Dec 24 2018, 02:22 PM
945 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(hioniq @ Dec 24 2018, 01:28 PM) Lately I bought the aia a-life cancer360 but I found there are incorrect answers on the self declaration in the form I.e. is any of your immediate family had cancer and have you performed medical checkup last year. Both are yes but my agent just helped me tick no. I whatsapp him and also submitted the question in aia portal but they never reply me. This makes me worry because in the policy there is clause to reject claim should I lie in the self declaration. So the question is will it affect my claim since I already informed them but they just ignore my questions? My recommendation is that you follow up with them via FB or walk in to their branch to clarify. Best, Jiansheng |
Dec 27 2018, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(fizzx @ Dec 26 2018, 11:23 PM) Dear sifus, I have looked at both Prudential and AIA policies that have been generated for me. I would like to know your opinion(s) on both of these policies: Hey Fizzx, first off I would like to say your listing of the the insurance coverage have to be one of the most detailed I've seen on this thread and that's a good thing 🤓.27F non-smoker Class 1 (50% responsibility of breadwinner) Prudential - Plan Type: Regular Premium ILI PRUwith you - SA RM100k : Premium RM 250 Crisis Care - Sum Assured RM100k Acci Guard Plus - SA RM100k Acci Med Plus - - SA RM5k Pruvalue med: - R&B - 200 (Deductible: RM300) - Med Value Point: 1.5 mil - Med Saver: 300 Payor Basic: 3k p.a Insurance Premium: RM250 (A) Investment Premium: RM0 (B) Total Premium: RM250 (A+B) AIA - Plan Type: ILI Plan Basic Plan A-LifeLink 2 - SA RM100k : Premium RM 200 A-Plus Saver : Premium RM 75 Riders A-Plus DisabilityCare - SA RM100k A-Plus Health - Plan 200 (Deductible: RM300) : Unit Deducting A-Plus Multi CriticalCare - SA RM100k : Unit Deducting A-Plus Early CriticalCare - SA RM50k : Unit Deducting A-Plus WaiverExtra @70 - RM3.3k p.a : Unit Deducting Total Monthly Premium: RM275 Total Annual Premium: RM3.3k Thanks I'm Jiansheng by the way. Ok, let's get right to it. Base on your question I would assume the agents have explained the benefits and T&C of the riders and you're just asking an opinion on the overall design of the plan? Right off the bat between the two plans these are the differences: - Personal Accident (PA) coverage - Critical Illness (CI) coverage As I can see, the Prudential agent has included a PA and 36 CI whereas the AIA agent did not include a PA but the CI coverage for AIA is wider (Early - Advance stage). You also mentioned that you're 50% of the breadwinner hence another area that I highly recommend you look at is the sum assured for Life/TPD and CI. Are the sum assured listed above sufficient? Best, Jiansheng This post has been edited by Holocene: Dec 27 2018, 08:39 AM |
Dec 28 2018, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(Simplified @ Dec 28 2018, 11:04 AM) HI im with Prudential. Well it’s certainly not because we don’t focus on cash value as mentioned here. You can look at Insurance Thread V4 post 2613 - 2616 where I have “shared” with our fellow colleague on that matter. Recently i met a prospect and he's telling me about how Allianz similar plans are less expensive by a margin. Anyone can enlighten me bout allianz and how come they are much more affordable Rgrds Nigel Perhaps you’ll have a better discussion with your prospect if he can list out the benefits that the Allianz agent has proposed to him and compare against yours. As I know, our products are quite different from yours so I was surprised when you mentioned that he said it’s similar Get more informations from your prospect about his Allianz proposal and I’ll help you understand the premium which was quoted to him. Best, Jiansheng |
Dec 29 2018, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(KKLeong @ Dec 29 2018, 12:59 AM) Hi, i am 25 yrs old, male, non smoker, started career 2 yrs ago. What kind of insurance is suitable for me? Need medical card for emergency case if happened. Thanks for enlighten. Hey KKLeong,Great to hear that you’re looking into getting yourself insured As to what kind of insurance is suitable for you, you are on the right track thinking about a medical card. Here are a few more suggestion for you to consider: - Life/TPD - Critical Illness - Personal Accident Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 4 2019, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(glauncher @ Jan 4 2019, 10:13 AM) Hi, if I want to change insurance plan to another company, should I terminate the current plan first before buying with another company, Second option. Make sure you're pass all the waiting period and understand any exposure you might have before making a cancellation.or buy the new plan then only terminate the old plan? Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 8 2019, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(Simplified @ Jan 8 2019, 02:57 PM) If you mean sustainability 64-68 is on the low side. Anyone else care to explain 'sustainability in layman term'? In this situation, sustainability means you can continue paying RM250/month for RM600k coverage until you are 64 - 68 years old. After that, you might need to pay additional amount to maintain the protection.600k i believe is pure life only. You can add additional critical illness on top of it however you like. Rgrds Nigel Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 8 2019, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 8 2019, 05:47 PM) does that mean nowadays all the invest link are far better then term? because I trust my investment rather then the fund they given. the fund that they given (even for a very stable fund that give the same return as FD, have SC of 1%) have charges, most of the bond fund which may perform better then the fund provided (I revised the fact sheet and compare the chart to common bond fund in 3, 5, 10 years perf) and at no service charge. On the other hand, the equity fund provided often perform below par and having high service charges. Get your agent to quote the lowest premium and tell him you do not care about sustainability and will match the additional premium as and when needed.If you are confident with your own investment it's advisable to do so. 😉 Here's a tip check out the math involved with how COI are offset against the cash values and you'll understand my approach. Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 8 2019, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 8 2019, 06:05 PM) 1) Sustainability- When it comes to investment linked plans (ILP), sustainability is an important topic as it basically means by when you will need to pay more premium than you currently do, if you want to maintain the protection. It could be 10 years from now or 30 years from now. The scenario of your cousin of 30 years sustainability basically means based on the projection of the cash value of his policy he can continue paying the same premium he's paying now for the next 30 years. He might need to pay more out of his pocket after that. The key word here is "out of pocket". 2) match the additional premium - Building on my answer from question 1, after 30 years assuming the cost to insure him is now RM5k instead of RM3.1k, if your cousin wants to maintain the coverage he will then need to pay RM5k instead of RM3.1k hence matching the additional premium of RM1.9k (out of pocket). 3) COI - Cost of insurance. The insurance company cost to insure you. 4) Cash Value - the "savings" or cash you have in the ILP. So assuming you're a good cousin and help your cousin with his investments as you've done so for your ownself he can consider something like this: Life/TPD: RM500k CI : RM300k Premium: RM1,500 annually (which can sustain him for 28 years base on the low scenario of 3%). The difference of RM1,600 you can go invest in other investment/saving vehicles. You're definitely not counting pennies when RM1,600 accumulates over 28 years (RM44,800 not counting potential compounding interest). Some food for thought 🤓 Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 9 2019, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 9 2019, 09:00 AM) Basic of financial planning 101. 🤔I'm quite astounded when you tried to lure forummer to read about "compounding interest" to say the they're not counting pennies when they have to constantly spend their time to monitor how much they need to pay incremental per year to their life insurance policies. Yes you're right to say that the small pennies will accumulate overtime, provided they are a savvy investor themselves to be able to do that. With the luxury of the time to manage it, time is a precious commodity, you don't see a rich person manage all their businesses and investment to the pennies, they hire and pay people to do that and utilize their human resources. Yes, my example is equating on if you're a rich man and have a deal earning you RM100,000s, would you even bother with the RM10s ? Would they even bother spending the same time of an hour to get RM100k instead of the RM10 ? That's the reason why services like unit trust, stock brokers, insurance company are out there to earn some money and get some automation, yes the return may not be a lot depending on the goal of the investment, but if that automation helps to reduce my time to manage something trivial, I don't see why I shouldn't spend my time for something else better that is my specialty. Your logical answer may not be suitable for genuine investors who have huge portfolios or for the common folks who don't do much into investment. Here's my thought for you. *Deep in thought* I am trying very hard to draft out a reply but you have finally got me this time. I have no reply for you and have to thank you for trying to entertain us by posting jokes but please keep it to a minimum as this is a serious thread and the Jokes Heaven thread is the other way. 1) Monitoring incremental life insurance premium: - What I mentioned was the sustainability is projected to be 28 years hence your monitoring only comes in 28 years later. Even if it's 40 years, the policy owner will need to pay the increase in premium as long as they want to maintain the protection. If you are not aware, insurance companies including AIA do send out notice of premiums when they are due to avoid any lapse in policies because as you said "... Insurance companies are out to earn some money." How else would they earn if they don't collect premium? - I also am quite astounded that you would think the client needs to monitor the incremental life insurance premium himself, isn't it your job as his agent to do so? Or is it your practice that once you no longer receive commissions from a client your duty as his agent stops there? 🤔 2) RM100,000 vs RM10 - Comparing RM100,000 and RM10 it makes sense to forgo the time spent to earn RM10 for RM100,000. In that context of course RM10 seems trivial. - However in the reply to [Ancient-XinG-], it's about the premium of RM3,100 vs RM1,500 which provides the same coverage. That's a 50% difference, is that still trivial? Seems to me that you are taking things out of context just to prove your point. Are you? 🤔 Finally, I always do my best to ensure my answers are logical and makes financial sense for everyone before sharing them as this is a serious thread about Insurance on Lowyat Forum. I do apologise if I have missed out certain group of people that require illogical answers, BUT you are all welcome to ask questions and we can make sure you get the illogical answer you need. As we have always said, everyone's needs are different. 😃 Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 9 2019, 12:45 PM
