ianho
post May 16 2007, 03:26 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ May 16 2007, 02:34 PM)
Having gone through the nvnews thread the FPS isnt so bad after all. Depending on the quality settings (and considering that its the 1st dx10 demo) the demo is playable. Just like Oblivion which pwns current generation cards.

Oblivion pwns current gen cards? Oblivion is peanuts already even on current gen cards. I max out all the gfx options, 2560x1600 resolution n still the most demanding outdoor areas r showing 40-50 FPS which is plenty good. The less demanding areas average 100+ FPS. Oblivion is no big deal for current gen cards.
ianho
post May 16 2007, 05:23 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 04:59 PM)
Guys, anyone of you bought the Galaxy 8600GTS?Do you know what cooler it is using?I saw some review stating that it is using the Zalman VF900 cooler but from their website, it doesnt looks like it. More to me like a Zerotherm GX810..

Source : http://www.galaxytech.com/product_details.asp?id=132

Anyway, i know Galaxy always make mistake in their website. They even state that the 8600GTS is running on 320bit  rclxub.gif ..

GeForce 8600GTS  GeForce 8600GTS  DDR3  320bit

EDITED:

I even saw 8500GE at this website. Is this true or a typo?Or the GE is actually the DDR3 version of the GT?

http://it-review.net/index.php?option=com_...1271&Itemid=105

Ouch, things is getting crazier.I even saw a new 8600GE by Galaxy that matches the performance of the 8600GTS.The benchmark they made shows that the 8600GT/GE had beaten the GTS in some way..Is this even real..Man, i should wait and see whats next..

http://www.gfe.com.hk/news_details.asp?id=135
Yes that is a Zalman cooler. Made specially for Galaxy. N yes the 8500GE is true. I'm gonna buy sum to put in my testbench just for sum fun. From the benchmarks I've seen, the 8500GE is just awesome for such a dirt cheap card.

ianho
post May 18 2007, 07:54 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ May 18 2007, 01:16 PM)
GTX  FTW..................well..if u have the dosh..

so a small question.. i'm thinking of picking up another 8800 GTX and SLI this baby. my question is would a 550 watt PSU enough. i'm using an enermax one at the moment. its hooked on to a few fans and 2 HDD only..

NO. I tried an Enermax 600W just for fun to c if it cud handle it. N that's a server grade Enermax. Yet cant do it.

QUOTE(akachester @ May 18 2007, 01:47 PM)
Well, i am looking for a replacement urgently for now and i could not wait for so long though.Currently looking into 2 of them which is the 8600GT and GTS. Still thinking of which to get. The reason i am looking into the GTS is i have a feeling of - if i could afford a GTS, why i wanted to lower it to the GT. Of course, not all GTS is affordable. Those are in the range of RM700. I could not top up more to get the 8800GTS cause i already max out my budget. Anyway, waiting for the 8800GTS to drop to around RM700 seems irrelevant to me. The reason is, how long would the waiting takes.End of the year maybe?And by that time, people would look into other solution as well at the same time..

Anyway, i have seen 8600GTS selling for about RM680+. Seems like its dropping and a good deal to me if i could afford. Hopefully by the time i get it, maybe next week, it would reach around RM650 or lower. lol...Anyway, the problem that is bothering me now is that i might not be able to use my Zerotherm anymore in these new GC. And it would be a waste though..Thats why i am looking into those that are running their own PCB like Galaxy that seems to be able to fit the Zerotherm..
Get the Galaxy GTS. It's got the best HSF n OC. All that n it's fully guaranteed. Just that nice juicy HSF alone is reason enuf. laugh.gif I wish they used that HSF on the 8500GE. Then I'll OC them to the sky. laugh.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 18 2007, 03:09 PM)
eh

moderator ianho uses a 30 inch with 8800gtx sli and plays it fine with any game so far with ure specs.

and he plays CC most of the time.
CC? What is CC? U mean Command n Conquer kar? I havent bought that game yet. Still on SupCom now. Havent finished it yet.

