126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

zero1st
post Nov 9 2007, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(br0ther9630 @ Nov 9 2007, 05:35 PM)
and yeah one more thing, enamel needs its own thinner right? can i use my mr. hobby thinner?
each type of paint base has it's own thinner ...... for enamel if u cant find its thinner then u can replace it with zippo lighter fuel .... but note zippo drys up very fast

QUOTE(pweeapw @ Nov 9 2007, 05:44 PM)
hi... for panel lining i use a technical drawing pen... you can get any of these from any art shops... the tip sizes ranges from 0.1 to 1.0...
the one that i'm using it 0.2...

ink for these pens come in either cartridges or bottled ink... mostly india ink which is waterproof... but i find that i can still remove then with a cotton bud or eraser (rubber)... probably because it's on plastic... i have not tried it with models which i have painted or applied primer/surfacer yet...

also... i use different types of paint with my type of applications... lacquer paints uses thinner as solvents while acrylic paints use water etc etc... with this in mind, it would make your painting easier....

e.g. you paint the whole part with (lacquer paint) white... and then you start to touch up with (acrylic paint) blue... if you make a mistake, all you have to do is to immediately wash it off with water and still retain the base white...

i'm not too good with painting yet... but that's my knowledge on why people use them... smile.gif

having said that... i'm still having a hard time applying a coat of acrylic paint evenly on my kits... i'm guessing that it would be easier if i had a layer of primer... anyone care to enlighten me? tongue.gif
errr .... once acrylic dry u cant remove it with water .... use cloth detergent to remove acrylic paint will be easier

if u find hard to apply paint on ur kit an easy way is to use high grade sand paper to sand ur kit once so that the paint can have better grab on ur kit ....
pweeapw
post Nov 9 2007, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(zero1st @ Nov 9 2007, 08:08 PM)
each type of paint base has it's own thinner ...... for enamel if u cant find its thinner then u can replace it with zippo lighter fuel .... but note zippo drys up very fast

errr .... once acrylic dry u cant remove it with water .... use cloth detergent to remove acrylic paint will be easier

if u find hard to apply paint on ur kit an easy way is to use high grade sand paper to sand ur kit once so that the paint can have better grab on ur kit ....
hmm... i'll try that... what's the grade that you would recommend?

also... sry if i wasn't clear abt washing off the acrylic paints... when i mentioned immediately, i meant when the paint was still wet... i find that using glass cleaners and a tootbrush works well when the acrylic paints are dry...
-Sieg Hart-
post Nov 9 2007, 11:44 PM

okok thanks alot guys.....but i heard that thinner can rub off the marker colour .....izzit true? coz i hav nvr try it before
temptation1314
post Nov 11 2007, 03:15 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

>.< Can someone teach me how to do lining??? I'm really no idea how and where to start with... sweat.gif
edan1979
post Nov 11 2007, 03:51 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Nov 11 2007, 03:15 PM)
>.< Can someone teach me how to do lining??? I'm really no idea how and where to start with... sweat.gif
lol... I'm using a Pilot drawing pen 01 to practice.... those line to draw i see at dalong.net.... then use imagination leh.... tongue.gif

During googling something.. i found this tutorials.... http://www.dannychoo.com/blog_entry/eng/21...eling+Tutorial/

then the Marker GM01 is kind of hate me... the tip kind of split into 2... anybody know how to repair it... i'm pushing it too hard... lol.... blush.gif

quite easy also... now just finish lining my rouge strike... rclxms.gif got another 3 to finish...

the hand need to use putty leh... arghhh to lazy to do that as time is kind of limited.... super glue to the rescue la like this.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by edan1979: Nov 11 2007, 04:10 PM
ShinAsakura
post Nov 11 2007, 07:52 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

hm.....feel wanna do some crazy thing.

use MG Unicorn + Armored Core + 1/100 LED Mirage w/BoomerangUnit System's weapon

den combine make something cooler like ZegaPain Altair LOL tongue.gif blush.gif

wont happen anyway. doh.gif

for lining, u jz line them according to ur own judgement la haha..... bout the liner, besides gundam liner u can oso use Copic 0.02 which cost at RM15 each. PM sunnyboy for it (omg i'm advertising tongue.gif )
picture courtesy of sunnyboy whose courtesy of StormV LOL.

