22 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

FusionXY
post Oct 1 2018, 12:14 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 30 2018, 08:32 PM)
C5400X is better.
Just done my review for that router.

That router got some ridiculous specs. It boots under 30 seconds.
Hi, AC5400X able to achieve 500Mbps via 5GHz further away from the router?

FusionXY
post Nov 3 2018, 01:24 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 2 2018, 07:00 PM)
tried to upgrade my TP Link Archer C1200 from TIME to V3 but failed. any ideas..?
What's your C1200 hardware version?

Normally TIME provide V1 to every customers.
Please do upgrade the firmware according to which version of hardware and software.

If V1 then V1
And so on.

You cannot install V3 firmware to V1 firmware.
Doing it so may brick the firmware or void the warranty from TIME.

FusionXY
post Nov 3 2018, 02:49 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 3 2018, 01:47 PM)
thanks. i thought V3 would meant a later firmware version. It actually refers to the hardware version.
TP-Link Routers have different Hardware version.

Latest version got more improvements than old version.
Some brands/models have different hardware version

TP-Link Archer C9 latest hardware version is V5 and mine is V2.
The old TP-Link logo is the full word in Capital letters while the new logo is small letters as my avatar.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Nov 3 2018, 02:53 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 11 2018, 07:44 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Nov 11 2018, 01:01 AM)
Good day,
I've few questions and thanks for enlightenment !

Questions :
1) What is the recommended router to support 100mb broadband connection speed?

2) What is the recommended router to support 500mb broadband connection speed?

3) I've existing Dlink DIR-615 router, which currently used for 50mb package, with the new package of 100mb, do i need to change my router in order to detect 100mb connection speed ?

Please read the first page of this topic.

You need to change your router in order to get the speed that you subscribed to.

Your existing router is using Wireless N technology which is very old. Wireless AC is the latest and AX will be coming in the future.
Your receiving devices should support 5GHz to achieve more than 100Mbps.

FusionXY
post Nov 11 2018, 08:28 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Nov 11 2018, 08:21 PM)
Many thanks for guidance, really appreciated it !
You're welcome bro.

Have a nice day.

FusionXY
post Nov 12 2018, 06:04 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(raemon @ Nov 12 2018, 09:53 AM)
Anyone using TP-LINK AC1750? Thinking of getting one to replace AC1200.
What's your plan?

I suggest you to get AC1900 and above.
If AC1750, get the V5 from OOKAS.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Nov 12 2018, 06:06 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 13 2018, 04:33 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(raemon @ Nov 13 2018, 10:38 AM)
Plan is 300Mbps. Just want to replace the stock router.
You can get the AC1750 for your plan.

FusionXY
post Nov 17 2018, 09:01 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(ebee @ Nov 16 2018, 06:41 PM)
Hi, I've recently purchased Amplifi HD to replace my default D-Link DIR-850L provided by time.

I'm having hard time setting up the Amplifi HD. It will auto-disconnect and says can't detect the internet.

I've tried a few ways, can't seem to get it work.

Need help.
You can get the Archer C7 V5 which have Bridging function.
As C20 is limited to 100Mbps only.
Cannot guarantee will get the same speed near the router.

My suggestion is to put LAN Cable from your main router to your place that you want to expand. What's your C7 hardware version?

Let me know what are the speed results?
1. Near the router
2. Further away connect to C7
3. Further away connect to C20

Since your C7 is only AC1750, I recommend you to get AC1750 or below. What's your budget on getting new router?

FusionXY
post Nov 17 2018, 05:38 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(hanaxxaru @ Nov 17 2018, 05:14 PM)
unifi notify me that i will get 500mbps in the future.. right now, the speed still 50mbps.. my c7 is v4 and LAN cable is not possible due to location problem.. so far, for 2.4ghz, both router can give 50++mbps even at the kitchen but for 5ghz, it will vary according to device range, cannot get full speed, needs to be really close or no obstacles.. my budget is around rm800 and below.. it will be nice if i can get only one router functioning, less hassle.. but it may give wifi coverage problem because my house is 2 storey bungalow..
c3150 can cover whole house? i noticed, the price is quite good for its tier..
You may get the TP-Link C3150 as SilentVampire recommended. Using one router can save electricity. You may sell the C7 and C20 once you bought new router.
Get it when he replies you about the coverage to you.

