Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

dattebayo
post May 14 2007, 01:13 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ggoo @ May 14 2007, 12:32 AM)
hey... 8500GT 512 mb or 8600GT 256 mb is more better??
get an OCed 8600gt such as galaxy premium or palit sonic version thumbup.gif
I prefer palit one, coz its the only one that comes out with 2 slot cooling, first in world for a budget card like this
dattebayo
post May 14 2007, 03:16 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ggoo @ May 14 2007, 06:25 AM)
about the palit sonic version.. is saw thundermatch's pricelist.. and saw the palit 8600GT at 480.. is that the sonic version??
the whole LYP dont have the 8600 sonic doh.gif
only thunder match got, but only the normal version

having no other choice, I bought galaxy 8600gt OC with CM fan, although the price is same as 7900gs, but for the sake of dx10 and lesser power requirements, I chose 8600gt, hopefully that would be a good choice.
dattebayo
post May 14 2007, 03:19 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ltw82 @ May 14 2007, 03:16 PM)
MSI OCed ver would be just nice in 8600gt range...
but i'm using asus 8600gt... due to the 3year's warrenty thingy...
MSI OC'ed one costs rm30 more than a galaxy one... their core is 580mhz, 20mhz less than the galaxy card. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 14 2007, 03:21 PM
dattebayo
post May 14 2007, 06:56 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ggoo @ May 14 2007, 05:37 PM)
how much is the galaxy 8600GT??
rm530@cycom
rm580@pc zone doh.gif
rm490@bulk sales

QUOTE(ltw82 @ May 14 2007, 06:03 PM)
sweat.gif
really...? i havent confirm my own core speed and other setting yet... why my nvidia control don show...?
juz downloaded NiBiTor 3.4a will check later go home...
before this i was using 6600gt 128mb galaxy zalman... already not functioning...  doh.gif
ok i did some benchies for 05, everything in default mode...

[attachmentid=230960]

mayb is my old athlon64 1.8Ghz lowered the performance...  blush.gif
i think need some1 with am2x2 series or core2 to run 3dMark again...
http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=pr...30&cat2_no=136#
8600gt MSI
MSI have dual link and more acc., which galaxy dont have.

after browsing through a few 8800Ultra from MSI and palit and galaxy, whoa they all look the same one laugh.gif except the sticker label on top of the fan, wonder are them using the same PCB and components?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 14 2007, 06:57 PM
dattebayo
post May 14 2007, 08:08 PM

5,366 posts

I have done the benchmark on 3dmark06, it is not showing the score on the window, possibly due to vista compatibility issue.

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultan...D=0&UID=9253366
galaxy 8600gt OC'ed edition
scored 4898
core : 675 mem: 900mhz

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 14 2007, 08:14 PM
dattebayo
post May 15 2007, 02:52 PM

5,366 posts

has anyone able to OC their 8600GT to 8600GTS sucessfully? how is the 3dmark score compare to 8600GTS stock ? near or no difference?
dattebayo
post May 16 2007, 12:00 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ May 15 2007, 11:54 PM)
yo guys, im staying far from lyp, thus i can't make a decent survey on the gfx

i would like to get my hands on the 8800gts 320mb, but im not sure which brand is the best, and the lyp price for it.

If anyone can help me, i will be much appreciated.

Apart from stock 8800gts, i also would like to know about the OC version as well as the price for it too.

