TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

jjj2
post Oct 20 2018, 08:59 PM

3,605 posts

QUOTE(rewlie @ Oct 20 2018, 01:05 PM)
im having issue with tplink c1200 whereby this router prompted ipv6 to my device even i have disabled it from router itself, TIME will only replace this with dlink 882 once my contract hit 12 months, so now i need to find a replacement while waiting for TIME, any router capable of doing what tplink does except the issue and not burn my pocket for time being? suggestion please.
Hi, after disabled the IPv6, try click the Save button.

As the javascript for turning IPv6 on/off is bit buggy.

nicholasmark
post Oct 20 2018, 09:26 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Oct 20 2018, 12:05 PM)
I'm able to hit around 180Mbps only.
If someone able to hit around 500Mbps then it could be my area problem instead of the router.
First have you tried testing the speed via wired connection?

I'm hitting 210-230mbps via 5ghz WiFi connection, standing right next to the router (DIR-850L), like holding the phone & laptop next to it. As I move further away from the router the speed decreases.

What about your hardware at receiving end? Laptop (spec)? Mobile phone (spec)? Might be the limiting factor, just my 2 cent.

tango1800
post Oct 21 2018, 01:58 AM

89 posts

Looks like Time has started to block some naughty sites.
Previously had no problems accessing these sites.....now they are blocked sad.gif
Macnair
post Oct 21 2018, 07:32 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(tango1800 @ Oct 21 2018, 01:58 AM)
Looks like Time has started to block some naughty sites.
Previously had no problems accessing these sites.....now they are blocked sad.gif
Change you DNS to Google or OpenDNS. They only restrict access using thier own DNS.
kelvin
post Oct 21 2018, 08:37 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(tango1800 @ Oct 20 2018, 04:26 PM)
Just installed D-Link DIR-882 yesterday.

Did some speedtest with my Note 8
Highest DL Speed
Standing Right Next to the Router: 485mbps
In another Room 10meters away (Note 8): 310mbps
In another Room 10meters away (HP PC with Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168): 230mbps

Previously using DIR-850.....i would say DIR-882 is a huge improvement.

However, I'm wondering how come my HP PC can only achieve 230mbps, whereas my note 8 can go above 300mbps at the same spot? Any advice?
You DIR-882 bought from TIME shop? I installed yesterday as well, installer PC can get 5xx Mbps. My company laptop cannot. May due to antivirus software. IP8+ can get 3xxMbps at 5 GHz WiFi,previous AC1200 only can get 1xx Mbps.
The problem I found if get the router from TIME is the firmware is for TIME Boardband only. Cannot change the firmware to D-link firmware.
Macnair
post Oct 21 2018, 10:12 AM

61 posts

Do you guys know how to set static DNS in dir882? I just see DNS relay in the LAN settings
Hunz
post Oct 21 2018, 10:39 AM

znuh
1,238 posts

QUOTE(tertiary @ Oct 20 2018, 12:56 PM)
With 850L I could get only about 250Mbps up and down on 5GHz. With Asus AC86U I can max out my 500Mbps connection, up and down. Client is about 4m away from the router, line of sight.
I see, thanks for information thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(nicholasmark @ Oct 20 2018, 09:26 PM)
First have you tried testing the speed via wired connection?

I'm hitting 210-230mbps via 5ghz WiFi connection, standing right next to the router (DIR-850L), like holding the phone & laptop next to it. As I move further away from the router the speed decreases.

What about your hardware at receiving end? Laptop (spec)? Mobile phone (spec)? Might be the limiting factor, just my 2 cent.
Wired, I think i manage to hit 500Mbps...but randomly. Not really stable.

For wifi receiving end is mobile phone (note 8) and desktop (dlink DWA182).
FusionXY
post Oct 21 2018, 10:54 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Macnair @ Oct 21 2018, 10:12 AM)
Do you guys know how to set static DNS in dir882? I just see DNS relay in the LAN settings
You want to set to Google DNS and etc?

xKeneshirox
post Oct 21 2018, 12:56 PM

338 posts

Question for sifus. TIME messaged me to say I got the 500Mbps upgrade, but when I did a speedtest, via LAN to the router, I still get abt 100Mbps. Is there something I'm supposed to do?
LAN cable is a cat5 iirc, if that makes a difference.

Is this a hardware limitation still? Or should I change my cat5 cables to cat6 or something?
FusionXY
post Oct 21 2018, 01:02 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Oct 21 2018, 12:56 PM)
Question for sifus. TIME messaged me to say I got the 500Mbps upgrade, but when I did a speedtest, via LAN to the router, I still get abt 100Mbps. Is there something I'm supposed to do?
LAN cable is a cat5 iirc, if that makes a difference.

Is this a hardware limitation still? Or should I change my cat5 cables to cat6 or something?
Cat 5 limit to 100Mbps only.

You should change to CAT 5E, CAT 6 or CAT 7.

Leohart
post Oct 21 2018, 01:12 PM

84 posts

reboot router...using PC with LAN cable and speedtest is 500mbps.
after awhile then redo the speedtest....drop back to 100mbps.
what is the issue here?
xKeneshirox
post Oct 21 2018, 01:31 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 21 2018, 02:02 PM)

Guess I'm going shopping liao. Thanks!
FusionXY
post Oct 21 2018, 03:04 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Leohart @ Oct 21 2018, 01:12 PM)
reboot router...using PC with LAN cable and speedtest is 500mbps.
after awhile then redo the speedtest....drop back to 100mbps.
what is the issue here?
What's your router model?

Try perform direct connection to ONU.

xKeneshirox
post Oct 21 2018, 03:11 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 21 2018, 02:02 PM)

Just changed all cables to Cat5e, still getting just 100Mbps. Should I contact TIME directly?
kopiride
post Oct 21 2018, 03:12 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Oct 21 2018, 01:31 PM)
Guess I'm going shopping liao. Thanks!
make sure network adapter card is 1gbps
Macnair
post Oct 21 2018, 03:57 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 21 2018, 10:54 AM)
You want to set to Google DNS and etc?

Yes, my devices are on static already but I wanted to set the DNS from the router so any device will get the DNS.
Leohart
post Oct 21 2018, 05:31 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 21 2018, 04:04 PM)
What's your router model?

Try perform direct connection to ONU.

TP link AC 1200.. what is ONU?
FusionXY
post Oct 21 2018, 05:35 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Oct 21 2018, 03:11 PM)
Just changed all cables to Cat5e, still getting just 100Mbps. Should I contact TIME directly?
What's your laptop specs and which router that you're using?

QUOTE(Macnair @ Oct 21 2018, 03:57 PM)
Yes, my devices are on static already but I wanted to set the DNS from the router so any device will get the DNS.
Go to Settings --> Internet.

Set your preferred DNS.

FusionXY
post Oct 21 2018, 05:36 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Leohart @ Oct 21 2018, 05:31 PM)
TP link AC 1200.. what is ONU?
ONU is the white cuboid box.

Try to reset your reset and see.
Before that, get your PPPOE Details ready.

xKeneshirox
post Oct 21 2018, 06:15 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 21 2018, 06:35 PM)
What's your laptop specs and which router that you're using?
I'm using a desktop. Mobo is GA-B85M-D3H.

666 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:06 AM