Anyway, I think what that guy meant by CC=Credit Card. laugh.gif

Added on May 18, 2007, 7:58 pm
QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ May 18 2007, 07:51 PM)
uhhh... both men... dun fire up... calm calm... hmmm... both get a drink of ubat buang panas or beers for short... hahaha...

viewsonic juz launch the vx2835... 28"... that should b more than nice coz it's 3ms respond time, 1920 x 1200... but isn't it a bit too big??? i think anything above 24 is sure too BIG for me (at the moment)...

fsp epsilon is a much cheaper solution for 8800gtx sli i guess... i has the sufficient 12v rail current n it falls at rm500+...

if planning for high end wc, tons of hdd n odd then maybe got to folk out rm1k for 1k psu lor... wah now psu oso rm1 for 1w...
The FSP has very low Amps IIRC. I hafta go read up on that to make sure though. U dont need hi end WC n lotsa HDDs to require a big mama PSU for a 8800GTX SLi rig. U need a big mama PSU for big OC n daily use. Then oni everything will b nice n stable. But of course, once u haf the big mama, u can add in WC n lotsa HDDs too. brows.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: May 18 2007, 07:58 PM
ianho
post May 18 2007, 08:15 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ May 18 2007, 08:11 PM)
anyone getting a benchmarks for 8500GT 450/800 ......new one asus is 385 ....im planing to making upgrade from 73000 500/1400
I've seen sum pretty impressive benchies. A hi OC 85GT at 750/800 did close to 3000 in 3DM06.

ianho
post May 18 2007, 09:11 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ May 18 2007, 08:32 PM)
yeah i mean Credit Card...not Command n Conquer...kekeke..
owh...even 600w still not enough?!!how much the least can handle gtx sli??
U shud get a proper 750W. A Silverstone OP750 wud b nice. I'll be receiving 1 from Silverstone soon. I'll be sure to review it for u guys once I get it.

ianho
post May 18 2007, 09:43 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ May 18 2007, 09:25 PM)
750w mostly cost round RM700 to RM800...quite a lot.rite now using 2 gts psu 600w..probably will enuf.
ya lookin forward 4 the review!!
Well, if under budget constraints then an OP650 will do the job too. The Silverstone PSU engineer told me the OP650 is enuf for a rig with 2x8800GTX even OCed oso can. In fact they wanted me to review the OP650 to show it works great with 2x8800GTX in a hi OC system but they ran out of stocks so sending me a 750 instead. I'll hafta try out the OP650 b4 I can say for sure though.
ianho
post May 19 2007, 10:08 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 19 2007, 08:31 AM)
Guys, would the 8600GT be able to support uber high resolution on 22" Widescreen LCD? I have seen review stating that gaming with the 8600GT is good enough on 1240 * 1024 resolution etc and anything higher is almost unbearable. So, if i am going to purchase a 22" LCD in the future, would getting the 8600GT be a wise choice?
1680x1050 is not uber hi reso by today's standards. U shud be fine. Just dont turn on all the eye candy n u shud get sum nice framerates. U can always SLi it when u get the 22" monitor later.
ianho
post May 29 2007, 02:57 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 29 2007, 02:53 AM)
guys....can someone help me and gimme a direct link to the best drivers to use with the 8800GTS 320MB & the Galaxy 8500GE?

planning to get both soon

and im an absolute n00b when it comes to these driver thingys....usually just use the one on the cd and never change again tongue.gif
Just go to Nvidia.com n use the latest WHQL drivers for max stability. Beta drivers not assured of stability. Also, make sure u select the right drivers. 8800 series n the lower end 8 series use diff drivers IIRC.
ianho
post May 29 2007, 07:38 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(prospeed_ballz @ May 29 2007, 11:05 AM)
STALker and C&C 3 works perfectly with my GTX.......the shadow looks real.....

