Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

nicodemus88
post Feb 8 2010, 04:01 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 7 2010, 10:51 PM)
You can check the fee on 1st page link. Avg 6 days Bus/MRT/train fare cost me RM60. (NT600 - wth NT200 top up & NT100 refund n last day) Actual fare no idea bcos just like our touch & Go..

Train ticket to Hualien, u cannot use the cashcard..Seperate buying..Return ticket (Either the speed train or slow train) will cost NT794/2ways

High speed train ..i hv not try..price is not cheap. ~ RM300 return to Kaoshiong...(Not sure)
OKK, thanks for the guide...

Anyway, another question from me... Sorry for having so much questions, as this is my 1st trip overseas so I'm nervous whether I'm planning them well...

Emm... I'm planning to book the AirAsia tickets to Taipei and the flights are all at 9.50am... I'm from Penang, and if I book a flight from Penang to KLIA, would I make it in time?

I checked AirAsia, the earliest flight from Pen to KL is 7.10am, will arrive there at 8am... Flight to Taiwan at 9.50am, but have to consider time for luggage and travel time from KLIA-LCCT to KLIA Main Terminal... Can I make it?

Thank you! smile.gif
stimix
post Feb 8 2010, 04:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Air Asia transit is a very risky business. Reason been, they always like to change flight timinng last minute & sometime flight delay.

For transit, normally people recommend 4 hrs gap in between for any contigency. Otherwise take a midnite bus to KL Sentral & thereafter another connecting bus to LCCT..safer this way rather than taking risk for flight changes & delay.
aeiou228
post Feb 8 2010, 04:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Feb 8 2010, 04:01 PM)
OKK, thanks for the guide...

Anyway, another question from me... Sorry for having so much questions, as this is my 1st trip overseas so I'm nervous whether I'm planning them well...

Emm... I'm planning to book the AirAsia tickets to Taipei and the flights are all at 9.50am... I'm from Penang, and if I book a flight from Penang to KLIA, would I make it in time?

I checked AirAsia, the earliest flight from Pen to KL is 7.10am, will arrive there at 8am... Flight to Taiwan at 9.50am, but have to consider time for luggage and travel time from KLIA-LCCT to KLIA Main Terminal... Can I make it?

Thank you!  smile.gif
Better safe than sorry. If you travel on budget, the cheapest way is to take the latest AA to LCCT and spend a night at the LCCT airport. Don't worry, there will be a lot of out station travelers do the same thing and accompany you in the airport. But it will be tiring one and your trip to Taiwan might be ruined. For more comfortable travel, put out at LCCT Tune hotel and get the hotel free shuttle van to send you to the terminal the next morning.

nicodemus88
post Feb 8 2010, 04:42 PM

202 posts

OK... Thanks for the advice, stimix and aeiou228... Will keep what you have said in mind... biggrin.gif
phlagos
post Feb 8 2010, 07:42 PM

25 posts

Hi Guys and Gal,

Very nice thread here.

I m actually planning to go to Taiwan on middle of march(Next Month).

Is there any good travel agency you guys can recommend. Its for 2 person , 5 days 4 nights or 6 days 5 nights.

Most important point is that it must include the day tour to Doraemon Theme Park.

My budget is rm4k+ for 2 person, is it enough for everything?

Is changing Rm to USD really better in terms of the exchange rate than me going over to taiwan to convert it from Rm to NT.

Sorry many noob question smile.gif
stimix
post Feb 8 2010, 07:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just read page 1. it's already stated that changing US$ 1st.

Also the this thread is more for those on DIY...Taiwan is a very easy place to go & no travel agent needed. Haha probably due to my past bad experiences wth travel agents.. I hate travel packages
phlagos
post Feb 8 2010, 08:06 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 8 2010, 07:58 PM)
Just read page 1. it's already stated that changing US$ 1st.

Also the this thread is more for those on DIY...Taiwan is a very easy place to go & no travel agent needed. Haha probably due to my past bad experiences wth travel agents.. I hate travel packages
I wanna try travel agent 1st as this is my 1st time to taiwan. I m half banana, some chinese word i can't read and pronounce hehehe.

