301 Pages « < 285 286 287 288 289 > » Bottom

Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

lol4291
post Nov 19 2024, 05:53 AM

550 posts

My archer C1200 seems to be having issue after few years of usage. Currently using unifi 500Mbps, current router position is sufficient enough for coverage. Didn't notice any issue with it.

Looking to replace it, with a budget around RM200-300, ideally as low as possible, looking for bang for buck option. About 10-15 device to connect, none has wifi 6 as far as i know. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by lol4291: Nov 19 2024, 05:54 AM
YoungMan
post Nov 19 2024, 09:19 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(lol4291 @ Nov 19 2024, 05:53 AM)
My archer C1200 seems to be having issue after few years of usage. Currently using unifi 500Mbps, current router position is sufficient enough for coverage. Didn't notice any issue with it.

Looking to replace it, with a budget around RM200-300, ideally as low as possible, looking for bang for buck option. About 10-15 device to connect, none has wifi 6 as far as i know. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
TP-Link Archer AX23 or Mercusys MR80X. Both are Wifi 6 ready. In 2024 you shouldn't think of getting Wifi 5 router anymore.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Nov 19 2024, 09:19 PM
Omochao
post Nov 20 2024, 08:26 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(lol4291 @ Nov 19 2024, 05:53 AM)

Thanks in advance.
check on fb marketplace/carousell for used tplink wifi6 routers

if in doubt ..ask for their receipt and serial number to check with their live customer service on how many months warranty left.
adam_lew85
post Nov 21 2024, 12:00 AM

779 posts

Hi guys, does anyone know what is the main difference between zyxel 3logo and 5gee router?
deathninjax
post Nov 22 2024, 11:21 PM

124 posts

hi guys. can i use a router from the US in malaysia?
I am using unifi and the wifi 7 routers on amazon are cheaper than what is sold locally.
yenchenje
post Nov 23 2024, 12:29 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Nov 22 2024, 11:21 PM)
hi guys. can i use a router from the US in malaysia?
I am using unifi and the wifi 7 routers on amazon are cheaper than what is sold locally.
You technically can since there isn’t like a 6GHz restriction like what China routers does, but question is should you?

Warranty, returns, RMA all are going to be annoying if there’s any issues, if you feel like you’re ready to tackle that, then by all means go ahead

Personally I am fine with that if I had to since I’m a tinkerer and like to try stuff around, YMMV
HaN18
post Nov 25 2024, 02:36 PM

553 posts

Hi guys, I'm using Asus 2 XT2 V1 right now since 2020 but now I'm doing full WIFI CCTV setup, so i need wide ranger to cover backyard , car park and gate area.

my current consideration list

XT12 AX11000 RM1800.00(1 PACK) lots of place got no stock, i dont know why.
2.0 GHz quad-core 64bits processor 256 MB Flash 1GB RAM
2.4GHz 4x4 , 5GHz-1:4x4, 5GHz-2:4x4

ASUS ROG RAPTURE GT-AX11000 PRO RM2300.00(1 PACK)
2.0GHz quad-core processor , 256MB NAND flash and 1GB DDR4 RAM
2.4GHz 4x4, 5GHz-1 4x4, 5GHz-2 4x4

ROG GT6 AX10000 RM2320.00 (2 PACK)
1.7GHz tri-core processor 256MB Flash 512MB DDR4 RAM
2.4GHz 2x2, 5GHz-1 4x4, 5GHz-2 4x4

XT8 AX6600 RM1900 (2 PACK)
v2 1.7GHz Quad-Core 256 MB Flash 512 MB RAM
2.4GHz 2X2, 5GHz-1 2X2, 5GHz-2 4X4

i need triband for backhaul mesh, only wifi6 since i already have XT8

This post has been edited by HaN18: Nov 25 2024, 02:39 PM
dudester
post Nov 25 2024, 03:33 PM

1,223 posts

i need to extend wifi range to driveway/front gate. Rather then getting the 'pod' type mesh router, i will just get 2 standalone router with mesh-able tech.
Looking at Asus RT-AX57 (AX3000) as main, and a Asus RT-Ax55 (AX1800) to put at shoe cabinet outside the house.