Jan 9 2019, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 9 2019, 03:09 PM) Holocene 🤔Looking at your replies, seems like your reply with twist and turn and putting words into my mouth is more suitable for joke's heaven instead, I'm lazy to teach and educate someone else especially they're agents themselves. I recommend you go back to ur sensei Norman and learn a little more things first okay? Actually my purpose of being in the Insurance thread is to assist Malaysians in understanding life insurance which we all know is not an easy subject to grasp. As we know this is just a thread for discussion and it's up to the public to decide which direction they want to proceed. Let's have a civilized discussion and keep this thread focus on what it was created for, to help Malaysians understand more about life insurance. Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 9 2019, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(soulmad @ Jan 9 2019, 03:44 PM) hi guys, For this case you need to get your insurance provider to clarify the reason for the exclusion. Only they can give you a definite answer as they have the relevant information of your application and coverage.need ur advice for sebaceous Cyst removal insurance provider say it's exclusion case need to pay first and claim later with a HPL report on the cyst have anyone came through this before? does it honor the claim? if pay first , do u all know medical cost can be reduce by doctor? some say using cash ,doctor can negotiable on the cost? A client of mine had his done for less than RM10k and there was no exclusion upon admission. As for the cost, it depends on the hospital and also procedure. You can get your doctor to provide you with the estimated cost. All the best with the surgery! Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 9 2019, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 9 2019, 05:33 PM) First of all thanks for the clarification. Many jargon are being used in the reply thus I am asking question instead of taking things out of context just to prove my point. I re read my post and there isn't any. The part about proving a point was directed towards lifebalance.Now I finally get the picture as a whole on what is the word "sustainability" that can affecting a life policy. the question of 3100 vs 1500, however, I still cant figure it out based on the scenario you given. Isn't the 3100 is fixed? Why there is 1500? Where did this number come from? And I think people choose sustainability option is because they don't want the policy to drag that long? thus the point to continue the policy isn't there? If one need the policy to be life, its a no brainer to take it up to 100 y.o with a fixed premium thru out the policy years? For ILP, if one doesn't mind to pay premium up to the chosen sustainability year, is the cash value in the account will still accumulate instead of the common "pay 10 year get 20 years" thing? As all this is actually taking the cash from what you contributed? Many people I think they miss this. And many agent doesn't even bother to explain this. And regarding investment link, I myself faced the problem once. Still remember the 07/08 crisis? Yea, during that time my education policy is still running. They sent a letter to my parent mentioned that crisis cause their fund performance drop and expected the dividend to be low. That time my parent wasn't know how the thing is going behind the scene, they have no knowledge of investment and insurance. NAV, total return, dividend all are very bombastic thing to them. They don't know that NAV is actually more important then dividend pay-out as dividend is nothing when in unit trust, or something that fluctuate. Thus, the NAV drop, partial of the premium paid were gone due to bad market and over 20 years, we got exactly the same amount how much premium we paid with extra around 1000 MYR? Isn't that sound really bad to you guys? We earn nothing besides the saving. But the agent that time inform nothing, said nothing. I asked my parent and only got to know the agent they met is part timer..... And the fund they invest in is sort of stable fund? The return shall around 4-6% p.a. I don't know what is actually happening but this got struck me a lot. And the point you had that regarding commission..... Majority I got the feedback is this, actually. How many out there are really committed to their job and being honest? I really appreciated all the input you guys made. Thanks! RM3,100 was what was quoted as you've shared. If etiqa's cost is more or less in line with Allianz they should be able to quote your cousin RM1,500 for the same protection and more or less similar sustainability of 28 years. As you have past experience with NAV drop hence my