i also can't find it there. their search engine dont even work perfectly.
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
| Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll |
Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties
Mar 28 2007, 04:45 PM
4,256 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
i also can't find it there. their search engine dont even work perfectly.
Mar 29 2007, 04:11 AM
this is crap! they did not change the law since retro era. all the terms were made for cassete player or cds.
DVD can be play using computer also mah! well i will try to expose it to the media if they try to be smart. |
Mar 29 2007, 06:53 PM
Disc (movie) 8524 32 000 - 0% + 10% betul or not, why some forumers paid like 45% as they claimed? Do they add the shipping cost to calculate the tax? rugi lah like that if they calculate based on the shipping . This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 29 2007, 06:54 PM |
Mar 30 2007, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(bbjslee @ Mar 29 2007, 07:38 PM) Can you point me to the forumer? I would like to know the detail as well. i refer you to this website Actually the custom is like a big black box. Same item, Officer A can say this code, Officer B can say that code. So pandai pandai lah, see how you explain to them. As for your question, YES, shipping cost is calculated. Hence CIF value. Cost + Insurance + Freight. So if you purchase your item at USD20, Insurance USD2, shipping cost USD10, total USD32 is dutiable, not USD20. http://dvdkita.proboards51.com/index.cgi?b...read=1133599202 they been talking about it. thanks for the info. really appreciate. |
Apr 4 2007, 03:51 PM
My parcel just got clearance for DVD without tax . Cost less than RM 500.
If my next order is RM 5000 , i wonder what the tax will be? Will it be 10% as claimed or more this time? If it got stuck is there a way to kow tim ? |
Dec 24 2007, 07:19 PM
i bought 3 dvd from yes asia.com and these are the details.
I April Snow Another Story : Making of DVD + Photo Album Failan Special Edition DTS Secret Sunshine (DVD) (Limited Edition) (Korea Version) Time (Give - Away Version) Credit Total : USD 0.00 Sub-total : USD 67.97 Tax : USD 0.00 Shipping (Standard) : USD 0.00 Order Total : USD 67.97 now in Kastam, just received letter by POS to become agent. do u think these items are taxable? Last time, my order get thru without tax at all. Does Hong Kong Falls under ASEAN country. In wikipedia , china is and i assume Hong Kong is. If it is I think DVD tax is 0 % according to the AHTN Schedule 1. (1) Subject to the provisions of the first Schedule, import duty shall be levied on, and paid by the importer, in respect of goods specified in the Second Schedule, origination from ASEAN countries, at the CEPT rate of duty specified in column (6) of the second Schedule, imported into Malaysia. (2) Where a CEPT rate of duty is specified in column (6) of the Second Schedule in respect of a particular class of goods, such rate shall be levied on and shall be paid by the importer in lieu of the corresponding full import duty imposed as specified in column (4) of the Second Schedule in respect of goods of the class which are shown to the satisfaction of the Director General to have originated from ASEAN countries. HEY! WHY DO WE NEED TO PAY CUSTOM TAX somemore if the GOODS IMPORTED IN is in ASEAN Groups. This post has been edited by hackwire: Dec 25 2007, 07:02 PM |
Dec 26 2007, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(linkeong @ Dec 25 2007, 11:32 PM) LOL Since when China is ASEAN group. China is ASIAN. FYI, ASEAN consists of 10 countries, please read up geography. HAhah! LOL! there is no ASIAN Group, In Fact , china was included as ASEAN PLUS THREE but its only a forum that functions as a coordinator of cooperation between Association of Southeast Asian Nations and the three East Asian nations of China, Japan, and South Korea.Cambodia Burma Thailand Indonesia Malaysia Philippines Singapore Laos Brunei Vietnam U mean ASIA. check your Georaphical Knowledge too. Check out the Members included the 3 nation here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASEAN_Plus_Three My mistake earlier, it seems that China is not included in this Tariff among the ASEAN countries except for a few. . see here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ASEAN_Free_Trade_Area Added on December 26, 2007, 2:38 pmjust called the Kastam, 30% + 10% for DVD. Another lastest threat, All DVDs imported into Malaysia must have Finas approval or KDN apporoval. Censoring is priority. This post has been edited by hackwire: Dec 26 2007, 02:38 PM |
Dec 26 2007, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(linkeong @ Dec 26 2007, 05:53 PM) FYI I did not say ASIAN group. A member of anything is added -an suffix at the end. Malaysia people called Malaysian, singapore called singaporean. ASEAN + Three that 3 is not ASEAN. Tax free only if true ASEAN. This is a help area not flame area if you want to play flame I can flame all you want. U said China is ASIAN. What a lame and confusing grammer. Might as well create Chinan, if that is really wat u mean? Well, mr smart alec I have all the time to flame you. If u want to show your intelligence than get your attitude right first. the way u wrote earlier is flaming other people. i don't see other good contribution beside correcting my mistake. I do appreciate for highlighting the mistake but you should know that nobody force on you to correct people mistake. maybe u can answer my other questions like whther DVD is taxable. In fact I already found the anwser my self without anyone help from here. I just visited the Kastam website and it's not FREE anymore. See here on the latest Ruling http://www.customs.gov.my/html/ClasificationJuly2007.htm if not go to http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php?option...temid=1&lang=en under CLASSIFICATION Decision Link Those who still think that they can go to the Schedule 1 and fight with the Kastam for the right classification which is NO TAX, might as well rest your case now. Linkeong, want to debate some more . Dont waste time. What is your experience on this , what else do u know and why u never post this answer earlier????? This post has been edited by hackwire: Dec 26 2007, 11:05 PM |
