TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 23 2023, 05:00 PM

3,864 posts

hmm...i got offer from TIME for loyal customers.

RM 99 + Free 1 mth or Wifi 6 router for current 100Mbps.

RM 109 for 300Mbps.

RM 119 for 500Mbps

Free 1 month or get a Mesh Wifi 6 router.

Contract 24 months

Price drop coming soon? Based on what was told by our Minister suppose to have price reduction later of the year.

I want RM 99 300Mbps... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Aug 23 2023, 05:02 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Aug 29 2023, 01:49 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 29 2023, 12:49 PM)
Assuming Time revises the prices as such:

a) RM99 = 300mbps / 500 mbps

b) RM69 = 100mbps

For those on a 100mbps @ RM99 contract, will we be moved automatically to Package A or Package B, or we remain status quo until the contract expires?
I think the default is they try to make you pay more. It's a given.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 21 2024, 11:05 PM

3,864 posts

Hi, i am upgrading my TIME to 500Mbps soon. I am existing old customers, so got offer.

Anyway, i will be getting the new Huawei Router. Is it any good? How is the latency? I am currently using old TPLINK router (5GHz AC) and so far so good. Test speedtest from my room with WIFI get 3-4ms latency usually.

Appreciate any feedback, else i would need to get a new Wifi 6 router.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 21 2024, 11:05 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 07:00 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 12:11 AM)
Their wifi mesh is as good as trash. Dual band. Useless.
OMG. Should have opt for free 1 month instead of the router?? ☹️
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 08:09 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 07:02 AM)
If u are using wired backhaul between the mesh nodes, then not a prob then.

Or if ur house just needs one single router to cover the entire house, then it is still ok.
Actually, I just need one router. But I saw my upgrade got include one free mesh node? As long as the main router boleh tahan then I am ok.

Another question, since I never have Wifi 6 router before. All my devices are Wifi AC 5Ghz (except maybe my Nintendo Switch which has a lot of problem with Wifi AC and will only can connect with 20Mhz or 40Mhz channel). So Wifi 6 is still 5Ghz right? So do I set AC/AX mixed like that or set separate wifi SSID for AC and AX?
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 08:45 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 08:32 AM)
no need. Wifi 6 Default is backward compatible. Just one SSID is enough.

If u only need one wifi router then u can get max speed with it no issue if ur distance to the router is near plus no wall to block it. If u use their mesh child node, ur speed will technically be cut by at least 1/3 or more. Nothing to do with wifi 6 but just purely the dual-band nature of the mesh if u are doing wireless backhaul.

This is why I requested time to switch the main node to bridge mode and use my own wifi 5 mesh instead. They are old devices but good enough for me to get good signal and full speed with no issue.
You can use different brand wifi mesh? This can be set in the router yourself or need TIME to do something at their backend? Perhaps i just request them not to setup any nodes at all since i don't need them? Currently my rooms can get full 100Mbps just by using 5Ghz AC with my old TPLINK router AC1200.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 09:59 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 09:24 AM)
Cannot. The Huawei is an ONU device. That it is modem + wifi mesh.

U need to have time modem to connect to their network for internet access.

So if u want to use ur own device, u must contact time customer service to help u to switch the ONU to bridge mode which technically make the ONU modem only device. Then u can connect and use ur own wifi router/mesh.
Oh crap! Should i just ask them to switch to bridge mode and use back my existing AC router? Then later i go buy my own wifi 6 router? Any recommendations for Wifi 6 router?
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 10:43 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 09:24 AM)
Cannot. The Huawei is an ONU device. That it is modem + wifi mesh.

U need to have time modem to connect to their network for internet access.

So if u want to use ur own device, u must contact time customer service to help u to switch the ONU to bridge mode which technically make the ONU modem only device. Then u can connect and use ur own wifi router/mesh.
Hmm...i have just check with their LIVE chat support. Seems like no need to do anything on their end. For the record, last time i use my own WIFI router also didn't call them if i remember correctly. Just swap out with my own TP Link router.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 22 2024, 10:38 AM)
better don't renew if you do have plan to change in future.

Like me, I thought I will be using for long term hence to renew and get their crap modem+MESH router but it is cheap one.
I have just renewed. Will use long term, now thinking if i can switch to the get 1st month free instead of the MESH router instead...

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 22 2024, 10:44 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 11:03 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 22 2024, 10:49 AM)
got picture which MESH router they are given?
No idea. Only install tomorrow. Got what models being given out now?
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 01:32 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 22 2024, 11:45 AM)
Technically cannot free up Becos what they gave is trash anyway. So ultimately one will need to use own router and use one of the given trash as modem.
Ok, i think just go ahead with it. Initially thinking to contact them see if can change promo. But never mind lah, treat it as RM119 router. If tested to be lousy, then i go shopping for new router. So i should ask them configure one as modem and one as router right? Then next time i can change new router easily.

btw, i am new to all these mesh network thing. Based on my readings here, does it means if i set 1 unit as modem/router, this unit can sync/link to a second unit which i put somewhere else to improve the wifi coverage? Does it means that both units are actually same and just need to be configured accordingly?

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 22 2024, 01:37 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 06:03 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(tzh2001 @ Feb 22 2024, 05:26 PM)
my contract end and only gotten this
i wan cheaper internet instead of faster  sweat.gif

Honestly, i think rm99 is cheap liao and fair. Unifi got what Rahmah package RM 89 i think?but really for RM10...want to use Unifi? laugh.gif Maybe a few more years they can upgrade RM99 to 200-300Mbps.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 22 2024, 06:06 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 22 2024, 05:52 PM)
Yes, you can request them not to setup & stick back to your old device if that performs better, but Archer AC1200 is very old & this model tends to reset by itself.
Yeah, really old, dust also so thick. Just now only i wipe. Later technician come see the dust, all lari... laugh.gif

But so it's been reliable. I left it on 24/7. Only restart like 2 time per year when got problem. I guess maybe even the not so good Huawei Wifi 6 is also better than this ancient workhorse? laugh.gif Lets try and see first. Thanks for all your replies btw. thumbsup.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 23 2024, 10:02 AM

3,864 posts

TIME has upgraded the back end line. Now running on my existing equiopment.