This post has been edited by ShinAsakura: Nov 11 2007, 08:03 PM
bijak_sinner
post Nov 12 2007, 11:05 AM

40 posts

i'm sorry & a newbie in gundam model kit.. i don't know whether some one have ask this question or not..

may i know.. what kind of pen is used to outline gundam panels? how much is the price? and where can it be bought? thanx in advance sengseis smile.gif

temptation1314
post Nov 12 2007, 11:36 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Ermm..... Anyone can recommend a good marker for 1/144??? There's plenty of Gundam Marker out there and I don't know which to choose...
edan1979
post Nov 12 2007, 01:39 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

The one shown by ShinAsakura which promoting for Sunnyboy which picture courtesy of StormV heheheh...

that one got a nice tip. better then the GM01 marker... GM01 0.4 the copicmodeller 0.2
bijak_sinner
post Nov 12 2007, 02:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Nov 12 2007, 02:39 PM)
The one shown by ShinAsakura which promoting for Sunnyboy which picture  courtesy of StormV  heheheh...

that one got a nice tip. better then the GM01 marker... GM01 0.4 the copicmodeller 0.2
where can i buy this copic modeller 0.2 pen?
edan1979
post Nov 12 2007, 03:00 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

now i'm also promoting sunnyboy...

pm sunnyboy for it. the price is RM15 last time.
bijak_sinner
post Nov 12 2007, 04:27 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Nov 12 2007, 04:00 PM)
now i'm also promoting sunnyboy...

pm sunnyboy for it. the price is RM15 last time.
i oredi pm him..
he said he's currently out of stock.. sad.gif

anyone else beside sunnyboy? smile.gif
perhaps stores like xl shop?

z3r0717
post Nov 12 2007, 04:28 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

u guys nid to wait..
the last time i pm-ed him for another pen.. He said no stock from japan.. finish.. so nid to wait =/
SUSblackorange
post Nov 12 2007, 04:43 PM

186 posts

err... noob (or stupid) question here... can do weathering using pencil 2b?

as for lining, i'm using GM01... but it only work great for "longkang" because can wipe off the spilled part.. but for edges, the lining can disappear if trying to clean it by finger or cotton bud...

any tips?
honeymic
post Nov 12 2007, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(blackorange @ Nov 12 2007, 04:43 PM)

as for lining, i'm using GM01... but it only work great for "longkang" because can wipe off the spilled part.. but for edges, the lining can disappear if trying to clean it by finger or cotton bud...

any tips?
2B ???? blink.gif ... Can ... later Lining material now pakai Mr.Hobby Mechincal Pencil ... 0.3mm ... aslo 2B is good for doing Gun power effect ... Dry brushing ....
edan1979
post Nov 12 2007, 05:44 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

any tips?
huh.. never got problem... I erase it using eraser...
zheyuen
post Nov 12 2007, 09:07 PM

206 posts

any tips?
mine dun really have this problem...got la...but thn leave it forawhile...thn it wont go away jo... but thn ever since i put my pen in my bedroom...and coz at nite i on air cond and morning i turn off... the tip become hard...i think... and sorta wont spill jo...coz once the lines there is there...lol...erasing it can get it off...but not as easy as usual... or mayb i think too much...

2b pencil? i oso use that...but i noob... this my way of "weathering"(seriously, i duno wad im doing,it jus looks cool and it makes the certain part of my gundam smell rusty...lol.)...but for small parts oni most of the time... i use the gold gundam marker... paint one layer ...thn i paint ovr again... the paint will go like no smooth... i take a toothpick and smoothen it .... and instead some parts of the colour will cme off...and some parts look like its bulgy(co the paint)... thn i use pencil and shade certain areas...and it smells rusty...lol...

PS: i love ur username... blackorange... coz i call myself blackzest in my blog and i love black and orange...lol...

Added on November 12, 2007, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(honeymic @ Nov 12 2007, 05:00 PM)
2B ????  blink.gif  ... Can ... later Lining material now pakai Mr.Hobby Mechincal Pencil ... 0.3mm ... aslo 2B is good for doing Gun power effect ... Dry brushing ....
wads gun power?

This post has been edited by zheyuen: Nov 12 2007, 09:08 PM
sunnyboy
post Nov 12 2007, 09:10 PM

1,446 posts

haha.....never know u guys talk abt copic pen...it's very useful pen for gundam panelining.

anyway, it gonna restock soon...perhaps in 1 weeks+ times...

Balthasar
post Nov 13 2007, 12:07 PM

Sweets :P
890 posts

any tips?
Well its been almost a decade since i made any models... blush.gif
But i guess u mean weathering effect like dust and dirt and a lil rust ?

I used to do that using pastel chalks. Did great for my panzer models with diorama. Sweet stuff as long as u don't hold it too often. Details like real but wears off easily. Applied on "painted" models with a thin brush...usually those tiny tipped ones...and the process is looooong sweat.gif
After tat the model is basically a see-no-touch model smile.gif
But i guess a top coat won't do any harm besides looking a lil fake lor laugh.gif
br0ther9630
post Nov 13 2007, 08:32 PM

59 posts

not sure whether this is the proper place to ask but...

can anyone tell me how much does a can of Top Coat cost?

126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:25 PM