... bocor'
me:- 'apa yang bocor. gas? air? unker mau saya tolong apa?' (here i tot he was asking me to help him on something)
unker:- 'bukan... *pause* um... air bocor'
me:- 'air bocor? unker punya paip pecah?' (me thinking why call me, call plumber la laugh.gif)
unker:- 'bukan. atas *pointing at ceiling* bocor'
me:- (confused, just now say bawah bocor, now atas bocor... laugh.gif)

seeing that im confused, he whipped out his phone, and show me some photo. turns out the water from my toilet is leaking into his unit laugh.gif

so i ask him whether i can look at it (the unit) myself.

me:- 'boleh saya tengok kah?'
unker:- 'tengok?'
me:- 'tengok itu leaking'
unker :- 'tengok itu leaking?'
me:- 'saya mau tengok (pointing at my eyes) itu bocor'
unker:- 'ahh... okok'

we went to his house, i inspect the leaking, and took some picture. while looking around, i ask him
me:- 'unker, u orang malaysia?'
unker:- ya orang malaysia
me:- sudah lama tinggal kl?
unker :- 'tinggal kl?'
me:- gave up trying to speak to unker

this makes me think.. how this unker, cant speak english, barely even understand malay, can live in malaysia for so long? in my line of work, i sometimes meet rural ppl who cant to speak english, or malay, but can at least speak either one of the language. but this is the 1st time i meet someone who struggles with both language laugh.gif

srsly, how this unker survive in malaysia for so long, in the heart of KL sumore? and why he struggles with BM and english? he never went to school? laugh.gif

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif
As a proof that i am not simply opening a racial baiting thread, this is the water leaking photo

This post has been edited by kurangak: Jan 15 2020, 12:30 PM
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jan 15 2020, 12:08 PM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

if he can survive and live in the same building with you. maybe you should self reflect why you can know so much but still live with this kind of sampah??

bani_prime
post Jan 15 2020, 12:08 PM

481 posts

Prepare to be shoot by chauvinist
AgogoLatoto
post Jan 15 2020, 12:09 PM

u cainis oso?
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:10 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(AgogoLatoto @ Jan 15 2020, 12:09 PM)
u cainis oso?
nope. not chinese. laugh.gif tho ive been mistaken as chinese alot of time, coz the area im currently living is a chinese area.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:10 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Ned_Fromthenorth @ Jan 15 2020, 12:08 PM)
if he can survive and live in the same building with you. maybe you should self reflect why you can know so much but still live with this kind of sampah??
dun understand sweat.gif
Rusty Nail
post Jan 15 2020, 12:13 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

long long time ago, was on a bus returning from hattyai
immegresen stopped the bus. immegressen went around checking passports, stopped on one auntie.
abang immegresen "ah soh, dah makan belum?"
auntie "blank stare"
abang immegresen "ah soh, dah makan belum?"
auntie "blank stare"
abang immegresen "you org malaysia?"
auntie "blank stare"
abang immegresen losing patience "passport?"
auntie hands out passport
then only the companion beside the auntie explained that she don't understand BM

I can see why pasuno so angry
AgogoLatoto

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:10 PM)
nope. not chinese. laugh.gif tho ive been mistaken as chinese alot of time, coz the area im currently living is a chinese area.
haha, i've encountered similar incidents as well. some chinese auntie talk to me in chinese as tho as i can understand them... while i'm a dark skinned indian. when replied in english or malay they just look confused.
gonfeeces

97 posts

Unker no education ma last time
Syie9^_^
post Jan 15 2020, 12:14 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(Ned_Fromthenorth @ Jan 15 2020, 01:38 PM)
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:15 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(AgogoLatoto @ Jan 15 2020, 12:13 PM)
haha, i've encountered similar incidents as well. some chinese auntie talk to me in chinese as tho as i can understand them... while i'm a dark skinned indian. when replied in english or malay they just look confused.
how they survive?! laugh.gif

dun tell me they never deal with JPJ, or JPN before?
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:15 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jan 15 2020, 12:14 PM)

tak faham laugh.gif
kopihazelnut
post Jan 15 2020, 12:16 PM

42 posts

Last time not all afford to go to school
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:16 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(gonfeeces @ Jan 15 2020, 12:13 PM)
but he looks like, 50+ only oh... dun tell me he only live among chinese, never mingles with other race?
ah_suknat
post Jan 15 2020, 12:17 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

My wife kazen, married to sarawak cainis fuchow guy, his mom, although a pure sarawakian, also cant speak a single sentence of malay.
SUS8bitguy

91 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Saitama

308 posts

probably org kg belajar sjkc or tak berpelajaran at all but moved to KL to live with his kids lor
sanwaltz
post Jan 15 2020, 12:18 PM

51 posts

unker 20k celeri, #bersangkabaiktaxcontributor
JungWoo

1,043 posts

Own neighbour also tak kenal ka. Charsiew neigber
TSkurangak

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ Jan 15 2020, 12:16 PM)
Last time not all afford to go to school
but how come cant even speak at least malay? he only interact with chinese his whole life, never mingles with other races? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kurangak: Jan 15 2020, 01:22 PM
KLthinker91
post Jan 15 2020, 12:19 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Jan 15 2020, 12:13 PM)

I can see why pasuno so angry
That's not an excuse for the racist shit that they spew

Look at one up there now

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:15 PM)

People deal for them

You got to understand, these are kind of like orang Asli of chinese... secluded and cut off from the rest of the world
kopihazelnut
post Jan 15 2020, 12:20 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:18 PM)
but how come cant even speak at least english? he only interact with chinese his whole life, never mingles with other races? laugh.gif
He try to interact with u but u make fun of him
SUSzerozero00

Probably uncle was born before malaya was given independence b4 british.
Why can't certain rempit speak decent English? Schools in Msia didn't teach?
Mr.Ballz

180 posts

probably china PRC , buy house with cash. Rich ass buy your life also can.
+3kk!
post Jan 15 2020, 12:21 PM

8,275 posts

A lot of Malaysians just mingle in their own community don't say English I know some who can speak anything other than hokkien

Honestly these guys need to learn more
ZerOne01
post Jan 15 2020, 12:21 PM

124 posts

unker how old? If 60s 70s tak pelik la kenot speak other language
keyibukeyi
post Jan 15 2020, 12:22 PM

150 posts

uncle dah tua lahh, apa yang dia belajar sudah kasi balik guru dia la. btw how old itu uncle
kkboy
post Jan 15 2020, 12:23 PM

113 posts

Quite common

When repairing my car in KL lots of the mechanics (Chinese Malaysians) were almost entirely incomprehensible. thankfully the towkays have passable command of English/ Malay.
mlap
post Jan 15 2020, 12:23 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:07 PM)
todei my off day. so todei i layan /k, catching up on animes, play game abit... suddenly theres a knock at my house door. open it, i saw one chinese uncle standing in front of my house. he spoke to me in chinese, i replied 'sorry, can you speak in english, i couldnt understand chinese'

he then say 'ah, english ah' and some other chinese words. so thinking that he couldnt speak english, i ask him 'kalau english tak boleh, malay boleh cakap?'... he replied 'ok malay'

the next part shocked me. he couldnt even string a broken malay sentence, let alone a proper one.

me:- 'apa yang bocor. gas? air? unker mau saya tolong apa?' (here i tot he was asking me to help him on something)
me:- 'air bocor? unker punya paip pecah?' (me thinking why call me, call plumber la laugh.gif)

seeing that im confused, he whipped out his phone, and show me some photo. turns out the water from my toilet is leaking into his unit laugh.gif

we went to his house, i inspect the leaking, and took some picture. while looking around, i ask him

this makes me think.. how this unker, cant speak english, barely even understand malay, can live in malaysia for so long? in my line of work, i sometimes meet rural ppl who cant to speak english, or malay, but can at least speak either one of the language. but this is the 1st time i meet someone who struggles with both language laugh.gif

srsly, how this unker survive in malaysia for so long, in the heart of KL sumore? and why he struggles with BM and english? he never went to school? laugh.gif

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif
Possible Unker never been to school, bear in mind those born in the 60s some even 70s might not have the privilege to go to school.
AgogoLatoto
post Jan 15 2020, 12:26 PM

i suspect prc
but then again i heard from a banker friend a lot of rural chinese especially in sabah sarawak dunno speak malay, even the youngsters. they need to have translators, even if they're born in malaysia.

for indian like us, i think only the super old people dunno speak malay, for the younger and boomer gen i can say that never encountered indian that can't speak malay so far.

TSkurangak

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ Jan 15 2020, 12:20 PM)
He try to interact with u but u make fun of him
im not making fun!! im just wondering, how u live in malaysia for so long, but barely can speak english and malay... if hes early teen or just entering adulthood, i can understand abit la... but 50+ old unker oh!!

