1440 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

Morning_Star
post Jul 26 2018, 03:17 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 26 2018, 01:48 PM)
Jason, can you recommend some brands of anti-RFID wallets ?
LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2018, 03:17 PM

6,256 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 26 2018, 01:48 PM)

I don’t have to be “grateful” to Big Pay. They are a business and I am a user. When I use the card they collect fees from the merchant. It is their call to introduce whatever limit they deem fit, and I’m merely pleading with them not to do this as it was an excellent product to begin with, and now they are just setting a course to be another (in my opinion) “meh” product.

I understand the logic they have a RM10k withdrawal cap. You shouldn’t really need to withdraw so much cash, since you can buy the LV bag by using the card and PIN. And I don’t want to carry RM10k or equivalent in foreign currency. But limiting top up when using credit card hurts genuine users.
Actually withdrawal doesn't cost BigPay much, it is the credit card reload that is their exposure, as they pay the merchant fees for that. Unlimited CC reload means unlimited liability for them (1.1% or so I think).

10k is already a very high amount for majority of their target market. The fact is you would not be able to use this card to purchase your luxury items since the max credit you can have is 10k anyway (this has not changed).

And I'm pretty sure there's very few 'genuine users' who will be hurt by a 10k CC limit, simply because those who spend (not withdraw) more than 10k a month are divided into a few groups:-

1. High net-worth individuals (these are the only ones who will be both genuine and hurt, though IMO it won't hurt much)

2. Those who use CC for company expenditures. Most CC have regulations against this, even if they're not enforced evenly. These I do not consider to be 'genuine users', as they're taking advantage of both the finance company's and their own business admin's laxness in enforcement.

3. One-off large spend (e.g. annual holiday). These users can reload from debit or online banking.
digidigi
post Jul 26 2018, 03:18 PM

1,745 posts

In short, instead of limiting top up, they should limit withdrawal, but of course, the reason behind is they can’t tahan paying cc company merchant fees, so we need another company to compete with BigPay right now.
hakkai0810
post Jul 26 2018, 03:19 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Jul 26 2018, 03:10 PM)
Ya lo, some people still say prepaid card can avoid u for overspending etc and credit card u using future money ....
don’t know how to answer really
actually i am curious if what the original poster mentioned is wrong / funny. any keyword to share so i can google on this to improve my financial mgmt knowledge?
LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2018, 03:22 PM

6,256 posts

QUOTE(hakkai0810 @ Jul 26 2018, 03:19 PM)
actually i am curious if what the original poster mentioned is wrong / funny. any keyword to share so i can google on this to improve my financial mgmt knowledge?
Basically they're referring to cash flow and interest-free period. Although at the relatively small amounts being discussed here, it really doesn't matter (much more important when you're a business, which is why GST forced lots of smaller shops to close down, cash flow constriction).
cybpsych
post Jul 26 2018, 03:24 PM

---------------------
65,262 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Jul 26 2018, 03:18 PM)
In short, instead of limiting top up, they should limit withdrawal, but of course, the reason behind is they can’t tahan paying cc company merchant fees, so we need another company to compete with BigPay right now.
limiting withdrawal will attract BNM! laugh.gif

later sure someone will come and argue the same thing again! biggrin.gif
TSfairylord
post Jul 26 2018, 03:31 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Jul 26 2018, 10:32 AM)
Haha. Honestly, this community is quite amazing. The level of engagement is huge and I see some good arguments being made. Anybody would be interested if I organised a Lowyat x BigPay meetup?
Well, to be perfectly honest, us absorbing the credit card charges is kind of a big thing. And in essence, we're not preventing anyone from topping up their BigPay. We want people to use our card as much as possible, and we also want all our services and fees to be completely fair & transparent. Rather than to start charging for something, we prefer to keep things free - even if that means imposing some sort of limitations. It's two different strategies smile.gif
notworthy.gif Exactly. Honestly, people don't realise but some of the work we're doing BNM is eventually going to benefit everyone in Malaysia - not only BigPay users. We're setting new standards and challenging old rules, where traditional players have been way too complacent for decades because of the lack of real alternatives.
QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Jul 26 2018, 10:48 AM)
IRL meetup, potentially at our offices. I'm thinking presenting our product roadmap, sharing upcoming marketing initiatives, feedback + Q&A session. Freebies, definitely. Tony, I'll invite him. We might get someone to video shoot the entire thing and ask you guys question, but yeah... This would really valuable for us too.

