197 Pages « < 190 191 192 193 194 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

iXora.ix
post Jan 4 2019, 10:03 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 4 2019, 10:55 AM)
The site says that if your tickets are booked and issued before the 7th January 2019, then you are exempted from paying. I dont think anybody experienced it before yet. The tax should be included in the airfare when you purchase the tickets.

Airbnb operators now requires a special inn/hotel operator license from their government to operate. By now, most of them have already gotten their licenses. So there would be no issues.
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 4 2019, 12:11 PM)
Sigh which is why I personally prefer Hotel compared to AirBnB. Other than worrying about cancellation, the latter is sometimes hard to find as it's usually in residential area. Last year my cousins who went to Osaka had so much problem trying to unlock the door under the cold winter only to find out the Host gave them wrong code.

In fact with the new law governing AirBnB in Japan, the houses/ rooms rental isn't all that cheap. It's comparable to Hotels imo. Probably AirBnB is suitable for families/ big groups.
QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jan 4 2019, 02:27 PM)
I had no problems with my ABNB from my trip few weeks ago. As long as the property is registered, the risk of cancellation is not as bad as early to mid last year. Even if the price is just slightly lower than hotels, the space given is much much better most of the time. Business hotels are cramped most of the time, the only benefits i see in hotel is the possibility to leave your luggage there before the check-in time and sometimes the convenient location in tourist districts.

When choosing ABNB properties, of course, reviews are important... it's the same for hotels anyway.
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jan 4 2019, 03:47 PM)
so far my experience with airbnbs in japan are good
Silly me. I didnt read the 'Until' word sweat.gif .
And yes I do agree that the price is somewhat equal to hotel,which provide daily cleanup and room service. also ,travel with family also quite pain as you know, they want to masak la, sweat.gif Perhaps I need to try to stay at hotel for my next trip without family i guess to compare the service biggrin.gif

Also since this is first time I experience winter, should I prepare to wear winter dress before or during or after landing? afraid pakai winter wear time klia so panas.

RegentCid
post Jan 4 2019, 11:49 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Ovenly by J. @ Jan 4 2019, 11:08 AM)
My friend suggest me to put our last night near to the aiport as my flight the next day is 9.20am, to avoid transportation issue(worst is winter storm) to the airport, do you think is it fine if I remain my stay in Sapporo city and catch the earliest train to airport?
Sapporo Station got Bus to New Chitose Airport.
As Early as 5.15am

If taking Train, 1st train will be 6am leaving Sapporo Station

I been Hokkaido so many times, I always stay at Sapporo City and travel to airport.
TOMEI-R
post Jan 5 2019, 03:34 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jan 4 2019, 10:03 PM)
Silly me. I didnt read the 'Until' word sweat.gif  .
And yes I do agree that the price is somewhat equal to hotel,which provide daily cleanup and room service. also ,travel with family also quite pain as you know, they want to masak la,  sweat.gif  Perhaps I need to try to stay at hotel for my next trip without family i guess to compare the service biggrin.gif

Also since this is first time I experience winter, should I prepare to wear winter dress before or during or after landing? afraid pakai winter wear time klia so panas.
Lol.. Put your jumper/sweater into your carry on board luggage and carry it on board with you so that you need not open your big luggages on arrival. Its only cold when you step out of the airport.
FreedomSeeker
post Jan 5 2019, 04:35 PM

17 posts

wanna ask if there a direct flight from fukuoka to okinawa in summer. i plan to stay at fukuoka from 21 june till 25 june then take flight to okinawa and stay till 28 june then back to fukuoka.

but i try to search fukuoka - naha flight both peach & skymark show not available in june.
iXora.ix
post Jan 5 2019, 10:48 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 5 2019, 03:34 PM)
Lol.. Put your jumper/sweater into your carry on board luggage and carry it on board with you so that you need not open your big luggages on arrival. Its only cold when you step out of the airport.
Noted. Will follow your advise on next trip. Upon checking the weather forecast, the temperature hit less than 10c on night and kinda excited and worried at the same time as I never experience winter before. Thanks rclxms.gif
Ovenly by J.
post Jan 7 2019, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 4 2019, 11:49 PM)
Sapporo Station got Bus to New Chitose Airport.
As Early as 5.15am

