371 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

insidemycloset
post Nov 2 2018, 01:23 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(kasichanla @ Nov 2 2018, 12:58 PM)
already upgraded mine and huge difference. No disconnect issue at all. Only problem is sometimes asus router need to factory reset to login inside the router.
I see, I might get an asus too.

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Nov 2 2018, 01:02 PM)
LOL then it should be router issue already.

My Old TP Link Archer C7 V2 cannot go beyond 400mbps download as well. Need to upgrade to Asus RT86U and finally can hit 800+ mbps download.
I'm already looking for a new one right now. I just wanted confirmation from DIR-850L turbo'ed users before I blindly buy a new one and turns out the problem is on unifi's end.

But damn. these router companies, advertising their 'gigabit' routers that can't even achieve 800mbps on wired connection puke.gif .
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 01:40 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 01:23 PM)
I see, I might get an asus too.
I'm already looking for a new one right now. I just wanted confirmation from DIR-850L turbo'ed users before I blindly buy a new one and turns out the problem is on unifi's end.
But damn. these router companies, advertising their 'gigabit' routers that can't even achieve 800mbps on wired connection puke.gif .
......You sure it is not your PC issue? The microcode or heat related issue?

I got one 850L and it can get 500Mbps just fine via wired.
anfieldude
post Nov 2 2018, 01:58 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 12:55 PM)

have u upgraded your router already? any difference?
Yep I know my upload speed is fine, but I can't get past 302Mbps download speed on speed test on cat6 wired.
As John said, it might not be related to router issue. Suggest u restart in safe mode with networking and rerun speedtest app. That's the quickest way to diagnose if it's a computer related microcode throttling or just a computer issue vs a router issue.

I am also limited by this microcode issue. 800Mbps but typically about 720Mbps using edge browser, 660-700Mbps using app or chrome browser. In safe mode with networking easily able to hit 820Mbps download and 220Mbps upload speeds.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Nov 2 2018, 02:01 PM
fruitie
post Nov 2 2018, 01:59 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Nov 2 2018, 12:15 PM)
walao  blink.gif
and im paying RM179+ST for 500  dry.gif
Lucky and glitch for my billing. tongue.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 02:03 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 2 2018, 01:58 PM)
As John said, it might not be related to router issue. Suggest u restart in safe mode with networking and rerun speedtest app. That's the quickest way to diagnose if it's a computer related microcode throttling or just a computer issue vs a router issue.

I am also limited by this microcode issue. 800Mbps but typically about 720Mbps using edge browser, 660-700Mbps using app or chrome browser. In safe mode with networking easily able to hit 820Mbps download and 220Mbps upload speeds.
Speaking of which.....how about your Alienware 15 R1?
Because you had updated the laptop to latest firmware which contain the problematic 0x24....., you have no choice but to disable spectre mitigations via registry method.

Renaming the mcupdate will not work for your case.
insidemycloset
post Nov 2 2018, 02:05 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 2 2018, 01:40 PM)
......You sure it is not your PC issue? The microcode or heat related issue?

I got one 850L and it can get 500Mbps just fine via wired.
wait what?

Yeah the PC i'm testing on is quite old, it's an i7 4770k sad.gif. But it's water cooled inside a mid tower case with 3 front intakes and 3 exhaust fans i'm sure it's not that hot inside if that's what you meant by heat.

I have no idea what microcode issue is, what is it? rclxub.gif
mylinear
post Nov 2 2018, 02:06 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Nov 2 2018, 01:15 PM)
TM AGENT Hi, thank you for waiting. I'm TM AGENT SUZIYANA. How may I assist you?
customer hi
customer 102xxxxxx
customer my account for unifi
customer when can be turbo? or not entitled to turbo?
customer this is high rise condo unit
customer hello??
TM AGENT may i know this account registered under whose name ya?
customer my name
TM AGENT thank you for verification
TM AGENT for free upgrade may depend on network and technical availability
TM AGENT your premise type max speed 30mb
customer so how?
customer am i entitled for lower price?
customer since my speed can't be upgrade
customer new package is 100mb 129
customer i'm paying 189
TM AGENT only avalaible for 30mb rm79 got quota
customer 30mb
customer come on
customer maxis is 89/30mbps
TM AGENT may depend on network and technical availability
customer if i can't get 100mbps rm129
TM AGENT if you stillw ant 100mb rm129 i will assign our team to check first
customer no need check
customer i have neighbour already on that plan *tipu**
customer u can check on ur system
customer Unifi Portal changed from "Unifi Advance 30 Mbps" to "Unifi 30Mbps non-fiber plan
customer rm119
TM AGENT ya if you insist that plan need assign for our team
TM AGENT to check what offer can give you
customer when can let me know
TM AGENT within 7 days
customer ok any report number?
damn these tm customer service never really appreciate their customer...
Well that shows you that they try not to give the discount voluntarily unless you say you know about it and insist about it. And not accurate info about quota, as not implemented until end of year. At least they didn't say there is no such RM119 package.