Next trip i will go without agent. smile.gif
stimix
post Feb 8 2010, 08:20 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sure no prob, but be prepared for them bringing you to those herbs stores & gem stores + telling you on the time limit of each visit..not to mention blatant agent tips by end of the trip.

haha..BTW, I'm 100% banana..Dun worry-lah..Taiwan having proper English signages everywhere

So long you can speak Hokkien & mandarin you're OK dy..
phlagos
post Feb 8 2010, 09:18 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 8 2010, 08:20 PM)
Sure no prob, but be prepared for them bringing you to those herbs stores & gem stores + telling you on the time limit of each visit..not to mention blatant agent tips by end of the trip.

haha..BTW, I'm 100% banana..Dun worry-lah..Taiwan having proper English signages everywhere

So long you can speak Hokkien & mandarin you're OK dy..
Ok thanks, maybe i do some more research and then consider for a free n easy for my taiwan trip smile.gif
bell
post Feb 11 2010, 03:09 PM

hi all..
can i ask cityinn hotel better or cityinn2 hotel better? which is cleaner?
thks all...
nimloth32
post Feb 12 2010, 06:56 AM

284 posts

just got back from taiwan..as some ppl mentioned..the locals there are very honest and polite..if there is a chance, go to visit chen ping bookstore near taipei 101..i went there and it is very impressive for a bookstore and also 東區 area for shopping..when i chat with the locals there, they said xi men ting is mostly for youngsters whereas 東區 is mostly for young adults and above..
cybersim2
post Feb 12 2010, 08:45 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(bell @ Feb 11 2010, 03:09 PM)
hi all..
can i ask cityinn hotel better or cityinn2 hotel better? which is cleaner?
thks all...
I stayed in CityInn 2 last month. It's located behind Taipei Main Station, about 5min walk.
Opposite got KFC, McDonald and 7 Eleven. The room is quite new, staff very friendly, got free internet, MAC computer at the lobby. thumbup.gif

Argiope
post Feb 13 2010, 10:32 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Feb 12 2010, 08:45 AM)
I stayed in CityInn 2 last month. It's located behind Taipei Main Station, about 5min walk.
Opposite got KFC, McDonald and 7 Eleven. The room is quite new, staff very friendly, got free internet, MAC computer at the lobby.  thumbup.gif
What's the rate per night? Just wondering if you know they have a room that fits 4 person?

Guys, what do you think of the cab fare there? We have 4 persons here. Should we share a cab touring around or take the MRT instead? This could determine whether we should stay near a Metro station or not.

Anyone stayed in Rainbow Hotel (長虹大飯店) before? What's your review on it?

Now i start to gan cheong already. 3 more months to go. Have done a lot of readings but none is planned. tongue.gif

By the way, Happy CNY to all~

This post has been edited by Argiope: Feb 13 2010, 10:33 PM
stimix
post Feb 14 2010, 08:25 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Taxi rate trhere are pretty expensive as I was told & researched..Anyway, Taipei is very well cionnected both via MRT, rail & buses...No worry on the Public trpt there...furthermore..bus from airport to the city almost same rate as LCCT to Sentral..NT90 only but not really express...stages bus
AngelLingLing
post Feb 14 2010, 04:09 PM

31 posts

Dear all,

May i know is Xi Men (MRT station) the way to Xi Men Ting?
stimix
post Feb 15 2010, 07:56 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not on the way but it is the exact station. There are few exit...The closest if I'm not mistaken is exit 6 & Xi men Ding neon light is just above you..Further is the famous red house just right in front of the exit
post Feb 15 2010, 07:30 PM

195 posts

yeah ..i am going to taiwan tomolo ....
AngelLingLing
post Feb 15 2010, 09:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 15 2010, 07:56 AM)
Not on the way but it is the exact station. There are few exit...The closest if I'm not mistaken is exit 6 & Xi men Ding neon light is just above you..Further is the famous red house just right in front of the exit
ooo thanks thanks, means it is near to the Taipei Main station =)
dixxon
post Feb 17 2010, 08:14 PM

where can find fashion, cheap fashion , xi men ding?
stimix
post Feb 17 2010, 09:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No cheap bargain cloths u hv to goto Wufengpu. Xi Mengding is something like new threndy hand-out place for yuppies...

126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:09 AM