Let me know if there's an interest, and I'll make it happen.
QUOTE(hwachong @ Jul 26 2018, 10:51 AM)
on
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 26 2018, 10:54 AM)
good initiative. use us as your focus group  thumbup.gif

but split the session to diff types of bigpay users: light, moderate, heavy users

run a 2 hours workshop, bounce some ideas, share our pain-points, etc then you'll know from actual users whose using bigpay like a sacred unicorn card laugh.gif
QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jul 26 2018, 10:54 AM)
I'm sure some would be interested, depending on time. Obviously majority won't be able to make due to work/distance etc. though but am sure you'd get a useful number.
Lowyat isn't their support forum... go to their FB page or any other regular Customer support channel. This should be SOP for any technical issue and any company, not sembang in LYN.
QUOTE(donhue @ Jul 26 2018, 10:55 AM)
If can stream live on FB also good for us who are not in KL..
Let's not forget on this great initiates offered by BigPay Jonathan, I have created a poll for Lowyat community to Register Your Interest on participation on the meet up, so BigPay Jonathan could have an anticipated participation response to determine when to proceed the proposal. Once the details of venue and timing are confirmed, look forward BigPay Jonathan to put up official invitation to Lowyat community later on.

Appreciate members to participate the poll to register your interest.

I will put the below link to the poll on Post #02 for easy reference.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=235&t=4625881

Update : Sorry Guys, please ignore the poll as it has been deleted due some forum policy.

Update : Official page created for you to register your interest!

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Jul 26 2018, 05:25 PM)
Thanks for the support!

I already created a form to keep track of interest and potential crowd:
https://bigpay.link/lowyat-meetup

Let's make this happen smile.gif
Cheers rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by fairylord: Jul 26 2018, 05:40 PM
hakkai0810
post Jul 26 2018, 03:38 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jul 26 2018, 03:22 PM)
Basically they're referring to cash flow and interest-free period. Although at the relatively small amounts being discussed here, it really doesn't matter (much more important when you're a business, which is why GST forced lots of smaller shops to close down, cash flow constriction).
Oh ok. i thought there is anything new. for small fish like me , i guess no need care about this haha. thx for the explanation biggrin.gif
ClarenceT
post Jul 26 2018, 03:43 PM

14,905 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 26 2018, 01:05 PM)
I don't think it is relevant what I use to pay, as long as I can afford to pay. So what if one is carrying a Platinum card but rejected? Besides, I'm Chinese, I walk in LV @ Champs Elysees, they treat me like a boss along with the hundreds of China tourists there. When I was in Hermes in Frankfurt, the service was impeccable, simply because I was Chinese. I looked at the Arabs in there with me, they didn't get as good service as me, although they might have been carrying gold bars.
Exactly. It's god sent.
You don't claim back VAT/GST 20% ?
The VAT/GST refund/credit should go to the Visa/Mastercard that you use. Bigpay can store up to RM10,000 only so it may not be able to receive the VAT refund!

LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2018, 04:01 PM

6,256 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 26 2018, 03:43 PM)
The VAT/GST refund/credit should go to the Visa/Mastercard that you use. Bigpay can store up to RM10,000 only so it may not be able to receive the VAT refund!
Wonder how BigPay will handle that though (someone should test it). Reject the refund? Because I suspect their system will not allow more reload when amount is 10k, but if it will reject refund then quite dangerous even for local spend. Imagine you swipe to buy a laptop for 5k, then after that you reload to > 5k. If that large transaction refunded then jia lat eh.
willonsk
post Jul 26 2018, 04:05 PM

26 posts

I don't understand why ppl "worry" BP in losing "clients" after new implementation of max 10k cc top up than BP themselves.

