Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

Quazacolt
post May 15 2007, 10:48 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

hi guys, im not sure if this is the right thread, and atm im at work so cant search through the hardware forum if its posted or not...

but i have an issue with my 8800 GTX here, it just keeps on crashing when im playing World of warcraft. and i can confirm that its the gfx card because the graphic suddenly went off but my sound and everything else still working fine, can even continue talking on ventrilo too (voice comm program) until a while later on then fully crash.

almost guranteed to happen everyday but very random.

i downloaded ntune and checked the temperature and its a whooping 80-90c idle avg 85 c... wtf? or its normal? im running windows vista ultimate btw... and cstkl1 also mentioned that vista being permanent running on 3d clock... could it be the cause? please help...

also theres the evga step up program, not sure if im available for it but im asking the person that i bought the bulk from (bata), hopefully i am so i can just change the gtx to the ultra and hopefully have this prob fix... (could be card defects, or prolly driver or just bad heat dissipation/airflow... also getting a strong intake fan btw)
Quazacolt
post May 16 2007, 01:13 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ May 15 2007, 10:46 PM)
that is too hot.. by at least 10 C. my GTX idles at 71-75......... and at about 60 on load. so u must have a ventilation problem in your casing. your crashing problem sound like an overheating gc. just a hunch...... how about opening the side panel and see of the temp goes down. if not maybe ur fan is not working properly. did u set the fan speed to manual? maybe the gc fan  was accidently set to slow RPM

just my 2 cents..

btw

new test using futuremark 2006......... 9067. i think the proc and ram is holding me down

new test.. weird really. last 2 weeks i ran the same test using the same driver only got 8064...................how suddenly rise by 1K.. bizarre

and another thing.when i OC this card the score is always lower than stock. what could be the problem?
i open my side panel and the temp stays the same. theres no fan control afaik to speed the fan up, and the fan is definitely working. (well its spinning) any other ideas?
Quazacolt
post May 16 2007, 02:15 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 16 2007, 01:36 AM)
i already posted in other thread what u need to do to fix ure problem with vista.
aye probably best to keep it all in the other thread. thanks for the help by the way ^^
Quazacolt
post May 16 2007, 02:28 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 02:23 PM)
Might be due to the problem with demo version...
think the x2900 beats the ultra right? (but overclocked lol)
Quazacolt
post May 30 2007, 12:16 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 30 2007, 11:54 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  requires an Ultra?
i use my GTX, and it lagged like hell until i lower my anisio settings.

that said, ALL AA settings are off cuz my gfx crashes (bad driver or w/e).

so yeah, heads are notsoez
Quazacolt
post May 30 2007, 02:47 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 30 2007, 02:25 PM)
Really ? I'm getting acceptable performance (Leadtek 8800GTX@stock), and I'm using a dual core. Only thing changed in the demo was the resolution to 1680x1050.
yea im running on 1680x1050 (native res, i have a samsung 226bw icon_rolleyes.gif )

probably due to vista, who knows. but until i lower anisio filtering, the lag is madness. and this is without AA at all.
Quazacolt
post May 30 2007, 04:08 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 30 2007, 03:10 PM)
so the human heads demo is for both DX9 and DX10? Got DX10 mode for the head? Wonder if more and more future games are built with these graphic quality, then probably GTX Ultra is the only DX10 card that will be able to fight heads on with next gen DX10 cards sweat.gif
i wouldnt disagree... my GTX on lost planet is avg'ing on 25FPS, every setting maxed but no AA... if AA? die lol. (be it my graphic card crash, or perhaps slideshow)
Quazacolt
post May 30 2007, 04:55 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 30 2007, 04:31 PM)
I'm on Vista too. Your Lost Planet frame rates are also a bit on the low side. Which drivers are you using ?
158.43 beta drivers (158.42 actually lol nvidia)
Quazacolt
post May 31 2007, 04:17 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ May 31 2007, 01:39 PM)
You can't plug two different cards at the same time, it won't work. The second PCI-E slots for Intel/ATI chipset is for people who want to go for Crossfire xetup, while with nForce chipset, its for SLI setup.
afaik you can sli with intel chipset too
Quazacolt
post Jun 1 2007, 10:34 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Jun 1 2007, 09:56 AM)
I don't think there is a need for u to change it now unless ur card have problem (since ur using 7600gs and it's only abt 1 year old).. because there aren't any dx10 games come out yet, u might need to wait until dx10 come out first then just to decide which one to take. Unless it's urgent, or i advise to wait until more dx10 release. smile.gif
yea best is to wait. who knows if they will release more models, or price slashes/drops
Quazacolt
post Jun 3 2007, 08:51 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 3 2007, 02:04 AM)
Nope. If the game is supported by SLi(most games are SLI nowadays)  then the 7950GX2 is still faster than a single 8800GTS.