You can try to call 100 sales dept. I was told by a customer service that it can be done on the phone but only for some users, whatever that means. Apparently this started early this week only. As usual, different customer service may say different things. But its worth a try since its only a call instead of a visit to TMPoint.

JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 02:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 02:05 PM)
wait what?

Yeah the PC i'm testing on is quite old, it's an i7 4770k sad.gif. But it's water cooled inside a mid tower case with 3 front intakes and 3 exhaust fans i'm sure it's not that hot inside if that's what you meant by heat.

I have no idea what microcode issue is, what is it? rclxub.gif
=.=...........you know what....let just move straight to the possible fix.....

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/40...rabilities-prot

CVE-2017-5715 (Spectre Variant 2)

To disable Variant 2: (CVE-2017-5715 – "Branch Target Injection") mitigation:

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverride /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverrideMask /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f

To enable Variant 2: (CVE-2017-5715 – "Branch Target Injection") mitigation:

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverride /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverrideMask /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f

reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Virtualization" /v MinVmVersionForCpuBasedMitigations /t REG_SZ /d "1.0" /f

First, open a command prompt, copy paste above, disable the spectre mitigation,reboot and rebenchmark.
You can always re-enable it again....in the future?
Reboot is mandatory.
anfieldude
post Nov 2 2018, 02:16 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 2 2018, 02:03 PM)
Speaking of which.....how about your Alienware 15 R1?
Because you had updated the laptop to latest firmware which contain the problematic 0x24....., you have no choice but to disable spectre mitigations via registry method.

Renaming the mcupdate will not work for your case.
Yeah...will need to get to registry fix as u recommended but hv not done so yet. The thing is for now I get max 200Mbps anyway for foreign sites and for local it's almost 700Mbps..I really don't see a need to fix it...need to get it done one of these days. There does seem to be some some throttling of speeds to US or EU..do u see the same?
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 02:20 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 2 2018, 02:16 PM)
Yeah...will need to get to registry fix as u recommended but hv not done so yet. The thing is for now I get max 200Mbps anyway for foreign sites and for local it's almost 700Mbps..I really don't see a need to fix it...need to get it done one of these days. There does seem to be some some throttling of speeds to US or EU..do u see the same?
I get around 150 - 250Mbps from my seedbox servers at EU (both servers can handle up to 1gigabit each) since last week.

Normally, I can get full 500Mbps when I got my turbo before. Oh well, still acceptable speed I guess.
duke_hunt
post Nov 2 2018, 02:22 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 2 2018, 12:42 PM)
Double your speed and save 70 RM! Switch!
was thinking on doing but since the announcement turbo-ed by end of Jan 19, few months away..
i can wait..
though my current tp link on cable max 100mbps but wifi can support up to 500mbps..
fruitie
post Nov 2 2018, 02:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(duke_hunt @ Nov 2 2018, 02:22 PM)
was thinking on doing but since the announcement turbo-ed by end of Jan 19, few months away..
i can wait..
though my current tp link on cable max 100mbps but wifi can support up to 500mbps..
Why on LAN can support lesser than WiFi? blink.gif
duke_hunt
post Nov 2 2018, 02:42 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 2 2018, 02:24 PM)
Why on LAN can support lesser than WiFi? blink.gif
lan 10/100mbps
dual band wifi 2.4ghz and 5ghz..
that time bought mana tau mau turbo..
tp-link archer c50..
so far so good, devices connected via wifi, so dont really care about lan..

