TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

SUSCandy12
post Oct 19 2020, 03:57 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 19 2020, 06:23 AM)
If your place is a high rise building, easier to come in because, the residents and Management have the power to invite them in. No such thing as cuz TM is there they can’t. Such monopoly has now been properly made illegal, basically your place can’t have an exclusive contract with only one provider. TIME would be eager to enter if enough interest has been shown by occupants to sub/switch to them. Cuz it’s high rise, cost of installation is cheaper as they “just unroll the cables upwards & inwards”.

For landed? That’s a more difficult job... Have to apply this that, dig more all over the place to hide the cables, etc.. And all that makes it a harder entry for TIME.
This is no longer the case for LANDED in years to come for fibre deployment.It is more ECONOMICAL and EASIER to serve landed properties/small townhomes apartments called "mansions" in the near future because the ISP does not need to approach the building's JMB/management/developer to get things sorted out for approvals.

Japan is a good case study to look at this approach now. Their higher tiered plans and exclusive ISPs such as the country's FASTEST rated ISP, Sony NURO only serves landed and small townhomes(mansions) no more than 3-5 storeys high. If your building is HIGHER than 5 storeys, they will NOT come and UNLIKELY you will get to subscribe to the higher tiered 10G plans with less contention ratio. These kind of higher tiered plans are also catered to more richer segment of societies who can afford their own landed homes with more privacy.

Sony NURO has a dark fibre leasing agreement with NTT to rent their unused spare fibre cables which they mostly serve the Tokyo Metropolitan areas.

We have local companies such as TNB(Tenaga) now willing to do the same by building new fibre networks around the country for landed properties and renting spare cables as dark fibres for interested ISPs. The wholesale approach which TM does using layer 3 routing instead is not favored by some ISPs because they want more control over their own network/pricing.

Fibre optic cables are going to get 10X much cheaper due to manufacturing process improvements, advanced cheaper passive splitters and cable pulling methods.

When "apartments" and small mansion homes in Japan it is these kind of buildings which they're referring to:

In Malaysia/Singapore, when we mention about apartments/condos, the general impression is a 20+ storey high rise building. These kind of buildings are much more harder to re-wire with fibre once they get old. You need to find enough of spaces for your conduits to route the fibre cables and the trouble of getting the approvals with the building management.

blacktubi
post Oct 19 2020, 04:07 PM

-
8,420 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Oct 19 2020, 03:15 PM)
Hi guys,

Does anyone try to apply 2 services in one address with sharing ONT ?
Why would you want to do that?
Vincent6596
post Oct 19 2020, 07:40 PM

472 posts

possible to know that time 100mbps package average how many ping MS will get when running speedtest??
SUSCandy12
post Oct 19 2020, 07:52 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Oct 19 2020, 07:40 PM)
possible to know that time 100mbps package average how many ping MS will get when running speedtest??
You must mention the destination and country.

Ping to where? Local server? SG server? Japan server? Aussie server? US server? EU server? African Server?
Where?
Vincent6596
post Oct 19 2020, 09:12 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 19 2020, 07:52 PM)
You must mention the destination and country.

Ping to where? Local server? SG server? Japan server? Aussie server? US server? EU server? African Server?
Where?
i just run speedtest to time MY server only.

SUSCandy12
post Oct 19 2020, 10:13 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Oct 19 2020, 09:12 PM)
i just run speedtest to time MY server only.
Just ask anyone here with a 100M Time user here to do a manual CLI terminal ping to:
CODE

Malaysia
speed.time.com.my

Singapore
speedtest.singnet.com.sg
www.speedtest.com.sg

No need to do it at Ookla's website.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Oct 19 2020, 10:13 PM
tzeyong
post Oct 20 2020, 03:13 PM

48 posts

I am looking for TIME ownership transfer:
Plan: 100Mbps RM99
Area: klang valley
Want to start by asap
Contract 1 year or before Nov-2021

Please let me know if you want to transfer.
kindly pm me,
Green_lemontea
post Oct 20 2020, 04:29 PM

233 posts

Does anyone has a picture of how exposed or how the technician glue the Fibre cable inside the condo unit? Is it at the ceiling or on the floor? Pictures will be great to better understand it.