Thanks in advance..
go here
http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/priceguide/
to check latest prices in LYP stores

dattebayo
post May 16 2007, 02:21 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ May 16 2007, 02:09 PM)
2 Lost Planet screenies other ppl put up on nvnews forum

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread...065#post1255065

Looks like

1280x960 , 8800gtx, 16 FPS

1920x1200, SLI 8800 Ultra, 21 FPS

Quality settingunknown...
what the ... shakehead.gif

for sure its the developers fault... nothing beats 88 Ultra... nothing as of now flex.gif
dattebayo
post May 16 2007, 03:45 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ May 16 2007, 03:38 PM)
hy there... i got a Q, this guys who bought my MSI NX8600GTS complains that he can't use the card on his system, he said that his Abit NF-M2S imcompatible with the card, can someone clarify on this? because, AFAIK, there's nothing wrong with motherboard compatiblelity... icon_idea.gif... thanks in advance...

this is the board...
http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/produc...ies=1&model=332
can elaborate more? what he means by cant using it? can't see any thing on screen / monitor blackout?

its very very rare for a mobo to reject a GC hmm.gif

dattebayo
post May 16 2007, 10:27 PM

5,366 posts

I found out that my 8600gt pre-OC'ed, when OC the memory at 1000mhz, in the 3dmark06 "return of the proxycon" test, total frames rendered is fewer than in 800-950mhz, and I found the best spot for memory is at 900mhz, where no crash at all

the core is keep at 688mhz constant, and i only run the first test to calc. total frames, 900mhz can render 1890, 800mhz can render 1840, but 1000mhz cant even render 1800 frames hmm.gif and occasionally crash during the test.

I guess its due to insufficient of volt though.

Added on May 16, 2007, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ May 16 2007, 10:08 PM)
LOL. He did mentioned the reason in other thread.
what could it be? laugh.gif

Added on May 16, 2007, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 09:47 PM)
Ok. I get the point there..So, would this means since the 8600GT/GTS also have higher core/memory speed compared to the 7900GS, wouldnt the 8600GT be a good buy as well (only difference for GT and GTS is the bandwidth)?I mean, the higher bandwidth would compensate for the lost of bit right?
8600gt still loses to 7900gs at small margin
but not for 8600gts though, gts has external power source enabling it to be OC;ed even further, this is different than 8600gt, no matter how hard u OC the GT, it can barely hit the GTS performance.

but in overall, G8x has advantages over 7 series due to its smaller fabrication nm, thus can reach higher clock than G7x, and IMO it can reduce latency as well?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 16 2007, 10:37 PM
dattebayo
post May 16 2007, 11:28 PM

5,366 posts

why I cant find the Galaxy 8600GT on their english website? what is the GE's core/mem clock?

I dont think its available in lyp now... anyone selling this in lyn?

honestly, galaxy website is the worst among all GC makers shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 16 2007, 11:29 PM
dattebayo
post May 17 2007, 05:12 PM

5,366 posts

huuhuu... wonder will lost planet cook up a 2900XT if everything was on max rolleyes.gif
my 8600gt rise up instantly to 63C in just a minute or so, unlike most other game, it consume the max of the GC as soon as the menu loaded sweat.gif
on everything default (on 1280*720) , its very playable even on 86gt, but with 4xAA on, I no eye to see shakehead.gif

from this observation, DX10 games can be assumed to be very 'HOT'

dattebayo
post May 17 2007, 10:37 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 17 2007, 10:05 PM)
Well guys... I have some question that has been wandering inside my head for quite some time...

The 8800GTS has two version... 320MB and 640MB.

What did this additional memory on 640MB does actually?? Did it increase the fps?? Because a few times I stumbled with some graphs from 3dguru showing the 640MB version performing lesser than its 320MB brother...

All this time I'm thinking the higher the memory.. the better the fps. But it seems now that is only a myth in my mind sweat.gif

Can someone clear this up for me??
more memory will unleash its performance when u re gaming in ultra high resolution, eg. more than 1600*1200
dattebayo
post May 18 2007, 12:35 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 18 2007, 08:59 AM)
Anyone knows is there any 8600GTS that comes with Black PCB?And is it a good buy now considering the Palit 8600GTS cost about RM700 only?

