FusionXY
post Jan 29 2021, 12:15 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(boboke @ Jan 29 2021, 10:56 AM)
House type: Condo
Size of house: 930sqft
Features required: able to penatrate 2 walls, because router will install in living room, the issue is master bedroom signal(which is 2 walls from living room) is quite bad.
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 2-3 at one time.
Internet Speed: 100mbps Unifi
Budget: RM200-RM700
Deco M5 Twin Pack will be suitable for you.

boboke
post Jan 29 2021, 12:46 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 29 2021, 12:15 PM)
Deco M5 Twin Pack will be suitable for you.

why do you think I need 2 units? Meaning 1 will sit beside current router and another one in master bedroom?
LightningZERO
post Jan 29 2021, 01:22 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

Hi guys, need your help. Noob at router matters but would like to see what I can do about my current situation

House type: Condo
Size of house: 1300sqft
Features required: Better penetration capability and range? Current router TP-link EC230-G1 (AC1350) came with TIME subscription, it has problem reaching my study room. Current the router is in living room. Been having disconnections quite frequently.
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 3 laptops, 2 mobile phones usually.
Internet Speed: 500 mbps TIME.

Budget: Below RM500 if possible?

Any advice
FusionXY
post Jan 29 2021, 04:46 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(boboke @ Jan 29 2021, 12:46 PM)
why do you think I need 2 units? Meaning 1 will sit beside current router and another one in master bedroom?
Yes, if walls are too thick.

Using Mesh Solution will help. As I cannot guarantee whether single router can cover over thick walls.
Most condominiums and apartments have thick walls due to soundproofing that your neighbor can't hear you very loud.

boboke
post Jan 29 2021, 05:32 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 29 2021, 04:46 PM)
Yes, if walls are too thick.

Using Mesh Solution will help. As I cannot guarantee whether single router can cover over thick walls.
Most condominiums and apartments have thick walls due to soundproofing that your neighbor can't hear you very loud.

Alright, got it, thanks man!
kogul92
post Jan 30 2021, 03:32 AM

59 posts

Hi guys,

I’m in a very confused state of mind. I have already made my mind to purchase Asus rt-ax56u until this sudden TP-Link ax73 comes up.

Need your guys suggestion/advice on this matter.

Shall I proceed with Asus rt-ax56u or go for Tplink ax73?

Thanks..
ideaplus
post Jan 30 2021, 09:18 AM

927 posts

QUOTE(kogul92 @ Jan 30 2021, 03:32 AM)
Hi guys,

I’m in a very confused state of mind. I have already made my mind to purchase Asus rt-ax56u until this sudden TP-Link ax73 comes up.

Thanks..
I owned AX56U also tempted to buy AX73 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Ichibanichi
post Jan 30 2021, 09:40 AM

327 posts

Hi guys,

Thanks..
Weight the pros and cons (depends on your usage)

Asus
Pro : can go mesh with selective model
Cons : expensive
Tplink :
Pro : cheap & higher data transfer rate
Cons : no idea as I don't use TP Link (long long time ago my experience with TPLink modem router is bad but now sure improve alot)

Others : depends on feature that you need/want to use it
kk131
post Jan 30 2021, 10:00 AM

566 posts

You need to compare the overall package offered -

Asus - generally good support for firmware updates, especially the popular models and 3rd party firmware
TP-Link - I don't have much experience, but from what I read not the same level of support as Asus
wirelessbuyer
post Jan 30 2021, 10:37 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(kk131 @ Jan 30 2021, 10:00 AM)

Asus - generally good support for firmware updates, especially the popular models and 3rd party firmware
TP-Link - I don't have much experience, but from what I read not the same level of support as Asus
Yeah agree with you. Hardware specs alone don't give the bigger picture here, tplink always win in providing value for money for the specs.

I was a tplink user and actually love their simplified web/app interface, but it's a bit limiting in feature set. For example, the opnvpn server is just a passwordless and doesn't support user/password connection, doesn't have built-in vpn client, etc.

Then I upgrade to ax56u, it was a culture shock to see soooo much advance feature available and very fast and snappier to load, it is quite overwhelming at first and after couple of days starting to get used to it. It's just the web/app interface IMO a bit messy for my liking.

Maybe for normal day-to-day user, this feature set is not really matter for them anyway, in that case perhaps tplink maybe a clear choice? sweat.gif
kk131
post Jan 30 2021, 10:53 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(wirelessbuyer @ Jan 30 2021, 10:37 AM)
Yeah agree with you. Hardware specs alone don't give the bigger picture here, tplink always win in providing value for money for the specs.

I was a tplink user and actually love their simplified web/app interface, but it's a bit limiting in feature set. For example, the opnvpn server is just a passwordless and doesn't support user/password connection, doesn't have built-in vpn client, etc.

Then I upgrade to ax56u, it was a culture shock to see soooo much advance feature available and very fast and snappier to load, it is quite overwhelming at first and after couple of days starting to get used to it. It's just the web/app interface IMO a bit messy for my liking.

Maybe for normal day-to-day user, this feature set is not really matter for them anyway, in that case perhaps tplink maybe a clear choice?  sweat.gif
Asus has Trend support for malware protection and QOS classification, does TP-Link have something simiilar? The Trend Licence cost is included in the Asus package.
wirelessbuyer
post Jan 30 2021, 11:35 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(kk131 @ Jan 30 2021, 10:53 AM)
Asus has Trend support for malware protection and QOS classification, does TP-Link have something simiilar? The Trend Licence cost is included in the Asus package.
Not sure about that, my old tplink doesn't come with any malware protection but the latest model does, homeshield powered by avira, free/paid subscription model.

