Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

HoNeYdEwBoY
post Jun 17 2019, 12:44 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 16 2019, 02:50 PM)
Hi Sifus,

I have an old insurance, where the payor is my parent.

I wonder do we have to do a transfer to order for tax relief for myself?

Thanks,
Which company you having? And you actually can walk in the company and request about it.
ckdenion
post Jun 17 2019, 02:39 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jun 15 2019, 11:00 AM)
medical benefit is consider good. so long you know the estimated sustainability for the policy then you are good to go.

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 16 2019, 12:50 PM)
policyowner is your parent right? if yes, then need the policy to be assigned back to you for you to entitle tax relief for yourself.
ubeyou
post Jun 17 2019, 05:32 PM

DreamX
697 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jun 17 2019, 02:39 PM)
medical benefit is consider good. so long you know the estimated sustainability for the policy then you are good to go.
policyowner is your parent right? if yes, then need the policy to be assigned back to you for you to entitle tax relief for yourself.
I have the premium statement pdf, which insured people is my name, only the billing address belongs to my father, I wonder if this proof is enough for tax relief. I'm using AIA
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 05:57 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 17 2019, 05:32 PM)
I have the premium statement pdf, which insured people is my name, only the billing address belongs to my father, I wonder if this proof is enough for tax relief. I'm using AIA
The name just above the address is whose?

I hv a premium statement from aia too....
The address n name is mine.....
The insured name is my son
I am paying for it and claim tax reduction with it
JustcallmeLarry
post Jun 17 2019, 06:11 PM

1,363 posts

Hey guys, how come today when i went to pay for my health insurance, when the counter lady key in my name she quoted me i had to pay my old price before the recent 20%++ price hack? But after she counted the money and look at the notice payment slip i handle over to her, she looked confuse then after awhile only she realize i need to pay the new amount after the 20%++ price hike.

This make me wonder if i didn't so fast hand her my money and payment notice, i would have only had to pay my old amount before the 20% price hike which would save me rm220. WTA is that price hike effect everyone or maybe those old customers with clean records don't get the 20% price hike??? Bcs from what i saw just now in the system my name i only had to pay the old price but when the lady cashier counted my money and saw my payment notice then only she altered something?zzz
ubeyou
post Jun 17 2019, 06:18 PM

DreamX
697 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 17 2019, 05:57 PM)

Same as you, but my father has fully claimed the tax relief using other insurances. Since this is extra, I wonder if I'm able to use it for myself.
JustcallmeLarry
post Jun 17 2019, 06:26 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 13 2019, 10:52 AM)
googled and found this....

Medical insurance comes in two forms – a no-frills standalone medical plan, and a medical rider attached to a life policy such as an investment-linked plan (ILP).
The former covers hospitalisation and surgical expenses, while the latter also does that, in addition to paying a lump sum in the event of death and/or total and permanent disablement.

How to decide
So what should a policyholder do? When choosing between a standalone medical plan and a medical rider, one way is to assess your financial habits. FA Advisory’s Liau points out that premiums for both plans are not fixed as they are subject to reviews and increments in future.
“If a person has proper financial planning, and the discipline to invest the premium difference between a standalone medical plan and an ILP with medical rider, then a standalone medical plan may be more suitable,” he says. By contrast, if a person doesn’t have the discipline to save and invest regularly, an ILP may be a better option as it is a form of forced savings/investment. The plan, he adds, could help the person invest the additional premium to offset future increment in health premiums.

http://www.focusmalaysia.my/Income/when-to...ne-medical-plan

https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...i21.OekAqEtEP-0

sweat.gif i think many had mentioned that in normal economic sense....standalone is better than ILP.....

but many had complaint too, that standalone insurance premium can / will increase termendously especailly at/after retirement age brackets....when that is the time we usually needed both of them (insurance) and money most
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 13 2019, 12:07 PM)
ILP is cheaper overtime as the cost of insurance charges is lower than pure standalone.
XD email GE and tell them that la, they don't read Lowyat forum
is ILP the annual payment is fix the same yearly? Bcs like my just medical package the annual payment will increase every 5 years and ya after 50 years and older the price you have to pay yearly is very high.
Holocene
post Jun 17 2019, 07:37 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 17 2019, 05:57 PM)

Just check who is the policy owner.

Best,
Jiansheng
Holocene
post Jun 17 2019, 07:39 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 17 2019, 06:26 PM)
is ILP the annual payment is fix the same yearly? Bcs like my just medical package the annual payment will increase every 5 years and ya after 50 years and older the price you have to pay yearly is very high.
Premium for ILP are NOT fix, in a sense.

As the COI is not fix and could out grow the premium and cash value, there is a chance you will need to pay more than your premium in the future.

