> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

owikh84
post Apr 11 2008, 11:25 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

if i bought some branded shoe from oversea , do i have to pay the tax?if yes how much ?
and the tax i should pay myself to the custom or i pay to the one i bought the shoe from . And if my item being seized from the custom,they will inform me abt it? The seller will mark the parcel as a gift and put a reasonable value on it.

Edit: I got it taxless. Marked as gift and declared to USD$20 only.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Apr 26 2008, 06:52 PM
owikh84
post Apr 25 2008, 09:38 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

woohoo! My stuff is arriving...

Your item cleared customs in MALAYSIA at 11:44 AM on April 25, 2008. Information, if available, is updated every evening.

Out of Foreign Customs, April 25, 2008, 11:44 am, MALAYSIA
Arrived Abroad, April 25, 2008, 10:28 am, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, April 22, 2008, 11:00 am, LOS ANGELES
Electronic Shipping Info Received, April 20, 2008

Added on April 26, 2008, 3:29 pmMy stuff reached KLIA instead of Penang. Will they send it to my home address or I have to colllect it at KLIA?

Added on April 26, 2008, 4:53 pmReaches BW

26 April 2008 11:33:49 AM PB BUTTERWORTH PENERIMAAN KARUNG DARI PMK KLIA

Added on April 26, 2008, 6:16 pmCollected my stuff at BW Post Centre by own just now at 5pm cos I am a bit impatient biggrin.gif . They still operating until 9pm I think. Those staffs are very kind and helpful.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Apr 26 2008, 06:18 PM
owikh84
post Apr 29 2008, 07:55 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 29 2008, 06:42 PM)
is ipod taxable from overseas?
Not taxable
owikh84
post May 15 2008, 06:58 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(maxximus @ May 15 2008, 04:59 AM)
Is it taxable if we bring in toys/collectible toys from oversea?

Toys are taxable @ 15%
owikh84
post May 15 2008, 08:02 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(crystalroselle @ May 15 2008, 10:58 AM)
Hi I tried that method. It doesn't work. Apparently the reference number only works inside of United State but not when the parcel is out of US? It keep saying there's no record of this item  sad.gif
Nope. It will tell u the latest status of the delivery process from US to M'sia.

Added on May 15, 2008, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(saimatkong @ May 15 2008, 11:03 AM)
how about digital product like handphone or pda or digital screen ?
is it taxable?
normally if your phone send by courier service(CS), this CS company will call u & instruct u to get AP.U must go to sirim and pay for AP ( normally this AP around 215)after that u must send that AP to CS company. CS company will use this AP for custom clearance and pay custom tax (normally 10%) if u buy phone 500.tax is 50, and back charge to u when CS company send this item to u. so total cost for your phone 500+215+50. i suggest if phone available in malaysia better buy in malaysia. if this phone declare as gift, it's depend on luck. if u lucky, u don't need to pay custom & AP

Sorry I don't know PDA & digital screen. wink.gif

Added on May 15, 2008, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(crystalroselle @ May 15 2008, 03:58 AM)
I bought a DVD boxset and some clothes and it was supposed to be shipped together from US two months ago using USPS Priority Mail but its still not here. Is there any chance custom is holding it? I didnt get any letter yet and I am worried now :[
Normally USPS Priority will take 7-9 days to reach international destination. My experience is 3 days only!
Right after it reaches M'sia, the package will be handled by Pos Malaysia & delivered to ur house.
Did u ask seller for tracking number? U can check it here: http://www.usps.com/shipping/trackandconfi...trackandconfirm
Do always ask ur seller to include your phone no. on the package. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by owikh84: May 15 2008, 08:21 PM
owikh84
post May 16 2008, 06:55 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(maxximus @ May 16 2008, 01:33 AM)
Hi owikh84, the charges of RM215 for AP, is it fix? Normally how Sirim calculate the AP charges?

Coz, I just bought a PDA phone from oversea and sending in by courier, it was hold back by custom and was told to get the AP.