QUOTE(zerozero00 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:20 PM)
Why  can't certain rempit speak decent English? Schools in Msia didn't teach?
u telling me he never speak with other races his whole entire life? laugh.gif

QUOTE(ZerOne01 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:21 PM)
unker how old? If 60s 70s tak pelik la kenot speak other language
QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Jan 15 2020, 12:22 PM)
uncle dah tua lahh, apa yang dia belajar sudah kasi balik guru dia la. btw how old itu uncle
hes not that old... prolly 50+, 60 tops.
sanwaltz

51 posts

QUOTE(zerozero00 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:20 PM)
Why  can't certain rempit speak decent English? Schools in Msia didn't teach?
that unker also fail english according to TS

ZerOne01
post Jan 15 2020, 12:27 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:26 PM)
im not making fun!! im just wondering, how u live in malaysia for so long, but barely can speak english and malay... if hes early teen or just entering adulthood, i can understand abit la... but 50+ old unker oh!!
hes not that old... prolly 50+, 60 tops.
You got ask? Manatau muka muda but is actually 80
Orang tua I tak pelik kenot speak melei, orang muda je yang i pelik
gonfeeces

97 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:16 PM)
but he looks like, 50+ only oh... dun tell me he only live among chinese, never mingles with other race?
It is possible if he came from chinese new settlement. And hardly get educated. My uncles now in their 50s also went to primary school only. Hv to cari makan back then.
AgogoLatoto

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Jan 15 2020, 12:17 PM)
My wife kazen, married to sarawak cainis fuchow guy, his mom, although a pure sarawakian, also cant speak a single sentence of malay.
yea this is common in borneo
Imp Bron
post Jan 15 2020, 12:28 PM

143 posts

Meet some lot of them in PLKN too. PLKN teachers really frustrated with them as there are no way to communicate. They just sit on the class staring at the air while waiting for the time to pass. my friend that can speak Chinese tell me that they are SJKC drop out, those that placed in the most back class. SJKC teach BM and English but the failed one don't learn anything. It's easy to survive, you can get job easier as long as you are Mandarin speaker. Can works as a waiter, server at Chinese restaurant. Maybe mechanic or any technical work that doesn't require interaction with client.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:28 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(AgogoLatoto @ Jan 15 2020, 12:26 PM)
i suspect prc
but then again i heard from a banker friend a lot of rural chinese especially in sabah sarawak dunno speak malay, even the youngsters. they need to have translators, even if they're born in malaysia.

for indian like us, i think only the super old people dunno speak malay, for the younger and boomer gen i can say that never encountered indian that can't speak malay so far.
i suspect that too laugh.gif

sabah sarawak or rural area, i can understand la... but in heart of kl, cant speak english or malay, how he survive? bring translator everywhere? laugh.gif
Sycamore
post Jan 15 2020, 12:30 PM

334 posts

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif
As a proof that i simply opening a racial baiting thread, this is the water leaking photo

This post reminds me of Zhuhao daxian (bopi bopi) and Unker kimsim (Benefon)

Mind you, Unker kimsim/Benefon is a businessman in Sinkapork.
SUSzerozero00
post Jan 15 2020, 12:32 PM

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:26 PM)

Lol, there is such thing called simple sign language. If u order food, can just point and ask Brapa.
No need for complete sentence.
U are telling me rempit never speak with other races as well? Or never learn English in Msian schools?
bug_vengeance
post Jan 15 2020, 12:32 PM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

offer the uncle a malay language class

this will memupuk semangat toleransi di antara kaum
ikankering
post Jan 15 2020, 12:33 PM

42 posts

from china country?
saikia2046
post Jan 15 2020, 12:34 PM

414 posts

A lot of older chinese never have a chance to get educated. They forced to work as a kuli at 11-13 years old. Since their job not required to read write and speak, they eventually become what you met that day. I still met 4-5 people like that during 1990 in my home town (they are in their 30-40's at that moment).

ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:35 PM

1,178 posts

That burn
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:36 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

this is typical for ppl who lives in rumah panjang their whole entire life. close community, minimal interaction with outsiders, understandable la. i oso met a few before.

QUOTE(gonfeeces @ Jan 15 2020, 12:27 PM)
It is possible if he came from chinese new settlement. And hardly get educated. My uncles now in their 50s also went to primary school only. Hv to cari makan back then.
but how he deal with JPN, JPJ, or any govt body, bring translator everywhere? laugh.gif

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jan 15 2020, 12:28 PM)
Meet some lot of them in PLKN too. PLKN teachers really frustrated with them as there are no way to communicate. They just sit on the class staring at the air while waiting for the time to pass. my friend that can speak Chinese tell me that they are SJKC drop out, those that placed in the most back class. SJKC teach BM and English but the failed one don't learn anything. It's easy to survive, you can get job easier as long as you are Mandarin speaker. Can works as a waiter, server at Chinese restaurant. Maybe mechanic or any technical work that doesn't require interaction with client.
so no driving license? correct me if im wrong, JPJ test only conducted in Malay, rite? laugh.gif
ohman

1,178 posts

QUOTE(gonfeeces @ Jan 15 2020, 12:13 PM)
Cannot be.

Cainis all highly educated, all stay bungalow, drive Mercedes, pakai rolex.

Those cannot speak cannot bahasa cannot count are PRC or other illegal immigrants.

ssawkl

40 posts

its possible cos :

1. uneducated
2. they survive by working within their own community
3. staying within same community, no need speak other language/s.
4. all gov and banking stuff, let their kids handle it.

this only happen to the uneducated old generation, probably >60s.

sanwaltz
post Jan 15 2020, 12:37 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:28 PM)

sabah sarawak or rural area, i can understand la... but in heart of kl, cant speak english or malay, how he survive? bring translator everywhere? laugh.gif
but you asked unker he orng Malaysia

either kena tipu, or you got hearing problem or baru dapat IC lettew
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:37 PM

1,178 posts

Kalau cakap england pandai, cakap bahasa pandai, kenapa masih kerja kepsi / sm99?

Owai

Newsray
post Jan 15 2020, 12:38 PM

1,022 posts

but how come cant even speak at least english? he only interact with chinese his whole life, never mingles with other races? laugh.gif
He didnt go to school. Where do you expect him to learn?
Walk around to any Malay he found on the street, and ask him to conduct Malay class for free?
Imp Bron

143 posts

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:34 PM)
A lot of older chinese never have a chance to get educated. They forced to work as a kuli at 11-13 years old. Since their job not required to read write and speak, they eventually become what you met that day. I still met 4-5 people like that during 1990 in my home town (they are in their 30-40's at that moment).
Ironically even bangla in the same condition. But they interect with the locals and able to pick it up from there slowly building it up
ohman

1,178 posts

You better worry why your young able bodied countrymen working minimum wage.

Redhunt
post Jan 15 2020, 12:39 PM

51 posts

chinese ppl and chinese communities in msia long time before 1963 la. TS is the one that is bodoh

malaya ( apa lagi, Sabah and Sarawak) already not homogeneous for at least a hundred years before 1963.

The entire construct would never work properly .
ketupatlazat
post Jan 15 2020, 12:39 PM

555 posts

Suro dia nyanyi lagu negaraku
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:40 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jan 15 2020, 12:38 PM)
Ironically even bangla in the same condition. But they interect with the locals and able to pick it up from there slowly building it up
Thats why

ssawkl
post Jan 15 2020, 12:40 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:36 PM)
Cannot be.

Those cannot speak cannot bahasa cannot count are PRC or other illegal immigrants.
Not all C are born rich la.. i know of someone, no car, no motor. work as kuli. send kids to school and thankfully they are successful and able to buy hse for parent.
Vrese
post Jan 15 2020, 12:41 PM

326 posts

stop wondering la..in sabah also got chinese like this

your nickname tell me you are sabahan
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:41 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(zerozero00 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:32 PM)
Lol, there is such thing called simple sign language. If u order food, can just point and ask Brapa.
No need for complete sentence.
U are telling me rempit never speak with other races as well? Or never learn English in Msian schools?
i lived in a non english speaking country before. so i know the hardship of not understanding anything the natives speak. hence i took the effort of learning their language, at least enough so that so that i can speak my way out if im in a pinch.

sign language can help u to an extent. but what if ure stopped by police, or u need to go to a dr, or explain anything that cant be interpreted using sign language? bring translator everywhere? hard oh... laugh.gif
duHwaN
post Jan 15 2020, 12:42 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

inward looking... he may be surviving, doubt he is thriving (unless he found a niche business)... but he social mobility is very limited
ohman

1,178 posts

QUOTE(ssawkl @ Jan 15 2020, 12:40 PM)
Not all C are born rich la..  i know of someone, no car, no motor. work as kuli. send kids to school and thankfully they are successful and able to buy hse for parent.
Tak mungkin la.

Unker pakai honda c70 are also millionaire. Only low profiles.

fireballs

5,650 posts

Last time all English and Chinese Ed.
Chinese is using traditional type sommore and use Taiwan style phonetics.
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:43 PM

1,178 posts

Jan 15 2020, 12:53 PM
This post has been deleted by kurangak because: lets not go towards politic shall we?

ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:44 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:41 PM)
i lived in a non english speaking country before. so i know the hardship of not understanding anything the natives speak. hence i took the effort of learning their language, at least enough so that so that i can speak my way out if im in a pinch.

sign language can help u to an extent. but what if ure stopped by police, or u need to go to a dr, or explain anything that cant be interpreted using sign language? bring translator everywhere? hard oh... laugh.gif
So how?

What is the purpose of your thread?

shirley_andy

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

these are the old generation, they are mainly from "kampung" and never really go outside the "kampung", yes KL also got a few of these kampung one.
they have everything they need in their kampung dy so never have the chance to mingle with outside, so chance of speaking and listening another language is so rare, no chance to speak, listen and practice, so naturally they are like that.

for those who comment, oh even bangla can learn. omg... bangla came all the way here to make a living, of course they have to learn. these old folks live their life within closed communities since the old days.

This post has been edited by shirley_andy: Jan 15 2020, 12:48 PM
SUSzerozero00

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:41 PM)

Dude, u probably completed university or college?
That uncle probably didn't even complete secondary school (common those days).

So how do u want to compare? It's like comparing most old people learning smartphones vs younger people.

SUSgongmakai
post Jan 15 2020, 12:45 PM

if this is old uncle, then by right should be able to speak malay or english. i think many older gen can speak malay. i can only deduce this guy is non local or migrate from other country
Rand

319 posts

It can happen. My late mother in law never went to school and could only speak Cantonese. Father in Law did all the non cantonese communication for her.

As a banana this meant I also never really talked to her.

Imp Bron

143 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:36 PM)
this is typical for ppl who lives in rumah panjang their whole entire life. close community, minimal interaction with outsiders, understandable la. i oso met a few before.
but how he deal with JPN, JPJ, or any govt body, bring translator everywhere? laugh.gif
so no driving license? correct me if im wrong, JPJ test only conducted in Malay, rite? laugh.gif
You know when Anthony Loke make PSV exam the one that most failed and complaint the most from which group? That group. Those can understand BM can pass easily. Anthony Loke help them by introducing verbal test for those that failed written BM test more than 3 times.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...ion-three-times

aquos
post Jan 15 2020, 12:46 PM

215 posts

dun understand sweat.gif
If the uncle is driving a proton and you are also driving the same proton model who are you to look down on him or pity his situation. Both of you staying in the same condo and while he cannot speak Malay and you also cannot speak Chinese. Frankly speaking doing business in Malaysia don't require Malay language skills at all. Many people like the uncle has no problem at all being Malaysian. If you do not settle the leakage problem the uncle lawyer will be in touch with you and they are very good in English and Malay lol.
Vrese

326 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:44 PM)

Puting so big shocking.gif
duHwaN

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:43 PM)
Instead of kesian and helping him, i think the purpose of this thread is to mock and with racial stereotyping purpose.

