TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps
jack2
Feb 22 2024, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 10:43 AM) Hmm...i have just check with their LIVE chat support. Seems like no need to do anything on their end. For the record, last time i use my own WIFI router also didn't call them if i remember correctly. Just swap out with my own TP Link router. I have just renewed. Will use long term, now thinking if i can switch to the get 1st month free instead of the MESH router instead... got picture which MESH router they are given?
CommodoreAmiga
Feb 22 2024, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 22 2024, 10:49 AM) got picture which MESH router they are given? No idea. Only install tomorrow. Got what models being given out now?
jack2
Feb 22 2024, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 11:03 AM) No idea. Only install tomorrow. Got what models being given out now? I dunno. Mine one is crab haha... two units and both are MESH to sync. I would say, not good at all. Coz bodoh to sync each others.
westlife
Feb 22 2024, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 10:43 AM) Hmm...i have just check with their LIVE chat support. Seems like no need to do anything on their end. For the record, last time i use my own WIFI router also didn't call them if i remember correctly. Just swap out with my own TP Link router. I have just renewed. Will use long term, now thinking if i can switch to the get 1st month free instead of the MESH router instead... I think last time they dun give ONU (modem cum wifi router) but give standalone modem + standalone wifi router? That’s why u no need to do anything. U should be able to see the modem connected to wifi router now. For casual user maybe they will be happy with the free wifi 6 mesh routers they gave? But personally to me they sucks especially if u play online game like me. The latency sucks. Personal experience told me that even a tri-band wifi 5 is better than a dual-band wifi 6.
westlife
Feb 22 2024, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 22 2024, 10:49 AM) got picture which MESH router they are given? I had posted pictures previously in this thread of the latest models of Huawei ONU mesh they give nowadays.
INGfusion
Feb 22 2024, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 11:22 AM) I think last time they dun give ONU (modem cum wifi router) but give standalone modem + standalone wifi router? That’s why u no need to do anything. U should be able to see the modem connected to wifi router now. For casual user maybe they will be happy with the free wifi 6 mesh routers they gave? But personally to me they sucks especially if u play online game like me. The latency sucks. Personal experience told me that even a tri-band wifi 5 is better than a dual-band wifi 6. yeah too bad now only give 2 in 1 device, but ok la you can free up 1 socket plug
westlife
Feb 22 2024, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(INGfusion @ Feb 22 2024, 11:30 AM) yeah too bad now only give 2 in 1 device, but ok la you can free up 1 socket plug  Technically cannot free up Becos what they gave is trash anyway. So ultimately one will need to use own router and use one of the given trash as modem.
CommodoreAmiga
Feb 22 2024, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 11:45 AM) Technically cannot free up Becos what they gave is trash anyway. So ultimately one will need to use own router and use one of the given trash as modem. Ok, i think just go ahead with it. Initially thinking to contact them see if can change promo. But never mind lah, treat it as RM119 router. If tested to be lousy, then i go shopping for new router. So i should ask them configure one as modem and one as router right? Then next time i can change new router easily. btw, i am new to all these mesh network thing. Based on my readings here, does it means if i set 1 unit as modem/router, this unit can sync/link to a second unit which i put somewhere else to improve the wifi coverage? Does it means that both units are actually same and just need to be configured accordingly? This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 22 2024, 01:37 PM
ludsliew
Feb 22 2024, 04:40 PM
I have just signed up a renewal contract with TIME and upgraded to 500mbps package. I thought of getting a vertical type (due to space limiting issue) router, such as Asus RT-AX86U Pro or TP-link Archer BE805. Any sifu here using it now? Any feedback on which one should i take? Furthermore, does the TIME mesh node that comes FOC can be linked to the abovementioned model router?
BladeRider88
Feb 22 2024, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 22 2024, 10:49 AM) got picture which MESH router they are given? They gave me this Huawei Optixstar HG8145X6-10 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5396393
tzh2001
Feb 22 2024, 05:26 PM
my contract end and only gotten this i wan cheaper internet instead of faster
jjj2
Feb 22 2024, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 08:45 AM) You can use different brand wifi mesh? This can be set in the router yourself or need TIME to do something at their backend? Perhaps i just request them not to setup any nodes at all since i don't need them? Currently my rooms can get full 100Mbps just by using 5Ghz AC with my old TPLINK router AC1200. Yes, you can request them not to setup & stick back to your old device if that performs better, but Archer AC1200 is very old & this model tends to reset by itself.