Dec 27 2007, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(linkeong @ Dec 27 2007, 03:05 AM) Please read the whole thread. I have answered questions before, I did answer your question I already said China is not in ASEAN so it is not exempted from tax. And regarding dvds, read the first page, you answered the question earlier yourself including others who answered. i just couldnt get the answer at all even in earlier post . many had given different opinions and experience. I hope you don't get me wrong, im not a tax evader just because the tax is that high. i rather pay the tax than begging to the officer or giving them RM 50 . DVD-R or ANY computer products are not taxable. If you want to see how many people I have helped you should ask them, alot pmed me and msn me to ask questions. DVD movies are taxed. Finas is optional, go to your kastam and give them extra RM50 that will save you all the trouble. If anyone is asking why the taxes are so high and stuff, it is there to protect the local manufacturers, not because the government wants to suck your money. Anything with the kastams can be argued you just need to bring in someone powerful, you just need that powerful person to make a call thats all. If you know your local ADUN, MCA, UMNO you can tell them to help you. My friend imports bag from China tax free with some help. I found more mistake on your side but I decided NOT to argue with you but if you want to continue so may it be. i rather buy lesser DVD in a month. I hope you can pin point my mistake but not to LOL or read up your Geograpry like that..yes, im a bit sensitive if u want to call it but i would appreciate if u can tell me where i gone wrong when the FACTS were already found in the KAstam Website. I don't agree with your idea to pay RM 50 in the first place. This only cause the Dept tainted with money. |
Dec 27 2007, 08:30 PM
alright got the picture. i will be heading there tommorow and see wat will happen.
Added on December 28, 2007, 2:51 pmI reach Ground Zero around 10.15 at the Pos Office. Go to Pos Office Room No 2 and the blue man gave me the letter which was supposed to sent by them informing me to bring an invoice or any other supported documents. They are Very smart, trying to hold this document from posting to us so that they can provide clearance service for us with add cost. After that I was told to head to counter 1 to retrieve the parcel. Here they asked you to sign first to release the parcel and your pass been held. Box was Stamped - Di Bawah Tahanan Kastam. Parcel is still not open. Proceed to Counter 2 to open the parcel and curiosity always make them ask what's inside. Told them it's DVD and quantity is 4. Very short conversation and told to proceed to counter 3 where a lady kastam will again screen the item . Same question, what is it? How many is it? Is it a Drama or Single DVD? Watch out here, they may want to find out more details now. I told them its single movie. Told me to Declare with Kementerian Dalam Negeri. Go Back in to Room 2 and declare a Custom Form 1. Here the guy will ask you again, dalam apa. Give me a RM 18 paper for EDI wonder what the hell is EDI for, and told to pay at Counter 6. At counter 6, I make the full payment and proceed back to ROOM 2. Than the idiot starts this stupid question, ada invoice ke. I feel like bashing him since they didn't sent the letter to me but a letter informing me to engage them as agent only. I said no and I gave him an estimation of RM 200. He said OK and walked back. A few minutes later, he came out and give me the Custom Form with filled information of the tax figure 30% + 10% together with the YesAsia.com invoice which he had it all the time. Damn !! I guess he must be disappointed to see DIY in place. Here's the Best Part, Below the form there's a very UNIQUE Stamping or Hidden CODE that will give Exemption to this Goods , Below RM 500 is Exempted from Tax. Now who said is RM 1000 . I have the prove, later I will post the image. Total Cost is RM 0 even though you can see the amount of tax they calculated using 30% + 10% in the tax column. I continue to go back to the Counter 3 and I asked her, less than RM 500 won't get tax is it? She Said Ya!..My heart was like...pumping 100 times faster than b4. Now, I have to go to the Kementerian Dalam Negeri Office opposite the road which is about 1 KM away and the time now is about 11.30 am. 30minutes b4 they close for Prayers. My Strategy seems to work...I still have 2 offices to visit there before walking back to see this Lady Kastam again at Counter 3. Kind of National Secret Exploration now. At Floor 2 ( KDN office), I declare again and straight away the friendly guy asked me if this is Porn kah!!! I said bukan lah, kalau porn sure kena sekat by you. Than he asked me , Kenapa Sudah Buka, I told him the Kastam there asked to open. He gave me the Duck Tape and asked to Seal it back again. I asked him what time is your Prayer, he said very soon. He called me Boss ( I wonder why he said that), boleh tolong saya isi ke...h. I said no problem. I knew time is running out for them and they quickly gave back to me and asked me to go to Floor 6 to do the same thing. At the 6th Floor, two ladies sitting there, One of them took my DVD and show to Puan Yip which was the Head of Chinese Entertainment Materials. Another Girl will register in her PC for the Custom Form and I fill up the registration book. I have 15 minutes left to go back to the Pos Office where I came from. The girl came out and told me to go to Floor 2 to let the guy downstairs screen my movie...I was like Huh!! Again!!... Than she turn the Form and saw a stamped LEPAS!! by the GUYS in Second Floor. Oh!! U sudah pergi!!! I said ya, Tadi sudah Check! I love those second floor Guys...