126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

SUSadvocado
post Nov 1 2007, 11:06 PM

2,948 posts

So where can I find these hassle free compressors and price not marked up too much? Do they normally come in as a set with the tank? Where did you get urs?

My Airbrush is one of those Mr.Gunzo brush, there's no cup, you lock the glass paint bottle at the bottom and you can start spraying.

Before I'm using those compressed air canisters but it's too expensive and difficult to get (have to jimat jimat te air). So now trying to find a decent compressor.

Regarding the Gold test link, it looks great, outcome more like Car paint, but I think very impossible to paint it like the Factory Mirror Shiny paint unless you know how to make the model positively charged and the metallic paint solvent negatively charged, well if you happen to have a automobile painting room, it would be great....

Also does the 3M gas mask suffice? The normal white one.

QUOTE(honeymic @ Nov 1 2007, 06:24 PM)
cannot leh ... must deal with them straight ...

anyway they are the same people that gather one a week at Cineleasure-outpost,
advocado@
1. to Get compressor with or without airtank ... all depend on your work load u doing ... normally those come with airtank have automatic shutoff feature build into, airtank also act as a moister/water trapper too ... hot air get condensed in the Tank ... those wiht out airtank u need to stop after 15min-20min of continuos using ... y? coz hot air travel in you tube will condensed into water .... so if u dont want water come out of ur Airbrush then take care .... weather also help creating Water vapor like rainny day u get better Water Vapor ... coz the Compressor get the air from it surrounding mah ... shakehead.gif
2. Pressure/flow Value control need or not? depend lo .. different pressure are need for different paint mixer/dilute ... range from 10psi to 20psi ...
but normally the presure that comeout of you compressor are about 30psi...
3. Price ... Range from $500 - $1000+ ... important is look the better airburshes ... bigger "cup size" .... to hold the paint...
4. read alot ...
http://www.clubhyper.com/reference/compressorgi_1.htm  (* please dont simple simple build, then letup u blame LYN pula, i put for reference leh *)
http://www.testors.com/hobbyist_guides.asp
http://www.airbrush.com/tips-and-tricks.aspx
5. Fish or tire pump ... never try ... u try la .. let us know ok tongue.gif
This post has been edited by advocado: Nov 1 2007, 11:12 PM
honeymic
post Nov 1 2007, 11:23 PM

"Also does the 3M gas mask suffice? The normal white one."? did they mention MultiGasses filter or what kinda filter do this mask intended for??

Brand of Compressor ... from what i read .. most of them here get from petaling street, Venus Art Shop ... price? ok la ... also check out most Art shop like in Subang jaya/TmnMayang/Petaling Street ... I heard that Lowyat also have isst? IWata brand sell very darn cheap ... Anyone can confirm this ... i seriously never go and check this one out ... anyone know please give some direction!?

drool.gif

SWATwolf
post Nov 3 2007, 01:08 AM

431 posts

guys... wanna ask.
the Gundam marker GM44 - Grey (from Gundam Seed marker set)
do outside shops sells in single marker instead of in sets?

and also any mr.hobby color is similar to GM44?
Need help and thanx!
jsnkok
post Nov 3 2007, 09:39 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Nov 3 2007, 01:08 AM)
guys... wanna ask.
the Gundam marker GM44 - Grey (from Gundam Seed marker set)
do outside shops sells in single marker instead of in sets?

and also any mr.hobby color is similar to GM44?
Need help and thanx!
yup.. seen a shop @ Cineleisure Damansara selling single marker... was it "Toys & Hobbies" or something.. forgot the shop name tongue.gif

dante_cool
post Nov 3 2007, 12:39 PM

hey guys,

i got a question, I just received my MG DESTINY EXTREME BURST MODE this morning.

I am a noob at painting and I do not want to spoil this beauty.

Any advice the experts can give ?? I only have the set of gundam markers and the lining markers.

I am definately going to use the lining markers, but for painting is it advisable to use the markers?

Do you reckon I should spray like mr TOPCOAT in the end , if I were to use the markers?

Does anybody know if DESTINY head , legs is white colour ?? It look like some sort of greyish colour.

Any advise will be highly appreciated.