QOS on my old tplink is just basic one, device priority. For ax56u, it even support per device bandwidth limit that works almost 99% of the speed target set.
JasonSoh
post Jan 30 2021, 11:45 AM

14 posts

I’m using C3150 V2 now and have just pre-ordered AX73. I live in a 2 1/2 storey house. My router will be placed in the first floor. I was thinking to make my old router C3150 into an access point, will it be like Mesh or will it have another WiFi connection?

To make the old router to become an AP, need to pull LAN cable as well? Need advice on this. Thanks.
TSblacktubi
post Jan 30 2021, 12:05 PM

-
8,421 posts

Hi guys,

Thanks..
If you just need a simple router that works reliably and very stable, the AX73 is a good choice. The WiFi performance is really good.

The parental control on the AX73 is also really robust and it does offer the Avira antivirus.

However, I don't recommend enabling those antivirus feature these days. Not only they slow things down, they are pointless as all browsers already block malicious URL by default now.

QUOTE(JasonSoh @ Jan 30 2021, 11:45 AM)
I’m using C3150 V2 now and have just pre-ordered AX73. I live in a 2 1/2 storey house. My router will be placed in the first floor. I was thinking to make my old router C3150 into an access point, will it be like Mesh or will it have another WiFi connection?

To make the old router to become an AP, need to pull LAN cable as well? Need advice on this. Thanks.
The C3150 V2 does not have a built-in repeater mode, you will need to pull a LAN cable if you want to use it as AP.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 30 2021, 12:06 PM
kk131
post Jan 30 2021, 12:09 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 30 2021, 12:05 PM)
If you just need a simple router that works reliably and very stable, the AX73 is a good choice. The WiFi performance is really good.

The parental control on the AX73 is also really robust and it does offer the Avira antivirus.

However, I don't recommend enabling those antivirus feature these days. Not only they slow things down, they are pointless as all browsers already block malicious URL by default now.
The C3150 V2 does not have a built-in repeater mode, you will need to pull a LAN cable if you want to use it as AP.
There's a lot more devices on my network besides PC's running Windows!
weixiong91
post Jan 30 2021, 06:53 PM

41 posts

I just got myself an AC23 2 days back and set it up. Unfortunately, all the "wall killing" and extra long range wasn't the case. Comparing with my old DLink 868-L, the older DLink performed much better in terms of max 5GHz and similar performance in terms of range. This is especially surprising considering that the 868-L only has internal antenna vs AC23 which has 7 huge external antenna.

Anyone experienced the same thing as I have?

P/S: It is a Malaysia set with the latest firmware installed.
zher4883
post Jan 30 2021, 07:36 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(weixiong91 @ Jan 30 2021, 06:53 PM)
I just got myself an AC23 2 days back and set it up. Unfortunately, all the "wall killing" and extra long range wasn't the case. Comparing with my old DLink 868-L, the older DLink performed much better in terms of max 5GHz and similar performance in terms of range. This is especially surprising considering that the 868-L only has internal antenna vs AC23 which has 7 huge external antenna.

Anyone experienced the same thing as I have?

P/S: It is a Malaysia set with the latest firmware installed.
Well marketing exaggeration as usual. There are routers that uses significantly better FEM Modules and didn't put as much emphasis on wall penetrating strength.
kogul92
post Jan 30 2021, 07:47 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ideaplus @ Jan 30 2021, 09:18 AM)
I owned AX56U also tempted to buy AX73  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Yeah. Exactly. The paper spec are so promising and the price is another matter for a AX5400 router.

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jan 30 2021, 09:40 AM)
Weight the pros and cons (depends on your usage)

Asus
Pro : can go mesh with selective model
Cons : expensive
Tplink :
Pro : cheap & higher data transfer rate
Cons : no idea as I don't use TP Link (long long time ago my experience with TPLink modem router is bad but now sure improve alot)

Others : depends on feature that you need/want to use it
Thanks for the advice. Actually TP-Link not too bad as well as I was using TP-Link routers all this while.
Just abit tempted with ASUS rt-ax56u.

QUOTE(kk131 @ Jan 30 2021, 10:00 AM)

Thanks. True. Asuswrt-Merlin firmware are cool. But thinking again on the usage. Then, probably I would needed a simple and reliably stable router. smile.gif
Asus definitely higher pace than TP-Link.

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 30 2021, 12:05 PM)

Thanks Sifu. I have did some research and read your review blog. Quite promising with spec and also with the price. I have made pre-order TP-Link AX73.
Thanks again guys.
petlu28
post Jan 30 2021, 07:50 PM

3,936 posts

Hi! All,
I have issued for the Internet connection. Sometime will auto disconnect. I have check speed thru speed test sometime can't get server. Somemore I reported ISP & come check or change original router but in the end also same. Do you think I should change router?
starz92
post Jan 30 2021, 08:04 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jan 30 2021, 07:50 PM)
Hi! All,
I have issued for the Internet connection. Sometime will auto disconnect. I have check speed thru speed test sometime can't get server. Somemore I reported ISP & come check or change original router but in the end also same. Do you think I should change router?
Same issue here. I just installed maxis 300mbps fibre and realised there is this random disconnection problem. It will reconnect back in a short while.
I read elsewhere that this could be a router problem? The router provided to me is tp link archer c5v .
Any recommendations on which router should I change? Or other troubleshooting methods?
Tq in advance.

302 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:31 AM