Best,
Jiansheng
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 08:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 17 2019, 06:18 PM)
Same as you, but my father has fully claimed the tax relief using other insurances. Since this is extra, I wonder if I'm able to use it for myself.
i think cannot-lah...as my son is still in primary school, thus i am the policy owner, (I pay I claim), thus I think the owner of your policy is your dad.
(actually i was searching for this word)
see below post...

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jun 17 2019, 07:37 PM)
Just check who is the policy owner.

Best,
Jiansheng
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 09:08 PM

8,188 posts

googled and found this...
thus depends on what you ILP bought
and also the "true' understanding of the "policy account"....
hmm.gif if policy account has not enough $$ to sustain the payment of COI as mentioned by (HOLOCENE at post above), then how?

https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...ld-brochure.pdf

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 17 2019, 09:12 PM

Holocene
post Jun 17 2019, 09:37 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 17 2019, 09:08 PM)
hmm.gif if policy account has not enough $$ to sustain the payment of COI as mentioned by (HOLOCENE at post above), then how?

Not enough cash value to sustain and you would like to maintain the policy then you'll need to pay the difference a.k.a pay more a.k.a increase premium.

Best,
Jiansheng
lifebalance
post Jun 17 2019, 10:10 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

ILP annual payment is fixed the same yearly.

What you signed up for currently is a term insurance medical card which increases every 5 years.

However, not all ILP policy are designed the same as the agent can quote you a cheaper ILP version which makes you think you are paying a lower premium compared to another insurance company but the contribution made may not be able to sustain for a long term before the insurance company sends you a notice for you to top up on your ILP premium.

Go with an honest agent when it comes to buying ILP policies who will tell you up front on what you're signing up for.
ckdenion
post Jun 18 2019, 12:11 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 17 2019, 06:18 PM)
only the policy owner can claim tax relief. check whether the policy owner is you or not in the statement. in company's view, policy owner is the one paying the premium.

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 17 2019, 06:11 PM)
did you notice the premium increment in the payment slip before you go to make payment? have to check the details of the payment slip. and also did she mentioned anything about the premium change or did you ask the her about it?

hammerjit
post Jun 18 2019, 12:24 PM

217 posts

hi sifus....need some advise...i been with prudential since 2000 (minimal plan)...now I am reviewing and been advised for a new plan (1M) with deductible plan 20K since my earlier plan can cover that amount but up to age 70. I am also being quoted prulink asia managed fund (AMF). age now 46 non-smoker

Is deductible plan ok?
is AMF fund good in performance?

This post has been edited by hammerjit: Jun 18 2019, 12:25 PM
JustcallmeLarry
post Jun 18 2019, 02:16 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jun 18 2019, 12:11 PM)
did you notice the premium increment in the payment slip before you go to make payment? have to check the details of the payment slip. and also did she mentioned anything about the premium change or did you ask the her about it?
Ya , first 1 or 2 month back I received the letter saying they have to increase the price of my package due to current times. Then few days ago I received the yearly payment notice letter which in it already have the new increased priced. But yesterday when I went over to pay at the insurance office the lady after keying my name into the system at fist quoted me the figure I have to pay was my old before price increase amount. But by that time I already handed over my money, only after awhile she changed something in the system. Didn't ask her anything bcs just by looking at her bad mood/rude face I know I wouldn't get a proper answers out from her.
JustcallmeLarry
post Jun 18 2019, 02:27 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jun 17 2019, 07:39 PM)
Premium for ILP are NOT fix, in a sense.

As the COI is not fix and could out grow the premium and cash value, there is a chance you will need to pay more than your premium in the future.

Best,
Jiansheng
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jun 17 2019, 09:08 PM)

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 17 2019, 10:10 PM)
ILP annual payment is fixed the same yearly.

What you signed up for currently is a term insurance medical card which increases every 5 years.

However, not all ILP policy are designed the same as the agent can quote you a cheaper ILP version which makes you think you are paying a lower premium compared to another insurance company but the contribution made may not be able to sustain for a long term before the insurance company sends you a notice for you to top up on your ILP premium.

Go with an honest agent when it comes to buying ILP policies who will tell you up front on what you're signing up for.
So the amount you end up paying for ilp and standalone medical plan are about the same?
MUM
post Jun 18 2019, 02:44 PM

14,918 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 18 2019, 02:27 PM)
So the amount you end up paying for ilp and standalone medical plan are about the same?
Depends on the number of years and the opportunity cost % pa
Holocene
post Jun 18 2019, 03:16 PM

945 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 18 2019, 02:27 PM)
It really depends on a few variables:

- fund performance

- revision of COI if any

- changes in premium for term insurance

Hence there is no definite answer. Best case scenario is to sit down with a professional and understand where you financial standing is right now, identify your risk and get options to how you can manage those risk the most efficiently possible.

Best,
Jiansheng
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Jun 18 2019, 03:56 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 18 2019, 04:27 PM)
No. It's different and depends on what kind of plan you getting and which age are you getting it at.

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:55 AM