I've scheduled for next week but I'm really concern about the cable being exposed in my unit.
karising
post Oct 20 2020, 06:14 PM

If heaven is better why we still stay on Earth?
558 posts

Just switch from Maxis to TIME 100Mbps since last Friday, was given the new router TP-LINK EC230, tested with iphone on 5Ghz wifi speed and stability were excellent, very stable 100Mbps during speedtest. However, when using SmartTV, tvbox, desktop using the 2.4ghz wifi, connection not stable and will have sudden drop, never experience it during Maxis. The router firmware is the latest 20200827 and i have check this thread history but couldnt find a real solution. Anyone can solve this problem? Please share. Thanks!
FusionXY
post Oct 20 2020, 06:55 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Oct 20 2020, 04:29 PM)
Does anyone has a picture of how exposed or how the technician glue the Fibre cable inside the condo unit? Is it at the ceiling or on the floor? Pictures will be great to better understand it.

I've scheduled for next week but I'm really concern about the cable being exposed in my unit.
Either on the floor or on the ceiling.
You can discuss with the technician to put either one.

SUSCandy12
post Oct 20 2020, 07:19 PM

1,878 posts

If possible I'd rather use nail in clips than hot glue. They look neater and last longer. Removal also easier and holes can be patched back easily with wall plasters.
voncrane
post Oct 20 2020, 08:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 19 2020, 03:57 PM)
This is no longer the case for LANDED in years to come for fibre deployment.It is more ECONOMICAL and EASIER to serve landed properties/small townhomes apartments called "mansions" in the near future because the ISP does not need to approach the building's JMB/management/developer to get things sorted out for approvals.

Japan is a good case study to look at this approach now. Their higher tiered plans and exclusive ISPs such as the country's FASTEST rated ISP, Sony NURO only serves landed and small townhomes(mansions) no more than 3-5 storeys high. If your building is HIGHER than 5 storeys, they will NOT come and UNLIKELY you will get to subscribe to the higher tiered 10G plans with less contention ratio. These kind of higher tiered plans are also catered to more richer segment of societies who can afford their own landed homes with more privacy.

Sony NURO has a dark fibre leasing agreement with NTT to rent their unused spare fibre cables which they mostly serve the Tokyo Metropolitan areas.

We have local companies such as TNB(Tenaga) now willing to do the same by building new fibre networks around the country for landed properties and renting spare cables as dark fibres for interested ISPs. The wholesale approach which TM does using layer 3 routing instead is not favored by some ISPs because they want more control over their own network/pricing.

Fibre optic cables are going to get 10X much cheaper due to manufacturing process improvements, advanced cheaper passive splitters and cable pulling methods.

When "apartments" and small mansion homes in Japan it is these kind of buildings which they're referring to:

In Malaysia/Singapore, when we mention about apartments/condos, the general impression is a 20+ storey high rise building. These kind of buildings are much more harder to re-wire with fibre once they get old. You need to find enough of spaces for your conduits to route the fibre cables and the trouble of getting the approvals with the building management.
In all above.. You forgot to factor in one thing. Malaysia and our politics. You should try getting approvals to rollout cabling in Raman’s that have existed for decades. Places where even TM despite milking for years, still refuse to upgrade the area. Typically ONLY NEW landed developments can have that near guaranteed luxury of being pre-setup with TIME and or other ISP. Most well-established (read older) landed developments are a pain to get into and expand. It’s a simple business decision. TIME cant simply go through the hassle to roll out only for few people to take them up. Why?

Lastly, unless there’s some “politics” involved. It’s easy to get approval from residents and building management of older condos and apartments. Give you example, we were paying TM RM139 for 30Mbps up & down. In walks TIME who says for RM149 I can get symmetrical 500Mbps up and down, PLUS they will pay the early termination fee for switching from TM.. As one who worked directly with TIME, residents and the building management.. The TIME deal was a no-brainer, so getting signatures and approvals was a “walk in the park”. That would not have been possible if I was living in some similarly aged or older landed area. Don’t believe? Hit up someone in TIME that handles such. sweat.gif

No pic but it’s a relatively tiny white cable. Skirtings are white as well, so had ours ran along the top of the skirting. After awhile you forget it’s there. IIRC, just glue was used.. so far so good.