reasoning for diversifying the RM1,600 into other investment vehicles. So in the situation when COI increases and the NAV decreases due to bad market, the question of if I should have a substantial amount of cash value in an ILP or do I pay as little premium as possible for the same protection and invest the rest with other financial products. Of course your earlier assessment of their performance and high sales charges is another thing you might consider. I have to agree with you, the insurance industry is relatively sales driven and not so much on good sound advise but the good news is that BNM is in the midst of improving the professionalism of the agents in the industry. There are legit insurance agents but it really is your luck if you meet one. As life progress and we somewhat have more to lose, our insurance needs will increase. As long as an agent is able to identify, assess and come up with a plan to manage the life risk I am sure he/she will be with you throughout your life. It's Life Insurance after all. So in summary for your cousin's situation: He can go with what the quotation he has with Etiqa or he could go with a lower premium and the same coverage (assuming Etiqa is able to quote that amount). Talk to the Etiqa agent to find out what his options are. 🤓 Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 9 2019, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jan 9 2019, 05:29 PM) It seems to me that the insurance company would like to investigate into the claim before they issue any payout for the claims, perhaps you can submit your appeal with the relevant receipts to the insurance company that is required and let them sort it out in their investigation. The last time I actually used the report button on the insurance thread was at least 2 years ago. I'll never report your post unless it's of a soliciting nature. I did not ask for any food for thought and I'm definitely not "butthurt" because why would I be? 😑As far as I know if you're hospitalized for that matter and never had any exclusion within your policy before, the claim should be honored by the insurance company. My goodness, what a reply; Don't try to act holy, calling me joke heaven in your replies first and now trying to act like a saint in here trying to talk sensible to the audience as if I am at fault when I didn't even put you down at all, giving you my thought since you asked for food for thoughts and that's when you tried to pick a fight, more over reporting my post because you got butthurt for calling you out, guess I pressed your buttons real bad when I caught you with your illogical advise in here. I hope you don't twist and turn words in front of your customers to get policies. Again, I pride myself with the quality of advise that I have given my clients and even strangers on this forum. Let's move on with life. Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 13 2019, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 13 2019, 12:08 PM) just checking with you.......last week I had a brief encounter with my friend..... Heaven born a.k.a congenital illnesses are not covered by insurance company unless it falls within a preborn insurance coverage list.he mentioned that his son was admitted to a hospital and had a surgery........ it was something like pancreas covering the liver (sort of like that)..... he mentioned that it was a "heaven born" (Chinese translation)...natural occurrence.... thus his insurance does not cover that "heaven born"..... is it true that natural occurance are not covered by insurances? Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 21 2019, 09:07 PM
Jan 22 2019, 01:41 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(kentloonghh @ Jan 22 2019, 12:52 AM) Hi guys, I don’t understand why ILP is better....majority of the fund returns is actually average 4-5%. If based on average 4-5% return, high possibility that the fund will be empty by age 70, some by 65. After that you have to pay for high COI for your life insurance + medical card. For life insurance of 100k the COI could be 3k and medical card is around 5k. At the end you would be paying more than standalone medical card because of the additional life insurance cost. Is my assumption correct? That’s a good observation kentloonghh, you are leaning towards the idea of “Buy term/standalone, invest the rest.”Plus you have no choice but to continue paying higher premium for life in order to keep the medical card alive, kinda like a trap...? Standalone medical cards are great if you’re on a budget but the reality in Malaysia is, medical card that are attached to ILPs have a higher/wider coverage as compared to a standalone medical card. The challenge is determining if the premium quoted for your ILP makes sense for the coverage received. Also, when planning for a medical card do take into account the increasing medical cost, refer to attachment. With that said, please share with us which medical card you currently have in mind and we will be able to provide you with our feedback. Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 22 2019, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(kentloonghh @ Jan 22 2019, 05:46 PM) So far I think Lonpac MC is good? because there is no portfolio withdrawal, guaranteed renewal and portfolio of pricing for premium. Lonpac has 3 medical card, which one are you referring to? - MediSecure Centurial - MediSecure Plus 2015 - MediSecure Booster Best, Jiansheng |
Jan 23 2019, 09:30 PM
| Change to: | 0.1078sec