Debit card, Anything about it.

lostasylum
post Feb 26 2008, 03:45 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Feb 26 2008, 12:26 AM)
the best debit must be from standard chartered... ^^ can use for everything... service damn good...
haihs... just went to stanchart to go and open my own e$avers account.... went all the way to taipan, the lady told me that the system down, so have to come back tomorrow... cis....

anyways, i remember someone asking whether if you are an existing stanchart account holder if you can apply for the debit card.
the answer is no.
i also have a normal savings account with stanchart, but in order to get the debit card, you must open an e$avers account.
no minimum amount for opening, no other costs except RM8 per annum for the card.

hope this helps. i personally was very much helped by this thread.
lostasylum
post Feb 27 2008, 02:42 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

is anyone who is using the standardchartered debit card having any problem to use it for paypal? i'm currently having a problem with the expanded use facility in paypal. i have already ensured that i have money in the account (RM500).

paypal requested for the expanded use which cost USD$1.95. when i click "Get Number", i get this error message saying that they're unable to verify it and all that. however, when i check my account online, they've already deducted the money!! anyone can help?
lostasylum
post Feb 28 2008, 01:27 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Feb 27 2008, 02:42 PM)
is anyone who is using the standardchartered debit card having any problem to use it for paypal? i'm currently having a problem with the expanded use facility in paypal. i have already ensured that i have money in the account (RM500).

paypal requested for the expanded use which cost USD$1.95. when i click "Get Number", i get this error message saying that they're unable to verify it and all that. however, when i check my account online, they've already deducted the money!! anyone can help?
eh, no one can help ah? i stuck leh... i can't verify my paypal expanded use, but they already deduct money from me. i email them, they give me rubbish and ask me to try again. i've tried removing and adding 3 times, they deduct 3 times already.

i call stanchart, they say can't be their problem since paypal already managed to deduct... mampos....

lostasylum
post Mar 1 2008, 12:45 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Feb 28 2008, 01:35 AM)
i also have the same problem...i only did once..they deduct rm3.27...i just email paypal to complain...
did they resolve it for you after your first email? what did they do?
because for me, first this guy called daniel emails me to say that i should try again.
so i try again. then cannot i email and tell them it's not working.
then this guy called jimmy emails me and tells me that they will deduct first, and hold it until the verification is done. but i explain that i can't get the verification done, so why they deduct? and if they say they can't verify, how on earth did they manage to deduct?
then some other dude replies and tells me that it is the bank's problem.
so, out of desperation, i call up the stanchart helpline to which of course i get the answer i told the paypal clowns.... if they can't verify the credit card, how did they manage to deduct the money??? by this time, i had already tried 3 times and they deducted 3 times....
so i email back and really gave them a real earful... till today no resolution.... no email reply already... haihs....

lostasylum
post Jul 28 2008, 05:24 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

has anyone successfully used the Standard Chartered e-Saver Mastercard debit card for paypal verification?

i have been trying but everytime i try to add my debit card in paypal this is what i get:

This credit card has been denied by the bank that issued your credit card. For details on why your card was denied, please contact your credit card issuer's customer service department. Or, you may want to try adding a different credit card.
lostasylum
post Aug 12 2008, 04:48 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(walauweb @ Aug 10 2008, 05:46 PM)
below is my mail n reply from standard chartered bank:

seem like it can online transaction,but i haven try yet.
any SCB debit card user try before?
i've tried my card for normal store purchase and petrol pumping. they worked fine.
however, i cannot link my standard chartered debit card to paypal!!! has anyone managed to link to paypal via standard chartered's e$aver debit card?
lostasylum
post Nov 18 2008, 03:12 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

does anyone have any updates on whether the Standard Chartered e$aver Debit Card can be used to validate your paypal account?

i've been asking the call centre (since early this year in fact) and they keep saying can, but i am NEVER able to validate my debit card... even until now...
lostasylum
post Nov 22 2008, 05:43 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 19 2008, 08:14 AM)
I don't think Stand Chart esaver debit can verify Paypal. If not I would have applied it already.
well, i read once somewhere that it could, that's why i applied and all.. if cannot.. then really sakit hati man.. hahahah.... that means i have a debit card which i can't use... crap...
lostasylum
post Nov 24 2008, 04:32 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Nov 24 2008, 04:12 AM)
Not really swipe, the cashier will put ur card into a slot and key in how much you have to pay and then you have to sign the receipt. But make sure you have change the limit for your daily purchase/withdrawal first.
hhhmm.. as far as i know, the debit card works the same way as the credit card. i bought a pair of shoes with my debit card and they used the same machines and all.