My Room PC - WIFI AC - 24xMbps
My Phone (from my room) - Wifi AC - 24xMbps
Another Room (closer to router) - WIFI AC - 300Mbps
Wired PC - 500Mbps

Later after TIME upgraded the equipment, i will test again and feedback here.

Update:

I have a question. If i still setup a 2.4Ghz for old equipment, will it interfere with the 5Ghz Wifi band? I think i have found occasion where something funny happens, phone connected to 2.4Ghz wifi and it actually interferes with my PC badly. Once all join back to 5Ghz, no problem.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 23 2024, 10:08 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 23 2024, 10:58 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 23 2024, 10:02 AM)
TIME has upgraded the back end line. Now running on my existing equiopment.

My Room PC - WIFI AC - 24xMbps
My Phone (from my room) - Wifi AC - 24xMbps
Another Room (closer to router) - WIFI AC - 300Mbps
Wired PC - 500Mbps

Later after TIME upgraded the equipment, i will test again and feedback here.

Update:

I have a question. If i still setup a 2.4Ghz for old equipment, will it interfere with the 5Ghz Wifi band? I think i have found occasion where something funny happens, phone connected to 2.4Ghz wifi and it actually interferes with my PC badly. Once all join back to 5Ghz, no problem.
Wah Lau...

Wireless performance is a little worse across all, especially upload speed.

I tested in my room, then came out, the technician already smiled and say "Speed drop?". Guess he already know. doh.gif

I will use it a while and see how it goes.

My old TPLINK AC1900 also better.... bangwall.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 23 2024, 11:27 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 23 2024, 10:58 AM)
Wah Lau...

Wireless performance is a little worse across all, especially upload speed.

I tested in my room, then came out, the technician already smiled and say "Speed drop?". Guess he already know. doh.gif

I will use it a while and see how it goes.

My old TPLINK AC1900 also better.... bangwall.gif
One suprise. My son's Room WIFI has improved. He is using this GIGABYTE AORUS 450-I PRO motherboard with builit in Wifi. I check specs also WIFI AC only, not AX, but from 300Mbps previously now can reach almost 450Mbps...his room nearer to router. So i guess not all is bad. Also my Nintendo Switch can finally connect to the 5Ghz wifi without tantrums. Previously won't work unless it set to a specific channel (20 or 40, can't remember).

Hmm, i wonder if i get newer Wifi USB dongle supporting AX can get better speed?

CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 23 2024, 12:02 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 23 2024, 11:52 AM)
My contract end on 4-Apr for the 500 mbps package.

Is that possible for me to terminate my account on 5-Apr. Then sign up as new user?
With new sign up, then I get  6 months RM99 = discount ~ (6x40) ~ RM 240 + free modem also.

Edited:
On top, I could use referral code from a close friend to give him/her RM100.
But you will pay RM 139 every month after the first 6 mth, instead of RM 119. You will also be paying RM139 after contract ends as well. Likely old users will still be paying old rates even after contract ends.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 23 2024, 12:27 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 23 2024, 11:47 AM)
PCIe Wifi card is forever better than USB ones, most wifi 6 cards based on Intel AX200 are good

even on say, that Gigabyte board with built in wifi, you can actually replace the wifi card
guide: https://forum.level1techs.com/t/replacing-w...-strix/155874/2
(guide is for an asus board but it's all the same)
Something like this? I probably need to find one with low profile bracket as my case is low profile and very small (probably the smallest casing i know which still can accomodate a Micro-Atx board, size is like a PS4 but thicker).
https://shopee.com.my/Asus-AX3000-Dual-Band...5c-52e888fc074d

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 23 2024, 12:10 PM)
This is what I had shared. 🤪

But to be fair, all the free wifi 6 mesh given by telcos all the same. The mesh wifi 6 router I got from unifi also same especially they are all dual-band.
I only use 1 router. The other one still in the box, later sell in Garage Sales. Lol.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 23 2024, 12:36 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Feb 23 2024, 12:29 PM)
Saving is the same, both also save you RM240 for 2 years contract.
But as new account get you a free modem.

After 2 years, we expect broadband should be cheaper or faster anyhow.

Time didn't appreciate the long time user very much nowadays. I been using this TIME account since 2014.
I do feel reluctant to give away the seniority and start again as newbie, but free modem + RM240 + RM100 (for friend) is not a bad deal for the trouble.
I just upgraded. Get 2 units of free modem/router. But i am still using my old Modem (which is actually new, just replaced 2 weeks ago because old one broke). So now i i have 1 unit modem/router can sell off. Lol.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 26 2024, 02:36 PM

3,864 posts

Hmm..TIME Selfcare very hard to login now. Got problems? No problem with other sites or watching Prime.

Update:
I've just realized...my billing date is 22nd. So happens i asked TIME to upgrade on 23rd by coincidence since i am free that day. Billing ngam ngam cut off for previous month still old rate and start new rate this month, no pro rata thingy which is hard to count and maybe not fair to subscriber.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 26 2024, 02:39 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 26 2024, 02:51 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Feb 26 2024, 02:41 PM)
Yes, a bit slow.

Pro-rata is same one la.. Nothing different in term of billing cost.
Very slow..want to Pay money also pusing pusing forever.... dry.gif

0.0468sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:18 PM