Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

s[H]sIkuA
post Jun 11 2007, 07:53 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 11 2007, 05:09 PM)
which brand of 8600gt is good? My budget is rm500, cannot more than that.  I saw All IT sell gigabyte one rm500 and asus 528 like tat. And another question, my fren play online games like WoW and he is looking for better framerate becos when like 40man raid really cannot play one... changing from 6600gt to 8600gt will help alot? Or getting a 7900gs oc'ed one better? But maybe future there will be better dx10 online game coming out so dunno which to buy also..
Both 7900GS and 8600GT are good enough for WoW , your friend can choose whichever he wants (most probably the 8600 because its newer , 8>7 tongue.gif)

But if you want to enjoy other higher end games , then getting the 7900GS is definitely better , 7900GS is faster than the 8600GT in all of the tested game , the only benefit of 8600GT is DX10 which currently not utilized yet.
ben3003
post Jun 11 2007, 08:03 PM

10,859 posts

oh i see... becos i scare in the future online game will implement dx10 like the upcoming warhammer online see interesting but dunno whether is dx10 or wat la... but he is using win xp. Another thing is 8600gt is cheaper than 7900gs. How about 8600gt brand? I dunno which is good..
akachester
post Jun 11 2007, 08:29 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 11 2007, 08:03 PM)
oh i see... becos i scare in the future online game will implement dx10 like the upcoming warhammer online see interesting but dunno whether is dx10 or wat la... but he is using win xp. Another thing is 8600gt is cheaper than 7900gs. How about 8600gt brand? I dunno which is good..
8600GT cheaper?Should only be around RM10 - 20. 7900GS now are going for around RM499 brand new while 8600GT cheapest should be around RM475. Not much difference there. Many people here are still wondering how good will having a DX10 card be and it still remain a mystery. One would say, get DX10 because it will future proof abit but what if the situation goes wrong?Let say, 8600GT are not able to handle DX10 properly?That would result to an upgrade as well right..Therefore, its just a gamble here on which to take. 7900GS is tested and proven on DX9 platform that it will beat the 8600GT but yet, still no benchmark on DX10 as off yet. Take your pick...

EDITED:

Anyone knows whether MSI 8800GTS in Malaysia come bundled together with COH or not?Reviews are stating it is but not sure in Malaysia thouugh..

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 11 2007, 08:30 PM
SUSbudakdegilz
post Jun 11 2007, 10:20 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 11 2007, 08:29 PM)
8600GT cheaper?Should only be around RM10 - 20. 7900GS now are going for around RM499 brand new while 8600GT cheapest should be around RM475. Not much difference there. Many people here are still wondering how good will having a DX10 card be and it still remain a mystery. One would say, get DX10 because it will future proof abit but what if the situation goes wrong?Let say, 8600GT are not able to handle DX10 properly?That would result to an upgrade as well right..Therefore, its just a gamble here on which to take. 7900GS is tested and proven on DX9 platform that it will beat the 8600GT but yet, still no benchmark on DX10 as off yet. Take your pick...

i'm also agree...i'm decided to wait for another 2 to 3 month before decided to purchase a 8 series card tongue.gif ( right now using onli onboard GC sweat.gif )
mfa333
post Jun 11 2007, 10:23 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jun 11 2007, 07:03 PM)
the palit 8500gt sonic looks quite promising and also the galaxy 8500gt...both using ddr3 and both clocked at 600/1400 stock. anyone bought either of these cards yet? whats the OC'ability (is there even such a word? blink.gif) of these 2 cards compared to the ones clocked at the nvidia reference clocks
i got galaxy 8500gt OC version but not yet oc it.. waiting for my mx-1 tim before ocing it...
raptor_cZn
post Jun 11 2007, 10:42 PM

1,404 posts

It does come with the COH game
the 8600GT doesnt do as well as compared to the 8800 range in terms of price per performance
mmohdnor
post Jun 11 2007, 11:17 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jun 11 2007, 07:03 PM)
the palit 8500gt sonic looks quite promising and also the galaxy 8500gt...both using ddr3 and both clocked at 600/1400 stock. anyone bought either of these cards yet? whats the OC'ability (is there even such a word? blink.gif) of these 2 cards compared to the ones clocked at the nvidia reference clocks
see below for my galaxy 8500GE 256mb ddr3 ... (post #559)
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 2 2007, 12:51 AM)
ok, here are the benchies of my galaxy 8500ge ddr3 1.4ns 256mb 128bit 600core/700mem (1400mhz effective)

my 'budget' rig :
intel c2d e4300 @ 2.4ghz
asrock 775dual-vsta mobo (pci-e is 4x only)
512mb ddr400
driver : forceware 158.22 & ntune

with cpu 1.8ghz & gpu 600/700 (both @ stock speeds) :
3dmark03 : 10603
3dmark05 : 6123

with cpu 2.4ghz & gpu 680/790 :
3dmark03 : 12406
3dmark05 : 7086

* yeah.. my mobo isn't the best out there .. but what to do .. it's a budget rig ... blush.gif
* the rig now have been upgraded to ddr2 667 and oc'ed the proc some more to 2.6ghz ..