BTW, is it worth for me to use a 22' lcd widescreen with my 8800GTX.....im currently using samsung 205BW 20'......
Well, if ure looking to maximize the usage of ur 8800GTX, go get the Dell 30" monitor. They're really really cheap nowadays at only about rm3700 depending on the current offers. A single 8800GTX can even handle COH at 2560x1600, full gfx options on. Average FPS still at about 40. I tried it by switching off my SLi n got 50 FPS average. With SLi on I'm getting about 80-90 FPS. Sum ppl cant even get 40-50 FPS on a 17" monitor so yeah, I'd say the upgrade to a 30" will let u fully utilise the power of the GTX.

Dont bother getting the 22" since ur already on 20". It's not even an upgrade since both haf the same resolution. Once u c how games look at super hi resos, u'll never go back to small screens.
ianho
post May 29 2007, 08:44 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 29 2007, 07:49 PM)
Guys, need to confirm something here..

I have seen a review of the 8800GTS just now and i saw something funny. They came with 2 SLI connectors on the top. Is it real?I thought SLI only have 1 connector while Xfire have 2?Or am I out of date lately..lol...

Besides, there is also an article saying that now, we do not need to use the SLI connector to run SLI. Current drivers will allow auto detection of 2 GC and perform SLI through software. How true can that be as well?Let me dig up the article again as the source later...

Do clarify me ok.Thanks..
SLi without the bridge can only be done for the low end cards like the 8500 n 7300.
ianho
post Jun 3 2007, 02:04 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 3 2007, 12:20 AM)
By 8800 series... you mean even the 8800GTS 320MB wins against 7900GTX/7950GX2 correct??
Nope. If the game is supported by SLi(most games are SLI nowadays) then the 7950GX2 is still faster than a single 8800GTS.

Added on June 3, 2007, 2:13 am
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 2 2007, 12:51 AM)
ok, here are the benchies of my galaxy 8500ge ddr3 1.4ns 256mb 128bit 600core/700mem (1400mhz effective)

my 'budget' rig :
intel c2d e4300 @ 2.4ghz
asrock 775dual-vsta mobo (pci-e is 4x only)
512mb ddr400
driver : forceware 158.22 & ntune

with cpu 1.8ghz & gpu 600/700 (both @ stock speeds) :
3dmark03 : 10603
3dmark05 : 6123

with cpu 2.4ghz & gpu 680/790 :
3dmark03 : 12406
3dmark05 : 7086

* yeah.. my mobo isn't the best out there .. but what to do .. it's a budget rig ... blush.gif
Holy smokes! Those 3DM05 scores are absolutely mind blowing for a rm350 card. My old watercooled 6800GT overclocked like hell oso score around the same oni.
And that was a rm1800 gfx card back then. That just shows the progression of tech. Pay rm350 now for the same performance of a rm1800 card 2 years ago.

This post has been edited by ianho: Jun 3 2007, 02:13 AM
ianho
post Jun 3 2007, 02:44 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 3 2007, 10:51 AM)
Yes, the GE is a OCed kaw kaw version of 8500GT from Galaxy.Definitely the best choice as of now for the 8500series..

Time for you to get another card Uncle Ianho..lol..
Time for me to get another card? U want me to buy a 3rd 8800GTX kar? laugh.gif Tri SLi!

I used the water cooled 6800GT for a while only, then moved on to a 7950GX2. Now oredi 8800GTX SLi.

This post has been edited by ianho: Jun 3 2007, 02:49 PM
ianho
post Jun 3 2007, 04:20 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 3 2007, 03:01 PM)
why not do 8800 Ultra SLi boss??
Because 8800Ultra is just a slightly clocked up GTX. It's only about 10-15% faster. All I need is a simple 10-15% OC n they'll be about the same as the Ultra. Besides, even at stock speeds, the 8800GTX SLi already plays Oblivion on my 30" monitor at full graphics options smoothly. That's y I haven't even bothered to OC my cards. There's simply no need to stress them when they already run all my games smoothly. I usually only upgrade my gfx cards when I can get new cards which r 2 times more powerful than what I haf. If it's only incremental improvements then I wont bother upgrading as playing with top end cards especially when u play SLi is very painful on the wallet. laugh.gif

That's y if u look at my gfx upgrade history, I went from 6800GT to 7950GX2 to 8800GTX to 8800GTX SLi coz every step I took was about double the performance of the previous card.

