125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

Polar_012
post Jun 17 2007, 04:04 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Jun 17 2007, 03:22 PM)
icon_question.gif which GF 8600 GTS give the best performance b4 overclock (i not so like overclock cos takut overheat) :
1) Gigabyte GF 8600 GTS 256 DDR3 (RM830)
2) Asus GF GF8600 GTS 256MB (RM810)
3) Winfast GF PX 8600 GTS 256 DDR3 (RM799)
4) or any brand that u think is the best 1???? (MSI, Palit, HIS, or other brand that can find in LYP) notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
They will perform almost the same.
nicholas_1213
post Jun 17 2007, 04:22 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Jun 17 2007, 10:56 AM)
wooot? did you get your money back?
Yeah but not so soon yet.. actually i kena some ebay scam.. actually it's quite unlucky for me since it's the 1st time i buy from ebay, and straigh away kena dy.. (but it's due to my fault also for being greedy, as i was taking risk to get the 8800GTS 640MB, that US seller only sell it for around rm1k + shipping, i should have known that, and learn a lesson), but it's still lucky to get back for around 90% amount of the money back, but i have to wait for around 40 - 50 days for the paypal to investigate.

@dattebayo,
i want to get 8800GTS 320mb version but i cant get back my money so soon, and i need a GC very soon, so already grabbed a 2nd hand 7900GT from garage sales, so maybe wait till they have a pricecut (hopefully it's not rumor tongue.gif ) then only grab it.. but still a let down lo unsure.gif

This post has been edited by nicholas_1213: Jun 17 2007, 04:24 PM
kmarc
post Jun 17 2007, 09:11 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Question on 8800 GTX - what would be the minimum PSU wattage requirement?

I know Nvidia recommends at least a 450 watt PSU with a minimum of 30A on the +12v rail.

I'm using an enermax liberty 500w PSU (32A on dual +12v rail, each with 22A). Supposed to be true power or whatever the term is.......

If add in a quad core (i.e. q6600 sweat.gif ), do you think it would be adequate??

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 17 2007, 09:11 PM
nicholas_1213
post Jun 17 2007, 09:49 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

I've asked this question before, but on 8800GTS 640MB, 500W should be enough.. but definitely not enough for SLI. try reading few previous pages, or u can go to the given website to calculate the power supply that u need..
stevenlee
post Jun 17 2007, 10:02 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 17 2007, 09:11 PM)

I know Nvidia recommends at least a 450 watt PSU with a minimum of 30A on the +12v rail.

I'm using an enermax liberty 500w PSU (32A on dual +12v rail, each with 22A). Supposed to be true power or whatever the term is.......

If add in a quad core (i.e. q6600  sweat.gif ), do you think it would be adequate??
here my setup and my power usage and onli cpu draw power from my psu ..
e6400
mid-high end mobo spec power usage
evga 8800gts 320mb
scythe mine
2 dvdrw drive
4 fans 2 blower total 6 fan
1 external drive
all that with 100% load with fan, cpu and gpu

total power usage = 465watt and i using enermax 460watt sweat.gif but of cos 465watt my system will shortage when all item full load...

the calculator recomended me psu 560watt for more stability

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

kmarc
post Jun 17 2007, 10:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jun 17 2007, 10:02 PM)
e6400
evga 8800gts 320mb
scythe mine
2 dvdrw drive
1 external drive

total power usage = 465watt and i using enermax 460watt  sweat.gif but of cos 465watt my system will shortage when all item full load...

Thx for the info. So what happens to your rig at full load?

Are you overclocking your rig?

Am trying to open the hyperlink you've provided as soon as screamyx will allow me!!!
yawn.gif
dattebayo
post Jun 17 2007, 10:49 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 17 2007, 09:11 PM)

If add in a quad core (i.e. q6600  sweat.gif ), do you think it would be adequate??
try this http://web.aanet.com.au/SnooP/psucalc.php
aidlover
post Jun 17 2007, 10:55 PM

1,002 posts

guys,

want to ask.. who of u using 8800gts with vista? other than the rivatuner, which software u use to check the temperature of the card? if i dont on the rivatuner, my fan speed is at 60% even i play games, is that suppose to be like this?

i have to manually set my speed to 80%-100% when i play games. anyone experience the same thing like me?
rockmaniac85
post Jun 17 2007, 11:05 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(aidlover @ Jun 17 2007, 10:55 PM)
guys,

want to ask.. who of u using 8800gts with vista? other than the rivatuner, which software u use to check the temperature of the card? if i dont on the rivatuner, my fan speed is at 60% even i play games, is that suppose to be like this?

i have to manually set my speed to 80%-100% when i play games. anyone experience the same thing like me?
well, if you don't set rivatuner to change fan speed to 80 or 100% whenever there's high temp, then you need to manually change speed. If you already do the settings like me, then you need to turn on rivatuner at startup. jus minimize it, so that it can change the fan speed whenever it reaches min temp according to your settings.
aidlover
post Jun 17 2007, 11:07 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Jun 17 2007, 11:05 PM)
well, if you don't set rivatuner to change fan speed to 80 or 100% whenever there's high temp, then you need to manually change speed. If you already do the settings like me, then you need to turn on rivatuner at startup. jus minimize it, so that it can change the fan speed whenever it reaches min temp according to your settings.
for now i using the rivatuner to change the fan speed like in this guide

http://home.comcast.net/~boogieman1954/880...eed%20guide.htm

what i want is just that the nvidia driver will auto adjust the fan speed for me without using 3rd party software. aih.. vista and 8800.. troublesome sad.gif
kmarc
post Jun 17 2007, 11:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jun 17 2007, 10:02 PM)
e6400
evga 8800gts 320mb
scythe mine
2 dvdrw drive
1 external drive

total power usage = 465watt and i using enermax 460watt  sweat.gif but of cos 465watt my system will shortage when all item full load...

