Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for WiFi 6 (Home Networking)

views
     
wirelessbuyer
post Jan 22 2021, 02:54 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
232 posts

Joined: Jul 2012
QUOTE(jpong1 @ Jan 22 2021, 02:43 PM)
thanks for reply, I missed the boat.
BTW, how's the coverage ? stable ?

smile.gif
*
Not yet received, seller only ship out yesterday so damn slow. I'll report back once received and testing it, currently still using the stock time ac1200.
zalezale
post Jan 22 2021, 03:32 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
65 posts

Joined: Sep 2019
QUOTE(kk131 @ Jan 19 2021, 10:17 PM)
Technician computer shop usually can do ?
kk131
post Jan 22 2021, 05:45 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
387 posts

Joined: Jun 2005
From: Somewhere over the rainbow


QUOTE(zalezale @ Jan 22 2021, 03:32 PM)
Technician computer shop usually can do ?
*
If you don't feel confident to do it yourself, maybe you could ask on the Thinkpad forums here. I've never set foot in a PC shop for years and I don't have a very high opinion of their capabilities.

One of my laptops is a X220, it was straightforward to flash a whitelisted BIOS, the X230 seems to be more involved.
wokies
post Jan 22 2021, 11:53 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
290 posts

Joined: Sep 2013


QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 22 2021, 02:18 AM)
What's your plan speed and budget?

Thanks.
*
i didnt plan to have internet connection on that router, only as a cctv system...

thinking to buy between both the option i stated before ( max rm150)

will it work?

the plan is to convert the router as a nas server by flashing it with openwrt and attached a usb hard disk to it ( saw a video on youtube)

xiaomi cctv ---> router with usb connected to hard disk ---> to my pc ( to view the video save in the hard disk )

sorry if asking in wrong thread... confused.gif
fkinmeng
post Jan 23 2021, 03:04 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,985 posts

Joined: May 2007
Hi all, recently bought deco m9 plus, managed to set it up, but the problem is my phone's wifi keep disconnecting and reconnecting back to the wifi, this happened to 2 phones, 1 android and 1 ios if it matters.

I thought it will auto seemlessly reconnect to the stronger Deco? Anyone can help me on this?
chonghe
post Jan 23 2021, 05:40 PM

On my way
****
Senior Member
689 posts

Joined: Apr 2017


Looking at ASUS RT-AX56U and a search shows that the price was at ~RM280 just 2 months ago, how come now is selling RM425 cheapest? I thought computer parts usually becomes cheaper with time
fkinmeng
post Jan 23 2021, 08:50 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,985 posts

Joined: May 2007
QUOTE(chonghe @ Jan 23 2021, 05:40 PM)
Looking at ASUS RT-AX56U and a search shows that the price was at ~RM280 just 2 months ago, how come now is selling RM425 cheapest? I thought computer parts usually becomes cheaper with time
*
You checked during sales period? Prices go down heavily especially during 11.11 or 12.12.
chonghe
post Jan 23 2021, 09:06 PM

On my way
****
Senior Member
689 posts

Joined: Apr 2017


QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 23 2021, 08:50 PM)
You checked during sales period? Prices go down heavily especially during 11.11 or 12.12.
*
probably, I have a search on the model on this thread and see prices below 300
TSblacktubi
post Jan 23 2021, 11:05 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,469 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 23 2021, 03:04 PM)
Hi all, recently bought deco m9 plus, managed to set it up, but the problem is my phone's wifi keep disconnecting and reconnecting back to the wifi, this happened to 2 phones, 1 android and 1 ios if it matters.

I thought it will auto seemlessly reconnect to the stronger Deco? Anyone can help me on this?
*
Enable the fast roaming function then optimize the placement of your Deco units.

Reduce signal overlapping.
fkinmeng
post Jan 23 2021, 11:37 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,985 posts

Joined: May 2007
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 23 2021, 11:05 PM)
Enable the fast roaming function then optimize the placement of your Deco units.