If taking Train, 1st train will be 6am leaving Sapporo Station

I been Hokkaido so many times, I always stay at Sapporo City and travel to airport.
Alright, thank you so much! rclxm9.gif
sevendogz
post Jan 7 2019, 02:54 PM

1,276 posts

found that Travel Recommends selling the cheapest JR passes, anyone tried their service? how's the review?
or anyone can share where did you buy the JR passes in Malaysia?
Shin Musha
post Jan 7 2019, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Jan 7 2019, 02:54 PM)
found that Travel Recommends selling the cheapest JR passes, anyone tried their service? how's the review?
before this i purchase JR Pass at JTB Malaysia.. AEON Mall Shah Alam

This post has been edited by Shin Musha: Jan 7 2019, 03:05 PM
Chaud
post Jan 7 2019, 03:09 PM

1,119 posts

I bought from Klook
tohff7
post Jan 7 2019, 04:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

can get some discount from time to time buying from Klook
sevendogz
post Jan 7 2019, 04:38 PM

1,276 posts

Thanks for the feedbacks
Puteih
post Jan 7 2019, 05:25 PM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

I also bought from Klook. But I used their WiFi dongle during my stay there, unlimited data until I return the device in KL. Also they manage to help me with securing last minute device because I forgot to book earlier.
TSsweet_pez
post Jan 7 2019, 08:27 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jan 4 2019, 10:03 PM)
Silly me. I didnt read the 'Until' word sweat.gif  .
And yes I do agree that the price is somewhat equal to hotel,which provide daily cleanup and room service. also ,travel with family also quite pain as you know, they want to masak la,  sweat.gif  Perhaps I need to try to stay at hotel for my next trip without family i guess to compare the service biggrin.gif

Cooking = potential savings. It could do your pocket some good biggrin.gif provided you don't have to do the cooking.

There are both pros and cons for AirBnB/ Hotel. What I've personally experienced multiple times - the bad outweigh the good. Usually i like how Hotels are also able to give you recommendations, check directions etc. Services are very good in Japan so you won't have problem. Stayed in Trend Hotel Asakusa last month and they put us in a room on the 3rd floor. There's no lift sweat.gif ...the concierge carried each of our luggage 3 floors up with his strength. Totally thumbup.gif

Suggest you don't wear your winter jacket till you've touched down in Japan. The plane could be hot for all you know. Since not everyone carries a backpack to stuff their jacket in so you can leave your winter jacket in the baggage. But make sure it's at the top and easily retrievable when you open it. Once you arrived at the airport and got your luggage, just stop somewhere and retrieve your jacket from your baggage.
iXora.ix
post Jan 7 2019, 09:28 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 7 2019, 08:27 PM)
Cooking = potential savings. It could do your pocket some good biggrin.gif provided you don't have to do the cooking.

There are both pros and cons for AirBnB/ Hotel. What I've personally experienced multiple times - the bad outweigh the good. Usually i like how Hotels are also able to give you recommendations, check directions etc. Services are very good in Japan so you won't have problem. Stayed in Trend Hotel Asakusa last month and they put us in a room on the 3rd floor. There's no lift sweat.gif ...the concierge carried each of our luggage 3 floors up with his strength. Totally thumbup.gif

Suggest you don't wear your winter jacket till you've touched down in Japan. The plane could be hot for all you know. Since not everyone carries a backpack to stuff their jacket in so you can leave your winter jacket in the baggage. But make sure it's at the top and easily retrievable when you open it. Once you arrived at the airport and got your luggage, just stop somewhere and retrieve your jacket from your baggage.
After read your comment, I think I need to try out the hotel service. Already argue with family that wanted to stay at hotel due to last year incident (mass airbnb cancel, already book nearby dontoburi, end up stay at dermachiyanagi area laugh.gif ) The keyword cooking confirm I lose already. But you're right. Now I can see the airbnb/hotel price is like few bucks different only (minus cooking of course) but like nearby to train, daily cleanup, free breakfast, its irresistible to pickup hotel for our next trip. Wanted to stay one night at odawara/hakone (but the price for hotel and airbnb is like can enter disneyland already sweat.gif