Or the ultimate goal is to close more schools.

Yes.

Instead of building more schools.

Must close schools to show who is the Tuan.
well it might be by choice. in that case, he has to live with the hand he chose.. same with everybody else. if someone chooses to go along a certain to their own detriment... stop blaming others
SUSNew Klang
post Jan 15 2020, 12:47 PM

4,998 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
kding2

1,007 posts

Shot fired.
TSkurangak

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ssawkl @ Jan 15 2020, 12:36 PM)
its possible cos :

1. uneducated
2. they survive by working within their own community
3. staying within same community, no need speak other language/s.
4. all gov and banking stuff, let their kids handle it.
this only happen to the uneducated old generation, probably >60s.
how about when they are young? bring translator everywhere? laugh.gif

QUOTE(Newsray @ Jan 15 2020, 12:38 PM)
He didnt go to school. Where do you expect him to learn?
Walk around to any Malay he found on the street, and ask him to conduct Malay class for free?
but in MALAYSIA oh...how he survive? rclxub.gif can barely understand malay? if can understand, but hard to string a malay/english sentences, ive met plenty before,

dis one, malay and english can barely understand? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Redhunt @ Jan 15 2020, 12:39 PM)
chinese ppl and chinese communities in msia long time before 1963 la. TS is the one that is bodoh

malaya ( apa lagi, Sabah and Sarawak) already not homogeneous for at least a hundred years before 1963.

The entire construct would never work properly .
but not to this extent. u live in a country for so long, u gonna pick their language, one way or another..

dis one, english cannot, malay oso struggles to understand... laugh.gif
Robin Hood
post Jan 15 2020, 12:48 PM

289 posts

Inb4 Bangla come here 1 month can speak malay dy
SUSAud power
post Jan 15 2020, 12:49 PM

117 posts

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif
As a proof that i am not simply opening a racial baiting thread, this is the water leaking photo

When i live in kl, speak english 99.99% of the time, only go english speaking places
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:50 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Jan 15 2020, 12:46 PM)
well it might be by choice. in that case, he has to live with the hand he chose.. same with everybody else. if someone chooses to go along a certain to their own detriment... stop blaming others
Who is blaming who?

Huh?

No balls to fck ts?
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:51 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:47 PM)
but in MALAYSIA oh...how he survive? rclxub.gif can barely understand malay? if can understand, but hard to string a malay/english sentences, ive met plenty before,

but not to this extent. u live in a country for so long, u gonna pick their language, one way or another..

Now you know why some people need tongkat?
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 15 2020, 12:51 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

these are the type of ppl that lives in their own bubble
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:52 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(sanwaltz @ Jan 15 2020, 12:37 PM)
but you asked unker he orng Malaysia

either kena tipu, or you got hearing problem or baru dapat IC lettew

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:38 PM)
You better worry why your young able bodied countrymen working minimum wage.
thats a different issue altogether laugh.gif

how u know im not irked about that?

QUOTE(ssawkl @ Jan 15 2020, 12:40 PM)
Not all C are born rich la..  i know of someone, no car, no motor. work as kuli. send kids to school and thankfully they are successful and able to buy hse for parent.
yes, i understand that. the one i cant understand, u live for so long in malaysia, still struggles to understand malay, if dunno english, can blame on education, but dun even understand malay, how u survive for so long? why struggles instead of learning the language?

QUOTE(Vrese @ Jan 15 2020, 12:41 PM)
stop wondering la..in sabah also got chinese like this

your nickname tell me you are sabahan
sa tau boss.. banyak kali suda sa jumpa... masalahnya not to this extent...

QUOTE(kding2 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:47 PM)
Shot fired.
pls explain to me what hes trying to say laugh.gif

duHwaN
post Jan 15 2020, 12:53 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:50 PM)
Who is blaming who?
Huh?
No balls to fck ts?
hahah not directed at you la...

ts put up a case with many possibilities why it happen. whatever reason is... you reap what you sow. don't go on blaming others for your predicaments. government may step in to assist on need to basis... but should not tongkat forever
cajun2de
post Jan 15 2020, 12:54 PM

de Reaper
2,791 posts

Also same reason why English movies in cinema need Chinese subtitles. Because some Malaysians apparently cant understand English or read Malay subtitles. owai

This post has been edited by cajun2de: Jan 15 2020, 12:54 PM
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:55 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Jan 15 2020, 12:53 PM)
hahah not directed at you la...

ts put up a case with many possibilities why it happen. whatever reason is... you reap what you sow. don't go on blaming others for your predicaments. government may step in to assist on need to basis... but should not tongkat forever
Well, this kind of people( i mean unker)

Most probably at the bottom layer.

Well, who wouldnt want to be able to be well versed in as many languages as we can, right?

I want to be good at football basketball baseball too.

TSkurangak

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:44 PM)
So how?

What is the purpose of your thread?
sharing my exp, and asking view, how he survives for so long in malaysia without understanding malay,..

not everything revolves around racial politic u know wink.gif
SUSBug Juice

37 posts

hirano

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

Try kutuk prc or their president. See he triggered onot
pipedream

2,353 posts

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Jan 15 2020, 01:34 PM)
^ this

ignorant cunts like ts forgot malaysia only gained independence 62 years ago.

nenek moyang ts pun tak kecoh them dont know malay

this is from that era.

saikia2046
post Jan 15 2020, 12:56 PM

414 posts

The dark side of the community you never know. Actually a lot of people thinking chinese is very wealthy which was not right. There are many of them poorer than the average poor Malays or Indians. This type of unker is very common. Those I met were work with kedai runcit cina or house builder assistance. For the whole day they only need to listen to the instructions given by the boss or supervisor. They don't need to interact with customer nor writing a reports. They bring their own cook food and water to work strictly no teh tarik session. Teh tarik is kind of luxury and if the boss belanja them to drink, they are willing to work harder, faster even overtime also no problem. Their life is just work-sleep-work, rest only 1-2 days in a month. They sacrificed themselves and all the money saved for their children's education. The younger generation of chinese community mostly don't know about this.
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 12:57 PM

1,178 posts

Jan 15 2020, 01:00 PM
This post has been deleted by kurangak because: go be racist somewhere else

Vrese
post Jan 15 2020, 12:57 PM

326 posts

Go out more next time you comeback KK

actually i'm wondering too but fak em

people used to it, they will help just like what you did to that uncle. Thats how it is
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 12:59 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(zerozero00 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:44 PM)
Dude, u probably completed university or college?
That uncle probably didn't even complete secondary school (common those days).

So how do u want to compare? It's like comparing most old people learning smartphones vs younger people.
u missed the point of my reply

i know the struggles of not understanding the spoken language in my daily life. hence i at least try to learn the basics.

in the end i still struggles to speak, but i at least understand the language,

this unker, live for so long in malaysia, not understanding malay or english, he just tahan with the struggle? laugh.gif
dickybird
post Jan 15 2020, 12:59 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Jan 15 2020, 12:18 PM)
Normal what nowadays. Work and live outside, come home just to shower and sleep where got time to get to know your nieghbour? What more in an apartment building?
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 01:00 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:56 PM)
The dark side of the community you never know. Actually a lot of people thinking chinese is very wealthy which was not right. There are many of them poorer than the average poor Malays or Indians. This type of unker is very common. Those I met were work with kedai runcit cina or house builder assistance. For the whole day they only need to listen to the instructions given by the boss or supervisor. They don't need to interact with customer nor writing a reports. They bring their own cook food and water to work strictly no teh tarik session. Teh tarik is kind of luxury and if the boss belanja them to drink, they are willing to work harder, faster even overtime also no problem. Their life is just work-sleep-work, rest only 1-2 days in a month. They sacrificed themselves and all the money saved for their children's education. The younger generation of chinese community mostly don't know about this.
Nobody cares.

Some cant even afford to enter public uni.

Imp Bron
post Jan 15 2020, 01:00 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(saikia2046 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:56 PM)
Their condition much worse than bangla? Damn that saddening
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:04 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Jan 15 2020, 12:18 PM)
kawan, do u know everybody who lives in ur whole neighbourhood/building?

plus, he didnt live there. im sure coz that unit was empty for a long time. he prolly realised the water was leaking coz hes inspecting the unit, before renting it out or something
ohman
post Jan 15 2020, 01:04 PM

1,178 posts

You dont need some languages everywhere.

You need money everywhere.

So how poor people survive?????
AgogoLatoto
post Jan 15 2020, 01:05 PM

most likely ask children to do stuff for them or just use services that have chinese speakers
if dealing with gov officials obviously need translators
maybe these kind are the ones that takut pulis gao2... not bekos they do any crime, because kenot speak malay sked kena tuduh as prc laugh.gif

TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:05 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Vrese @ Jan 15 2020, 12:57 PM)
Go out more next time you comeback KK

actually i'm wondering too but fak em

people used to it, they will help just like what you did to that uncle. Thats how it is
sa tau ba... tapi belum pernah sa jumpa, orang struggle faham bm... kalau struggle becakap mmg banyak, tapi struggle mau faham? ni 1st time sa jumpa oh boss...
Redhunt
post Jan 15 2020, 01:06 PM

51 posts

malaysia is a nation made up of separate racial communities

you can live your whole life in one of these socially / culturally isolated communities without learning the language of another.

once you go deeper into the countryside, you can see this all around in malaysia ( dont forget malaysia also consists of Sabab and Sarawak).

TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:07 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jan 15 2020, 12:59 PM)
Normal what nowadays. Work and live outside, come home just to shower and sleep where got time to get to know your nieghbour? What more in an apartment building?
eh, i know who live on my floor ok laugh.gif
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:09 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Redhunt @ Jan 15 2020, 01:06 PM)
malaysia is a nation made up of separate racial communities

you can live your whole life in one of these socially / culturally isolated communities without learning the language of another.

once you go deeper into the countryside, you can see this all around in malaysia ( dont forget malaysia also consists of Sabab and Sarawak).
yes, i understand that... but in the heart of kl? how do u live ur whole life without picking up at least a bit of the spoken language? laugh.gif
changejob
post Jan 15 2020, 01:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Robin Hood @ Jan 15 2020, 12:48 PM)
Inb4 Bangla come here 1 month can speak malay dy
Believe it or not there are actually alot similiarities with Indian languages and Malay language.