Reduce signal overlapping.
*
Fast roaming is enabled, but how to reduce signal overlapping? If i put too far apart then the signal will show weak between main deco and the 2nd deco.
TSblacktubi
post Jan 23 2021, 11:43 PM

-
Group Icon
Elite
6,469 posts

Joined: Jul 2008

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 23 2021, 11:37 PM)
Fast roaming is enabled, but how to reduce signal overlapping? If i put too far apart then the signal will show weak between main deco and the 2nd deco.
*
If you keep walking in your house, of course it will keep changing nodes.

You can disable the steering function if you want by toggling the mesh to off for selected devices.
fkinmeng
post Jan 23 2021, 11:50 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
5,985 posts

Joined: May 2007
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 23 2021, 11:43 PM)
If you keep walking in your house, of course it will keep changing nodes.

You can disable the steering function if you want by toggling the mesh to off for selected devices.
*
The problem is I wasn't walking around, the phone's wifi just keep disconnecting.

Maybe i will try monitoring for a little longer.
adix4
post Yesterday, 08:31 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
******
Senior Member
1,242 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
From: Berlin

hi which one is better for a 3 storey house

but my goal for the connection is only for the 2nd and 3rd floor as the modem and router will be placed on 2nd and 3rd (twin pack deco)

My current router can get signal upstairs (living room) but once inside room everything is kaputt

Deco M5 or Deco M9?
FusionXY
post Yesterday, 09:00 PM

TIME Fibre
*******
Senior Member
2,497 posts

Joined: Aug 2016
QUOTE(adix4 @ Jan 25 2021, 08:31 PM)
hi which one is better for a 3 storey house

but my goal for the connection is only for the 2nd and 3rd floor as the modem and router will be placed on 2nd and 3rd (twin pack deco)

My current router can get signal upstairs (living room) but once inside room everything is kaputt

Deco M5 or Deco M9?
*
Which plan of ISP that you are using?

Thanks.
tachlio
post Yesterday, 09:14 PM

de~sign "ing"
*******
Senior Member
3,032 posts

Joined: May 2005
From: Penang *̡͌l̡*̡̡
QUOTE(adix4 @ Jan 25 2021, 08:31 PM)
hi which one is better for a 3 storey house

but my goal for the connection is only for the 2nd and 3rd floor as the modem and router will be placed on 2nd and 3rd (twin pack deco)

My current router can get signal upstairs (living room) but once inside room everything is kaputt

Deco M5 or Deco M9?
*
Mesh is not godlike solution, lot of consideration like wire/wireless backhaul, node location, device technology etc.
Eg, in term of max speed M5 and M9 Plus is equal if you wire backhaul.
https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/2423/
adix4
post Yesterday, 09:18 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
******
Senior Member
1,242 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
From: Berlin

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 25 2021, 09:00 PM)
Which plan of ISP that you are using?

Thanks.
*
unifi

blink.gif
FusionXY
post Yesterday, 09:45 PM

TIME Fibre
*******
Senior Member
2,497 posts

Joined: Aug 2016
QUOTE(adix4 @ Jan 25 2021, 09:18 PM)
unifi

blink.gif
*
How about Speed?

If more than 500Mbps.

I suggest you to get M9 Plus.

Thanks.
adix4
post Yesterday, 11:41 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
******
Senior Member
1,242 posts

Joined: Apr 2007
From: Berlin

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 25 2021, 09:45 PM)
How about Speed?

If more than 500Mbps.

I suggest you to get M9 Plus.

Thanks.
*
I believe we subscribe the 100MBPS

so the m5 makes more sense?
FusionXY
post Yesterday, 11:50 PM

TIME Fibre
*******
Senior Member
2,497 posts

Joined: Aug 2016
QUOTE(adix4 @ Jan 25 2021, 11:41 PM)
I believe we subscribe the 100MBPS

so the m5 makes more sense?
*
Yes, M5 should be enough for your case.

Thanks.

 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0248sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th January 2021 - 04:43 AM