134 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

yamitenshi
post Apr 24 2008, 10:19 AM

39 posts

yeah, i think many of us dunno bout this pharmacy dept. i just found out too. they unlike customs who detains ur goods for tax or duties, pharmacy detains it when ur goods (healty n beauty stuff normally) is not registered with them. They can confiscate all of 'em w/o giving u reasons too n they do not have to notify u when they detain them. Sigh.. So when any of u try to bring in health n beauty goods in qty bigger than for personal use in a month's time, pls be grateful when its the customs tht detains it rather than pharmacy!!
hackwire
post Apr 24 2008, 10:27 AM

4,256 posts

can i walk out from the airport carrying PS3 console games and ipod without tax? can they confiscate the item since its for personal use. i thought the law allow travellers to carry things out for personal use but not business?
Shizuru
post Apr 24 2008, 11:17 AM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 24 2008, 10:27 AM)
can i walk out from the airport carrying PS3 console games and ipod without tax? can they confiscate the item since its for personal use. i thought the law allow travellers to carry things out for personal use but not business?
If its not in a box, yes you may.
riph
post Apr 24 2008, 05:54 PM

102 posts

Just checked web tracking my gaming seat just arrived..now got retention because its high value goods-official custom declaration required...hopefully can kautim to lower the tax..
Shizuru
post Apr 24 2008, 06:54 PM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(riph @ Apr 24 2008, 05:54 PM)
Just checked web tracking my gaming seat just arrived..now got retention because its high value goods-official custom declaration required...hopefully can kautim to lower the tax..
Just make sure don't go to the counter with Makcik wearing spectacle there.
She won't let you go for anything shakehead.gif
riph
post Apr 24 2008, 06:57 PM

102 posts

I wonder what category my game seat for..i plan to tell them is a PC stuff maybe i can get 0 tax..i hope..
hackwire
post Apr 24 2008, 10:02 PM

4,256 posts

i heard electronics stuff from singapore is tax free. who can confirm this?
Projector is Free tax. correct me.
riph
post Apr 25 2008, 11:29 AM

102 posts

My stuff (use sea shipping) kene tahan kat kastam maybe in Port klang right now..how do they inform me? another question is about agent how to contact them? are they usually available at the port?
yamitenshi
post Apr 25 2008, 11:34 AM

39 posts

riph, how do u know they detain ur stuff? u checked online? u can call pos msia 1300-300-300 n ask them bout the status n they usually can advise u on wat to do..
riph
post Apr 25 2008, 11:49 AM

102 posts

Yup i checked it online & status got Retention reason : Official Customs declaration required.

i had call the Bhgian Penjenisan they dont know where my stuff is.

My stuff is shipping from croatia using IPS shipping..so i assume the Ips stuff will call me..but until now no answers...im totally new into this so im learning.
maybe i call pos msia..thank you

Shizuru
post Apr 25 2008, 11:51 AM

3,699 posts

QUOTE(riph @ Apr 25 2008, 11:29 AM)
My stuff (use sea shipping) kene tahan kat kastam maybe in Port klang right now..how do they inform me? another question is about agent how to contact them? are they usually available at the port?

They will send you a notice letter via Pos Laju.
In the letter will have the instructions on what to do.

riph
post Apr 25 2008, 12:05 PM

102 posts

Just had call Pos Malaysia then they fwding me to call Custom Dept KLIA..they tell me my stuff is avalable & they recommended me to pick it up tomorrow because after Friday pray customers are too crowded on that time..so tomorrow im coming to KLIA..Thank you. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by riph: Apr 25 2008, 12:06 PM
lone_rider
post Apr 25 2008, 12:26 PM

87 posts

As for me, for my experience..I bought 2 electronic item form oversea
(Hong Kong) 1st one is ipod fm modulator
& 2nd is mp3 player..both use airmail registered post instead of EMS..
none of them have been detained by custom.. thumbup.gif

owikh84
post Apr 25 2008, 09:38 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

woohoo! My stuff is arriving...

Your item cleared customs in MALAYSIA at 11:44 AM on April 25, 2008. Information, if available, is updated every evening.

Out of Foreign Customs, April 25, 2008, 11:44 am, MALAYSIA
Arrived Abroad, April 25, 2008, 10:28 am, MALAYSIA
International Dispatch, April 22, 2008, 11:00 am, LOS ANGELES
Electronic Shipping Info Received, April 20, 2008

Added on April 26, 2008, 3:29 pmMy stuff reached KLIA instead of Penang. Will they send it to my home address or I have to colllect it at KLIA?

Added on April 26, 2008, 4:53 pmReaches BW

26 April 2008 11:33:49 AM PB BUTTERWORTH PENERIMAAN KARUNG DARI PMK KLIA

Added on April 26, 2008, 6:16 pmCollected my stuff at BW Post Centre by own just now at 5pm cos I am a bit impatient biggrin.gif . They still operating until 9pm I think. Those staffs are very kind and helpful.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Apr 26 2008, 06:18 PM
7up
post Apr 28 2008, 11:13 PM

129 posts

Want to ask, a friend from Singapore wants to give me his TV. apprarently it is a big tv and can't fit in the car. U guys know any delivery company that can help to deliver the TV to KL?
hackwire
post Apr 29 2008, 06:42 PM

4,256 posts

is ipod taxable from overseas?
owikh84
post Apr 29 2008, 07:55 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 29 2008, 06:42 PM)
is ipod taxable from overseas?
Not taxable
litemice
post May 5 2008, 10:31 PM

If I were to carry an electric guitar in my car back, will I be subject to sales tax?

According to custom's website, there was no mention (of sales tax or duties) under header 9202 or 9207

http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

I'd need to transport the guitar back in its shipping packaging because there is a notice that it cannot be open unless stored in room condition for 24h.
And also is there a limit to how many guitars I can bring back at a time in such a packaging?

The items are for personal use only and definitely not for resale.
kimikewl
post May 7 2008, 11:02 AM

43 posts

checking with u guys...
if i come back from overseas trip by flight with IT hardware/ components of 20-30 units each item, will there be any tax?
my apology if got ppl already posted the same question sweat.gif
bbjslee
post May 8 2008, 06:21 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(litemice @ May 5 2008, 10:31 PM)
If I were to carry an electric guitar in my car back, will I be subject to sales tax?

According to custom's website, there was no mention (of sales tax or duties) under header 9202 or 9207

http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

I'd need to transport the guitar back in its shipping packaging because there is a notice that it cannot be open unless stored in room condition for 24h.
And also is there a limit to how many guitars I can bring back at a time in such a packaging?

The items are for personal use only and definitely not for resale.
Entitled to 10% sales tax. Unless you can prove it is USED personal effect, else will be taxed.
It doesn't matter if it is for personal use or else.
Else... stay overnight, then open the packaging before coming back to Malaysia.

QUOTE(kimikewl @ May 7 2008, 11:02 AM)
checking with u guys...
if i come back from overseas trip by flight with IT hardware/ components of 20-30 units each item, will there be any tax?
my apology if got ppl already posted the same question  sweat.gif
What kind of IT hardware/components you're talking about, some are taxable.

134 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.1498sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:26 PM