Noted about the jacket. So skeptical because afraid its freezing cold. But I checked weather mostly 1-2c only so no issue right I wear jean and a bit casual shirt biggrin.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jan 7 2019, 09:45 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jan 7 2019, 09:28 PM)
After read your comment, I think I need to try out the hotel service. Already argue with family that wanted to stay at hotel due to last year incident (mass airbnb cancel, already book nearby dontoburi, end up stay at dermachiyanagi area  laugh.gif ) The keyword cooking confirm I lose already. But you're right. Now I can see the airbnb/hotel price is like few bucks different only (minus cooking of course) but like nearby to train, daily cleanup, free breakfast,  its irresistible to pickup hotel for our next trip. Wanted to stay one night at odawara/hakone (but the price for hotel and airbnb is like can enter disneyland already sweat.gif

Noted about the jacket. So skeptical because afraid its freezing cold. But I checked weather mostly 1-2c only so no issue right I wear jean and a bit casual shirt  biggrin.gif
Hahahaha yeah and AirBnB located in residential area can be a nightmare to find. I experienced it twice in my Dec trip. They're harder to find due to lack of landmark, unlike Hotels which is commonly located along main street.

Ah but breakfast depends on establishment. Some hotels offer them and some don't. But either way yes, fresh towels, clean room, bins emptied for you, availability of TV and other services is what makes Hotel desirable for me. I've stayed in 2 AirBnB with no TV sweat.gif although TV is not a main component in our choice, without it there's no white noise. Felt so quiet when everyone sits around together.

If you've not tried Hotel in Japan before then yes, don't hesitate and just go for Hotel at least once biggrin.gif

Hakone is worth spending a night in. You can enjoy onsen at the Hotel. Imo that's totally worth paying for ady. My last stay - the Hotel per pax was around RM320 for a night but including Japanese dinner and buffet breakfast. There's onsen as well... with full hotel facilities. Worth it thumbsup.gif

Jeans and shirt no issue. If you're afraid, wear long sleeves instead. Reach Narita then take your jacket out. Make sure to bring something thicker if it's going to be 1-2 degrees celcius. Don't forget to buy your heat tech too (but don't wear on the day you're flying... or else you'll be sweating). It's mostly the wind that makes it unbearable.

Other items you'll want to bring over or buy there: gloves, face mask, hand warmers.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jan 8 2019, 09:25 AM
iXora.ix
post Jan 7 2019, 10:47 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 7 2019, 09:45 PM)
Hahahaha yeah and AirBnB located in residential area can be a nightmare to find. I experienced it twice in my Dec trip. They're harder to find due to lack of landmark, unlike Hotels which is commonly located along main street.

Ah but breakfast depends on establishment. Some hotels offer them and some don't. But either way yes, fresh towels, clean room, bins empties for you, availability of TV and other services is what makes Hotel desirable for me. I've stayed in 2 AirBnB with no TV sweat.gif although TV is not a main component in our choice, without it there's no white noise. Felt so quiet when everyone sits around together.

If you've not tried Hotel in Japan before then yes, don't hesitate and just go for Hotel at least once biggrin.gif

Hakone is worth spending a night in. You can enjoy onsen at the Hotel. Imo that's totally worth paying for ady. My last stay - the Hotel per pax was around RM320 for a night but including Japanese dinner and buffet breakfast. There's onsen as well... with full hotel facilities. Worth it thumbsup.gif

Jeans and shirt no issue. If you're afraid, wear long sleeves instead. Reach Narita then take your jacket out. Make sure to bring something thicker if it's going to be 1-2 degrees celcius. Don't forget to buy your heat tech too (but don't wear on the day you're flying... or else you'll be sweating). It's mostly the wind that makes it unbearable.