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jun 11 2007, 11:27 PM
akachester
post Jun 12 2007, 09:35 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Jun 11 2007, 10:42 PM)
It does come with the COH game
the 8600GT doesnt do as well as compared to the 8800 range in terms of price per performance
It does?Then that would be great..LOL..But i seem to remember from previous posts that it doesnt.. hmm.gif
jeromeccm
post Jun 12 2007, 10:02 AM

545 posts

I hae both the 8600GT from Galaxy OC version and the 7900GT XFX 520core..

Both are good cards but the performance got good and bad.
As for 8600GT cards, the benchies for the 3Dmark05 and 06 is always higher but the 3Dmark for the 01&03 is lower, maybe because of the VS and the pipeline. But when come to 3D shooting gameplay, the picture is nice... but the Frame rate is lower compare to 7900GT.

As for the 7900GT, the 3Dmark05&06 sucks... game play is about 15 to 20% higher especially in the 1st person shooter game. I notice it when i play the GhostRecon.
Both got good and bad la.... but for me game play is more important because you wont be buying a card just to test the 3Dmark right....

8600GT
- New, DX10, nice graphic

7900GT
- Old card,no DX10, but optimum performance for the current game. Might loose to 8600GT in DX10 game in future...

hope this help... smile.gif cheers thumbup.gif
akachester
post Jun 12 2007, 02:12 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Did you guys realise that the 320MB 8800GTS are now priced below RM1k at Bulk Sales...LOL...Brand New..

Luckily the one i got is the OCed edition. If not, i will be banging my head against the wall..LOL..
jeromeccm
post Jun 12 2007, 04:45 PM

545 posts

greatgreedyguts
post Jun 12 2007, 06:02 PM

When in doubt, toss your wife
666 posts

What? I only got 6137 in 3DMark06 for my rig...
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jun 12 2007, 06:06 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Jun 12 2007, 06:02 PM)
then OC yr proc n card more lo laugh.gif
RokXIII
post Jun 12 2007, 06:14 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(greatgreedyguts @ Jun 12 2007, 06:02 PM)
6k socre is normal for a 7900GS... smile.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 12 2007, 07:10 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 12 2007, 02:12 PM)
Did you guys realise that the 320MB 8800GTS are now priced below RM1k at Bulk Sales...LOL...Brand New..

Luckily the one i got is the OCed edition. If not, i will be banging my head against the wall..LOL..
Eh really??

Who's bulk?? Didn't see it.. I think I missed it..
mADmAN
post Jun 12 2007, 07:27 PM

10,530 posts

yeah...the Palit 8800GTS is at RM990 now in ShSikua (is that how u spell his nick?? doh.gif) bulk...

ianho
post Jun 12 2007, 08:04 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 12 2007, 07:27 PM)
yeah...the Palit 8800GTS is at RM990 now in ShSikua (is that how u spell his nick?? doh.gif) bulk...
Wooooo. Now so cheap oredi it's time for u to grab another 1 to fill up ur P5N32E-SLi. brows.gif
chOOOk
post Jun 12 2007, 08:05 PM

274 posts

i need help
which one is better?

EVGA 8800 GTS 320MB Superclocked
vs
XFX 8800 GTS 320MB XXX edition
zhen^wei
post Jun 12 2007, 08:34 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 11 2007, 11:17 PM)
see below for my galaxy 8500GE 256mb ddr3 ...  (post #559)

* the rig now have been upgraded to ddr2 667 and oc'ed the proc some more to 2.6ghz ..
ur benchmark so high for a 8500
my 7900gs get 7000 at 3dmark 2005 and 15000 at 3dmark 2003

This post has been edited by zhen^wei: Jun 12 2007, 09:52 PM
munak991
post Jun 12 2007, 08:41 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

I heard there is 8900 series already maybe not yet release....

Source: http://forum.pcstats.com/ and http://www.theinquirer.net/

GeForce 8900 Specs @ The Inquirer
G84/G86 Specs @ The Inquirer

8950 GX2: 2x(550Mhz/2.0Ghz) - 192 shaders (2x96) - 256bit - 2x512MB GDDR4 - $600
8900 GTX: 700Mhz/2.2Ghz - 128 shaders - 384bit - 768MB GDDR4 - $550
8900 GTS: 600Mhz/2.0Ghz - 128 shaders - 320bit - 640MB GDDR4- $500
8900 GT: 600Mhz/1.8Ghz - 96 shaders - 256bit - 512MB GDDR3 - $400
8900 GS: 550Mhz/1.6Ghz - 96 shaders - 256bit - 256MB/512MB GDDR3 - $200/$250
8800 Ultra: 612Mhz/2.16Ghz - 128 (1.5Ghz) shaders - 256bit - 768MB GDDR3 - $829
8600 GTS: 675Mhz/2.0Ghz - 32 (1.45Ghz) shaders - 128bit - 256MB GDDR3 - $199
8600 GT: 54-Mhz/1.4Ghz - 32 (1.18Ghz) shaders - 128bit - 256MB GDDR3 - $149
8500 GT: 450Mhz/800Mhz - 16 (900Mhz) shaders - 128bit - 128MB/256MB DDR2 or GDDR3 - $89/$129
8300 GT: 400Mhz/800Mhz - 16 shaders - 64 bit - 128/256MB DDR2

Memory bandwidth aside, the 8900 series seems like it'll be very competitive with the X2800 series.

Added on June 12, 2007, 8:43 pmAnd then did u saw the 8950 GX2(crazy) cost also crazy RM 2040

This post has been edited by munak991: Jun 12 2007, 08:43 PM

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:49 AM