This is what I got using the following configuration:
-Single processor - C2Q6600 (2.4Ghz, 1.25v) - OC at 3.0 Ghz (1.45v)
-High-end desktop
-100% TDP
-2 sticks DDR2
-Nvidia 8800 GTX (626/2000) - single
-2 HDD 720 rpm
-1x DVD+RW + 1 DVD-ROM
-Sound card x1
-2x 80 mm fan, 3x 120mm fan
-system load - 100% peak load
--?? capacitor aging

Amount of watts = 492w sweat.gif

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 17 2007, 10:49 PM)
Thanx for the reference. With almost similar setup as above, the calculator only showed a PSU wattage of 330w!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

dattebayo
post Jun 18 2007, 12:10 AM

5,366 posts

actually, many ppl has comment on that extremeouter vision as exaggerating sweat.gif

but u should get something like SS ST56F, total 12V current are 40A, u ll never need to worry to OC like hell flex.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 18 2007, 12:20 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 18 2007, 01:07 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

sweat.gif ..now i kinda worried abt my 450w PSU can tahan 8800GTS 320mb, if im getting one...

Does anyone here has similar PSU/specs as mine running on 8800GTS?.. rolleyes.gif

Cheers blush.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 18 2007, 01:08 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 18 2007, 01:38 AM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jun 17 2007, 02:07 PM)
I think its better you get your card RMAed.
RMA makes me /sadface as i cant use my comp then sad.gif
TSHyde`fK
post Jun 18 2007, 04:21 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 18 2007, 01:38 AM)
RMA makes me /sadface as i cant use my comp then sad.gif
Hmm, can grab a real cheap PCI-E card at garage sells <RM100 for temp use. biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 06:53 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 18 2007, 12:10 AM)
actually, many ppl has comment on that extremeouter vision as exaggerating sweat.gif

but u should get something like SS ST56F, total 12V current are 40A, u ll never need to worry to OC like hell flex.gif
Thx for the advise. I actually bought mine about a year ago for future upgrade. I actually thought 500w at that time was more that enough. Now, looks like it is not enough!!! doh.gif

Hmmm.... maybe I'll just use stock settings first and upgrade the PSU next time.....
akachester
post Jun 18 2007, 06:55 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Jun 17 2007, 03:22 PM)
icon_question.gif which GF 8600 GTS give the best performance b4 overclock (i not so like overclock cos takut overheat) :
1) Gigabyte GF 8600 GTS 256 DDR3 (RM830)
2) Asus GF GF8600 GTS 256MB (RM810)
3) Winfast GF PX 8600 GTS 256 DDR3 (RM799)
4) or any brand that u think is the best 1???? (MSI, Palit, HIS, or other brand that can find in LYP) notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
If it was up to me, i would say none of the above. I will go for either XFX or Galaxy at any time. Since you say find from LYP, XFX is out of the picture and i will go with Galaxy 8600GTS OC that comes pre-OCed and with Zalman Cooler..

Other than that, its cheaper than all those listed there at only RM780.

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 18 2007, 08:33 AM
stevenlee
post Jun 18 2007, 07:17 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 17 2007, 10:23 PM)
Thx for the info. So what happens to your rig at full load?

Are you overclocking your rig?

Am trying to open the hyperlink you've provided as soon as screamyx will allow me!!!
yawn.gif
erm i never face any problem for temporary cos i seldom 100% full load for my whole system unless u performace stress... so for me 460watt is enuf without OC

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 17 2007, 11:38 PM)
This is what I got using the following configuration:
-Single processor - C2Q6600 (2.4Ghz, 1.25v) - OC at 3.0 Ghz (1.45v)
-High-end desktop
-100% TDP
-2 sticks DDR2
-Nvidia 8800 GTX (626/2000) - single
-2 HDD 720 rpm
-1x DVD+RW + 1 DVD-ROM
-Sound card x1
-2x 80 mm fan, 3x 120mm fan
-system load - 100% peak load
--?? capacitor aging

Amount of watts = 492w  sweat.gif
Thanx for the reference. With almost similar setup as above, the calculator only showed a PSU wattage of 330w!!!  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
is amout watt is 492 including OC probably your PSU still can last you for 1 year+ before the capacitor become old and leak..that time your psu wattage will drop depending on power leakage...that is why the web recommended you 560-600 watt psu.. for now i temporary use the 460watt enermax....i plan to upgrade to fotron 600w or 700watt cos is cheaper compare to other and is true power with more than 80% efficiency..

kmarc
post Jun 18 2007, 07:25 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jun 18 2007, 07:17 AM)
is amout watt is 492 including OC probably your PSU still can last you for 1 year+ before the capacitor become old and leak..that time your psu wattage will drop depending on power leakage...that is why the web recommended you 560-600 watt psu.. for now i temporary use the 460watt enermax....i plan to upgrade to fotron 600w or 700watt cos is cheaper compare to other and is true power with more than 80% efficiency..
Ya, that wattage is including OC. I think if I do go for this setup, I have to limit my OC too until I upgrade the PSU.

Bought the 500w for future-proofing but looks like it is still not enough! doh.gif
toughnut
post Jun 18 2007, 07:52 AM

3,239 posts

@kmarc
500W is enough for your setup. IMHO, power requirement for 8800 series are overated, so as quadcore. if not mistaken, power consumption of quadcore almost on par with old pentium 4 EE presshot

125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:26 PM