Added on June 3, 2007, 2:13 am
Holy smokes! Those 3DM05 scores are absolutely mind blowing for a rm350 card. My old watercooled 6800GT overclocked like hell oso score around the same oni.
And that was a rm1800 gfx card back then. That just shows the progression of tech. Pay rm350 now for the same performance of a rm1800 card 2 years ago.
you already enjoyed the card for 2 years tongue.gif

for now, top up rm200ish for a gtx, and oc it kao kao, look at the scores fly lol

my all stock setup yields 12k icon_rolleyes.gif
=edit=
on 3dmark 06

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 3 2007, 08:51 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 4 2007, 09:15 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jun 4 2007, 01:48 AM)
hey... guys.. what is the difference between ForceWare 158.24 Vista 32-bit WHQL and NVIDIA ForceWare 158.45 Vista 32-bit?

it's here,
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1653

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1651
same question here, ive checked the release notes on both version but found nothing different.

only difference i can find is the official release is WHQL certified (cant be 100% certain either as i havent install those myself)
Quazacolt
post Jun 5 2007, 09:03 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 4 2007, 06:21 PM)
158.45 is more for the 8800 series with more SLi optimisations n also better performance in Company Of Heroes DX10 version. 

Single card users shud stick with 158.24 as recommended by Nvidia.
yea thats the only significant difference i see... and yea i play COH, so sticking with beta drivers it is! (and i still cant AA... sigh)

anyone else care to help? sad.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=116&t=457240
Quazacolt
post Jun 7 2007, 10:42 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zhiyuan @ Jun 7 2007, 10:17 AM)
if i can get 8800 GTX for less then 1.9k ... do you think its a great deal ?

please comments smile.gif
very, make sure you can pump out at least 3-3.2++ ghz on the latest core2/core quad/am2 etc
Quazacolt
post Jun 7 2007, 05:49 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 7 2007, 05:22 PM)
LOL..I do agree unless you are filthy rich, there is no point to upgrade from 320MB 8800GTS right now. Good card which is best bang for buck..

Anyway, anyone knows the core/memory speed for stock 8800GTS 320MB and the MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC?

Is the MSI OC comparable to the eVGA superclock series?
lost planet 20-30 fps, avg 25 fps, lowest 16 fps...

rich or not, i hate lag.
Quazacolt
post Jun 8 2007, 08:42 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2007, 06:41 PM)
thats too low on that lost planet demo doh.gif shocking.gif

almost same as using my 8600gt, I can get the same reading at everything default... lets hope it is due to their poor coding...
i just have everything on max but no AA as my card crashes on AA for some reason
Quazacolt
post Jun 8 2007, 10:43 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 8 2007, 09:34 AM)
no u guys should read up

aa/as still driver problem on vista.
heck on sli even worse.
cant enable both of them.. cause it will cause ramdom crashes.

i not sure who is giving u the idea that vista is stable.

this are vista driver problems

1. no AS/AF
2. Video Overlay random crashes
3. SLI very buggy
4. OpenAL /OpenGL performance is really bad.
so its BOTH of them enabled causing random crashes? so its not my graphic card then? thats the confirmation i needed. anyways thanks for the reply man.

but from what i read on the vista beta drivers release notes, AA/AF issues are fixed, but i guess nvidia lies tongue.gif

=edit=
just to clarify ive never had the impression or said anything that vista is stable, and i do know of their various issues, just not this one. overall, this issue doesnt affect me much except the annoyance that i couldnt pump out more detail seeing as i have a GTX.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 8 2007, 10:46 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 8 2007, 02:07 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 8 2007, 11:21 AM)
i was thinking about this too, and I don't think it's possible unless there's a DVI to HDMI dongle for the card. I wonder if the 2900XT's dongle will work on the 8800 series.  hmm.gif

Vista issues ? Hmmm. single 8800gtx experience:

Buggy yes (IE has crashed a few times) performance wise ? maybe slower than XP, but still plenty fast. AA and AF ? Works fine on some titles with no problems. OpenGL ? Haven't installed my copy of D3 and Q4 yet. Game crashes ? None so far. (cnc3, stalker, call of juarez, far cry, RE4, colin mcrae dirt demo).

My user experience = it's ok. wouldn't change back to XP.
tried both AA/AF? my graphic card just dies (windows still functioning rofl... got background sound/music during game, just graphic dies out. but if i go alt+ctrl+del can see the screen lol... and have to restart from there)

other than that, no issues at all.

but since its mentioned BOTH aa/af causing crash, i havent tried JUST AA without AF. have to try it out to confirm, cuz all the games i run i have AF maxed, no issues, just when i turn on AA, after a period of time randomly it'll crash (ONLY the graphics)
Quazacolt
post Jun 8 2007, 03:19 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 8 2007, 03:15 PM)
yup. I run my games with AA+AF.

akachester: You can stick with the WHQL ones or get the latest beta from www.nzone.com.
then what could be my problem sleep.gif;
Quazacolt
post Jun 9 2007, 11:48 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jun 9 2007, 10:24 AM)
Don't worry mate. Demo is always not perfect/finalized. I bet DX10 will fully utilized the full potential of G80/R600 architecture.
g92 this christmas, no worries, ROFL!

THREE times the power of g80's... madness

0.0420sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:27 AM