Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

adele123
post Jan 24 2024, 08:32 AM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Jan 23 2024, 03:59 PM)

notworthy.gif
I put in money from 2021 feb until 2022 march. DCA basically over one year. I am at SRI 30%.

My return is around +3.2% p.a. based on excel. The MWR is around +9% to +10%. I dunno how they calculate but i never bothered about their calculation. I never doubted my calculation because pretty darn sure the +9% to +10% does not make sense. Because if i take my current value divide by total investment value, it is a mere 8%+ return. Over 3 years. smile.gif

I can only confirm that the SA calculation of MWR does not tally with excel XIRR formula. It's not difficult to estimate SA is not per annum return for their MWR. Because it's 20% for your case. If you were making IRR of 20% per year... even with DCA, your investment would be ball park at least 50% more than it was when you started...

You should send an email and get SA to explain the maths behind to you if you so desire. You deserve it.

My suspicion is they probably didnt factor in the 0 8% that they charge us. And they didnt annualise it. Pure suspicion.

According to google yes. MWR and IRR is equivalent but SA MWR macam binatang yang lain.

I digress since you didnt ask but yes i withdrawn from SA 2 days ago. Finally. I acknowledged i invested at a bad time, KWEB was all high when i joined in. I know it is long term but i know what my right investment strategy is now. For MYR holdings, mainly EPF. For overseas, VWRA. No more roboadvisor... after much stumbling in my financial journey, i arrived at ETF and the existence of r/bogleheads.

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Jan 24 2024, 12:12 AM)
We can use SA to buy VOO / VWRA right ?
Even if you can, should you? Would there be other avenues that you can buy VOO or VWRA at a lower cost? Also as non american, remember to look up irish domicile version of VOO.

This post has been edited by adele123: Jan 24 2024, 08:33 AM
Xenopher
post Jan 24 2024, 01:40 PM

292 posts

I started invest since 2020 until today. Consistently DCA into SRI 36 portfolio with additional 2 times lumpsum (1st time was at the beginning, 2nd time was somewhere last year).

My own calculation get a IRR of 5.85% in MYR and 0.87% in USD.
kelvinfixx
post Jan 24 2024, 01:43 PM

1,585 posts

bottom line, SA has done a bad job I think.
tweakity
post Jan 24 2024, 02:22 PM

154 posts

Started investing in Feb 2019. Seems like 8 steps up of money put in. I didn't really monitor since i treat it like set and forget category of investment. MWR +27%, TWR +52%. If i did not withdraw (30% of funds) on May 2022, could be sssslightly higher.
i'm sort of neutral with this performance but the KWEB situation took out so much of the potential profit
derravile
post Jan 24 2024, 02:42 PM

Choking on my aspirations
1,958 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 24 2024, 08:32 AM)
I put in money from 2021 feb until 2022 march. DCA basically over one year. I am at SRI 30%.

My return is around +3.2% p.a. based on excel. The MWR is around +9% to +10%. I dunno how they calculate but i never bothered about their calculation. I never doubted my calculation because pretty darn sure the +9% to +10% does not make sense. Because if i take my current value divide by total investment value, it is a mere 8%+ return. Over 3 years. smile.gif

I can only confirm that the SA calculation of MWR does not tally with excel XIRR formula. It's not difficult to estimate SA is not per annum return for their MWR. Because it's 20% for your case. If you were making IRR of 20% per year... even with DCA, your investment would be ball park at least 50% more than it was when you started...

You should send an email and get SA to explain the maths behind to you if you so desire. You deserve it.

My suspicion is they probably didnt factor in the 0 8% that they charge us. And they didnt annualise it. Pure suspicion.

According to google yes. MWR and IRR is equivalent but SA MWR macam binatang yang lain.