QUOTE(CKC_1 @ Jun 3 2007, 03:59 PM)
he should quad sli 8800ultra or watercooled 8800gtx rclxms.gif i wish i have one of those 8800gtx...
I dont want to go back to water cooling coz I change hardware very often n I also swap around my hardware between rigs n the testbench to do hardware testing n reviews n all so a water cooled rig will b too troublesome. I need to be able to remove n reinstall the hardware quickly without the hassle of a water loop.

ianho
post Jun 4 2007, 06:21 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jun 4 2007, 01:48 AM)
hey... guys.. what is the difference between ForceWare 158.24 Vista 32-bit WHQL and NVIDIA ForceWare 158.45 Vista 32-bit?

it's here,
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1653

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1651
158.45 is more for the 8800 series with more SLi optimisations n also better performance in Company Of Heroes DX10 version.

Single card users shud stick with 158.24 as recommended by Nvidia.
ianho
post Jun 12 2007, 08:04 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 12 2007, 07:27 PM)
yeah...the Palit 8800GTS is at RM990 now in ShSikua (is that how u spell his nick?? doh.gif) bulk...
Wooooo. Now so cheap oredi it's time for u to grab another 1 to fill up ur P5N32E-SLi. brows.gif
ianho
post Jun 14 2007, 01:47 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 13 2007, 12:19 AM)
I wonder why didn't those brand release a "slightly different" version of 8800GTS?? Except for the Calibre... all of them are on reference design...

Galaxy shud put a Zalman cooler on their 8800GTS...
The reference coolers on the 8800GTX n GTS IS a Zalman design.
ianho
post Jun 15 2007, 01:00 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 15 2007, 12:19 AM)
Wondering, what is the normal score i should get for 320MB 8800GTS if i were to perform benchmark using 3D Mark03/05/06 on stock of every spec in my sig?Thanks..
Just so u dont get deeply dissapointed by those benchmark scores............. the scores with AMD dual core is really lauya. laugh.gif BUT dont worry bout it. It's not at all indicative of how good ur rig is for real games.

There r fellas with C2D E6300 n single 8800GTS with higher scores than my rig at 3DM06. When it comes to real gaming though, the E6300 n 8800GTS rigs cant even smell smoke. brows.gif So dont bother about benchmarking.

ianho
post Jun 15 2007, 03:21 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 15 2007, 08:29 AM)
LOL..Yea, i got the point there. I saw plenty of people having crazy score on 3D Mark03/06 and when i test it on my own PC, my 8800GTS scored around 23k+ on 3D Mark03 with everything on stock..Seems too low though..LOL..

Anyway, cant seem to view the 3DMark06 online though.Keep on asking me to view online but saying not found..gosh..
Use Firefox to view the 3DM06 results if IE dont work. It's lidat sumtimes
ianho
post Jun 25 2007, 08:32 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Jun 25 2007, 06:46 AM)
using 3dmark06 is hard to compare now cos it take into account of cpu spec....probably 3dmark07 they will remove it then it will easy for us to compare the card with different spec of pc..
laugh.gif U wish. From what I've read, 3DM07 is gonna take into account Quad cores. Which will make it even more sucky. Then the benchmark becomes even more pointless. As it is, 3DM06 is already a very poor indication of a rig's real gaming power. 3DM07 will just take it into the realm of the Twilight Zone. laugh.gif
ianho
post Jul 4 2007, 04:16 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kutet @ Jul 4 2007, 12:47 PM)
hi to all ... my 8800gts score 5.0 in vista and I'm using 160.04 vista 32 driver from guru3d.com. Actually what is the highest point ?
U want max Vista score of 5.9 u gonna need to spend big bux. Mine scores 5.9 but it's 8800GTX SLi.

0.0439sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:32 PM