Plenty of reasons given , blah blah blah...
the key thing is, nothing is perfect.

u want cc cash back, u want bp good ex rate , u want big point, u want free reload, u want this u want that..

Is it rationale ?
dont use plenty of beautiful reason to cover the true intention behind.

Genuine spender will adapt to it , that's all..

yvonnesoo
post Jul 26 2018, 04:15 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 26 2018, 01:22 PM)
I fell off my chair and still struggle to get up reading your reply

malaysia really is behind in term of financial management
laugh.gif well working in the financial institution and sad to say that really alot of people that couldn't pay off their cc debts
tan_aniki
post Jul 26 2018, 05:18 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 26 2018, 03:43 PM)
I think RM10k is the limit of the wallet but if something need to be reverse or refund, it will come back as well to make it over RM10k. Maybe BigPayJonathan can advise for this.
BigPayJonathan
post Jul 26 2018, 05:25 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Jul 26 2018, 03:31 PM)
Let's not forget on this great initiates offered by BigPay Jonathan, I have created a poll for Lowyat community to Register Your Interest on participation on the meet up, so BigPay Jonathan could have an anticipated participation response to determine when to proceed the proposal. Once the details of venue and timing are confirmed, look forward BigPay Jonathan to put up official invitation to Lowyat community later on.

Appreciate members to participate the poll to register your interest.

I will put the below link to the poll on Post #02 for easy reference.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=235&t=4625881

Update : Sorry Guys, please ignore the poll as it has been deleted due some forum policy.

Cheers  rclxms.gif
Thanks for the support!

TSfairylord
post Jul 26 2018, 05:30 PM

tag [@fairylord]
2,012 posts

Thanks for the support!

Fast move! Will put this in first page of this thread to promo the event. Cheers.

tan_aniki
post Jul 26 2018, 05:34 PM

9,052 posts

Thanks for the support!

Already stuck at 1st question…
Where can we reach you?
Email? Phone? Or you want to come to my house?
poteryu
post Jul 26 2018, 05:47 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(tan_aniki @ Jul 26 2018, 05:34 PM)
Already stuck at 1st question…
Where can we reach you?
Email? Phone? Or you want to come to my house?
means your email smile.gif
skty
post Jul 26 2018, 06:02 PM

There is only one thing I know. That is I know nothing.
4,505 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jul 26 2018, 03:17 PM)
Actually withdrawal doesn't cost BigPay much, it is the credit card reload that is their exposure, as they pay the merchant fees for that. Unlimited CC reload means unlimited liability for them (1.1% or so I think).

10k is already a very high amount for majority of their target market. The fact is you would not be able to use this card to purchase your luxury items since the max credit you can have is 10k anyway (this has not changed).

And I'm pretty sure there's very few 'genuine users' who will be hurt by a 10k CC limit, simply because those who spend (not withdraw) more than 10k a month are divided into a few groups:-

1. High net-worth individuals (these are the only ones who will be both genuine and hurt, though IMO it won't hurt much)

2. Those who use CC for company expenditures. Most CC have regulations against this, even if they're not enforced evenly. These I do not consider to be 'genuine users', as they're taking advantage of both the finance company's and their own business admin's laxness in enforcement.

3. One-off large spend (e.g. annual holiday). These users can reload from debit or online banking.
BigPay can keep on talking about how the business can help the society blah blah blah. At the end of the day, business still business la. Nobody going to run the business if they don’t think will make profit from it.

We cannot request something that is benefit to us at the expense of the ppl that we request from, definitely they won’t agree la.

So, best is win-win situation la. Charge % of fee on the extra amount top up using credit card after 10k lo...

You all keep on talking about genuine or non genuine user. What’s the importance on the differences? At the end, still is BigPay user, still contribute to the BigPay business model. Everyone got their own preference on the way of using the card. Smart one will do more things that are hidden benefit to them, less smart one will only use the surface benefit.