jjj2
Feb 22 2024, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 01:32 PM) Ok, i think just go ahead with it. Initially thinking to contact them see if can change promo. But never mind lah, treat it as RM119 router. If tested to be lousy, then i go shopping for new router. So i should ask them configure one as modem and one as router right? Then next time i can change new router easily. If you are given with a ONT (2-in-1 fiber modem + router, HG8145X6-10), and you plan to buy your own router soon, request them to configure it to be in Bridge Mode, then later you can use your own router to dial PPPOE.btw, i am new to all these mesh network thing. Based on my readings here, does it means if i set 1 unit as modem/router, this unit can sync/link to a second unit which i put somewhere else to improve the wifi coverage? Does it means that both units are actually same and just need to be configured accordingly? Yes, the 2nd node needed to be placed within line of sight to achieve optimal performance.
jjj2
Feb 22 2024, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(ludsliew @ Feb 22 2024, 04:40 PM) I have just signed up a renewal contract with TIME and upgraded to 500mbps package. I thought of getting a vertical type (due to space limiting issue) router, such as Asus RT-AX86U Pro or TP-link Archer BE805. Any sifu here using it now? Any feedback on which one should i take? Furthermore, does the TIME mesh node that comes FOC can be linked to the abovementioned model router? Go for TP-link Archer BE805. You will need to request the Installer to configure it ONT given to bridge mode, and your Router will perform the PPPOE dialing.
CommodoreAmiga
Feb 22 2024, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Feb 22 2024, 05:26 PM) my contract end and only gotten this i wan cheaper internet instead of faster  Honestly, i think rm99 is cheap liao and fair. Unifi got what Rahmah package RM 89 i think?but really for RM10...want to use Unifi?  Maybe a few more years they can upgrade RM99 to 200-300Mbps.
CommodoreAmiga
Feb 22 2024, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 22 2024, 05:52 PM) Yes, you can request them not to setup & stick back to your old device if that performs better, but Archer AC1200 is very old & this model tends to reset by itself. Yeah, really old, dust also so thick. Just now only i wipe. Later technician come see the dust, all lari... But so it's been reliable. I left it on 24/7. Only restart like 2 time per year when got problem. I guess maybe even the not so good Huawei Wifi 6 is also better than this ancient workhorse?  Lets try and see first. Thanks for all your replies btw.
westlife
Feb 22 2024, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 22 2024, 06:06 PM) Yeah, really old, dust also so thick. Just now only i wipe. Later technician come see the dust, all lari... But so it's been reliable. I left it on 24/7. Only restart like 2 time per year when got problem. I guess maybe even the not so good Huawei Wifi 6 is also better than this ancient workhorse?  Lets try and see first. Thanks for all your replies btw. :thumbsup: Given the model. Likely the Huawei one by time can outperform it…
ludsliew
Feb 22 2024, 08:42 PM
I have just signed up a renewal contract with TIME and upgraded to 500mbps package. I thought of getting a vertical type (due to space limiting issue) router, such as Asus RT-AX86U Pro or TP-link Archer BE805. Any sifu here using it now? Any feedback on which one should i take? Furthermore, does the TIME mesh node that comes FOC can be linked to the abovementioned model router? Go for TP-link Archer BE805. You will need to request the Installer to configure it ONT given to bridge mode, and your Router will perform the PPPOE dialing.
Thanks for your explanation, but it seems too technical for me to understand it. But I will get the installer to do what you have advised me. By the way, currently I'm still using the Huawei Echolife HG8042H GPON Terminal as modem, do i still need to use this Huawei device after installing the TP Link BE805 router? Or the installer will replace a new modem for me? Thanks again for the advice again.
This post has been edited by ludsliew: Feb 22 2024, 08:44 PM
westlife
Feb 22 2024, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 22 2024, 09:27 AM) wonder if other providers need 30 days notice for termination or just TIME? unifi also needs.
jack2
Feb 23 2024, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(BladeRider88 @ Feb 22 2024, 05:22 PM) They gave me this Huawei Optixstar HG8145X6-10 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5396393Mine one is Huawei Optixstar HG8145X6 without -10. Yours one has 10 stated? The MESH is not as good as TP-link. Sometimes I am nearby the 2nd unit and it is still connected to the main unit whereby my phone WIFI signal is not full. QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 09:17 PM) I can't wait to get it cancelled, but still has 27 days to go...look like a long waiting days! This post has been edited by jack2: Feb 23 2024, 09:14 AM