Would this work and compatible (different AX speed) ?
The outdoor ax1800 is to support 1 wifi cam mainly.
dudester
post Nov 25 2024, 03:38 PM

1,223 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Nov 25 2024, 02:36 PM)
Hi guys, I'm using Asus 2 XT2 V1 right now since 2020 but now I'm doing full WIFI CCTV setup, so i need wide ranger to cover backyard , car park and gate area.

my current consideration list

XT12 AX11000 RM1800.00(1 PACK) lots of place got no stock, i dont know why.
2.0 GHz quad-core 64bits processor 256 MB Flash 1GB RAM
2.4GHz 4x4 , 5GHz-1:4x4, 5GHz-2:4x4

ASUS ROG RAPTURE GT-AX11000 PRO RM2300.00(1 PACK)
2.0GHz quad-core processor , 256MB NAND flash and 1GB DDR4 RAM
2.4GHz 4x4, 5GHz-1 4x4, 5GHz-2 4x4

ROG GT6 AX10000 RM2320.00 (2 PACK)
1.7GHz tri-core processor 256MB Flash 512MB DDR4 RAM
2.4GHz 2x2, 5GHz-1 4x4, 5GHz-2 4x4

XT8 AX6600 RM1900 (2 PACK)
v2 1.7GHz Quad-Core 256 MB Flash 512 MB RAM
2.4GHz 2X2, 5GHz-1 2X2, 5GHz-2 4X4

i need triband for backhaul mesh, only wifi6 since i already have XT8
I am too looking at range, but not like your budget. ChatGPT gave the below for Asus models. Looks like XT range is the way to go.

If you’re looking for an Asus router with excellent range, here are some top options to consider:

Asus ZenWiFi XT9
This is a mesh Wi-Fi 6 system ideal for large homes, offering coverage of up to 5,000 square feet with its router and satellite. It delivers impressive speeds (up to 7.8 Gbps) and is perfect for multi-story homes or larger spaces. It's easy to set up and includes advanced parental controls but comes at a higher price point【6】【7】.

Asus RT-AX89X
Known for its powerful performance, this Wi-Fi 6 router supports up to 10 Gbps speeds with excellent range. It features 8 gigabit ports and two 10 Gbps ports, making it ideal for homes with high-bandwidth needs and a large number of connected devices【7】.

Asus RT-AX86U Pro
This Wi-Fi 6 router offers great range and speeds (up to 900 Mbps) for mid-to-large homes. It supports AiMesh, allowing you to expand its coverage with compatible Asus routers. It's also equipped with gaming features and adaptive Quality of Service (QoS) for device prioritization【8】.

For very large spaces, a mesh system like the Asus ZenWiFi XT9 would be your best bet. For a standalone router with great range, the RT-AX89X or RT-AX86U Pro are excellent choices depending on your budget and needs.

dudester
post Nov 25 2024, 03:40 PM

1,223 posts

here are some reference for ranged routers

range
westlife
post Dec 7 2024, 12:08 PM

14,238 posts

Wifi 6/7 mesh are still very ex Sia seriously….

No choice but to stick to my wifi 5 mesh.
puremage111
post Dec 12 2024, 01:47 AM

235 posts

House type: Condo
Size of house: 1600 SQFT
Features required: anything
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 3PC + 6-8 Mobile
Internet Speed: 500 MBPS
Budget: No Limit

Current Router: AX3000 Dual Band WiFi 6
Paired up with: 2 M5 Deco

Problem
I think the wall of the masterbed room is too thick or idk, but the wifi strength seems to be super weak when it goes to my parents room, the signal literally left 1 bar or none
But then, i can't put the DECO in their room or near their room is because there's LACK of plug where i can put deco
My room also had pretty weak signal even one of the Deco is in my room
My internet is 500MBPS
i only get like 20 mbps download speed MAX (PC), using Dongle (Is it USB dongle problem or idk)
i only get like 50 mbps downlaod speed MAX (Phone)
Both at the same exact spot

Looking for
Priority: Router Upgrade that could help with Signal and Speed
Question: I can use the AX3000 as mesh router right? IF yes, would love to have Asus Router

Thanks guys

This post has been edited by puremage111: Dec 12 2024, 02:01 AM
monyetgila
post Dec 16 2024, 05:01 PM

132 posts

Router is in next door apartment which is my mothers house. house is side by side with shared living room wall..router is place just beside the dividing wall

previously pc was at my house living room so can get full speed and can game without ping spike

pc move to middle room..signal in windows 11 still shows full bar but speed was reduce to around 100mbps and got a lot ping spikes.

Planning on replacement router that can give extra speed and range just to cover the connection in the middle room for pc..other places is already covered with wifi not needed the highest speed as long wifi is connected is enough

current router: maxis kaon ar2140

Size of house: 1 floor 800 sqft x 2 = around 1700sqft

Features required: not sure if use any

Number of devices connected to WiFi: around 20

Internet Speed: maxis 300mbps on tm infra
considering upgrade in 2 months to 500mbps

Budget: below 500 the cheaper the better
TSblacktubi
post Dec 21 2024, 11:40 AM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(monyetgila @ Dec 16 2024, 05:01 PM)
House type:  Condo

Router is in next door apartment which is my mothers house. house is side by side with shared living room wall..router is place just beside the dividing wall

previously pc was at my house living room so can get full speed and can game without ping spike

pc move to middle room..signal in windows 11 still shows full bar but speed was reduce to around 100mbps and got a lot ping spikes.