Cheers

dante_cool
ShinAsakura
post Nov 3 2007, 12:53 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

u meant these? :
nope they aren't white, i reckon the EBM's color are abit greyish greenie right?
but according to the illustration, all should be white...or at least greyish (i'm not sure blush.gif )

i think all da sifu's here may help u on "recoloring the whole algae-like white parts!"

editted: posted MG Destiny normal's frame jz now tongue.gif

editted again: SWATwolf u try go see see at TimeMachine and the Stardust beside LittTak shop on Sungei Wang's roof top. yeah, CineLeisure's ShiokToys oso got sell separately.

This post has been edited by ShinAsakura: Nov 3 2007, 01:08 PM
dante_cool
post Nov 3 2007, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Nov 3 2007, 03:53 PM)
u meant these? :
nope they aren't white.
hiya,

thanks a lot for the answer. I will leave those part then.

zheyuen
post Nov 3 2007, 11:17 PM

206 posts

erm... thn that destiny colour is wad colour...i oso curios...

i sometimes wonder...is there a guide in the net how to mix the colour u want b4 painting...coz on the manual its in jap...
iilidan
post Nov 4 2007, 10:32 AM

24 posts

i think the white part is handle of the boomerang..
jst bought destiny MG yesterday >.<
TSVincC454
post Nov 4 2007, 10:41 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

as what i remember when i open mg destiny...
all those white parts are not really pure white...there are more to white grey...yes...they are still consider as grey...light grey like that..i also dunno how to say about its color..but its not white la

and the white/grey parts are the same dont care normal or EB version...the only thing different from these two version are their inner frame...i mean their color
Jckk
post Nov 4 2007, 12:40 PM

Remember Remember the 5th of November.
548 posts

is da color off-white?
post Nov 4 2007, 04:23 PM

1,447 posts

MG Destiny is not in white! I think it is more easy to paint then! becoz if white! It get dirty very fast!
fyire
post Nov 4 2007, 09:17 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Nov 4 2007, 04:23 PM)
MG Destiny is not in white! I think it is more easy to paint then! becoz if white! It get dirty very fast!
hehe well, the trick to painting white is never to use pure white smile.gif always add a tiny drop of black into the mix, to bring it down to a very very very light gray (where u cant tell the diff via the naked eye). that helps a lot. this wont get dirty easily, but still appears more white than the MG destiny's gray color
SWATwolf
post Nov 4 2007, 09:38 PM

431 posts

anyone know which mr.hobby bottle paint is similar to GM44 (Grey Gundam Seed Marker)?

SWATwolf
post Nov 5 2007, 09:24 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(dante_cool @ Nov 5 2007, 04:43 AM)
hiya,

I got my EFB from HLJ.com. Pre-ordered mine like 2 mths ago, now is like totally out of stock.

Got it for around 10 K Yen, probaby around 94 AUD ( Approx RM 263 ).

Yup, inner colour is chrome silver. Still wondering if I should some assemble it first then paint it later.

Any advise people ??

dante_cool
i suggest u paint on the runner before assemble it. It would be easier.
darklancer
post Nov 6 2007, 11:29 AM

I'm planning to mod my SD stargazer like this :

wat do u guys think? i also wanna add a pink beam saber for it. wud like to hear from u guys, either positive or negative r welcome =)

Edited: shud i paint the eyes blue? or let it green? make it sumthin like unicorn

This post has been edited by darklancer: Nov 6 2007, 11:30 AM
Jckk
post Nov 6 2007, 01:12 PM

Remember Remember the 5th of November.
548 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Nov 5 2007, 09:24 AM)
i suggest u paint on the runner before assemble it. It would be easier.
easier yes, but da clip marks will become evident once u've assembled it.
post Nov 6 2007, 01:31 PM

1,447 posts

The eyes in green would serve well and u are not really mod the kit u r just custom painting it onli! Overall should be easy! For the beam saber just cut of those runner to built ur own!
SWATwolf
post Nov 6 2007, 02:14 PM

431 posts

do we really necessary need thinner for mixing with the mr.hobby paint bottle to brush on gundam?

This post has been edited by SWATwolf: Nov 6 2007, 02:53 PM
fyire
post Nov 6 2007, 05:25 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Nov 6 2007, 02:14 PM)
do we really necessary need thinner for mixing with the mr.hobby paint bottle to brush on gundam?
for acrylics, not really, u can just thin using water. for lacquers, thinners are the only way to thin it down. Make sure that you get the right types of paints. acrylics are the ones with the flat cap, while lacquers r the ones with the mohawk looking caps. its a pretty common mistake to mix up the 2 when purchasing paint from mr hobby.

126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:00 PM