Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

weixiong91
post May 18 2020, 05:36 PM

41 posts

Hi everyone, anyone here used the TP-Link Archer C58HP before? How's the performance in terms of 5GHz coverage and stability?
weixiong91
post May 20 2020, 06:00 PM

41 posts

Quick question guys, Deco M4 vs Dlink DIR 868L (please don't judge😂). Assuming only a single unit, which one gives better 5ghz coverage?
weixiong91
post Jan 26 2021, 02:03 PM

41 posts

Hi Sifus, which would you recommend for Tenda AC23 vs TP-Link AX20?

P/S: No Wifi6 devices at the moment
weixiong91
post Jan 26 2021, 06:06 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jan 26 2021, 04:56 PM)
Just go for TP-Link AX20 since the price is not much different. And, are you planning to change router again once you have WiFi 6 device?
My main concern would be stability and coverage. As for price, looks like the AC23 is at RM169 and AX20 is at RM270-ish.

And no, I don't think I will be upgrading my router when I have Wifi6 devices. biggrin.gif
weixiong91
post Jan 30 2021, 06:53 PM

41 posts

I just got myself an AC23 2 days back and set it up. Unfortunately, all the "wall killing" and extra long range wasn't the case. Comparing with my old DLink 868-L, the older DLink performed much better in terms of max 5GHz and similar performance in terms of range. This is especially surprising considering that the 868-L only has internal antenna vs AC23 which has 7 huge external antenna.

Anyone experienced the same thing as I have?

P/S: It is a Malaysia set with the latest firmware installed.
weixiong91
post Mar 12 2021, 01:05 AM

41 posts

Hi all! I've just encountered something and hope sifus here can advice.
Hardware:
1) Tp-Link AX20 (5GHz, Channel 149, 80MHz width)
2) DLink Dir868l (5GHz, Channel 149, 80MHz width)
3) Samsung Galaxy S7

When I connect to the AX20, I get a link speed of 433Mbps, however when I connect to the 868L, I can get a link speed of 867Mbps. Why does this happen?
weixiong91
post Mar 12 2021, 09:40 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Mar 12 2021, 08:07 AM)
What's the point of disable AX mode when we bought the router because of it's WiFi6 capable  :confused: ?
Yeah, when using TP Link AX50, I get the link variable link speed at 600mbps~1.2gbps. The speed won't always achieve 300mbps DL or 50mbps UL. Whereas when using TP Link Deco M4 as router (1 unit), I can get stable link speed at 867mbps, and the speed is getting 300mbps DL and 50mbps UL much easily.
Anyway, the above stated is not an issue to me, just feeling AC1200 WiFi5 may perform better than AX3000 WiFi6 is something not correct.  :confused:
Hi, so I'm not alone. You are experiencing something like this as well. FYI I have disabled AX for both 2.4G and 5G bands. But still getting the same result even when standing next to router
weixiong91
post Mar 12 2021, 05:58 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(kk131 @ Mar 12 2021, 11:49 AM)
Why are you operating both routers on the same channel?
Hi, they are not switched on at the same time. =)
weixiong91
post Mar 13 2021, 12:21 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 12 2021, 09:44 PM)
Once upon a time, there is a bug on Samsung devices where MU-MIMO will cause WiFi to be limited to single transmit chain which is 433Mbps.

Archer AX20 MU-MIMO is working by default. DIR-868L probably disable MU-MIMO by default if I'm not mistaken.

The AX20 should support 867Mbps for Wireless AC devices in theory.
Thanks @blacktubi, you were right. My S7 seems to be the problem here. I just verified with a friend's device and they were getting 867Mbps link speed on the AX20, 5GHz AC. Thanks a lot!

0.0242sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:01 PM