Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

Quazacolt
post Jun 18 2007, 09:34 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jun 18 2007, 04:21 AM)
Hmm, can grab a real cheap PCI-E card at garage sells <RM100 for temp use. biggrin.gif
thanks man, will do just that
akachester
post Jun 18 2007, 10:02 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Tried testing my 8800GTS on 1680*1050 resolution yesterday with C&C3.Everything at max, Level 4 AA. Gameplay was smooth but its on a 1v1 game.Maybe will try to stress more and see whether there is any lagging later..

Load was at around 65 - 68c. Satisfied with the temperature. When all the setup is done, will try to OC the GC and processor and test out the 3D Mark again..
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jun 18 2007, 11:08 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 18 2007, 01:07 AM)
sweat.gif ..now i kinda worried abt my 450w PSU can tahan 8800GTS 320mb, if im getting one...

Does anyone here has similar PSU/specs as mine running on 8800GTS?..  rolleyes.gif

Cheers  blush.gif
try getting 550w true/real power psu 1st 4 long term usages blush.gif
RevolutionWorks
post Jun 18 2007, 12:24 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 18 2007, 01:07 AM)
sweat.gif ..now i kinda worried abt my 450w PSU can tahan 8800GTS 320mb, if im getting one...

Does anyone here has similar PSU/specs as mine running on 8800GTS?..  rolleyes.gif

Cheers  blush.gif
I'm running 8800GTS 320MB with CM extremePower 430w. running wthout problem until now.

btw, its on stock clock/memory speed, no factory overclocking or I try to overclock it.

Planning to upgrade to 8800GTX and change PSU also~ tongue.gif
sniper69
post Jun 18 2007, 01:05 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

my brother, using Acbel 450W, can't even overclock with his system and his new X1950GT from Colourful, i told him... PSU is everything...

anyway... with good graphic card, it doesn't mean your system can play better if you're on capalang PSU, go get the reliable and good one icon_idea.gif
kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 02:27 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 18 2007, 07:52 AM)
@kmarc
500W is enough for your setup. IMHO, power requirement for 8800 series are overated, so as quadcore. if not mistaken, power consumption of quadcore almost on par with old pentium 4 EE presshot
I really hope so. I don't want to sell off my nice enermax yet!!! biggrin.gif
akachester
post Jun 18 2007, 02:28 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

LOL..I still remember the first time i plug the 8800GTS into my system. A very loud "BEEP' sound keep happening.I went berserk checking what happened and saw i forgot to plug the PCIE power cable in..LOL..
kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 02:33 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 18 2007, 02:28 PM)
LOL..I still remember the first time i plug the 8800GTS into my system. A very loud "BEEP' sound keep happening.I went berserk checking what happened and saw i forgot to plug the PCIE power cable in..LOL..
LOL. I know what you mean. The first time switching on our rig after a PC component upgrade is the most heart-stopping event ever!!! sweat.gif

Imagine the relieve when your computer boots up without any problems..... rclxm9.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 18 2007, 02:54 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jun 18 2007, 01:05 PM)
my brother, using Acbel 450W, can't even overclock with his system and his new X1950GT from Colourful, i told him... PSU is everything...

anyway... with good graphic card, it doesn't mean your system can play better if you're on capalang PSU, go get the reliable and good one icon_idea.gif
LOL

My old 6600GT explode because of chipalang PSU... doh.gif

But my current Enermax Noisetaker is only 485 watt... lower than yours kmarc. If you already have a lot of headache thinking about stability... I wonder how would mine be... with 8800 series... rclxub.gif
kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 03:03 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 18 2007, 02:54 PM)
LOL

My old 6600GT explode because of chipalang PSU... doh.gif

But my current Enermax Noisetaker is only 485 watt... lower than yours kmarc. If you already have a lot of headache thinking about stability... I wonder how would mine be... with 8800 series... rclxub.gif
Ya lo. Real headache. I think next time if I do get another PSU, I'd probably just buy one that is enough for that particular rig. No point getting more watts when in the end, it is still not enough!

Are you planning to go 8800 and C2D/C2Q?
dattebayo
post Jun 18 2007, 03:46 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(RevolutionWorks @ Jun 18 2007, 12:24 PM)
I'm running 8800GTS 320MB with CM extremePower 430w. running wthout problem until now.

btw, its on stock clock/memory speed, no factory overclocking or I try to overclock it.

have u tried to OC it before?

will it be stable after OC the GC?
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 18 2007, 03:56 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 18 2007, 03:03 PM)
Ya lo. Real headache. I think next time if I do get another PSU, I'd probably just buy one that is enough for that particular rig. No point getting more watts when in the end, it is still not enough!