This is because Malay took heavy influence from Sanskrit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_loanwords_in_Malay

Look at the amount of words from Sanskrit, Hindi and Tamil.

That is a good reason why Bangla or anyone with familiarity with Indian language picks up Malay easier than Chinese.

This post has been edited by changejob: Jan 15 2020, 01:22 PM
AgogoLatoto
post Jan 15 2020, 01:10 PM

Also long time ago I had a neighbour, cina miskin, i think 60+ years old. He work odd jobs daily naik basikal while collecting recycleable trash. No wife, only 1 son who work graveyard shift living with him. Unker always ask me or other neighbors to read letters for him because he is illiterate.

But surprise surprise, his BM is not bad at all.
Phoenix_KL
post Jan 15 2020, 01:12 PM

156 posts

prc. not malaysian.

why you think he is malaysian?

This post has been edited by Phoenix_KL: Jan 15 2020, 01:13 PM
ahbenggay
post Jan 15 2020, 01:13 PM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:59 PM)

i know the struggles of not understanding the spoken language in my daily life. hence i at least try to learn the basics.

this unker, live for so long in malaysia, not understanding malay or english, he just tahan with the struggle? laugh.gif
bro....don be hypocrite and pretend to be holy.

so obvious you're mocking him.

last time no time sick got time die only.

you don understand because you never learn to understand.
Namelessone1973
post Jan 15 2020, 01:15 PM

320 posts

If the uncle is in the 50's or 60's, it mean he was born around the early years of merdeka. During that time, if you have standard 6 education is already considered as educated. Some never even go to school or drop out after a year or two. If you study until Form 5, you're equivalent to studying until getting Masters today. A lot of people especially Malay do not realise that there are Chinese and Indians who belongs to these category of people. Their family is as poor as a lot of kampung Malays and they suffered terribly during the communist insurgency period. A lot of them were moved to new villages and survived without really interacting with other races because everything they need is available in their villages. You'll be surprised that some of them can't even read Chinese or speak Mandarin. All they know is just a dialect. Since, they are poorly educated, the lack confidence if they try to speak other languages such as BM or English. It's just like some Malays in kampung. They do not need to learn any other languages because whatever they need is in their kampung and they do not need to interact with other races at all.
tky1993
post Jan 15 2020, 01:18 PM

544 posts

dun understand sweat.gif
Hahahhahaha
aeonbig
post Jan 15 2020, 01:18 PM

65 posts

Already say no formal education then how to learn English.
SUSBug Juice
post Jan 15 2020, 01:19 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:09 PM)
yes, i understand that... but in the heart of kl? how do u live ur whole life without picking up at least a bit of the spoken language? laugh.gif
Why hasn't you learned a bit of ching chong? after living together for so many years... I mean, not even a tiny bit? hmm.gif
TSkurangak

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Jan 15 2020, 01:13 PM)
bro....don be hypocrite and pretend to be holy.

so obvious you're mocking him.

last time no time sick got time die only.

you don understand because you never learn to understand.
i srsly not mocking him la laugh.gif sweat.gif

im just wondering, why he choose to struggle instead of learning, and how he lives his daily lives, since ive been in his shoe before; struggling to understand the spoken language
delon85

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

Because met bigots like you who dont help them and look at them one kind
viole
post Jan 15 2020, 01:22 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Dont need to look far.

Last time i ask /ktard also, some dont even have friends outside their own race.

Then talk kok unity racist bait on /k.

Ptuhhhh.
Enzam

169 posts

Salah you dont want to learn national language owai
cassian948

931 posts

Those people don't recognise Malay as medium to be use.

Somemore lazy to learn English also, tongsan ke arah kuasa besar ma.

no need to learn lor.
Imp Bron

143 posts

QUOTE(changejob @ Jan 15 2020, 01:09 PM)
Believe it or not there are actually some similiarities with Indian languages and Malay language.

This is because Malay took influence from Sanskrit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_loanwords_in_Malay

Look at the amount of words from Sanskrit, Hindi and Tamil.

That is a good reason why Bangla or anyone with familiarity with Indian language picks up Malay easier than Chinese.
This current BM unlike ancient BM, so many loanword from Chinese also

Farkmylife
post Jan 15 2020, 01:23 PM

31 posts

because if you can, why can't him?
dickybird
post Jan 15 2020, 01:23 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:07 PM)
eh, i know who live on my floor ok laugh.gif
If water leak then not from your floor la tu. Haha
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:24 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Jan 15 2020, 01:15 PM)
If the uncle is in the 50's or 60's, it mean he was born around the early years of merdeka. During that time, if you have standard 6 education is already considered as educated.  Some never even go to school or drop out after a year or two. If you study until Form 5, you're equivalent to studying until getting Masters today. A lot of people especially Malay do not realise that there are Chinese and Indians who belongs to these category of people. Their family is as poor as a lot of kampung Malays and they suffered terribly during the communist insurgency period. A lot of them were moved to new villages and survived without really interacting with other races because everything they need is available in their villages. You'll be surprised that some of them can't even read Chinese or speak Mandarin. All they know is just a dialect. Since, they are poorly educated, the lack confidence if they try to speak other languages such as BM or English. It's just like some Malays in kampung. They do not need to learn any other languages because whatever they need is in their kampung and they do not need to interact with other races at all.
kampung i can understand la. but in heart of kl? u bound to speak malay, whether u like it or not.

QUOTE(tky1993 @ Jan 15 2020, 01:18 PM)
Hahahhahaha
sigh... can explain to me what hes trying to say?

QUOTE(Bug Juice @ Jan 15 2020, 01:19 PM)
Why hasn't you learned a bit of ching chong? after living together for so many years... I mean, not even a tiny bit?  hmm.gif
i want to learn... but no motivation coz my chinese circles speak english to me everytime, even amongst themselves laugh.gif

QUOTE(aeonbig @ Jan 15 2020, 01:18 PM)
Already say no formal education then how to learn English.
paiseh... actually want to say 'at least malay'
ZerOne01

124 posts

QUOTE(AgogoLatoto @ Jan 15 2020, 01:10 PM)
Also long time ago I had a neighbour, cina miskin, i think 60+ years old. He work odd jobs daily naik basikal while collecting recycleable trash. No wife, only 1 son who work graveyard shift living with him. Unker always ask me or other neighbors to read letters for him because he is illiterate.

maybe he mingle with others
Imp Bron

143 posts

QUOTE(AgogoLatoto @ Jan 15 2020, 01:10 PM)

This no excuse, as long as you interect with others can pick up few words and then slowly building up

If zero interaction 100 years also can't pick up
submergedx
post Jan 15 2020, 01:25 PM

1,131 posts

got runner mahhhhhh
kek
ZforZebra
post Jan 15 2020, 01:26 PM

172 posts

yes there are alot older generation like that.

live in malaysia but dont know the national language.

perhaps the next gen is different
Gyazo

20 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 15 2020, 12:36 PM)
Cannot be.

Bullshit, why u as PRC illegal immigrant that living in Malaysia hari hari suk kok PRC can speak English?

ListenToTheWind

453 posts

Same thing as how some pipu got no qualification and no know how but can bikit the whole theme park. Yes, ayam refer to the late Unker Lim.

Sometime u just need sheer will to pull through. -John Wick
Namelessone1973
post Jan 15 2020, 01:28 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:24 PM)
kampung i can understand la. but in heart of kl? u bound to speak malay, whether u like it or not.
sigh... can explain to me what hes trying to say?
i want to learn... but no motivation coz my chinese circles speak english to me everytime, even amongst themselves laugh.gif
paiseh... actually want to say 'at least malay'
Try visiting one of the Chinese new villages and you'll find a lot of such uncles and aunties there. Places like Jinjang, Sri Kembangan, Sg. Way, etc.

The village is self sufficient. Food and sundries are all available without even need to step out from the villages.

If they need to go out, their children will go with them and they will settle everything.
Redhunt
post Jan 15 2020, 01:28 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:09 PM)
just think what is the use of BM? it's just an attempt to homogenize malaysia by wiping out the identities of the other non-dominant races.

Malaysia itself is a failed project.

sk1l
post Jan 15 2020, 01:29 PM

151 posts

sarawak cainis fuchow guy
ooo ..kaya budak ni
Bonchi
post Jan 15 2020, 01:29 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:19 PM)
i srsly not mocking him la laugh.gif sweat.gif

im just wondering, why he choose to struggle instead of learning, and how he lives his daily lives, since ive been in his shoe before; struggling to understand the spoken language
perhaps unker works as contractor under a chinese speaking boss.... so technically dont need communication, just work with his hands and feet is enough... also assuming he comes from a rural chinese kampung... i wont be surprised if he cant speak mandarin too.

There are actually many aged 50+ who didnt even graduate from primary schools.. work in hard labour since young and eventually come to KL. I have a few relatives like that... but because they work alongside with indon and bangla contractors, so their BM is pretty decent compared to that unker.. can speak bangla too.
Lyu
post Jan 15 2020, 01:30 PM

772 posts

Vavi ts shit stone till pipe leaking
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:31 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Jan 15 2020, 01:26 PM)
Same thing as how some pipu got no qualification and no know how but can bikit the whole theme park. Yes, ayam refer to the late Unker Lim.

Sometime u just need sheer will to pull through. -John Wick
he sure picked up abit of english and malay along the way, no?
United Rulez

668 posts

If got edukashyun in malaya, also kenot speak, then ok to hentam them.

What if sekolah pun tak habis. Not many unker/aunty got edukashyun back then.

And what if they stay in kampung their whole lifes surrounded by cainis majority?

This post has been edited by United Rulez: Jan 15 2020, 01:33 PM
SUSskyblu3

157 posts

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif

So your are making criticise me also. Because my Malay level is like this unker. Maybe worse.
tvcat
post Jan 15 2020, 01:33 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,915 posts

but how come cant even speak at least malay? he only interact with chinese his whole life, never mingles with other races? laugh.gif
why do one need to mingle with other race to survive?
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:34 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 15 2020, 01:29 PM)
perhaps unker works as contractor under a chinese speaking boss.... so technically dont need communication, just work with his hands and feet is enough... also assuming he comes from a rural chinese kampung... i wont be surprised if he cant speak mandarin too.