This post has been edited by duke_hunt: Nov 2 2018, 02:44 PM
taqu
post Nov 2 2018, 02:46 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 12:18 PM)
Anyone else here still using DIR-850L router with 500/800Mbps turbo?

I can't get past 305Mbps on speedtest, I tried multiple speedtest sites, downloaded few stuffs. But the max download speed I get is only 39mb/s.

My connection is wired, Cat6 ethernet cab.

This is a gigabit router. It's supposed to be able to achieve gigabit speed on wired, but I don't think so anymore. I need confirmation on DIR-850L turboe'd user before I bin this thing.
I can get 500mbps from cable & 220mbps from Wifi, using 500mbps plan. But my D-Link is configured as Wifi AP only. I guess it doesn't have enough CPU power to route beyond 500mbps.

This post has been edited by taqu: Nov 2 2018, 02:47 PM
dickybird
post Nov 2 2018, 02:57 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(duke_hunt @ Nov 2 2018, 02:22 PM)
i can wait..
From experience, my Archer C7 only gives me 250 Mbps on 5 Ghz, you won't get anywhere near 500 Mbps with your current router because your devices won't be fastt enough.
Could be your Lan ports are only fast Ethernet that's why you're only getting 100 Mbps on Lan connection.
Save yourself the 70 RM and switch, you'll save even more because you won't need to upgrade the router to cope with 500 Mbps. From experience so far, not much difference in user experience from my previous 50 Mbps. But hey, I'm only paying. 159 for 500 Mbps + Ultimate TV.
roosie
post Nov 2 2018, 03:10 PM

64 posts

Nov 2018 has rolled in, and I've still yet to have my account turbo-ed.

Unifi, oh Unifi! vmad.gif
insidemycloset
post Nov 2 2018, 03:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 2 2018, 01:58 PM)
like you said, I went to safemode with network, the upload speed is always 204mbps.

ookla chrome 88mbps
tmspeedtest chrome 301mbps

ookla chromium 90mbps,
tmspeedtest chromium 302mbps

ookla opera 87mbps
tmspeedtest opera 302mbps

ALSO I tested my Cat5e cable too, switching ethernet ports with my Cat6 cable, same results.

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 2 2018, 02:11 PM)
=.=...........you know what....let just move straight to the possible fix.....

CVE-2017-5715 (Spectre Variant 2)
First, open a command prompt, copy paste above, disable the spectre mitigation,reboot and rebenchmark.
You can always re-enable it again....in the future?
Reboot is mandatory.
I did a little bit of googlin and went through regedit, cpu-z validator. I don't have spectre mitigation enabled, It's not even patched cuz I never update my windows sad.gif .

should I just give up and call TM to send their technician over? confused.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 03:44 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 03:37 PM)
like you said, I went to safemode with network, the upload speed is always 204mbps.

ookla chrome 88mbps
tmspeedtest chrome 301mbps

ookla chromium 90mbps,
tmspeedtest chromium 302mbps

ookla opera 87mbps
tmspeedtest opera 302mbps

ALSO I tested my Cat5e cable too, switching ethernet ports with my Cat6 cable, same results.
I did a little bit of googlin and went through regedit, cpu-z validator. I don't have spectre mitigation enabled, It's not even patched cuz I never update my windows  sad.gif .

should I just give up and call TM to send their technician over? confused.gif
hmm.gif
Contact TM via live chat and ask the agent to 'refresh' your account.

Got a feeling your account might be miscapped. It happens!
JCogent
post Nov 2 2018, 03:48 PM

143 posts

Hi guys, i just got the speed upgrade to 300Mbps recently and ran into some weird problems. Hopefully someone here can shed some light on this issue.

My house has a concealed cat 6 cable and i use this to connect between the BTU and router (D-link DIR882), with this setup my speed is capped at 100Mbps. However when i go direct from router to btu with another cable, and run connect a laptop via the concealed CAT 6 to the router i can get max speed of 300Mbps.

BTU >> Concealed Cat6 >> Router >> Laptop = 100Mbps
BTU >> Router >> Concealed Cat6 >> Laptop = 300Mbps

So basically we can conclude that there is nothing wrong with the concealed cable, but i don't quite understand what is causing the difference in speed.
skylinelover
post Nov 2 2018, 03:50 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

Yay parking here laugh.gif laugh.gif

371 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:50 AM