10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

tohff7
post Dec 29 2017, 09:59 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Dec 29 2017, 09:04 AM)
Hi guys. My trip to tokyo in less than 3 weeks! Just want to get opinion, Gotemba outlet worth to go or not? Wife want to shops. We'll be at fujisan for 2 nights and I've cancel plan to bring my son to thomas land so need opinion on gotemba.
Depends on your itinerary? Usually ppl will visit Gotemba when travelling from Hakone to Lake Kawaguchiko area.

It's just like any other premium outlet with those designer brands
tohff7
post Jan 1 2018, 07:24 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

anybody got any recommendation for hotel/ryokan in Takayama?

So freaking surprise to see accommodation fully booked for the peak period of 14-16 April so early....
tohff7
post Jan 2 2018, 12:56 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 2 2018, 09:47 AM)
How many nights? Is it a quick stopover or you'll be staying for several days there?

Stayed in K's House Takayama when I was there, and had a good stay. The room and bathroom isn't spacious, but it's decent. There's also a kitchen where you can cook, use their fridge facility and a dining area with TV.
My original plan is to stay 2 days on 14-15 Apr for the Spring festival. But it looks quite impossible now with all accomodations fully booked. So, I'm in the midst of re-adjusting my itinerary and looking for alternative suggestion. For that leg, it is supposed to be Tokyo --> Kanazawa --> Gokayama/Shirakawago --> Takayama --> Kurobe Alpine Route --->Nagano/Tokyo.

Some alternatives that I'm considering

1) Stay a night in Takayama on 13 April, enjoy the festival in 14th and take train out in the evening to Toyama. Stay the night in Toyama (14th) and ready for Kurobe Alpine Route on 15th. Staying a night in Toyama seems better than my original plan because trains departing Takayama to Toyama is less frequent (earliest train is 5.30, next is 7.40 and reach Toyama 8am and 10am respectively)

2) I also has the option to stay in a ryokan/hotel in Takayama for 12-13 Apr night, but was wondering if it's worth it. Without the festival, I think Takayama can be covered with just a night stay? Also thinking whether i should spend additional on ryokan if i'll be out most of the time.

3) Still researching other nearby places like Gero and Hida Furukawa, but of course, accommodation is quite heavily booked as well

Also, are there any other interesting places to visit as well along the Hokuriku Shinkansen line? I looked at Kurobe Gorge but the route only open in May.
tohff7
post Jan 2 2018, 01:46 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 2 2018, 01:15 PM)
Depends on what time you arrive in Takayama on 13th, or how much time you have. Wished I had at least 1 full day in Takayama to explore. If you have a full day minus the festival, it's quite sufficient to cover the key attractions. Gero is more popular for its Onsen; not sure about Furukawa.

If i had another day in Takayama (eg around 2 days), Shinhotaka Ropeway will be one of the attraction I'll go for.
Ohh, I definitely have the time to adjust accordingly since I have yet to fix anything lol.

Starting early in Kanazawa, then travel to Gokayama/Shirakawago, then onwards to Takayama - I suppose I'll reach Takayama around evening?
tohff7
post Jan 3 2018, 01:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(artman @ Jan 3 2018, 11:10 AM)
I stayed 3d2n at Takayama Ouan Hotel last spring. It was just few days before the festival.
RM1,400 for 2 included bf & dinner which served Hida beef. Private onsen + free flow of Yakult. Plus a bonus ramen meal at 10pm.

It located walking distance from Takayama station, where I can easily book for the next day bus ride to Shirakawa-Go day trip using my Hakuriku Pass.
As for me, I really like Takayama. Very relaxing and don't miss the A5 Hida Beef at Maruaki. (2 x Lunch Set at 5K Yen). Yum...

Do note, Sakura still not bloom before the spring festival in Takayama.
But after I checked out on the 3rd day, I went Toyama for a day trip. The Sakura there were 'fantastic' along the river. Even nicer than the famous Kyoto which are full of tourist.
Make sure you check the train schedule before hands from Takayama to Toyama. Cheers
Thanks for your input.

I'm planning for 12-14 Apr and it seems freaking impossible to get decent accomodation at decent price. For now, I think i will likely do this way

12 Apr - Depart Kanazawa. Visit Shirakawago and reach Takayama in evening. Spend the night in Takayama (probably just a cheap and decent hostel/hotel)
13 Apr - Travel to Hirayu Onsen area for Shin-Hotaka Ropeway. Spend the night at a ryokan there.
14 Apr - Check out and spend the day in Takayama for the festival. Take late evening train to Toyama and spend the night there.

Wondering if I'll miss out anything in Takayama if i do it this way hmm.gif sweet_pez

This post has been edited by tohff7: Jan 3 2018, 01:21 PM
tohff7
post Jan 3 2018, 05:36 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 3 2018, 02:34 PM)
Eh your ShirakawaGo only day trip? Not staying overnight in the gassho zukuri?

Better check the bus schedule. If you want to visit the villages of ShirakawaGo, it has to be early. Visitors can only enter some of the village from 10am-4pm. By 4pm, outsiders not staying in the village cannot access the place. And the last bus that leaves the village is quite early. I think it's before 4pm. Do check on Hyperdia.