There are actually many aged 50+ who didnt even graduate from primary schools.. work in hard labour since young and eventually come to KL. I have a few relatives like that... but because they work alongside with indon and bangla contractors, so their BM is pretty decent compared to that unker.. can speak bangla too.
i wonder how he can tahan for 50-60 years oh... i struggles for a few years already cant tahan... sweat.gif
anakkk
post Jan 15 2020, 01:34 PM

2,114 posts

there are a lot of these kind of aunty uncle, can only speak chinese dielect :X
purplefellow
post Jan 15 2020, 01:35 PM

197 posts

I had a malaysian classmate during college days who doesn't know BM at all. He said he studied in Singapore since young. Now he sudah migrated.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 15 2020, 01:36 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

kesian ts duno cainis
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:37 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 15 2020, 01:33 PM)
why do one need to mingle with other race to survive?
yes, can survive, but wont u be struggling?
ListenToTheWind
post Jan 15 2020, 01:38 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:31 PM)
he sure picked up abit of english and malay along the way, no?
You need to keep using the language on an on going basis in order to master a language one, that's how I learnt to speak Cantonese & England.
Bonchi
post Jan 15 2020, 01:39 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:34 PM)
i wonder how he can tahan for 50-60 years oh... i struggles for a few years already cant tahan... sweat.gif
same job, same boss for 50 years.. not surprising for ppl like him who cannot get hired for any other job apart from the one he's doing.

also, his children can settle the translations.
aleluya
post Jan 15 2020, 01:40 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

not everyone has the equal opportunity to go to school back then...

A lot of them dropout from school due to family too poor and have to work everyday to feed their siblings; most of them work inside plantation or factory and seldom they have time to mingle around also.
tvcat
post Jan 15 2020, 01:41 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,915 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:37 PM)
struggling wat?
if u stay in ur race community, u will struggling?
if that uncle stay in other race community then he will learn it in some time anyway
Life, Uh, Finds a Way
ngkau
post Jan 15 2020, 01:43 PM

TS bodoh and confuse as his bathroom leakage caused other unit problems but now want to turn it as his neighbour issue. Just admit it is you lah...
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:46 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Jan 15 2020, 01:41 PM)
struggling wat?
if u stay in ur race community, u will struggling?
if that uncle stay in other race community then he will learn it in some time anyway
Life, Uh, Finds a Way
struggling la. anything must find chinese speaking. official govt business, need to find translator. meet someone who want to speak to u but cant speak chinese, need a translator. go see dr, must find chinese dr...etcetcetc...

idk la mebe im just looking too deep into it laugh.gif
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:49 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ngkau @ Jan 15 2020, 01:43 PM)
TS bodoh and confuse as his bathroom leakage caused other unit problems but now want to turn it as his neighbour issue. Just admit it is you lah...
uh... no... if i just want to turn it into neighbour issue, why would i elaborate how the problem arise in the 1st place? laugh.gif

darkterror15
post Jan 15 2020, 01:49 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:37 PM)
wont suffer if you stay in a majority chinese community. those uncle auntie if older than 50 years old high chances they cant converse well in malay/english. problem is they didnt go to school/didnt finish school because poverty and basically last time government didnt provide free education like now.

my mum only manage to finish chinese primary school because need to work and earn money (no child labor law) and that time just after indepedence not long ago. if you are able to go ang mo school you are rich fella back then. my dad didnt finish his HSC but since joining sekolah menengah so no issue with his BM/BI.

not everyone has the opportunity to study like every kids now, thats why my mum always ask me to appreciate the opportunity. basically a 24 hours housewive has too little time for themselves. try to find a malaysian chinese at the age of 30 around that, they should be able to converse in BM/BI well.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 01:55 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 15 2020, 01:49 PM)
wont suffer if you stay in a majority chinese community. those uncle auntie if older than 50 years old high chances they cant converse well in malay/english. problem is they didnt go to school/didnt finish school because poverty and basically last time government didnt provide free education like now.

my mum only manage to finish chinese primary school because need to work and earn money (no child labor law) and that time just after indepedence not long ago. if you are able to go ang mo school you are rich fella back then. my dad didnt finish his HSC but since joining sekolah menengah so no issue with his BM/BI.

not everyone has the opportunity to study like every kids now, thats why my mum always ask me to appreciate the opportunity. basically a 24 hours housewive has too little time for themselves. try to find a malaysian chinese at the age of 30 around that, they should be able to converse in BM/BI well.
ive met plenty of ppls who cant converse well in BM/BI myself... but to the extent of struggling to understand BM, and cant understand english at all, while living in kl, this is the 1st time...

theres plenty of ppl who cant speak malay/english in rural/pedalaman area. eg. ibans in rumah panjang, old murut ppl in kalabakan, ive met them before. but that because little to no interaction with outsiders...

but in KL, how did u evade mingling with other race?
Sone Shin
post Jan 15 2020, 02:02 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 01:55 PM)
ive met plenty of ppls who cant converse well in BM/BI myself... but to the extent of struggling to understand BM, and cant understand english at all, while living in kl, this is the 1st time...

theres plenty of ppl who cant speak malay/english in rural/pedalaman area. eg. ibans in rumah panjang, old murut ppl in kalabakan, ive met them before. but that because little to no interaction with outsiders...

struggle to communicate with you lo.
Then next day life goes on.
changejob
post Jan 15 2020, 02:02 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jan 15 2020, 01:22 PM)
This current BM unlike ancient BM, so many loanword from Chinese also
My point is the similarities between Indian languages and Malay language. The more similar it is, the easier to learn it.

Another example is both are agglutinative languages where as Chinese isn't.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agglutinative_language
poooky
post Jan 15 2020, 02:06 PM

844 posts

if yung pretty amoi sure layan. old uncle xlayan.
darkterror15
post Jan 15 2020, 02:06 PM

359 posts

actually those guys above already explained to you all the possibilities. just that you keep ignoring it. kapitan yap ah loy that open up KL probably didnt even speak a malay/english word but he was still damn rich.

in those uncles aunties early years (before independence), BM is not even the official language in malaya. they dont even feel compulsory to learn. just like now you dont speak chinese because it is not compulsory to learn even until now. would you still mingle with ppl that only speak chinese just like back in the days where malay only speak BM ?

i dont think so, because you are still not picking up chinese.
changejob
post Jan 15 2020, 02:07 PM

21 posts

You can't speak Malay / English, so you don't mix with Malay / English people much, and because you don't mix with Malay / English speaking people, you then didn't learn any Malay or English.

Its a vicious circle.

I was born in Selangor/KL, lived here my whole life.

Honestly people like what you describe exist, but very rare.

Even my racist father that failed the PMR of his day (he is 60+ now) knows more Malay than what you described.
Strike
post Jan 15 2020, 02:08 PM

51 posts

Learn Basic
gundamsp01
post Jan 15 2020, 02:09 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

source

i went to search for compulsory primary education, to my surprise, it was only started back in 2003

highly likely the uncle could be non educated
Lester1987
post Jan 15 2020, 02:10 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 15 2020, 01:49 PM)

you are so wrong. in my "condo", there are these bunch of 30+ house wife aunty that can't speak and write malay. all the notice that the condo paste at the notice board keep asking us to translate for them (yes, its them, more than 10 of them at least). during the AGM, they also raise their question in chinese and ask us to translate with the alasan of "cannot speak english and BM well". these are all products of SJKC Foon Yew in JB.

regarding education, my mom (this year 60 years old) study until primary 6 only. she study in english medium school back then (convent). She can't speak mandarin and cannot read chinese. but she can speak okay level malay and english. all those chinese centric that can't speak BM and English are all products of SJKC. that is why SJKC/SJKT must be abolished. 1 medium school for all.
feynman
post Jan 15 2020, 02:11 PM

4,781 posts

pekak.....so dunno what TS saying
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:13 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 15 2020, 02:06 PM)
actually those guys above already explained to you all the possibilities. just that you keep ignoring it. kapitan yap ah loy that open up KL probably didnt even speak a malay/english word but he was still damn rich.

in those uncles aunties early years (before independence), BM is not even the official language in malaya. they dont even feel compulsory to learn. just like now you dont speak chinese because it is not compulsory to learn even until now. would you still mingle with ppl that only speak chinese just like back in the days where malay only speak BM ?

i dont think so, because you are still not picking up chinese.
i can understand if in kampung area, but in kl? u walk ten step already meet ahmad, walk another ten step, u meet raju...

idk i just cant imagine someone would self exile himself to his own community just because he lazy want to pick up another language laugh.gif
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:16 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Jan 15 2020, 02:11 PM)
pekak.....so dunno what TS saying
kemungkinan yang teramat besar laugh.gif

come to think of it, no wonder he understand when i point to my eyes and say bocor... laugh.gif
Benefon
post Jan 15 2020, 02:16 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Jan 15 2020, 12:30 PM)
This post reminds me of Zhuhao daxian (bopi bopi) and Unker kimsim (Benefon)

Mind you, Unker kimsim/Benefon is a businessman in Sinkapork.
Fuuuuuuuu how come I so famous 😍😍😍😍😍😍
ihm11
post Jan 15 2020, 02:18 PM

62 posts

mayb he oso otaku day2 stay home play game fap until nao old man
SUSzerozero00
post Jan 15 2020, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 12:59 PM)

Actually my point is, u had better opportunity to access to better education than the uncle.
It's like asking a primary school 1 student to learn add math.
The learning curve is just too steep. Not everyone is a language genius.

It's like u r saying, if u r poor, why does one tahan mixing with poor people?