And anyone that had been to CYCOM before?Care to check out the Galaxy 8600GTS price?Its stated in their pricelist at RM720 (Promotion) but there is another Galaxy 8600GTS Zalman at RM8XX..If the RM720 is also using Zalman, then its a great buy for me..
IMO, its not worth to buy 8600gts at all. Why? For rm500, u can get 8600gt which is a stripped down version of GTS, with the exact same core. Top up rm300 more u can get Palit 8800gts 320Mb

or wait for 8800gts price to drop till rm700 or so, hopefully it will happen end of this year, 8800gts has the performance that even SLIed 8600gts cant match, 8800gts has 96SP, 3 times more than a 8600

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 18 2007, 12:35 PM
dattebayo
post May 18 2007, 04:16 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ May 18 2007, 04:03 PM)
dood.. just because i have a 22 for my monitor doesnt mean i dont have a big ass plasma at home. i dont really liek the tone of your post there. sure u have u ultras big up.. u want someone to pat ur back?

why cant someone just answet the question first and then give ur opinions.. sheesh

so......is 550WATTS  enough for my pc SLI config..
not enough, 2x200W alrdy used up 400w, u have to spare some power to other components too

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 18 2007, 04:17 PM
dattebayo
post May 18 2007, 09:53 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 18 2007, 07:54 PM)

Get the Galaxy GTS. It's got the best HSF n OC. All that n  it's fully guaranteed. Just that nice juicy HSF alone is reason enuf.  laugh.gif  I wish they used that HSF on the 8500GE. Then I'll OC them to the sky.  laugh.gif

I got the galaxy 8600GT OC, whenever I OC the RAM more than 900mhz and core more than 690, NFS:C and Most wanted crash frequently, and summore COH benchmarks return lower avg frame rate, the best result I can get is 680/900, stable and more FPS than on stock.
dattebayo
post May 19 2007, 12:15 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 18 2007, 11:52 PM)
Erm guys... I'm still quite blur on the difference of 320MB and 640MB of the 8800GTS.

Now if anyone would clarify it as clear as possible.. I would really appreciate it smile.gif

What is the difference of 320MB and 640MB?? Do it gives a major effect on our games?? Performance or higher resoulution??

Because if the memory really gives a major difference.. I wouldn't mind top-up a little bit money to get the 640MB version... for information I'm planning to play with a 19" LCD which goes up to 1280 x 1024 only.. if memory has something to do with it..
for ur 19" LCD, 320MB is more than enough. Not really major difference, unless u re gaming on 24in wide, all 8800 cards is overkill at 1280 1024 resolution, no problem wink.gif
dattebayo
post May 19 2007, 01:06 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(kucalana @ May 19 2007, 12:52 AM)
nope.
even 7600gtsli cant been powered.than 8800gts which require pci-e molex.i dun think so.fyi 12v rail in that psu is low.
is it? Maybe its the cause that I cant OC the 8600GT too much hmm.gif
I found that enlight PSU is quite cheap, is it better than CM? How is it compare to enermax?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 19 2007, 01:08 AM
dattebayo
post May 19 2007, 01:29 AM

5,366 posts

IINM, amperage in 12V is more important than the power labelled outside PSU
dattebayo
post May 19 2007, 02:06 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 19 2007, 01:35 AM)
okay.. so through the website it is stated that my ENERMAX has +12V1 = 18A, +12V2 = 18A and -12V = 0.8A
How is this?? I know nothing about this A-A thingy sweat.gif

Hope sifu here can help me... notworthy.gif
18A+18A = 36A, more than 26A requirement. Correct me if i mistaken, but most PSU has lesser than 20A for single 12V rails, need to combine i think

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ May 19 2007, 01:57 AM)
dude... how is your performance of your card? you bought a 8600GT right?
Going to get mine tomorrow. Galaxy brand... factory overclock...

can share your tet setup and the 3dmarks results?
its ok, better than the other non-OC brand biggrin.gif
and the fan is cool too, using CM fan cool.gif
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultan...D=0&UID=9253366

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0381sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:23 AM