I paid RM350 for the AP and processing charges of RM18.  I wonder why my AP charges so high as compare to what u mentioned? Or I have been chop kau kau by Sirim  cry.gif
RM215 fixed. I am not sure how they calculate it perhaps u could ask SIRIM & the RM18? rclxub.gif
owikh84
post May 18 2008, 08:18 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Whatever package reaches Malaysia, customs sure will open up & inspect one. So no need think about declaration. I think yours is tax free since it's less than RM500 (if u declared the price)
owikh84
post May 18 2008, 09:09 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ May 18 2008, 09:02 AM)
how about guitar?
kene tax?
Yes. 10% sales tax applied. If u declared it as used guitar, taxless.
owikh84
post May 18 2008, 04:22 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Can bring in as long as it is legal & if the seller selling it internationally. Mark it as a gift & u will get away from tax. brows.gif

This post has been edited by owikh84: May 18 2008, 04:24 PM
owikh84
post May 18 2008, 06:28 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ May 18 2008, 10:29 AM)
ok la
i put it 2nd hand or refurbished? smile.gif
Used is better.
owikh84
post Sep 11 2008, 12:10 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Was wondering British Airmail will take how long?
owikh84
post Sep 11 2008, 08:36 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Sep 11 2008, 12:10 AM)
Was wondering British Airmail will take how long?
Got it today! rclxms.gif
Took about 7 days to reach custom.
Custom took another 3 days to clear the item. doh.gif
owikh84
post Dec 25 2008, 01:40 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Dec 25 2008, 12:40 PM)
if buy computer stuff from usa , will it kena tax??
PC parts are not taxable items ..
owikh84
post Jan 21 2010, 08:03 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Jan 21 2010, 12:29 PM)
Totally no idea with the custom duty / sales tax for mobile phone, can anyone assist me on this? Checked custom tariff website type in "mobile phone", "handphone", "handset", "telefon bimbit" comes out nothing or not the one I'm looking for.

Help needed, thanks
QUOTE(strayato.hirzaki @ Jun 2 2009, 11:31 PM)
your idea would phailed miserably, trust me. even if you asked the seller to smash the phone into bits/dunk it into the toilet bowl/feed it to the dog before it was posted out, if it's a phone, kastam will definately ask you to obtain a SIRIM AP and afterward tax you 10%
yes, it will be "tahan-ed". kastam will call you up and ask you to come personally to collect your phone from POS LCCT. you'll need to open the parcel in front of the OIC for inspection. afterward, they'll hand you a form that you need to bring along to SIRIM Shah Alam. it'll cost you RM200 and 3~4 waiting days to obtain your AP. once the AP is ready, you'll have to collect it from SIRIM and head back to LCCT for clearance. they will tax 10% of the item cost. the grand total that you have to fork out (minus the hassle of travelling like a mad dog + waste of petrol and time) is :-

RM200 (~SIRIM AP) + RM100 (~10% Tax of USD300) = RM300+/-
owikh84
post Mar 17 2010, 07:46 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Mar 15 2010, 10:28 PM)
hi all, want some advice here

I just bought 3 vinyl records from Discogs (seller from Netherlands) & now in shipping status.
all item incl postage is under RM150
i do ask the seller to post the records as gift.

i read at the beginning of this thread, music/CD = 30%
wow madness! is it still valid?
last time i bought a soundcard from ebay with the help from a LYN forumer, the item arrived & i have to collect them at the post office in Pending, Kuching. so i met the kastam lady..since it was afternoon & looks like thse ladies in their lazy mood (luckily this kastam lady i'm dealing with is the same race as me...so we chit chat a little) while she instructed me to open the box...but my luck was at my side that time. she said just pretend to open the box to declare content....but actually i never opened it! so i lepas lah tongue.gif (not sure soundcard/computer parts is taxable or not)
Yes, PC parts are not taxable items,, but if exceeded RM2k u're required to fill in a customs declaration form & pay RM50 only.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Mar 30 2010, 08:49 PM
owikh84
post Mar 21 2010, 11:35 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Shirogawa @ Mar 18 2010, 10:16 AM)
Hi all , i want to buy camera from ebay. Does this item taxable?
Camera is not a taxable item.

QUOTE(hllee13 @ Mar 21 2010, 01:15 PM)
I want to buy LED and the power driver for LED from ebay or other oversea online website.
Total amount < RM 500 + shipping
Question: 1) Is this tax free?
              2) Do I need any AP or sirim for that. If yes how to do that.