Rempit on the other hand, has no excuse of not knowing how to speak English, as it's a compulsory subject in Msian school.
esdome
post Jan 15 2020, 02:20 PM

496 posts

TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:22 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(esdome @ Jan 15 2020, 02:20 PM)

tak faham... why unker=sampah?
darkterror15
post Jan 15 2020, 02:26 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 15 2020, 02:10 PM)
you are so wrong. in my "condo", there are these bunch of 30+ house wife aunty that can't speak and write malay. all the notice that the condo paste at the notice board keep asking us to translate for them (yes, its them, more than 10 of them at least). during the AGM, they also raise their question in chinese and ask us to translate with the alasan of "cannot speak english and BM well". these are all products of SJKC Foon Yew in JB.

regarding education, my mom (this year 60 years old) study until primary 6 only. she study in english medium school back then (convent). She can't speak mandarin and cannot read chinese. but she can speak okay level malay and english. all those chinese centric that can't speak BM and English are all products of SJKC. that is why SJKC/SJKT must be abolished. 1 medium school for all.
erm, if those in their 30 are from sjkc then i have bad news for them and the school because sjkc still need take upsr pt3 spm in both bm/bi. probably they are from private school during secondary school? which later on they forget their BM all together?

i am also from sjkc but study in sekolah menegah and i have no issue in both BM and BI and in fact i got both a1 for it so whats wrong with sjkc? i only got a2 for chinese. kek

posterc

how can you call yourself Malaysian if you cant even understand simple Bahasa Melayu let alone speak it biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
ClessRV

702 posts

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif

Haha, base on your name, I think we are from the same state and race, and I have the same thought as well, I mean since we live in Malaysia, at least should have a good grasp of the BM language even if it is not our native language / mother tongue.

TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:28 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ClessRV @ Jan 15 2020, 02:26 PM)
Haha, base on your name, I think we are from the same state and race, and I have the same thought as well, I mean since we live in Malaysia, at least should have a good grasp of the BM language even if it is not our native language / mother tongue.
santiki dlu! laugh.gif
IReallyNeed Answers
post Jan 15 2020, 02:29 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

Dayummmm burn sial
MeToo
post Jan 15 2020, 02:31 PM

9,333 posts

thumbsup.gif
darkterror15
post Jan 15 2020, 02:31 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 02:13 PM)
i can understand if in kampung area, but in kl? u walk ten step already meet ahmad, walk another ten step, u meet raju...

idk i just cant imagine someone would self exile himself to his own community just because he lazy want to pick up another language laugh.gif
kl area quite many chinese. plus u walk ten step you meet ahmad will you just simply go have a conversation with ppl ? the most u smile and go only ma. communication is 2 sided you know ? even he want pick another language he still need a willing person to talk to him and correct him.

macam ni lah, you become a good neighbour, spend your time to chat with him, teach him like a primary student and maybe in a year or 2 he can finally talk with you in malay.

you want the community change ? can, then you have to be part of the change. start with today, find uncle teach him.
MeToo
post Jan 15 2020, 02:33 PM

9,333 posts

The dark skinned indian i buy comics from in Petaling Street there can speak Cantonese better then most org kl...

The dark skinned indian i buy mi hun kueh from can speak mandarin/hokkien fluently

Your point?
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:34 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 15 2020, 02:31 PM)
kl area quite many chinese. plus u walk ten step you meet ahmad will you just simply go have a conversation with ppl ? the most u smile and go only ma. communication is 2 sided you know ? even he want pick another language he still need a willing person to talk to him and correct him.

macam ni lah, you become a good neighbour, spend your time to chat with him, teach him like a primary student and maybe in a year or 2 he can finally talk with you in malay.

you want the community change ? can, then you have to be part of the change. start with today, find uncle teach him.
but unker didnt live in that unit... sad.gif unit is empty for as long as i can remember...
Imp Bron
post Jan 15 2020, 02:34 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(changejob @ Jan 15 2020, 02:02 PM)
My point is the similarities between Indian languages and Malay language. The more similar it is, the easier to learn it.

Another example is both are agglutinative languages where as Chinese isn't.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agglutinative_language
I get it, it a little bit harder unlike bangla one year already can communicate. But then is 50 years also not enough?
esdome
post Jan 15 2020, 02:36 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 02:22 PM)
tak faham... why unker=sampah?
One is well educated and one is not. But both stay in the same building.

Both of you are under the same category. You should insaf why you are not doing better than the unker right? biggrin.gif
joevo2

422 posts

Few reason.

1. Probably uneducated and any gov related stuff ask kids to do cant even do alphabet. I heard my dad say his grand parent or even parent last time went JPN cant even spell the name to register for his kids and all different surname... or come out name with Ah Moi or something...

2. Thanks to communism and chinese new village initiative a lot of Chinese is segregated into their own community and have no need to interact with other races. If need any gov related thing they just ask their kids to deal with it

3. Unlikely due to SJKC, SJKC people worse case can speak broken BM.

4. Bangla different case mostly young able person trying to make a living. Bangla in chinese food court can speak better hokkien or cantonese than me... depends on the env they can master diff language damn good

5. Again there's no urgent need for them to do BM unlike when we go oversea and force to learn local language. They can depends on their kids and friends and a lot of time they hardly deal with gov stuff also.

6. Poverty many dropout of school when we just only had merdeka... that time not everyone can afford to have their kids to go to school. Need their kids to help working etc. Dad say last time many of his cousin only study till primary or maybe form 3. need to stop study and help out plus that time many chinese have a lot of kids unlike now thus even harder.

TBH I think this is an abandoned generation which we call them grandpa and grandma or old auntie uncle. Educated malaysian at least can speak broken BM.

BTW SJKC teach BM I dont get it why people assume SJKC dont teach BM so funny

This post has been edited by joevo2: Jan 15 2020, 02:41 PM
wolf7036

32 posts

got many people like that. dun have to be surprised. many stayed in rural areas/estate..living their whole life in that small bubble..work home work during their younger days.. now after kids grow up, they follow their kid to city n try to live in big community.. ive no problem with uncles and aunties that cant speak bahasa and english
but if u r below 30, and still cant understand bahasa, u deserve all the hate and no respect from fellow malaysian
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:37 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jan 15 2020, 02:29 PM)
Dayummmm burn sial
can explain this? why unker=sampah?

i asked so many ppl, nobody explain it to me...
Lester1987
post Jan 15 2020, 02:39 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 15 2020, 02:26 PM)
erm, if those in their 30 are from sjkc then i have bad news for them and the school because sjkc still need take upsr pt3 spm in both bm/bi. probably they are from private school during secondary school? which later on they forget their BM all together?

i am also from sjkc but study in sekolah menegah and i have no issue in both BM and BI and in fact i got both a1 for it so whats wrong with sjkc? i only got a2 for chinese. kek
When people start commenting on "I am also from SJKC and I got A1 in BM blah blah", you fail to realise that you are belong to the top 50% of SJKC produce. The bottom 50% from SJKC all failed miserably in their BM and BI hence producing those that cannot even converse in basic BM and BI. I am not saying they will not become successful in life. 1 of my neighbor I know he is having the exact same problem as the aunties. Cannot speak english at all. BM also half rojak. But is he 4x MDRT selling insurance making more than 400k per annum. In his earnings, i respect he can be so successful. But as a Malaysian, I don't think he is even qualify to call himself 1 because he can't even speak well our national language.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:40 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(esdome @ Jan 15 2020, 02:36 PM)
One is well educated and one is not. But both stay in the same building.

Both of you are under the same category. You should insaf why you are not doing better than the unker right?  biggrin.gif
oh.... now i get it... why i live in same building as him? idk, maybe because i dun want to commit to an expensive property when my plan in life is to go back to sabah when i reach 45?

This post has been edited by kurangak: Jan 15 2020, 02:41 PM
SUSMPPJ
post Jan 15 2020, 02:41 PM

In kl know Cantonese only can survive.
changejob
post Jan 15 2020, 02:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jan 15 2020, 02:34 PM)
I get it, it a little bit harder unlike bangla one year already can communicate. But then is 50 years also not enough?
How much have you learn Chinese/Tamil?
jerm57
post Jan 15 2020, 02:43 PM

405 posts

Well... mostly you will see this with the older folk. Maybe he grew up in some ulu place where he never needed to talk to any other races and just had his children do the translation for him. Happens.
Miracles
post Jan 15 2020, 02:45 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

Maybe that uncle got son/daughter grow up liao and work in city.

Then son/daughter got a bit money, so ask father come city live with them/buy new house to stay. No more rumah papan at kampung.

andyng38
post Jan 15 2020, 02:47 PM

2,402 posts

I believe that TS is not race-baiting. Have encountered other Chinese Malaysians who can only speak their own dialect. It's a sad case indeed. Maybe they're happy and content to be that way, but not I. Ah well...moving along....
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 02:52 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Miracles @ Jan 15 2020, 02:45 PM)
Maybe that uncle got son/daughter grow up liao and work in city.

Then son/daughter got a bit money, so ask father come city live with them/buy new house to stay. No more rumah papan at kampung.
and son ask him to inspect the unit, since they busy with work.. hmm.gif

sounds plausible....

This post has been edited by kurangak: Jan 15 2020, 02:53 PM
Imp Bron
post Jan 15 2020, 02:55 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(changejob @ Jan 15 2020, 02:41 PM)
How much have you learn Chinese/Tamil?
A little bit. I just tried self learn Mandarin recently just few weeks ago. I took lesson 1 and lesson 2 free but lesson 3 need to paid. I'll look for another app if got free time.

Tamil I don't plan, rather learn Hindi. Can speak with bangla. I learnt elementary Nihon go and Spanish too so many years ago but I stuck at grammar part.

duHwaN
post Jan 15 2020, 02:56 PM

Nope
1,644 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jan 15 2020, 02:55 PM)
A little bit. I just tried self learn Mandarin recently just few weeks ago. I took lesson 1 and lesson 2 free but lesson 3 need to paid. I'll look for another app if got free time.

Tamil I don't plan, rather learn Hindi. Can speak with bangla. I learnt elementary Nihon go and Spanish too so many years ago but I stuck at grammar part.
bangla not bengali meh?
gestapo
post Jan 15 2020, 03:02 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

went japan, met malaysian amoi at hotel reception , straight both talk BM. rilex je
pobox
post Jan 15 2020, 03:06 PM

551 posts

You must say like this: "Unker, U lama sudah duduk sini ka?"

You stupid fool, unker's tatabahasa is different!
Imp Bron
post Jan 15 2020, 03:10 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(duHwaN @ Jan 15 2020, 02:56 PM)
bangla not bengali meh?
Oh just Google you right. Now I know. I remember watching Indian PewDiePie cross border to Pakistan . He said Hindi and Urdu are really similar that they can talk with each other. Hindi also more spoken in India.