Other items you'll want to bring over or buy there: gloves, face mask, hand warmers.
Wow, you like google for japan I guess. Everything is correct sweat.gif . For Hakone park, our mistake since we only plan to stay one day only at there (as we book romancecar, with hakone kamakura pass) and if we change date(lets say tukar train type, sure they mengamok as we manage to secure the 70000 series GSE top view) rolleyes.gif

Oh yea, I land at haneda for airacia. So like narita got their train service similar to haruka in osaka. For haneda, must-naik-bus is convenient right if my area around tokyo (nearby katama station to be exact)

Btw thank you for remind me the heat tech thinggy too. That i need totally lupa nk beli. I though only wear the winter coat/wear can survive already the winter sweat.gif
victorsoo
post Jan 8 2019, 10:11 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jan 7 2019, 09:28 PM)
After read your comment, I think I need to try out the hotel service. Already argue with family that wanted to stay at hotel due to last year incident (mass airbnb cancel, already book nearby dontoburi, end up stay at dermachiyanagi area  laugh.gif ) The keyword cooking confirm I lose already. But you're right. Now I can see the airbnb/hotel price is like few bucks different only (minus cooking of course) but like nearby to train, daily cleanup, free breakfast,  its irresistible to pickup hotel for our next trip. Wanted to stay one night at odawara/hakone (but the price for hotel and airbnb is like can enter disneyland already sweat.gif

Noted about the jacket. So skeptical because afraid its freezing cold. But I checked weather mostly 1-2c only so no issue right I wear jean and a bit casual shirt  biggrin.gif
I'm also one of those who prefer hotels to AirBnBs. Booking hotels on sites like Expedia or Agoda can sometimes yield good discounts through on-site vouchers or credit card rebates.

Anyway I just wanted to add that during my last trip to Kyoto and Osaka, I stayed in hotels that come with cooking facilities in the room. I'm not sure if such hotels are available in Tokyo but worth a look I reckon.
langatian
post Jan 8 2019, 10:34 AM

270 posts

Hi. Anyone has been visited Mazda Museum at Hiroshima? Mine unable to book the reservation due to half-width letters requirements.
5p3ak
post Jan 8 2019, 11:04 AM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(victorsoo @ Jan 8 2019, 10:11 AM)
I'm also one of those who prefer hotels to AirBnBs. Booking hotels on sites like Expedia or Agoda can sometimes yield good discounts through on-site vouchers or credit card rebates.

Anyway I just wanted to add that during my last trip to Kyoto and Osaka, I stayed in hotels that come with cooking facilities in the room. I'm not sure if such hotels are available in Tokyo but worth a look I reckon.
May I know where did you stay in Osaka? Thankss
TOMEI-R
post Jan 8 2019, 11:16 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jan 7 2019, 10:47 PM)
Wow, you like google for japan I guess. Everything is correct sweat.gif . For Hakone park, our mistake since we only plan to stay one day only at there (as we book romancecar, with hakone kamakura pass) and if we change date(lets say tukar train type, sure they mengamok as we manage to secure the 70000 series GSE top view) rolleyes.gif

Oh yea, I land at haneda for airacia. So like narita got their train service similar to haruka in osaka. For haneda, must-naik-bus is convenient right if my area around tokyo (nearby katama station to be exact)

Btw thank you for remind me the heat tech thinggy too. That i need totally lupa nk beli. I though only wear the winter coat/wear can survive already the winter sweat.gif
There are family rooms in some hotels which could accomodate up to six people. Or you could try renting apartments (not airbnb) which could be cheaper. I find Japanesse Airbnb very pricy. The cheaper or more reasonable ones are usually taken up very early. Usually the airbnb homes would be a bit of a distance from the train/subway station and that would be a problem for those with heavy luggages ( though some hosts are kind enough to pick you up from the train station).
Heat tech is the in-thing right now. No more bulky jackets and clothing on you and in your begs taking up precious luggage space. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 8 2019, 11:17 AM

197 Pages « < 190 191 192 193 194 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:12 AM