However if you only have plans to drop by a nearby village and take photo from Viewing Point, then I believe it's possible.

14th Apr seems doable. You can just do few things in Takayama before the festival - morning market, shrine, Hida Folk Village, Sanmachi suji etc. Maybe spend less time at the shrine. You'll have to take a bus to Hida Folk Village. I stayed in K's Hostel and the staff told us it's also accessible by bike, which is available for free (by the Hostel). But sadly, it was Winter and friends didn't like the idea of cycling in the cold dry.gif
Thanks for sharing your experience! Nice to earn SGD!
Still haven't decided whether to stay at Shirakawago. I think i mentioned before to my other half but she doesn't seems to be keen. Anyway, my schedule is flexible and i can easily fit in a day for Shirakawago.

I'll spend a day in Kanazawa, so no issue for me to start early to travel to Shirakawago the next day (in case i'm not staying overnight at Shirakawago)
tohff7
post Jan 5 2018, 03:13 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Jan 5 2018, 02:01 PM)
no bad lah, last time i go rm650 one person, airasia, price include seat, luggage, meal
impossible to get the price now with AirAsia haha..

plus AirAsia timing quite sucks (reach at 10pm++)

EDIT
Anyone have recommendation for Airbnb accommodation in Tokyo? Let's hear some name so I can short-list as soon as possible

This post has been edited by tohff7: Jan 5 2018, 04:37 PM
tohff7
post Jan 9 2018, 10:00 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jan 9 2018, 07:46 AM)
guys i have a concern here,

example i check-out this hotel in umeda for another hotel in kyoto,after few days later back from kyoto,i will be staying hotel in namba.

so my question is are we allowed to put our luggage at hotel umeda before depart to kyoto? because it's abit hassle to carry luggage around.
I doubt the hotel in Umeda will keep your luggage for days, unless you are returning.

what you can do is - before going to Kyoto, send the luggage over to the hotel in Namba (either by yourselves or baggage delivery service). Most hotels are okay with it, but better ask them first just to make sure.
tohff7
post Jan 9 2018, 04:30 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(ch1ck3n @ Jan 9 2018, 02:13 PM)
wow , this is quite good of a deal.

check who is their partnering telco in Japan, if it is one of the big boys. NTT Docomo, Softbank.
Coverage wont be a problem for sure if its them.
It's Docomo
tohff7
post Jan 10 2018, 11:20 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

There’s a Japan Travel Fair at Starling Mall Damansara this weekend.

Do you guys think it’s worth going for DIY travelers like us?
tohff7
post Jan 15 2018, 08:27 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 15 2018, 05:49 AM)
Would RM14k be enough for 2 people including budget Hotel + AA Flight?

3 nights at Osaka, 4 nights at Kyoto, 4 nights at Tokyo

Travelling around by train mostly and won't be eating expensive food all the time except for a few..
Enough, more so if you go during off-season. 2 years ago I spent roughly RM8k/pax for 10-day similar trip in mid-Apr (inclusive of souvenirs, Japanese whisky and ryokan in Hakone + Lake Kawaguchiko)

tohff7
post Jan 21 2018, 07:32 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 21 2018, 01:12 PM)
Can any please help me with info on USJ?

Understand that Happy Porter World only allows up to a number of visitor at one time so "Timed Entry" need to be booked.

1. Does this applied to other parts of the park as well?
2. If I don't wanna book timed entry in advance (as I don't fix my visiting date), I need to book it on the day I arrive at the park right, but I can only book it once I enter the park right? cuz its a booth within the park, not same as the entrance ticketing booth.
3. How long is each "timed entry" session? Is it like one session in the morning, one in the afternoon, one in the evening, one at night? with each session is an hour? but what if different time of the day has different events happening in HP park?
4. If I'm correct on item 2, since I'm going in April, so must be super peak, better to get VIP band to enter the park before official opening so I can get to the timed entry booking booth to make booking first?

Thanks so much
When are you going in Apr? Mid-April and during weekdays are fine.

There is a difference with Express Pass and Timed Entry. Express Pass let you cut queue and use the shorter express lane.

AFAIK, timed entry tickets are only used for Harry Potter area in order to limit the crowds entering there. Once you enter, there is no time limit to how long you can stay inside.

What you can do is arrive early in the park and RUN straight to the Harry Potter area first. Most likely you will still able to go in before they closed it. If it’s already close, then you will need to get the timed-entry ticket and select your time.

Once you are in, go straight for the ride first and leave sight-seeing later. It only took me like 30mins to queue.

tohff7
post Jan 22 2018, 01:48 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Jan 21 2018, 11:59 PM)
Is there any web sites which i can purchase express tickets for USJ?

I have checked kkday. They not selling express tickets on the day i’m going.
Just look at the list of travel agencies available in MY

https://www.usj.co.jp/e/travel/
tohff7
post Jan 22 2018, 04:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jan 22 2018, 03:35 PM)
Hi Guys, I remember last year I came this thread to share my travel literary. Now I need to finalize hotel etc for the golden week on first week of May.