BuddhawithinMe
post Jan 15 2020, 03:11 PM

61 posts

Normally local uncle speak malay will start with, " lu punya paip bocor"
Lu tolong tengok.

If yr that uncle no say "lu" maybe not local?
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 03:12 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(pobox @ Jan 15 2020, 03:06 PM)
You must say like this: "Unker, U lama sudah duduk sini ka?"

You stupid fool, unker's tatabahasa is different!
maybe la...different tatabahasa laugh.gif laugh.gif
tensixteen
post Jan 15 2020, 03:13 PM

141 posts

I have personally encountered the same uncle and auntie like them. Biasa coz they used to live in Kg Baru type of places. Rarely need to speak BM. For example, that Jasmine Suraya movie on 8TV. The mom have to learn BM to speak to her.
Carlo J
post Jan 15 2020, 03:15 PM

919 posts

I'm Chinese who can speak fluent English and Malay but sadly, my Canto and Mandarin are laughable.

But to answer TS question, some old folks like my grandma can barely speak Malay because they rarely hang out with them nor speak Malay hence their grasp on the national language isn't so good.

This post has been edited by Carlo J: Jan 15 2020, 03:16 PM
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 03:16 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(BuddhawithinMe @ Jan 15 2020, 03:11 PM)
Normally local uncle speak malay will start with, " lu punya paip bocor"
Lu tolong tengok.

If yr that uncle no say "lu" maybe not local?
after lengthy discussion wit /k, can be 3 possibilities

1. unker is not local
2. unker live in kl but only mingle with chinese
3. unker live in rural area, but recently move to kl

SUSBug Juice
post Jan 15 2020, 03:18 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Jan 15 2020, 02:55 PM)

No need to take classes, our myanmar worker can speak fluent cainis from just selling tv boxes and its gadgets, his celery + comission is RM3800 and it has been consistent. No attend classes nothing. He also speaks merei, engrand and his own burmese. Depends on how motivated you are lorrrrrrrrrrrr. When this foreigner can do this effortlessly suddenly it makes pipu in meresie looks bad, now i oso learn his language sometimes troll with him and his fren, so much fun.
ToddStarz
post Jan 15 2020, 03:26 PM

407 posts

now this is a great question
ikankering
post Jan 15 2020, 03:38 PM

42 posts

if 50 y.o meaning born 1970.

oredi maju that time
Imp Bron
post Jan 15 2020, 03:40 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Bug Juice @ Jan 15 2020, 03:18 PM)
No need to take classes, our myanmar worker can speak fluent cainis from just selling tv boxes and its gadgets, his celery + comission is RM3800 and it has been consistent. No attend classes nothing. He also speaks merei, engrand and his own burmese. Depends on how motivated you are lorrrrrrrrrrrr. When this foreigner can do this effortlessly suddenly it makes pipu in meresie looks bad, now i oso learn his language sometimes troll with him and his fren, so much fun.
Noted. I learn the basic first
IReallyNeed Answers
post Jan 15 2020, 04:24 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 02:37 PM)

I didn't say your sampah pun, I just say you Kena burned
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 04:32 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jan 15 2020, 04:24 PM)
I didn't say your sampah pun, I just say you Kena burned
No i tot the reply say that unker=sampah. Someone already explained it to me
Newsray
post Jan 15 2020, 04:33 PM

1,022 posts

Malaysia is not high level society.
You can live your life without even speaking out.
Maybe during any government related issue, but you dont need to do it on a daily basis. Maybe once in awhile. Probably someone will help him.

Most people live out their daily life without talking to neighbours.
Just try going to the mall yourself.
Try to count how many time you speak to random strangers? Probably you can count with your own fingers.

An old uncles dont need to talk much in everyday life. Stop being a dick.
I have seen young working adult not able to construct half a sentence in front of angmoh, and he still working as a professional !
You probably got more fun poking on the professional that mumbling in front of angmoh than an old uncle that couldnt speak english or malay !

Uncle didnt go to school.
Dont poke fun on people misfortune.
Be man.
Not a dick.
suicideroach
post Jan 15 2020, 04:39 PM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

Just another product of SJKC
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 04:42 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Newsray @ Jan 15 2020, 04:33 PM)
Malaysia is not high level society.
You can live your life without even speaking out.
Maybe during any government related issue, but you dont need to do it on a daily basis. Maybe once in awhile. Probably someone will help him.

Most people live out their daily life without talking to neighbours.
Just try going to the mall yourself.
Try to count how many time you speak to random strangers? Probably you can count with your own fingers.

An old uncles dont need to talk much in everyday life. Stop being a dick.
I have seen young working adult not able to construct half a sentence in front of angmoh, and he still working as a professional !
You probably got more fun poking on the professional that mumbling in front of angmoh than an old uncle that couldnt speak english or malay !

Uncle didnt go to school.
Dont poke fun on people misfortune.
Be man.
Not a dick.
Maybe i used too many smileys in my original post, and came across as being a dick making fun of old unker. But i can guarantee u that is not my intention. I genuinely want understand how he go on with his daily life without understanding the spoken language of this country. Coz ive been in the same situation (kinda) and i cannot tahan with it.

Forgive me if i unintentionally offended anybody, but i am not sorry for opening this thread. Reading the replies has been kinda enlightening to me...
WallMaker
post Jan 15 2020, 04:46 PM

98 posts

if youngster cant speak malay is the problem, uncle also want to make fun of meh. walao, u sohai la
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 04:47 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(WallMaker @ Jan 15 2020, 04:46 PM)
if youngster cant speak malay is the problem, uncle also want to make fun of meh. walao, u sohai la
Manada make fun sweat.gif
WinkyJr
post Jan 15 2020, 04:50 PM

432 posts

itulah jawapan kepada persoalan anda
MAGAMan-X
post Jan 15 2020, 04:53 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 04:42 PM)
Maybe i used too many smileys in my original post, and came across as being a dick making fun of old unker. But i can guarantee u that is not my intention. I genuinely want understand how he go on with his daily life without understanding the spoken language of this country. Coz ive been in the same situation (kinda) and i cannot tahan with it.

Forgive me if i unintentionally offended anybody, but i am not sorry for opening this thread. Reading the replies has been kinda enlightening to me...
I quite agree with you. If they've been here their whole lives they should be able to converse in BM at the least. Maybe unker is illiterate and doesn't know how to read so he's never picked up another language besides his mother tongue.

Let's not forget we're not first world yet, poverty rate is still high, and illiteracy is still a thing for some in the older generation.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 04:57 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Jan 15 2020, 04:50 PM)
itulah jawapan kepada persoalan anda
Majority chinese doesnt mean all chinese wat... laugh.gif
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 05:00 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Jan 15 2020, 04:53 PM)
I quite agree with you. If they've been here their whole lives they should be able to converse in BM at the least. Maybe unker is illiterate and doesn't know how to read so he's never picked up another language besides his mother tongue.

Let's not forget we're not first world yet, poverty rate is still high, and illiteracy is still a thing for some in the older generation.
Kan? It doesnt need to be perfect malay, broken pun tak apa.. Takkan la so many years living in malaysia, still hav problem understanding malay? That was my origiinal thought as well
lawliet88
post Jan 15 2020, 05:05 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 05:00 PM)
Kan? It doesnt need to be perfect malay, broken pun tak apa.. Takkan la so many years living in malaysia, still hav problem understanding malay? That was my origiinal thought as well
i noe alot old folk (60+) that cant speak even broken malay, cant blame em, some of them didnt even finish primary skol and go out to work, and only mingle with chinese ppl mostly.
simple word to talk with officer can la but harder word they nid time to process and think

unless u mean the unker is 40+year old la, then tats a problem.
Jedi
post Jan 15 2020, 05:08 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

sickworms
post Jan 15 2020, 05:11 PM

185 posts

either no proper education or he has dyslexia and a drop out
there are quite a few of people with dyslexia in malaysia
maybe that uncle is 1 of them
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 05:12 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:05 PM)
i noe alot old folk (60+) that cant speak even broken malay, cant blame em, some of them didnt even finish primary skol and go out to work, and only mingle with chinese ppl mostly.
simple word to talk with officer can la but harder word they nid time to process and think

unless u mean the unker is 40+year old la, then tats a problem.
That unker not that old, 50+, 60 y/o top. Neatly dressed like ur typical towkay sumore (tucked in collared tshirt,jeans n sport shoe.

But idk la, looks can sometimes be deceiving,

Who knows his real age prolly 65+?
PHI_1.618
post Jan 15 2020, 05:21 PM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

if uncle is old...never had proper education, i will not be surprised.

I met old Malays that cannot speak any other languages beside BM, and their BM is not proper BM, BM with super strong accent that me from Kebangsaan school also can understand. And also old Indians that cannot speak any other languages beside Tamil. Ok...this one I don't know anything at all, ada accent ke tak ada accent I pun tak tau...

Ayam no surprise, but ayam still try ayam best to tolerate and understand dia olang. Ayam no open tered ask why and how dia olang survive also. Ayam understanding...

Don't even bother to argue with me on how the people like that cainis uncle survive in Malaysia. They obviously survived and still surviving...and is definitely surviving longer than you (since you called him uncle, i assume you are younger than him).

By the way, I even met some young malays that just graduated from Uni that can't even speak or construct a sentence in English. I know i know, this is MALAYsia...English is not important. So, I will not argue on this point.... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by PHI_1.618: Jan 15 2020, 05:23 PM
Chaud
post Jan 15 2020, 05:30 PM

1,119 posts

they pay someone to do it for them

TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 05:33 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:21 PM)

I met old Malays that cannot speak any other languages beside BM, and their BM is not proper BM, BM with super strong accent that me from Kebangsaan school also can understand. And also old Indians that cannot speak any other languages beside Tamil. Ok...this one I don't know anything at all, ada accent ke tak ada accent I pun tak tau...

Ayam no surprise, but ayam still try ayam best to tolerate and understand dia olang. Ayam no open tered ask why and how dia olang survive also. Ayam understanding...

Don't even bother to argue with me on how the people like that cainis uncle survive in Malaysia. They obviously survived and still surviving...and is definitely surviving longer than you (since you called him uncle, i assume you are younger than him).