the only difference i know of with regards to debit and credit card is that debit only allows you to use whatever cash you have whereas credit allows you to spend money that you don't have.
lostasylum
post Nov 25 2008, 05:58 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Nov 24 2008, 08:30 PM)
I've only been using MVD so far and that's how they processed mine. But it does have limit. As for MVD, the limit is rm5000. Ambank NexG is around 10k i think. Same with Tunemoney.
i thought for debit cards you can only spend what you have right? if you have a spending limit that is more than what you have in your account, wouldn't that make your card a credit card already?
lostasylum
post Nov 26 2008, 10:22 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(WebWalker @ Nov 25 2008, 06:29 PM)
Spending limit 5K.

1) Your account has RM400, you can spend RM400 only lor.

2) Your account has 10K, you can spend 5K only.
ok ok.. now it makes sense! i didn't know that there was spending limit for debit card. i better check for my stanchart e$saver debit card as well...

thanks for clearing that for me!
lostasylum
post Dec 2 2008, 10:41 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Nov 30 2008, 09:45 AM)
New debit card in town. Standard Chartered Saadiq Debit Mastercard.

Offer 7% rebate on petrol & 5% rebate on hypermarket.
crap... this after i opened my e$aver account...
lostasylum
post Dec 3 2008, 12:20 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 2 2008, 05:36 PM)
zzz.. i hate going back there... the bankers are fine, the tellers are like crap... just to prepare me a cheque took them 1 1/2 hours
if you're talking about stanchart punya tellers... yeah man.. they really suck... hahahahah... one of the reasons i don't like them also cause they seem to be like darn action...=)

but that's just me lah.. perhaps not everyone has such a bad experience...
lostasylum
post Dec 5 2008, 12:17 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 5 2008, 04:49 AM)
Anyone know what is the min deposit require to open citigold debit card?
http://www.citibank.com.my/APPS/portal/loa...debitcardcg.htm
you can try contacting their helpline here to find out: +60323830000

lostasylum
post Apr 27 2009, 01:00 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 26 2009, 01:20 AM)
You cannot do installment with a debit card.
wow. thanks for the information! that is really useful information to know.
how did you know by the way? personal experience or did someone tell you?
cause i never knew that debit card wouldn't allow for installment payments.
lostasylum
post Apr 27 2009, 11:16 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

i actually took a debit card because i wanted to use it to verify my paypal account. after hunting around the forum, decided to get SCB's e$aver debit card...

however, after getting it, i couldn't verify my paypal account with it. see see i found out that the SCB debit card that i have can't do that... so now i got an unverified paypal account and i debit card that i hardly use... hahahahh...
lostasylum
post Apr 29 2009, 10:22 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 27 2009, 11:48 PM)
The high interest rate of that account at least make it worth it right ? I have one too.
true, but the problem is, i've still got an unverified paypal account.... hahahahahaha.... any good debit cards that can verify paypal?
lostasylum
post Apr 30 2009, 11:40 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 29 2009, 08:26 PM)
But i think the problem with debit Mastercard is that you cannot withdraw money using it (as stated in PayPal). This is not a problem with Public Bank VISA Electron.
if that's the case, how would you withdraw money from paypal if you wanted to? i always thought the whole reason of using a debit card to verify your account was because it would be a lot cheaper for you to withdraw your money?
lostasylum
post Jun 1 2009, 04:02 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

anyone know which bank offers the fastest approval for debit card that can be verified by paypal?

and also, anyone heard of VCC? is it legal?
lostasylum
post Sep 29 2009, 03:24 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

i recently went to public bank to apply for a debit card to verify my paypal account... they had 2 types of cards...

type A debit card comes with a savings accounts and costs RM24 per year unless you spend RM1000. card takes about 3 - 4 weeks to process

type B debit comes without a savings accounts and costs RM12 per year. card can be issued immediately

i decided to go for type A debit card... any significant different between the two and any problems?

0.0229sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:34 PM