send via checked in luggage zero tax hor? sorry for silly question..
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
| Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
May 9 2008, 03:35 PM
26 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
send via checked in luggage zero tax hor? sorry for silly question..
May 14 2008, 02:57 PM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
harlo,just wanted to ask.
My China friend said will using EMS to send me some goods like clothes & pants. Izzit will charge any tax for it? This post has been edited by moffect: May 15 2008, 11:18 AM |
May 14 2008, 06:28 PM
10 posts Joined: May 2008 |
-
This post has been edited by bear_in_a_basket: May 15 2008, 03:26 AM |
May 15 2008, 03:58 AM
27 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I bought a DVD boxset and some clothes and it was supposed to be shipped together from US two months ago using USPS Priority Mail but its still not here. Is there any chance custom is holding it? I didnt get any letter yet and I am worried now :[
May 15 2008, 04:59 AM
210 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Is it taxable if we bring in toys/collectible toys from oversea?
thanks |
May 15 2008, 06:58 AM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
May 15 2008, 07:15 AM
2,765 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: **Hornbills** |
QUOTE(crystalroselle @ May 15 2008, 03:58 AM) I bought a DVD boxset and some clothes and it was supposed to be shipped together from US two months ago using USPS Priority Mail but its still not here. Is there any chance custom is holding it? I didnt get any letter yet and I am worried now :[ u can track it using custom reference number on ur priority mail in usps website..its will gv u the status of ur parcel wether its reach msia or not yet |
May 15 2008, 10:18 AM
May 15 2008, 10:58 AM
27 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(mfcm @ May 15 2008, 07:15 AM) u can track it using custom reference number on ur priority mail in usps website..its will gv u the status of ur parcel wether its reach msia or not yet Hi I tried that method. It doesn't work. Apparently the reference number only works inside of United State but not when the parcel is out of US? It keep saying there's no record of this item |
May 15 2008, 11:03 AM
1,938 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://blog.saimatkong.com |
how about digital product like handphone or pda or digital screen ?
is it taxable? |
May 15 2008, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(crystalroselle @ May 15 2008, 10:58 AM) Hi I tried that method. It doesn't work. Apparently the reference number only works inside of United State but not when the parcel is out of US? It keep saying there's no record of this item Nope. It will tell u the latest status of the delivery process from US to M'sia.Added on May 15, 2008, 8:14 pm QUOTE(saimatkong @ May 15 2008, 11:03 AM) normally if your phone send by courier service(CS), this CS company will call u & instruct u to get AP.U must go to sirim and pay for AP ( normally this AP around 215)after that u must send that AP to CS company. CS company will use this AP for custom clearance and pay custom tax (normally 10%) if u buy phone 500.tax is 50, and back charge to u when CS company send this item to u. so total cost for your phone 500+215+50. i suggest if phone available in malaysia better buy in malaysia. if this phone declare as gift, it's depend on luck. if u lucky, u don't need to pay custom & AP Sorry I don't know PDA & digital screen. Added on May 15, 2008, 8:21 pm QUOTE(crystalroselle @ May 15 2008, 03:58 AM) I bought a DVD boxset and some clothes and it was supposed to be shipped together from US two months ago using USPS Priority Mail but its still not here. Is there any chance custom is holding it? I didnt get any letter yet and I am worried now :[ Normally USPS Priority will take 7-9 days to reach international destination. My experience is 3 days only! Right after it reaches M'sia, the package will be handled by Pos Malaysia & delivered to ur house. Did u ask seller for tracking number? U can check it here: http://www.usps.com/shipping/trackandconfi...trackandconfirm Do always ask ur seller to include your phone no. on the package. This post has been edited by owikh84: May 15 2008, 08:21 PM |
May 16 2008, 01:26 AM
1,938 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://blog.saimatkong.com |
wow that's expensive to import tv phone then.
May 16 2008, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ May 15 2008, 08:02 PM) normally if your phone send by courier service(CS), this CS company will call u & instruct u to get AP.U must go to sirim and pay for AP ( normally this AP around 215)after that u must send that AP to CS company. CS company will use this AP for custom clearance and pay custom tax (normally 10%) if u buy phone 500.tax is 50, and back charge to u when CS company send this item to u. so total cost for your phone 500+215+50. i suggest if phone available in malaysia better buy in malaysia. if this phone declare as gift, it's depend on luck. if u lucky, u don't need to pay custom & AP Hi owikh84, the charges of RM215 for AP, is it fix? Normally how Sirim calculate the AP charges?Coz, I just bought a PDA phone from oversea and sending in by courier, it was hold back by custom and was told to get the AP. I paid RM350 for the AP and processing charges of RM18. I wonder why my AP charges so high as compare to what u mentioned? Or I have been chop kau kau by Sirim This post has been edited by maxximus: May 16 2008, 01:34 AM |
May 16 2008, 06:55 AM
QUOTE(maxximus @ May 16 2008, 01:33 AM) Hi owikh84, the charges of RM215 for AP, is it fix? Normally how Sirim calculate the AP charges? RM215 fixed. I am not sure how they calculate it perhaps u could ask SIRIM & the RM18? Coz, I just bought a PDA phone from oversea and sending in by courier, it was hold back by custom and was told to get the AP. I paid RM350 for the AP and processing charges of RM18. I wonder why my AP charges so high as compare to what u mentioned? Or I have been chop kau kau by Sirim |
May 16 2008, 05:11 PM
757 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(crystalroselle @ May 15 2008, 10:58 AM) Hi I tried that method. It doesn't work. Apparently the reference number only works inside of United State but not when the parcel is out of US? It keep saying there's no record of this item The reference number works for parcels inside and outside of US. But I am worried since your parcel is 2 months old the tracking might have already been removed from their system.You can try calling KLIA POS and provide them with your USPS Tracking code and see if they have it in POS system You can also try checking here http://www.pos.com.my/v1/?c=/v1/TrackTrace...l/trackmenu.asp This post has been edited by JasonSky: May 16 2008, 05:13 PM |
May 17 2008, 10:39 AM
14 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(minamie @ Mar 9 2008, 03:42 AM) No problem actually if you want to import computers or parts from overseas. The only question is are they taxable and how much. You can undervalue the price as declaring is concern. But then they are not stupid bunch officers. Its part and parcel of their daily lives. Hi, last thursday I juz bought a Meraki Mini wifi router product and it's cost about $49 dolar and it's not selling it here. But am forgot to inform the seller to declare the parcel as a "Computer Parts". But I do email to the seller try to ask them to declare again the product. Beside that I also email the UPS courier service to declare my parcel as a "Computer Parts" to go thru Malaysia Custom. UPS already replied to me and said they will inform the their Import Dept to do so. Do you guys think it wll be any problem. I need your guys advise.One more thing, you can always find a loophole if you know the law and how it works. Just to be safe, prepare extra 20% for tax on top of the price (excluding S&H). Good luck mate! If cannot that I would dispute my cc during the payment. Thank you in advance. |
May 18 2008, 08:18 AM
Whatever package reaches Malaysia, customs sure will open up & inspect one. So no need think about declaration. I think yours is tax free since it's less than RM500 (if u declared the price)
May 18 2008, 09:02 AM
2,047 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kampong Pisang |
how about guitar?
kene tax? |
May 18 2008, 09:09 AM
May 18 2008, 10:29 AM
2,047 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kampong Pisang |
| Change to: | 0.0178sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:21 AM |