I am from Penang, please  icon_question.gif .TQ
Electronic components are not taxable items & don't require SIRIM approval.

QUOTE(Strawberry<3 @ Mar 21 2010, 11:27 PM)
Hi ^^

I'm going to order some clothes from Korea. Is below Rm400 won't kena tax?
As long as the clothes worth less than RM500 including postage fee it's tax free
owikh84
post Mar 22 2010, 07:06 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(yogeshkk2 @ Mar 22 2010, 10:59 AM)
hi

I want to send(export) 2 laptop (brand new) to India, how much duty & taxes I have to pay? And what is the best way for this? Please help...
rclxub.gif
Import only will get tax.
Export things won't get tax but the recipient might get tax depends on their customs.

QUOTE(hllee13 @ Mar 22 2010, 01:50 PM)
I want to buy LED and the LED driver at ebay or some other online website.
Total cost below RM 500 + shipping

Is this item tax free?
Do I need andy permit or sirim for this? If yes, then how to apply.

Please help,Thank You. sad.gif
Replied above d.

QUOTE(weikeatWK @ Mar 22 2010, 07:02 PM)
Buying Clothes from UK but under Rm500 also won't kena tax?  biggrin.gif
Less than RM500 including postage fee won't get tax
Sales tax + import duty = 10% + 20%

This post has been edited by owikh84: Mar 22 2010, 07:06 PM
owikh84
post Mar 27 2010, 08:28 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Mar 26 2010, 05:23 PM)
anyone can tell me how to apply for SIRIM AP permit??
can apply online or not...
i ordered phone from US and DHL called me asking for SIRIM permit.

how much it cost?
kindly use search button,
QUOTE(maxximus @ Jul 15 2008, 12:36 AM)
I bought PDA phone from HK few months back, and was hold back by custom and was told to apply the AP from Sirim.

Went to Sirim and filled up a form and paid RM350/= for the AP.  It is very simple, they will give u a sample form as reference, u just follow the sample to fill up the application form.  The following day, I called up Sirim and inform them my file no and over the phone they give me my AP no and with that AP number, I went to custom to clear the item. And settle everything without any problem.

Initially I though they will require the device for testing or what, but surprisingly no one request the device from me during my present at Sirim office and also when I called up for the AP no.

BUT, roughly one month after I cleareed the item and are happily using it, I rcv a letter from Sirim saying that my application still pending due to I did not submit the device for testing...  hmm.gif 

I wonder why I rcv this letter from Sirim, and if really the procedure that Sirim require the device for testing before approving and issuing the AP, then why in the first place they approved it and issued the AP to me without testing the device  blush.gif  weird weird weird .... or maybe that is what we call Malaysia Boleh  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif

Anyway, just to share my experience...
SIRIM Branches

owikh84
post Mar 27 2010, 08:32 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

In the event that you need to import a "questionable item" falling under the "Telecommunications Category", you may need to consider two (2) factors : (a) AP (Approved Permit) from SIRIM, & (b) Import Tax

(a) Import Permit (aka AP, Approved Permit, SIRIM Permit, JK69, etc)

-Buy JK69 Form from any SIRIM branches in Malaysia
-Print out the JK Form legibly
-Since the model you're bringing in has not been certified (Type Approval Application) by SIRIM, you have to list it as "Sample for Testing"
-SIRIM charges a nominal fee of either RM30 (permit would be ready for collection after 3 days) or RM60 (permit can be collected within 24 hours)

(b) Import/Customs Tax

-Classification/Declaration on the Importation Form (whichever courier company you used) is important.
-PDAs would not be taxed.
-Mobile phones would be taxed 10%
-GSM/Phone PDA is subjective (chances of tax is there)

So in total tax + SIRIM = 10% + RM30 or RM60 only

Most international couriers such as Fedex, or DHL etc CAN assist you with the release of the product(s) - aka as Direct Release = No Tax.

UPS Express has the tendency to declare everything and you would be taxed.

owikh84
post Mar 27 2010, 01:26 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

So in total tax + SIRIM = 10% + RM30 or RM60 only
depends on how u talk with the "coffee drinker".

0.0263sec    0.64    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:20 PM