I will be traveling to Tokyo with my wife for 14 days. Due to the fact that departure and arrival are in Tokyo. Hence we decided to travel straight to Osaka from Tokyo once we reach Airport. And travel from Osaka slowly towards back to Tokyo.

Here is the distribution of the travel

1 day Nara
2 day Osaka
1 day USJ ( With fast pass )
3 days Kyoto
5 days Tokyo
        - One day Mount Fuji
  - One day Akihabara shopping
  - One day Disney sea
  - One day temple hopping
  - One day Shibuya and Shinjuku

Still have 2 more days available. Any place I can slot into the schedule? For example, 5+1 for Tokyo or 2 +1 for Osaka?

FYI, we do not eat beef, so I do not think there is a need to go Kobe.
Tokyo part
- spend 1 additional day in Mount Fuji area (i.e. Hakone + Lake Kawaguchiko)
- day trip to Nikko
- Day trip to Kurobe Alpine Route (not really recommended though biggrin.gif)

Btw, better check further with experts here since you are going there during Golden Week. Best to avoid travel far during that time since train will be super-packed. Queuing time can be very long also
tohff7
post Jan 24 2018, 03:13 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jan 24 2018, 02:34 PM)
For Mount Fuji, so far we just want to view the best scene of Mount Fuji. Won't be going for mountain climbing. I heard that Kawaguchiko is the best lake view from all ( Correct me if I'm wrong ). Not sure whether you both have any better itinerary suggestion in Mount Fuji for a day?
Kawaguchiko is the best place with the highest chance to view Mount Fuji. Even if weather is ok, viewing at those further place like Hakone can still be blocked by clouds

Choose to stay opposite site of the lake and you get to experience a reflection of Mt Fuji on the lake.

Other attractions in Kawaguchiko area - Kachi-Kachi Ropeway and also the Fuji Shibazakura festival
tohff7
post Jan 31 2018, 11:39 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Jan 31 2018, 05:04 PM)
Hey peeps,

Is Muji considerably cheaper in Tokyo compared to Malaysia? Thought of getting a luggage bag from Muji in Tokyo during my cherry blossom trip.
There's Muji cafe too, right? Is it any good?

Also, just curious...how large is the coin luggage storage in Tokyo Station? The last time I went there in 2016, the bigger lockers were fully taken up and I think it only fits 24cm luggages? Correct me if I'm wrong.

Arigatou gozaimasu, minna-san. Domo onegaishimasu.
Usually it's about the same price. I doubt it will be a lot cheaper.

Locker dimension - http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/stations/pdf/info_coinlocker.pdf
tohff7
post Feb 1 2018, 03:54 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Feb 1 2018, 02:56 PM)
Those who stayed in Lake Kawaguchi,

Can recommend nice place to stay? Nice view of Mt. Fuji and onsen.

I stay at Hotel Mizuno 2 years ago. It's at the opposite side of Lake Kawaguchi, so you can get a nice view of Mount Fuji and the reflection in the lake. They have Japanese style and Western style room. They also have a public bath and private reservable open-air bath at rooftop

It's seems they did a major renovation in 2017 and hotel looks much nicer than before.

One thing to note is that the hotel is located on a higher ground up a slope from the main road. So, make use of their bus shuttle service instead of trying to go there on your own.

tohff7
post Feb 1 2018, 09:32 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 1 2018, 04:32 PM)
From your experience, is there anything to do during the visit to Lake Kawaguchi? Cause I was there last year and I only did a day trip instead of overnight trip. I don't find there much stuff to do except for scenery viewing. hmm.gif
It's mostly just sight-seeing and scenery.

I stayed in Hakone the day before, then check-out roughly 10-11am. Shop and eat and Gotamba around late afternoon before reaching my hotel around 5-6pm. Next morning, I visited Mt.Kachi-Kachi Ropeway and also the Fuji Shibazakura Festival before going back to Tokyo

I think some people went for Fuji-Q Highland theme park since it's nearby also

EDIT
Just remember that there's another famous spot but might be abit of a hassle to access - Chureito Pagoda

This post has been edited by tohff7: Feb 1 2018, 09:35 PM
tohff7
post Feb 2 2018, 08:29 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Feb 1 2018, 10:43 PM)
Oh ya the festival. I think I will be able to visit it as well.
The pagoda seems to be good visit, but I read that it can be so packed till won't get a good view of the scenery
No idea but i understand Chureito Pagoda attracts a lot of photographers since it's an iconic/signature photo to take in Japan.

Why I said it's a bit of a hassle because it's a train-ride away and there's nothing else nearby. So kinda not worth. Also depends on where you stay in Kawaguchiko
tohff7
post Feb 5 2018, 12:20 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

Just want to ask if anybody might have experience before.

Will Uniqlo in Japan still sell limited stock of down jacket around early April? I already got Heattech products but I feel I still need down jacket when going up mountain in Shinotaka Ropeway and Kurobe Alpine Route.

Last time when i was there 2 years ago, they still sell Heattech products but I can't recall if they still selling down jackets

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:36 PM