QUOTE(karising @ Oct 20 2020, 06:14 PM)
Just switch from Maxis to TIME 100Mbps since last Friday, was given the new router TP-LINK EC230, tested with iphone on 5Ghz wifi speed and stability were excellent, very stable 100Mbps during speedtest. However, when using SmartTV, tvbox, desktop using the 2.4ghz wifi, connection not stable and will have sudden drop, never experience it during Maxis. The router firmware is the latest 20200827 and i have check this thread history but couldnt find a real solution. Anyone can solve this problem? Please share. Thanks!
Switch to 5Ghz network or move your devices closer to the router or vice versa. As for the desktop? If critical, gaming etc... I strongly recommend that you just run a dedicated cable to it.

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 20 2020, 07:19 PM)
If possible I'd rather use nail in clips than hot glue. They look neater and last longer. Removal also easier and holes can be patched back easily with wall plasters.
True.... However, I can see renters being reluctant to poke holes in someone else’s wall. Later kena landlord/agent from hell.. Say bye bye to your deposit. whistling.gif

Green_lemontea
post Oct 20 2020, 08:41 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 20 2020, 07:19 PM)
Is it possible to request them for nail in clips? Sorry, do you mean they will use hot glue from the box outside my unit, into the my unit, throughout the entire ceiling and then down to the middle of the wall where my wall jack is? blink.gif

This post has been edited by Green_lemontea: Oct 20 2020, 08:43 PM
SUSCandy12
post Oct 20 2020, 08:44 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Green_lemontea @ Oct 20 2020, 08:41 PM)
Is it possible to request them for nail in clips?
The installer who did my home used nail in clips(small ones since fibre cables were very thin) they are unnoticeable when run along cable covers.
Green_lemontea
post Oct 20 2020, 08:47 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 20 2020, 08:44 PM)
The installer who did my home used nail in clips(small ones since fibre cables were very thin) they are unnoticeable when run along cable covers.
Will they help to cover it back using cable cover also? Sigh. But I don't know if this installer is willing to do that. I don't even have their phone number....
jjj2
post Oct 20 2020, 08:52 PM

3,608 posts

Don't worry the cable is 2.5mm width in white color, barely noticeble.

Depends on condition, sometimes we will glue at the edge of the ceiling, sometimes on top of your floor skirting.

Green_lemontea
post Oct 20 2020, 08:55 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Oct 20 2020, 08:52 PM)
Don't worry the cable is 2.5mm width in white color, barely noticeble.

Depends on condition, sometimes we will glue at the edge of the ceiling, sometimes on top of your floor skirting.

Thank you. Hope all will be well. nod.gif
Vincent6596
post Oct 20 2020, 09:30 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 19 2020, 10:13 PM)
Just ask anyone here with a 100M Time user here to do a manual CLI terminal ping to:
CODE

Malaysia
speed.time.com.my

Singapore
speedtest.singnet.com.sg
www.speedtest.com.sg

No need to do it at Ookla's website.
okay, thx for the info biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
syderfn P
post Oct 21 2020, 05:37 AM

Probation

Hi guys, i have Time 1Gbps package with the dir-882. I want to know whether TP link archer ax20 is a good upgrade for my package in terms of speed and coverage. I'm planning to buy a wifi 6 card for my pc.
Hevlaska
post Oct 21 2020, 01:23 PM

366 posts

Hi, I wanted to move my Time from one location to another. 1 week+ prior to that, I've submitted a relocation request and was given a confirmed appointment date which was yesterday.

Last minute today I was suddenly told that the port in the new location is full and I would have to wait till January before I can install?

I find this rather disappointing and irresponsible of Time. Especially during these hard times and CMCO where internet is lifeline for most of us that have to make a living at home.

Is there an alternative solution to this or anyone facing similar situation that can share your method of resolution?

670 Pages « < 306 307 308 309 310 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:48 PM