I digress since you didnt ask but yes i withdrawn from SA 2 days ago. Finally. I acknowledged i invested at a bad time, KWEB was all high when i joined in. I know it is long term but i know what my right investment strategy is now. For MYR holdings, mainly EPF. For overseas, VWRA. No more roboadvisor... after much stumbling in my financial journey, i arrived at ETF and the existence of r/bogleheads.
Even if you can, should you? Would there be other avenues that you can buy VOO or VWRA at a lower cost? Also as non american, remember to look up irish domicile version of VOO.
Thanks for the clarification, guess I am not alone in this situation

I did a back testing on the returns if based on SA calculations, which is closed to impossible.
That’s the reason I emailed SA for clarification but got a vague respond, I’ll pester them a more time

Guess I ll withdrawing as well after that
Medufsaid
post Jan 24 2024, 03:41 PM

3,483 posts

withdraw only after you identify where to invest in (e.g., DIY). since you are getting valid returns, just that the calculations are fudged up to make ppl feel good
zstan
post Jan 24 2024, 03:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 24 2024, 08:32 AM)

fundsupermart lor.
derravile
post Jan 24 2024, 10:26 PM

Choking on my aspirations
1,958 posts

so i've emailed them today and got a surprising quick response

the formula SA used MWR is the following:
((1+XIRR)^(Years of investment))-1

Also as quoted by SA Team
"MWR is an unannualised figure showing your returns since the portfolio's inception while XIRR is an annualised figure.

Hence, the XIRR of an investment would naturally be lower than MWR as it is computing the average annual return over a period of time."

couldn't find more info bout the difference in calculation...

Guess its time to withdraw them out completely
Medufsaid
post Jan 24 2024, 11:24 PM

3,483 posts

--deleted--

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jan 25 2024, 10:43 AM
Drian
post Jan 25 2024, 10:53 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Jan 24 2024, 10:26 PM)

"MWR is an unannualised figure showing your returns since the portfolio's inception while XIRR is an annualised figure.

Hence, the XIRR of an investment would naturally be lower than MWR as it is computing the average annual return over a period of time."

They will just choose whatever metric that shows the biggest number .
tehoice
post Jan 26 2024, 10:11 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jan 25 2024, 10:53 PM)
yeah, to make you have the feel good factor.

MUM
post Jan 26 2024, 10:14 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Jan 25 2024, 10:53 PM)
QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 26 2024, 10:11 AM)
yeah, to make you have the feel good factor.
Did they use the different metric during the bad years / periods?
adele123
post Jan 26 2024, 10:19 AM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Jan 24 2024, 10:26 PM)

Someone higher up must have specially crafted the email to reply you. *wink

Actually it is still the same as the general IRR we know. Assuming you did lump sum investment.

The difference is that SA does not annualise the number. Which is stupid because logically in most personal finance, we always usually think about nett return on a per annum basis.

As someone who did financial maths back in my degree, i just cant brain which years of investment they use if i invested on DCA basis. Maybe every cashflow? No time to use spreadsheet to bother with SA's calculation anyway.

Good luck in your future investment.
ridzyroo
post Feb 8 2024, 01:55 PM

1,018 posts

Hi there - long time reader, first time posting here...

Anyone read this article summarising their 2023 performance? I think a big chunk of the performance in the markets was in Q4'23

https://www.stashaway.my/r/2023-q4-returns-...coaster-success
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 26 2024, 11:14 AM

3,852 posts

Hi, i have just created a Singapore account. Haven't deposit money yet. What is best way to deposit? Theare are 2 options there:
1. Egiro
2. Bank Transfer/PayNow

I have WISE account and CIMB SG bank account.

Thank you.
Medufsaid
post Feb 26 2024, 11:40 AM

3,483 posts

i use this

CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 26 2024, 12:24 PM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 26 2024, 11:40 AM)
i use this

So you deposit from where? SG Bank account?
Medufsaid
post Feb 26 2024, 12:48 PM

3,483 posts

I use cimb sg. The instructions to bank in will be presented to you after you create a "one time deposit" request in stashaway sg
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 27 2024, 02:57 PM

3,852 posts

Erm, i have just created a SG account one or 2 dys prior. Which plan should i select? I just want it to be something like KDI Save, not Investment. There is Simple, Simple Plus, and Simple Guaranteed. I chose Simple Guaranteed and found that i can't deposit money. sweat.gif

What is difference between Simple, Simple Plus and Guaranteed?

When i setup Simple, then i can deposit, but it says "Monthly Deposit". I don't want Monthly deposits. I only one one time deposit as and when. Is this possible?

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 27 2024, 03:01 PM
Medufsaid
post Feb 27 2024, 03:02 PM

3,483 posts

what roadblock did u experience when u try to deposit to Simple Guaranteed? you're able to see this screen in your Stashaway app?
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 13 2024, 10:22 AM)

user posted image user posted image

1032 Pages « < 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 > » Top

0.0594sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:48 AM