Haiyo. Very simple la.
foxxy
post Jul 26 2018, 06:03 PM

646 posts

Bigpay, to allow users to topup using credit card expose themselves to lots of risk (risk of losing instead of earning).

Absorbing the reload fees is one thing but bigpay will also have to consider the chargeback they receive in the event of users topping up using stolen credit card. I've tested and seems like bigpay will turn on 3ds for every transaction, which they won't be liable for any chargeback losses if credit card holder file a chargeback. If you think that 3ds is secure, you are wrong. If a fraudster manage to obtain your cc number from the black market, they will have the way to bypass 3ds verification.

Now that brings us to the next point which is the chargeback threshold. When you receive an excessive amount of chargeback, VISA/ MASTERCARD will query and fine you. I'm not sure what's the agreement like for bigpay however the fine can be few % of your monthly service usage turnover. Don't forget, for some merchant, each chargeback receive, there will be a chargeback fee regardless whether you win or lose the dispute.

I'm surprise when they allow us to topup without any limit. It's not sustainable. Even if it's 10k limit per month now, I don't think this will last long. Sooner or later, this option will phase out.... Oh btw. I'm from the e-fraud industry.

This post has been edited by foxxy: Jul 26 2018, 06:09 PM
chlee87
post Jul 26 2018, 06:09 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 26 2018, 07:51 AM)
why bank stop giving cb for bigpay? because the nature of bigpay itself, likely because bigpay's ability to withdraw/convertible to cash.

banks/cb identification* looks for actual retail purchases/payments (to end-merchants), not to a different card which can convert to cash.

not all banks/cards are strict, but there are some cards in post #1 have no issue.

now, *identification itself can be few parameters: mode of payment and MCC (registered nature of business). some cards are lenient, e.g PBB, as long as detected as Online mode, it passes. some detected bigpay's MCC 6012 as Financial Insitution and disqualify it.
the one getting calls for statement, it's their policy to monitor bigpay's users and flagged internally; it doesnt mean full block enforcement needed. there is no complete set of rules/policies set by BNM to do just that. it's up to each provider to setup their own detection rules and policies adquately to satisfy BNM before rolling out ewallet to the public.

if many bigpay users complaining to BNM about its policies and enforcements, BNM would then spring into action against bigpay to justify their policies and provide recommendations to do it "better" <-- tighter? more rules? etc etc ... you see, BNM let the providers make their own additional rules for as long as it doesnt compromise BNM's basic guideline.

if you are a genuine bigpay user, normal reload and spending is within general parameters. but if you reload excessively and withdraw excessively without much activities with bigpay, you're giving bigpay a big red alert  biggrin.gif

pace your reloads, pace your withdrawal. dont be greedy la.
internally, bigpay also to manage its operational costs and fees to other related partners/banks for the bigpay facility they are using (e.g. cc reload, fpx reload, all these have underlying fees to manage and pay!). we end-users are paying zero fees (to-date) to bigpay!
well, any ewallet with withdrawal capability is a double-edged innovation vs rules & regulations.
wow,thanks for analysis so much,what i say is cap 10k from credit card is not a big problem,but no one know when the bank will stop giving cash back on reload big pay,PBB card seems not getting cash back for reloading boost app,so whats the different between boost app and big pay app? and i had to declare that i do not withdraw very much from ATM,only do once in thailand for amount rm1k.

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 26 2018, 09:12 AM)
it is just a matter of time, I expect it may happen in 1-2 years from now.

(1) Credit card interchange fee down to 0.48% by 2021, so the credit card issuers will reduce cashback rate/amount.
(2) In Europe, you can use a Prepaid card to pay loan, same MCC (6012) but additional info must be provided to the card issuers (eg loan repayment, account number etc) so the card issuers will treat the transaction as quasi cash.
(3) Visa/Mastercard (International) were forcing Bitcoin merchants to amend MCC recently, so they may do the same thing on Prepaid card issuers.
thanks for analysis. thumbsup.gif

1440 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:18 PM