Are you planning to go 8800 and C2D/C2Q?
Yup.. an E6600 and 8800GTS/GTX (dunno which one to take.. depend on my budget by the end of this month).

Well.. for now I already booked one unit of Silverstone OP650 from kingmaker_20... hopefully that will be enough for a long time to come... the thing is.. it will only arrive by the end of this month or early July.. and if it arrives in early of July and I already have my gc by that time... then I only have that 485watt Enermax Noisetaker to use doh.gif .
kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 05:14 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 18 2007, 03:56 PM)
Yup.. an E6600 and 8800GTS/GTX (dunno which one to take.. depend on my budget by the end of this month).

Well.. for now I already booked one unit of Silverstone OP650 from kingmaker_20... hopefully that will be enough for a long time to come... the thing is.. it will only arrive by the end of this month or early July.. and if it arrives in early of July and I already have my gc by that time... then I only have that 485watt Enermax Noisetaker to use doh.gif .
Noticed that almost everybody is recommended the silverstone..... Hmm.... will check it out later.....

E6600 huh.... not waiting for Intel's next price drop aaa?

I'd probably get the 8800 GTX once I've decided on buying the proc....

Phoenixwunin
post Jun 18 2007, 06:14 PM

841 posts

kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 06:46 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 18 2007, 06:14 PM)
I'd really love to wait for the price cut.. but I simply can't. 1 July go back to college... and I got only around 12 days to fully assemble my PC or else I will be PC-less back to my college. Can't use the current PC I'm using now too as I have already sold it to my friend in college and he already pay half of it.

So basically I'm left without any PSU now... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
But you will still have the 485w PSU right? May be enough for your new rig if you don't do any overclocking.

Found ont that the 8800 GTX required 165watts which is actually quite acceptable.

Or maybe cut down on your peripheral components e.g. fans, hard disk, DVD roms, etc..... hmm.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 18 2007, 10:17 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(RevolutionWorks @ Jun 18 2007, 12:24 PM)

Aaaa... i guess if ppl can run 6800GT/Ultra, they can run on 8800GTS, since i heard 6800GT/Ultra are pretty high in power-consumption.

Anyone else has 450w or less running 8800GTS?.. and maybe did some overclocking... heh tongue.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif
TSHyde`fK
post Jun 18 2007, 11:07 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Anyone wants my Enermax Liberty 500W? brows.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 18 2007, 11:14 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 18 2007, 03:56 PM)

laugh.gif me oso in the same boat. booked an OP650 fromm jy14. have to wait for stocks to arrive first.. the PSU thing is really holding me back from my upgrade...damn itchy wanna try the 8800GTS...that and also the intel price cut. july 22nd seems so friggin far away sweat.gif

but i did manage to get a Biostar TForce 6100 (S754) mobo last night. only thing is now...i need to find the time to fix it with my BFG 8800GTS OC2 and CM Realpower 450w...

kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 11:30 PM

14,576 posts

Was searching around and found this forum : http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=9880

Dunno how true it is but for QX6700 + 8800 GTX, max wattage was around 470w!
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 18 2007, 11:37 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 18 2007, 11:14 PM)
laugh.gif me oso in the same boat. booked an OP650 fromm jy14. have to wait for stocks to arrive first.. the PSU thing is really holding me back from my upgrade...damn itchy wanna try the 8800GTS...that and also the intel price cut. july 22nd seems so friggin far away sweat.gif

but i did manage to get a Biostar TForce 6100 (S754) mobo last night. only thing is now...i need to find the time to fix it with my BFG 8800GTS OC2 and CM Realpower 450w...
LoL... so sad right?? The only thing that is holding us is PSU... doh.gif

But if you dare to test you 8800GTS with CM Realpower 450w.. then I will have guts to try it with my Enermax Noistaker 485w too thumbup.gif

Erm.. what proc are you using neway??

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 18 2007, 11:30 PM)
Was searching around and found this forum : http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=9880

Dunno how true it is but for QX6700 + 8800 GTX, max wattage was around 470w!
470w?? Which means even my Enermax Noisetaker can power it up?? I have doubt about stability though... hmm.gif

*Still loading the site...

This post has been edited by Phoenixwunin: Jun 18 2007, 11:41 PM

125 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:55 AM