FusionXY
post Nov 18 2018, 08:02 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 07:51 PM)
@ dear all WiFi Router Sifu and expert,

Which one is a better Router WiFi between D-Link DIR 842 and TP-Link Archer C1200. I have a unit of both of these model and are deciding which one to use at my home Unifi 100 Mbps, stability is an important factor for me, such as able to last for a long uptime without the need of occasionally on/off the WiFi Router.

Both devices are around the same price, and both models are AC1200 lower-end budgeted Router WiFi and competing against each other directly.

According to blacktubi.com review, the D-Link DIR 842 wireless performance is tested actually faster than the TP-Link Archer C1200.
DIR-842 comes with 4 ext antenna while Archer C1200 comes with 3 ext antenna.
Archer C1200 has a more solid exterior material built than the DIR-842.

The DIR-842 comes with the MU-MIMO support while the Archer C1200 does not. However, DIR-842 lacks a USB port while the Archer C1200 comes with one USB port.

Thanks in advance.
Hi. You said you have a unit of both means you have it or don't have?

I would suggest you try Archer C6 which just launched.
What's your budget actually?

FusionXY
post Nov 18 2018, 08:22 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 08:11 PM)
Actually, I have a unit of both of the model. My brother applied an unifi line at his house and TM gave him the D-Link DIR-842 but my brother not using it so he passed to me, while another friend of mine applied for a TIME broadband Internet line at his house and TIME provided him a TP-Link Archer C1200, but he was not using it too, so now I got both unit of DIR-842 and Archer C1200 Router WiFi for free.  biggrin.gif

Gonna replace the TM RG4223 resident gateway the square look Router WiFi that provided by TM which I am using it for almost 2 years by now.

I believe either one (the DIR-842 or the Archer C1200), although is the lower-end model, will both be a significant upgrade over my current RG4223 Router WiFi.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Wow! So lucky!

First thing, will you be using the USB Port?
The D-Link one got label TM?
I suppose 4 antennas got more coverage

You may try and compare both.
Which one is suitable for you.
Your stock router is single band or dual band?
If single band only then it will be good upgrade to either one.

FusionXY
post Nov 18 2018, 10:19 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 18 2018, 08:35 PM)
Currently already replaced the RG4332 and using the Archer C1200 now but noticed that at one time the Router WiFi rebooted itself, I guess maybe the uptime was too long and need to reboot ?

the USB port I attached to the desk fan as of now, but it is not an important thing and a non-factor to me.

Yes, the old RG4332 is a single band of 2.4 Ghz WiFi only, some more the WiFi was not so stable, sometimes WiFi connected but no internet access, sometimes not able connect to the WiFi at all, need to on/off the Router WiFi when this issue encountered and it occurred quite frequently too.

Maybe I will use ad test the Archer C1200 for a month then try for the DIR-842 too.
Hmm... 100Mbps should be fine with C1200.
Well, I think this model have a lot of issues if more devices are connected.

Do try out the D-Link 842 later ya.

FusionXY
post Nov 30 2018, 11:33 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(musteck @ Nov 30 2018, 10:49 PM)
Hi, not sure if it's correct place to ask, need help for Maxis Fiber setup.

I just bought a Tenda AC6 as standby unit while waiting my defected ASUS to return.
'
I follow the manual instructions, to key in correct user name, password, 'PPPOE connection', 'Maxis profile' just like I did when setting up the aforementioned ASUS router back then. However after the setup completed, the internet couldn't connect no matter how many times i reboot/reset. I'm very sure the user name & password is correct.

However when I reconnect the Maxis provided Technicolor router, it can connect without any problems.

Is that anything I did wrong during the setup? Or did I get a faulty unit?

Pls Help, thanks.
Hi. Did you connect back from where the old router is connected?
Selected Maxis profile?
Is VLAN set?

FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 02:16 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(musteck @ Dec 1 2018, 01:53 AM)
If select Maxis profile, there's no VLAN option to set as it does it automatically

If select Manual, WAN VLAN ID is 621, then LAN VLAN ID is 823 correct?

Yes. Try that.

Is your router connected to LAN 2 of the BTU?

FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 02:47 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(musteck @ Dec 1 2018, 02:33 AM)
Just tried that, failed  sad.gif

BTU was connected at LAN1, just now changed to LAN2, still same
Hmm...

You may PM me the settings you set.

FusionXY
post Dec 1 2018, 11:36 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(car8on3t @ Dec 1 2018, 11:12 PM)
Hello,

Is Tenda AC10U suitable for 2 storey house? Current supplied tplink C1200 not stable enough. The signal seems strong, but quite slow at the upper floor. And, I greatly appreciate any recommendation for router around RM200-Rm250 budget.

Oh, I'm using the 300mbps turbo.

Appreciate your help. Thanks
What's your plan speed?

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 1 2018, 11:34 PM)
I recommend the TP-Link Archer C6. One of the best affordable routers I tested.
Hi, no disconnection at all?
How's the boot time? Is it very fast? Faster than C1200?

FusionXY
post Dec 2 2018, 08:11 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(car8on3t @ Dec 2 2018, 06:55 AM)
Alright, will look into it. Thanks!
Mine is 300 mbps.
Oh OK. You may get the TP-Link Archer C6 as blacktubi recommended.

Or if you can top up and get the Tenda AC18.

QUOTE(Mart @ Dec 2 2018, 07:40 AM)
Im currently using Asus AC66U (router) + TP LINK T9E (wifi adapter)

my package is 500mbps but with current setup, my wifi speed only top at 300mbps only.

Should i change to Asus AC86U or TP LINK C5400X for better value and performance ?
You can get the AC2300 router.
Don't need such expensive router.

We have one guy here using Archer C9 AC1900 + TP-Link T9UH AC1900. He managed to get full 500Mbps speed on Wi-Fi.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Dec 2 2018, 08:15 AM
FusionXY
post Dec 8 2018, 11:06 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(vivaz3s @ Dec 8 2018, 09:48 PM)
Need helps or recommendation for my case and option below as Im a beginner in networking stuffs:

My Unifi have been Turbo-ed to 500Mbps and am searching for better router than my old TRG212M. Read on the Unifi page and this page I have narrowed down to two options. D-Link DIR882 and TP-Link C2300. I know both of this router are more than capable for 500Mbps based on reading your review also. 800Mbps also can iinm. At least in the future if I upgrade dont need to search for new router again. Cables all are already CAT6 throughout my house. There is easily 10 devices using the network, most of it over wifi and smartphones. my house is 3 storey and the BTU and router is in the 2nd floor.

Any expert views or experiences on these two model on my two choices? Or is there any more recommendation other than these two? Same or a bit higher price range is acceptable for me. Tried to consider ASUS range but it is out of my budget already.
You may read it here.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Dec 8 2018, 11:07 PM
FusionXY
post Dec 9 2018, 05:13 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(ahaha @ Dec 9 2018, 04:59 PM)
hi, could use some experienced suggestion...

currently using Unifi 500Mbps. need WiFi to cover a 50feet x 70feet, double storey area (with brick wall rooms). the router have to be place at one corner so the WiFi will have to cover until 85feet (diagonal). typical connections: 10ish; max connections: 20ish

no option to pull cable or use power line, must use WiFi. intention is to have reliable WiFi coverage. can accept speed drop due to distance. appreciate suggestions to best setup the WiFi? budget rm1k +/-

Googled around, currently looking at either:
1) using TP-Link AC3150 router and one of TP-Link RE650 repeater
2) using only one 'beast' router such as TP-Link AC5400 or AC5400x or D-Link DIR-895L
3) mesh is attractive alternative but i believe will likely be needing quite a few satellite units so might be expensive to setup
Hi, I may suggest you to select the option 2.

Using repeater will reduce the Internet Speed over Wi-Fi.
You may get the AC5400X.

FusionXY
post Dec 9 2018, 07:23 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 9 2018, 06:34 PM)
What results can he expect with 500mbps and this router at 85ft diagonal distance with 5ghxz, different devices... 2x2, 3x3, 4x4...?
Near the router can get 500Mbps on 2X2 devices via T9UH.
Further away will be less than 500Mbps.

To get accurate full speed is by using LAN Cable connection.
It is impossible to get full 500Mbps further away from from the router.
Wait for Wireless AX. There will be more improvements over Wireless AX Router.

22 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1869sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:26 PM