By the way, I even met some young malays that just graduated from Uni that can't even speak or construct a sentence in English. I know i know, this is MALAYsia...English is not important. So, I will not argue on this point.... cool2.gif
Ive met so many that speak broken malay, prolly struggles abit to string a few sentences.

But to the point of struggling to understand malay? Maybe in rural area of sarawak and sabah, or orang aslis or those living in kampung cina, but one living in kl?This is the 1st time.

But like 1 ktard say, he prolly migrated to kl to live with his son from kampung. Hence why hes like that? Idk. I never ask. And it prolly be a long time before i meet him again to ask his story personally
firestater
post Jan 15 2020, 05:34 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 05:12 PM)
That unker not that old, 50+, 60 y/o top. Neatly dressed like ur typical towkay sumore (tucked in collared tshirt,jeans n sport shoe.

But idk la, looks can sometimes be deceiving,

Who knows his real age prolly 65+?
Maybe he a tourist..
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.sinarharia...d-tarikh-keluar
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 05:38 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(firestater @ Jan 15 2020, 05:34 PM)
Thats what came across my mind as well

But why when i ask 'u orang malaysia' he answered 'ya orang malaysia'? hmm.gif
PHI_1.618
post Jan 15 2020, 05:44 PM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 05:33 PM)
Ive met so many that speak broken malay, prolly struggles abit to string a few sentences.

But to the point of struggling to understand malay? Maybe in rural area of sarawak and sabah, or orang aslis or those living in kampung cina, but one living in kl?This is the 1st time.

But like 1 ktard say, he prolly migrated to kl to live with his son from kampung. Hence why hes like that? Idk. I never ask. And it prolly be a long time before i meet him again to ask his story personally
If like this also surprise, you will be even more surprised when you know how strong cainis survival skills are. Just go out and see the world. Don't limit yourself just in MALAYsia. These cainis will find wayssssss to ensure they survive no matter in what situation and what country. They are many cainis living in US, UK that don't speak yinglis and still surviving there.

That's why you see cainis is all over the World. Almost every developed country ada China Town.
lawliet88
post Jan 15 2020, 05:45 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 05:33 PM)

becoz they dont mingle/hang around with ppl that speak malay/or malay ppl. Imagine for 20+ years you dont use bahasa on daily terms, eventually u will forgot some of em, let alone say they barely study them
and like my post just now, they are mostly locate in KL or selangor area.
if anycase they need to go for jabatan, they will just bring along friends/cousins/son&daughter that can translate.

to live in kl, u just nid $$$ & konektion
PHI_1.618
post Jan 15 2020, 05:49 PM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:45 PM)
becoz they dont mingle/hang  around with ppl that speak malay/or malay ppl. Imagine for 20+ years you dont use bahasa on daily terms, eventually u will forgot some of em, let alone say they barely study them
if anycase they need to go for jabatan, they will just bring along friends/cousins/son&daughter that can translate.

you are right...I know one person exactly like you mentioned and this person is at his age of 65.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 05:52 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:44 PM)
If like this also surprise, you will be even more surprised when you know how strong cainis survival skills are. Just go out and see the world. Don't limit yourself just in MALAYsia. These cainis will find wayssssss to ensure they survive no matter in what situation and what country. They are many cainis living in US, UK that don't speak yinglis and still surviving there.

That's why you see cainis is all over the World. Almost every developed country ada China Town.
Well, now im not surprised anymore, seeing with my own both eyes, a living specimen of someone who live in a country for so long, without picking up the spoken language og the said country.

Hey, u can discover n learn new things everyday laugh.gif
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 05:53 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:45 PM)
becoz they dont mingle/hang  around with ppl that speak malay/or malay ppl. Imagine for 20+ years you dont use bahasa on daily terms, eventually u will forgot some of em, let alone say they barely study them

Well, TIL laugh.gif
TrollNoob
post Jan 15 2020, 05:56 PM

627 posts

Jan 15 2020, 06:12 PM
This post has been deleted by kurangak because: no politic baiting

AgogoLatoto
post Jan 15 2020, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 15 2020, 02:33 PM)
The dark skinned indian i buy comics from in Petaling Street there can speak Cantonese better then most org kl...

The dark skinned indian i buy mi hun kueh from can speak mandarin/hokkien fluently

Your point?
maybe u purposely left out the part where I tried to speak to them in malay and english but they don't understand. don't care if she spoke to me in mandarin assuming i know it first, but when i said otherwise, she continued to speak in mandarin as if i understand. not even a speck of malay or english even when i dumb it down to toddler level. oh and not a tourist even.

that's my point.
Gendude
post Jan 15 2020, 05:59 PM

Contoh 50 tahun masih merangkak

PHI_1.618
post Jan 15 2020, 06:03 PM

Ada Baca Buku
761 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 05:52 PM)
Well, now im not surprised anymore, seeing with my own both eyes, a living specimen of someone who live in a country for so long, without picking up the spoken language og the said country.

Hey, u can discover n learn new things everyday laugh.gif
Good to know that your are another step closer to the exit of the tempurung

This post has been edited by PHI_1.618: Jan 15 2020, 06:04 PM
CTSBD.ONE
post Jan 15 2020, 06:05 PM

33 posts

post #2 already butthurt lol
AgogoLatoto
post Jan 15 2020, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Jan 15 2020, 05:21 PM)

yea, some super old malay people speak malay that doesn't even sound like malay. i think the problem is when you don't mingle around with people outside your group, you don't pick up a common dialect to communicate in.

i have mad respect towards sabah sarawak people. many of them i met can speak peninsula malay well, even picking up state dialect. i was blown away one time when i spoke malay with penang dialect with a dude who is fluent and found out he was sabahan.
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 06:07 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Jan 15 2020, 06:03 PM)
Good to know that your are another step closer to the exit of the tempurung
mamao
post Jan 15 2020, 06:10 PM

66 posts

Jan 15 2020, 06:11 PM
This post has been deleted by kurangak because: no politic baiting

SUSznipo
post Jan 15 2020, 07:07 PM

Validating
32 posts

bukan PRC aku rasa

grixis
post Jan 15 2020, 07:17 PM

82 posts

its your fault, you live in chinese area but cant speak chinese
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 08:18 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(grixis @ Jan 15 2020, 07:17 PM)
its your fault, you live in chinese area but cant speak chinese
chinese area, not in people's republic of china laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kurangak: Jan 15 2020, 08:19 PM
helpful
post Jan 15 2020, 08:30 PM

186 posts

there are lots of these CYBERS in here trying to create RACIAL disharmony amongst the different RACES

By creating STORIES out of thin air

Surely SMART people knows whom are these EVIL CYBERS !

They posts very often and usually the topics are along the same lines !
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 08:30 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(helpful @ Jan 15 2020, 08:30 PM)
there are lots of these CYBERS in here trying to create RACIAL disharmony amongst the different RACES

By creating STORIES out of thin air

Surely SMART people knows whom are these EVIL CYBERS !

They posts very often and usually the topics are along the same lines !
ur point being?
Ho Kah Heng
post Jan 15 2020, 08:58 PM

86 posts

must be prc

u can see prc ohman so triggered with u tered 😆
LowKeras
post Jan 15 2020, 09:22 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 14 2020, 06:07 PM)

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif

I lispect teh uncle can talk with u without help
NUR_VER.3
post Jan 15 2020, 09:24 PM

308 posts

or hes a PRC? hmm.gif

Confirm PRC with fake ic
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 09:27 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LowKeras @ Jan 15 2020, 09:22 PM)
I lispect teh uncle can talk with u without help
U no lispect me can decipher unker without translator? laugh.gif
brapa?
post Jan 15 2020, 09:28 PM

154 posts

they talkin african to u actually biggrin.gif

cabutz ..
masamura
post Jan 15 2020, 09:29 PM

384 posts

Try Penang. Even worse. My wife is one of those people that can't string a proper sentence in Malay. Luckily she can speak English. Luckily I speak all languages.
LowKeras
post Jan 15 2020, 09:30 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 03:27 AM)
U no lispect me can decipher unker without translator? laugh.gif
No, coz u young and knowledgeable. This is i expected from u. If u cant understand. I be sending a 14th floor gift card to you
TSkurangak
post Jan 15 2020, 09:36 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(LowKeras @ Jan 15 2020, 09:30 PM)
No, coz u young and knowledgeable. This is i expected from u. If u cant understand. I be sending a 14th floor gift card to you
sad.gif sad.gif

Ayam saddingz.
ikankering
post Jan 15 2020, 09:48 PM

42 posts

malaysia very complicated for 30m ppl.
even i don't understand myself.
TrustULoveU
post Jan 15 2020, 09:48 PM

569 posts

lol
ScooterBoi
post Jan 16 2020, 07:59 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 02:37 PM)

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 15 2020, 02:40 PM)
oh.... now i get it... why i live in same building as him? idk, maybe because i dun want to commit to an expensive property when my plan in life is to go back to sabah when i reach 45?
Thank you for the clarification that you are not born and raised in kl... for a moment I thought you were trolling with all your (silly) questions.

You should be more observant and move about more and explore KL more.

Just like the man you are talking about, who is living within his own enclave and don't have to interact outside his enclave, it looks like you are similarly living within your own world and experiencing culture shock in meeting him.

TSkurangak
post Jan 16 2020, 08:11 AM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jan 16 2020, 07:59 AM)
Thank you for the clarification that you are not born and raised in kl... for a moment I thought you were trolling with all your (silly) questions.

You should be more observant and move about more and explore KL more.

Just like the man you are talking about, who is living within his own enclave and don't have to interact outside his enclave, it looks like you are similarly living within your own world and experiencing culture shock in meeting him.
so u admit, that this is a normal occurence; for a 50-60+ malaysian chinese to struggle to speak both malay and english, in KL?

not in kampung, but in the heart of KL metropolis, mind u.

i admit, the place that i currently live is not affluent. but it is also not a PPR or low cost apartment building. meaning that this uncle is quite well to do economically.

nvm. i refuse to discuss this any further than it is. theres already alot of theory in this tered that can explain why unker cant speak BM or BI. ill just accept that some malaysian in malaysia just choose to speak in their mother's tongue without showing any effort to learn BM and BI

tered /kolos.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Jan 16 2020, 08:16 AM

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.1352sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:11 PM