Planning on replacement router that can give extra speed and range just to cover the connection in the middle room for pc..other places is already covered with wifi not needed the highest speed as long wifi is connected is enough

current router: maxis kaon ar2140

Size of house: 1 floor 800 sqft x 2 = around 1700sqft

Features required: not sure if use any

Number of devices connected to WiFi: around 20

Internet Speed: maxis 300mbps on tm infra
considering upgrade in 2 months to 500mbps

Budget: below 500 the cheaper the better
Change to Archer AX73 and upgrade the WiFi card at your computer

If it's already Intel AX200 / AX210 WiFi card then no need to upgrade.
TSblacktubi
post Dec 21 2024, 11:41 AM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(puremage111 @ Dec 12 2024, 01:47 AM)
Size of house: 1600 SQFT
Features required: anything
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 3PC + 6-8 Mobile
Internet Speed: 500 MBPS
Budget: No Limit

Current Router: AX3000 Dual Band WiFi 6
Paired up with: 2 M5 Deco

Problem
I think the wall of the masterbed room is too thick or idk, but the wifi strength seems to be super weak when it goes to my parents room, the signal literally left 1 bar or none
But then, i can't put the DECO in their room or near their room is because there's LACK of plug where i can put deco
My room also had pretty weak signal even one of the Deco is in my room
My internet is 500MBPS
i only get like 20 mbps download speed MAX (PC), using Dongle (Is it USB dongle problem or idk)
i only get like 50 mbps downlaod speed MAX (Phone)
Both at the same exact spot

Looking for
Priority: Router Upgrade that could help with Signal and Speed
Question: I can use the AX3000 as mesh router right? IF yes, would love to have Asus Router

Thanks guys
What is the model of your router now?

Since you are asking for ASUS router, I recommend TUF-AX4200. Just 2 units should sort out your coverage issue at your apartment.

If budget is more, consider ZenWiFi XT8, it's way faster.
Sunshape
post Dec 21 2024, 11:42 AM

1,027 posts

TPlink Wifi 7 BE230 is good to go instead of Mesh?
TSblacktubi
post Dec 21 2024, 11:46 AM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Dec 21 2024, 11:42 AM)
TPlink Wifi 7 BE230 is good to go instead of Mesh?
IMO, their AX72/AX73 is much better value than their own BE230 for now, get them while you still can

The coverage from AX72/AX73 is just much better compare to their BE230

And for mesh versus router, depending on your property type. For condo, mesh is almost always a must now.

For landed if it's not too big, you can do with 1x good router at center of ground floor.
Sunshape
post Dec 21 2024, 11:48 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 21 2024, 11:46 AM)
IMO, their AX72/AX73 is much better value than their own BE230 for now, get them while you still can

The coverage from AX72/AX73 is just much better compare to their BE230

And for mesh versus router, depending on your property type. For condo, mesh is almost always a must now.

For landed if it's not too big, you can do with 1x good router at center of ground floor.
Thanks. Why condo must have Mesh?
TSblacktubi
post Dec 21 2024, 12:01 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Dec 21 2024, 11:48 AM)
Thanks. Why condo must have Mesh?
Condo walls are usually metal reinforced concrete instead of brick walls at landed

For a rough estimate, 1 layer of metal reinforce concrete wall reduces 40% of the 5GHz signal

This means your 5GHz coverage is usually gone after 3 walls and barely usable after 2 walls

2.4GHz will be better but due to the nature of condo, it will have bad interference issue, resulting in ping spike or laggy WiFi calls

Hence you need mesh node extend the 5GHz coverage

TLDR: Condos are usually better built than landed and the metal reinforced concrete slabs are acting as farday cage

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Dec 21 2024, 12:02 PM
Sunshape
post Dec 23 2024, 10:44 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 21 2024, 12:01 PM)
Condo walls are usually metal reinforced concrete instead of brick walls at landed

For a rough estimate, 1 layer of metal reinforce concrete wall reduces 40% of the 5GHz signal

This means your 5GHz coverage is usually gone after 3 walls and barely usable after 2 walls

2.4GHz will be better but due to the nature of condo, it will have bad interference issue, resulting in ping spike or laggy WiFi calls

Hence you need mesh node extend the 5GHz coverage

TLDR: Condos are usually better built than landed and the metal reinforced concrete slabs are acting as farday cage
any diff between AX72 & AX73 and got pro some more (Found the differences)

Looking to get one during 1.1. sales

This post has been edited by Sunshape: Dec 23 2024, 10:43 PM

301 Pages « < 285 286 287 288 289 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:12 PM