( By the way, if they want to see the movie at their own sweet time there , u still have to let them. I saw they have TV and Players there to screen the movies.) Run Back to the Pos Office and the Guard stopped me n said apa dalam. DVD Encik.. Apa DVD? Korea. Saya pergi sebelah sana to get release. You Jalan kah!! I said Yes. Guard said Cepat!! Cepat!! Lagi 10 minute mau tutup. Went back there and luckily no queue at the Counter 3 but I start to see CROWS ( Forwarders Agents start to swarm in at the Counter) , these people knew the loopholes I guess. From there, HomeRUn!! All the Custom Form Stamped One By One by her without any further questions asked. Went to collect my pass and said Bye to the Guard. Damage: RM 18 to Declare , RM 15 Petrol and Tol Rate. 1 and a Half Hour Salary Rate Gone. Benefits: You know what to do next time. This post has been edited by hackwire: Dec 28 2007, 02:51 PM |
Apr 24 2008, 10:27 AM
can i walk out from the airport carrying PS3 console games and ipod without tax? can they confiscate the item since its for personal use. i thought the law allow travellers to carry things out for personal use but not business?
Apr 24 2008, 10:02 PM
i heard electronics stuff from singapore is tax free. who can confirm this?
Projector is Free tax. correct me. |
Apr 29 2008, 06:42 PM
is ipod taxable from overseas?
Oct 24 2008, 09:26 PM
what is the tax imposed for CCTV cameras or surveillance cameras? Anyone have any ideas if this are taxable under malaysia law. How about those hidden cameras? Are they legal to import it in ?thanks
Oct 25 2008, 09:26 AM
went into kastam web site to check the word CCTV or Hidden Cameras, cannot find...
is it under Camera which is tax free item? While reading Kastam Website , all electrical goods must get approval first? read here... http://www.customs.gov.my/index.php?option...d=34&Itemid=133 Electrical Goods IMPORTATION OF ELECTRICAL GOODS INTRODUCTION Importation of electrical goods for domestic use as listed under Item 24, Fourth Schedule of Customs (Prohibition of Imports) Order 1998 are subjected to approval certificate issued by the Chief Executive Officer, Malaysian Energy Commission (MEC). OBJECTIVE This notice is issued to explain to the public regarding the electrical goods importation guideline for domestic use. CURRENT PROCEDURE Importation of electrical goods can be done in two ways: Without MEC Approval Certificate requirement. With MEC Approval Certificate requirement. 1. Importation without MEC Approval Certificate requirement. a. Importation without MEC Approval Certificate requirement is allowed following these situations: i) Used electrical goods for domestic use brought in by persons transferring / relocating to Malaysia; ii) Electrical goods for domestic use brought in by passengers by air. b. For importations such as the above, importers are required to complete 3 copies of Form A and submit them to Customs Office at the Import Station or entry point. One copy of Form A will be returned to the importer upon verification of the details on the form. (Form A is available at the Customs Office at all entry points). c. Quantity allowed for each electrical good is one unit only. 2. Importation with MEC Approval Certificate. For importation of electrical goods other than Importation without MEC Approval Certificate above, the importer has to complete Form B in three copies and deliver it personally to the nearest MEC office. The related goods can only be released from Customs control after Form B has been approved by MEC. The importer is given a period of one month to claim the goods. If the goods are not claimed after that period, action will be taken to confiscate and dispose them under the provision of Section 128 Customs Act 1967. (Form B is available from Customs Office at all entry points) ENQUIRY For further clarification please contact: Chief Executive Officer Malaysian Energy Commission 1001, 13th floor, Menara TH Perdana Jalan Sultan Ismail 50250 Kuala Lumpur. Tel: (603) 26125412/3 Fax: (603) This post has been edited by hackwire: Oct 25 2008, 09:30 AM |
Mar 13 2009, 06:45 PM
i like to import some adult toys in. how many of you did that b4? what is the procedures?
Nov 29 2009, 08:57 PM
i just imported Slimming pills from the internet. Will i be tax for medical pills?
hope i don't get any problem with the kastam. Please let me know what i be expect to do if they stop my package. thanks |
Nov 30 2009, 04:23 PM
Dec 2 2009, 03:38 AM
QUOTE(Sham903n @ Dec 1 2009, 11:49 AM) slimming pills, sorry nothing came up on that one on the Customs webpage, but it might be stop by customs if it requires approval from the Health Ministry. This is the product i imported in..http://decaslim.com/but vitamins pills will get thru without a problem. Full of vitamins and nutrients. so i can expect clearance from the custome if i show them the website? |
May 14 2010, 10:17 AM
| Change to: | 0.0513sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:54 PM |